Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Weed Eater Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Weed Eater Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

The Weed Eater One riding lawn mower features a Briggs & Stratton 875 OHV engine with a LawnScaper deck system and single blade with height adjustment.
Average Customer Rating:
3.451 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(113 Reviews) 109
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
26
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation66%75 out of 113reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
26
3 stars
10
2 stars
11
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

so far so good

07/11/2011
By ,
long island, ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
picked up the mower at 10am. got it home unpacked it and assembled in no time. off and running by noon. started right up. cuts well. we have a very bumpy lawn front and back but had no problems. just have to be careful of blade height. i would recommend this mower to anyone who wants to make their life easier.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 2 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Great Mower

09/27/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OMG, I love this rider. It takes less than 10 minutes to assemble (because I read the instructions). Really, you are just putting the seat on and attaching the steering wheel.
The oil was already filled and the battery charged. I put a little gas in it and it cranked right up.
I was originally looking for a self propelled mower, but saw this one and realized it would fit through my standard 3 foot fence gate. My Walmart had this as an unadvertised sale $599.00 WOW!
The 190cc engine equates to 8.75 horsepower. I was concerned that it might be underpowered for me as I tip the scale at 230 lbs. Nah, it runs just fine.
This is easy to drive, comfortable, (with seat adjustments) and mows in reverse. It did read the other reviews and saw that there is no crankcase drain for the oil if you want to change it. Hey, the mower only weighs, 168 lbs,... tilt it... it is not heavy.
If you look on Youtube, there are a few videos of the mower. That helped me decide.
So far, so good.....
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+23points
Review 3 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Much better than walking !

04/07/2010
By ,
Charlotte, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I recently had knee surgery but decided I still wanted to cut my own grass. I have 1/3 acre lot and did not want a large or expensive mower. I spent considerable time searching and reviewing before deciding this was probably the mower for me. Even though none of my local Wal-Marts showed this in stock on line, I found one at my local store, way back in the rear of the lawn and garden department, still in the crate. I hauled it home in a small pick-up, with help from a neighbor. We were able to unload it and I began uncrating it. I had it totally assembled in a little over an hour and was cutting grass !
I was surprised when it started with the first twist of the key. (of course checked oil first-comes with oil already in it).
I have always been resistant to a riding lawn mower, feeling I need the exercise...I've changed my mind. It is small enough to store easily and it doesn't use much gas. I don't believe it uses any more gas than my self-propelled push mower. It is surprisingly quiet. I guess you can tell....I love my new toy !
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+26points
Review 4 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Riding Weedeater

10/01/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is my first riding Lawn mower. I did significant research before making my purchase. I wanted a single blade, manual and electric start, etc. All the reviews I read here were accurate about turning ratio, blade not working when in reverse etc. I used it on a yard that was level but not smooth and I think over the long haul the mower will start loosing parts because of the vibration from having limited to no shock absorbers. My biggest disappointment is that my yard is 95% smooth even grass. The blade has 3 settings. The first setting is too high and the 3rd setting is way to low. You are pretty much stuck on the middle level. The mower just doesn't cut a good even way no matter how many times you "recut" an area. My push mower does a much nicer job. If you turn hard or have ANY raised areas it will cut deep into the grass on the low side of the tilt. Again, this is my first riding mower so maybe they all do this.
Recommends this product? Yes
+16points
Review 5 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

FUN LITTLE MOWER

06/18/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got one that was returned (bad battery) to WM at a great price as well nearly 50 % off of the original price.........could not past that up and really like this cute little dude. Just remember you are not buying an ATV nor a huge tractor so keep your expectations in check. It has its limitations with room for improvements but overall it does a great job for what it was built for. I've already mowed 3' tall grass out back in my very back field and it handle it well. Support is the only real down side to this product..........they will not ship you any warranty parts such as a little battery even. You have to go through a warranty repair center they list. Well after contacting those centers they will not service any warranty work ?!?! Yup leaves you stuck. All I need is a new battery......oh well small problem anyhow. I feel like I'm riding a go-cart in the yard.......its really fun.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Review 6 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Weed Eater (not the ) One

05/13/2011
By ,
Zanesville, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had I known the Weed Eater One was a "One-Season Wonder," I would NOT have purchased it. We bought it in May 2010. It did a fine job all summer.
Our yard is not large. It is mostly flat.
This spring, the steering mechanism (plastic) broke the first time out of the garage. The yard did not get mowed. It went to the shop for repair. It seems you cannot turn the wheels unless the mower is moving. Otherwise there is too much strain on the plastic piece that holds it together. It came back in fine shape - until the second mowing. The right wheel did not turn. It has come back from the shop again. Now, the steering wheel on top of the metal rod moves back and forth. I think the One is about to be the None. We spent a lot of money for a throw-away tool.
It seems to me that somethng could and should be done about our situation. I would suggest a product replacement or a total refund.
Needless to say, you have one unhappy consumer.
The ONLY reason you received one star on the above ratings is that there was NOT something lower. I would probably have rated the mower at a ZERO or NEGATIVE NUMBER.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per week
+14points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
52556
Sterring don't work
Posted 06/03/2011
There is a plastic sterring wheel adapter that is junk,to make things worse you cant find a replacement part,#532186737
-1point
Customer Avatar
Michigan
Weed Eater One
Posted 06/02/2011
After reading all the negative comments about steering breakage and other problems. I wonder, "Why does Walmart sell this poorly manufactured piece of garbage"?. I would have bought one becasue my grandfather used an older version (70's) for many years mowing his 2+ acres with no problems....not after I read the reviews.
0points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 7 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

A great little mower!

04/18/2010
By ,
Greenville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I can't speak for others' reviews of the Weedeater One, I will just say that some of the negative comments nearly caused me to pass it by. I'm so glad I didn't - this is a peach of a mower! Paid $650 at my local Walmart & that included a $100 gift card. Got it home, topped off the gas, checked the oil & she fired right up. Headed straight for my drainage ditch which has a fairly steep section and SURPRISE! She motored right up w. the blade engaged & in medium gear, no hesitation, no problem at all. The Weedeater One cuts fine, runs fine & drives fine: very comfortable, too, w. the adjustable seat (I'm 6'2"/210 lbs). For the money & for smaller yards, I don't see how you can beat this little rider. And if you do have a problem, Walmart has the most liberal return policy I know.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+38points
Review 8 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Weedeater One

09/02/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had been looking at riding lawnmowers for a few months. When I saw this one it seemed to be the one that would be the right size for my lawn, which is less than a half acre. I had looked at other stores and even though it was the end of the season the price was not marked down. My partner and her mother were shopping and just happened to look in the lawn and garden section of one of our local Walmarts and found this mower on sale. The price was right. Once I got it home, all I had to do was to fill the gas tank, check the oil and it started right up. It was easy to handle and cut the grass wonderfully. It fit through my gate to the back yard with plenty of room to spare. My back yard is on a slight hill and the mower was able to handle the hill in 1st gear just fine. I like the fact that the mower shuts off when you get off the seat. It is a great safety feature. I was impressed. It cleans up easily with my blower. I would recommend this mower to anyone who has trouble walking like I do because of rheumitiod arthritis and an artificial hip.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Review 9 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Not for hills

03/25/2010
By ,
Williamsburg VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I just cut my yard. I got this because I have a average yard but I am tired of pushing a lawn mower. On one small part of the yard there is a very small hill. The weedeater could not do the hill. No matter how much a running start I tried it & it would stop & I would have back down. Now for me the hill is a very small part of the yard. Everything is flat. The Lawnmower did a great job. Since the Lawnmower is criuse control there is no gas pedal to help it along. I would recommend this for a flat yard but if you have any hills forget about."
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+212points
Review 10 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

GREAT VALUE

05/16/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading through the reviews I decided to give this riding mower a chance. I have a moderate sized front/back yard (7900 SqF) with minor ruts, small inclines and multiple obstacles (trees, swing set, trampoline, etc). For these reasons I was really concerned about how this mower would work. I couldn't be happier with it. With my 200 lb weight it tackled all of those things with no problem. I've used it twice. The first time I operated it on the lowest speed to get familiar with it and to avoid any mishaps. The second time I blew through my front/back yard in no time on the second speed. Love it, love it, love it. It does have a feature that allows you to back-up with the cutting blade engaged. I highly recommend this riding mower, even if you don't have a golfing green lawn - as some others suggested. It's light weight and compact size allows it to fit in my shed with no problem and I can roll it right in. I wish I knew about this product long ago.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Review 11 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

You get what you pay for

09/20/2010
By ,
reading, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We bought a house with near an acre yard. It took 3 hrs with a push mower, and only half as long with the Weed Eater 1. After about 7 or 8 uses over 5 or 6 weeks, it started making a loud, rattling noise and the speeds no longer seemed to line up properly with the gear I wanted to be in. Also the blade would shut off not just in reverse, but in neutral. I took it to an authorized service center. They told be it had been adjusted improperly at the factory, that it needed $300 in parts, and the parts were back-ordered for at least 4 moths from so many people having a similar drive-train problem.
I decided to take it back to Wal-mart, and was pleased to receive a full refund of my cash. Maybe this mower is just for extremely light duty, or maybe I got a lemon- regardless, I won't buy another one and I don't recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+17points
Review 12 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

good idea

04/22/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this riding mower on monday returned it tuesday. Great idea but not for all small lawns. Major underpower problem, my lawn has a 10 deg
slope from the road to the house. This mower could not make it halfway up the slope. The wheels weren't spinning, just no power. Worked great on level back yard. The engine barely has 5hp, my push lawnmower has a 6hp bs engine. So you see the problem. Really wanted to love this mower but I can't, no power and wide turning radius makes this useless except for level open yards. Walmart was great no problem returning mower, thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+96points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ohio
MR
Posted 10/07/2011
have owned a year, CONS will not start with electric starter, once it warms up, must use pull rope. there is no front tire in america size 10x400-4, only in China, my research shows that 4.10/3.50.4, is the same . the one i own was a return that i paid less then half price for, otherwise as a retired small equipment reparman, this mower is over priced, plus it has no parts supplier that i could fine.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 13 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Good for the price, but buyers should know.....

06/05/2011
By ,
Indiana
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I'm basically happy with the purchase so far. With all the rain this spring I've been very happy to have a riding mower for the first time in my life. The assembly would have been easy except some of the nuts and bolts were missing and I had to make a trip to the hardware store to finish. I wish it had a mulcher because it leaves big clumps, but then the grass has been so high it might have anyhow. My biggest complaints are the wide turn radiaus which causes a lot of overlapping the same area to get everything, and how many steps you have to go through to go in reverse. You have to stop the blade from spinning, turn the ignition key to a different spot and then changes gears to reverse. This makes getting in small areas very cumbersome. I ended up buying a more powerful weed trimmer to get all the spots I can't get to with the mower. It's about time they made a small riding mower for small lawns and at a more reasonable price, but you do have to give up some convenient features for that lower price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 14 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Mower won't cut grass low enough?

04/06/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 5 Mins on this Mower I had buyers remorse. IT WOULDN'T CUT THE GRASS LOW ENOUGH! I read the manual and tried every trick in the book. My father was the one who figured out that IT WASN'T PUT TOGETHER THE RIGHT WAY. (don't worry it only takes 10-15 mins to fix it)
I bought two of these, and both were assembled the wrong way. The blade unit was sitting on the bottom rear end of the tractor. When you moved the lever to move the blade up and down, it didn't move at all. We took out the two front pins at the bottom front of the unit and had to move the blade unit forward to get it off the rear.
Once we got it back together it ran great and we were able to set the blade settings (they way there were intended to work).
BEFORE YOU BUY THE RIDE ON MOWER BE SURE THAT YOU CAN ADJUST THE HEIGHT OF THE BLADE. IF YOU DO NOT SEE IT GO UP AND DOWN, IT NEEDS TO BE ADJUSTED.
NOTE: To take the unit apart will require 10-15mins and you need to take out: 2 front pins and one nut. You will then need to pick up the front of the ride on mower (1 ft) and lift the blade casing off the rear motor case. If your handy this isn't a problem and souldn't deter you from buying the mower.
I was very close to returning this mower, but i'm glad I didn't.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Review 15 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

weedeater mower very good

04/09/2010
By ,
Clearwater, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I operated the WE261 riding mower first time today and it climbed the 10 degree 30 ft long hill easily in 1st, 2nd and 3rd gear. I weigh 220 lbs .
Its nicely designed and made too. The manual
says 15 degrees hill max. I like the compact size
for my 1/4 acre yard area, and storage.
The $ 650 walmart price makes it a very good value. Walmart helped take the steering shaft
and seat off so it would fit inside my 32" high camper shell to drive it home.
185 lb weight of mower makes it easy to move
in garage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+52points
Review 16 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Mower Disproves the "Hill Myths"

05/10/2010
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I you want to skip all the descriptions below, my summary is "Excellent value and will mow hills steeper than the manufacturer's printed rating".
I am embarrassingly, 267 lbs so the WE261 is not just mowing grass, it's hauling around quite a load.
I read as many reviews of this mower both on this site and others. Almost 95%+ rated the unit highly and saw no issues with the mower climbing hills while mowing. I also saw approx 5 or 6 reviews nixing its ability to mow anything but a flat lot. But then I saw one review from a gentleman that warned everyone to check the adjustment of the shifting linkage to ensure it was engaging in all settings. I did that before I did anything else and it looked good.
I have 4 inclines in my back and side yards so I measured the slopes and discovered I have a 30, 36, and two 39 (my side yards) deg inclines. The result was that the Weed Eater One WE261 climbed all inclines in good fashion. I noted the only issues I have on hills is if I attempt to do sharp turns. This causes the back wheel to slip in the grass so I've worked out a different cutting scheme and have no issues.
I project economy for this unit will be very good since when I fill the .25 gal tank, I get 2 full cuts and still have a bit left over. I have a small lot just under 1/4 acre.
This is NOT a $1400 Snapper or John Deere, etc. You will not be plowing snow or towing yard carts/aerators/tillers/etc.
My only disappointment is that the mower mulches, bags, and side discharges, but the unit did not come with the mulch plug (unless Wal-Mart forgot to give it to me as it was fully assembled at the store).
I would recommend this for anyone with a yard under an acre who only wants to mow. This unit has exceeded my expectations in all areas.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+105points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Holland, Michigan
Not a good mower.
Posted 08/04/2011
These mowers break real easy. I was mowing with mine and the blade quit working. I had the neighbor check the belt and he said the big pulley was not turning. So I brought it to the repair shop. It is still under warranty and they said I hit something with it. I never did hit anything the shaft broke. They said this mower is not worth fixing. I am fighting to get the warranty to cover this. I do know why a shaft would break. Do not buy this mower.
+2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

no-nonsense riding mower

05/01/2010
By ,
Joliet, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Weed Eater One (WE261) is a riding mower designed to do just that - cut grass. No headlights, no fenders, no cowling, nothing extra. That saves cost and that means the customer saves money. The mower started first time with one pull of the cord. (I was not sure the battery was charged well enough, so I used the "reserve" starting procedure.) The mower has started quickly and easily each time since I began mowing four weeks ago.
I cut two yards, mine and my mother-in-law's. After a month I am still on the first gallon of gasoline and have mowed three times. I recommend first gear for the smoothest cut and for cutting close to obstacles. Third gear I find practical only for geting down the way to the other yard and back to the garage. If it is lawn you want to mow, this machine does it. Just don't expect lights and a snow plow attachment.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Review 18 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Great Mower, Great Value

05/08/2010
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this mower to mow my yard wich is a 1 acre lot. I have some steep hills and it dosent seem underpowered to me at all. It cuts nice for the size deck it has. Albeit there is a learning curve to cutting with this size deck, it still gets the job done. I have a tacometer/hour meter that i have purchased aftermarket. This mower usually has a tach reading of 1380 rpms. It takes approxmatately 1.3 hours to mow my lot with this mower. I weigh approx 180lbs. It seems that heavier people (over 200lbs) are having problems getting up steep hills. I am able to tackle large hills with my mower with ease. The quality of this mower seems very sturdy. I have read that it was designed by a division of Husqvarna, a swedish company that makes many outdoor lawn tools. This unit is built in the USA however, which i find to be refreshing. Althoath i wouldnt be suprised if the parts were made in another country and simply assembled here, but i cant state that as a fact. It looks very simple to upgrade the engine on this mower to a higher hp honda if the stock briggs one goes out. I have done that on other mowers in the past with no problems, and there is a very large surplus of aftermaket engines on certain auction sites. Id say if you meet the weight ratio, and dont have a larger lot than 1 1/2 to 2 acers you cant go wrong with this mower. It stores very easily in my shed, and is light weight. This allowes it a very nice turning radius at high speeds. This mower sips fuel, it runs at full speed for 1 1/2 hours on a tank. Im not sure of the tank size but i think it may be a couple quarts of fuel to fill it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+26points
Review 19 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

Perfect Fit

05/07/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading some reviews that the WE261 could not handle hills, I was a little hesitant as I have a 10 degree grade on part of my 1/2 acre property.
I bought from Wal-Mart, knowing I could return it if it couldn't pull the hill. The ONLY problem I had was when I would hit a fallen branch with a rear wheel and the other rear wheel would freely spin. Other than that, the WE261 performed quite well.
Being disabled, I can no longer operate a push mower and I have been paying a service to mow my lawn.
I used less than a pint of gasoline to cut the front and back yards (About 1/4 acre.) Compared to paying a service, this mower will probably pay for itself in about two seasons.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Review 20 for Weed Eater One 26" Gas Riding Lawn Mower (Not for Sale in CA)

So far, so good.

03/21/2010
By ,
Clarence, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
With this being a new item this year, early availability has been low. Found that Walmart stores had received one or two each and thought I'd snag one quick as they could be in short supply. Their price was also much lower than I saw elsewhere. Going on faith, as no reviews to be found yet, I brought one home still crated. Was very pleased with quality at first sight, found it to be very simple to assemble and it started right up with just some fuel...oil already installed. I had read about the new Briggs 875 engine and although no HP rating, the 8.75 torqe rating was listed. The engine is very quiet with a nice muffler system and it moves the mower over grass very well. Engaging the mower deck (belt driven so do so slowly, the noise level increases while turning the drive pulleys and the blade and the enging revs with the increased load. As it is only mid March, I haven't cut grass with it yet, but I expect it will do so nicely. There are 3 forward speeds and I am hopeful that it will cut well at the fastest because the lower two are a bit slow for long stretches, but nice for going against walkways, etc. There are only four cutting heights available with the middle two being approximately 2 1/4 and 3 1/4 high. I expect that I may wish it had another height in between these, say about 2 3/4, as the highest and lowest will probably not be useful for me. While the ergonomics seem fine so far, the seat appears to have cushioned sections but they are no softer than the rest of it. Given the low price, I can't really quibble with that and I will likely use a stadium seat pad if uncomfortable as is. Controls seem convenient and sightlines for cutting are good. 26" cut is relatively small, but hopefully will be made up for by speed and less walking. The specs say that the blade is designed for mulching and bagging, but the accessories (mulch kit or bag) are not yet available but the mulch kit is expected to be soon. The turning circle is not tight, as I expected for this type of unit, so a few perimeter runs will likely be needed to gain area for turning for the mid-lawn runs. My property is only 120' square, but significantly larger lots may demand a wider cut and more features. Having said that, this unit is fairly small, of low complexity (one blade) and if it cuts well should meet the needs of many homeowners. It is not a tractor, so towing attachments doesn't appear to be an option, but that allows for a smaller motor and footprint in the garage. Lastly, I like that it is in cruise control when moving, no foot on the gas, only the brake/clutch when needed (it actually has a brake pad and rotor). I will review grass cutting later in the Spring.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+143points
1-20 of 110 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next