Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Yard Machines Yard Machines 18" 208cc Rear-Tine Tiller

Yard Machines Yard Machines 18" 208cc Rear-Tine Tiller

This Yard Machines tiller works best for planting new lawns or gardens and for power composting.
Average Customer Rating:
3.75 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation69%11 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 17 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Yard Machines 18" 208cc Rear-Tine Tiller

good tiller for the money with pros and cons

05/03/2011
By ,
maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Having owned a 7 hp troy built horse that finally wore out I decided to give this tiller a try..I have a large market garden that I use this on..It starts easy and tills great with plenty of power..The counter rotating tines grind everthing up very good however there tends to be some build up of loose debris between the wheels and the hood when tilling in cover crops ,or leaves for example. This requires lifting the handles up and putting it in reverse to back out of the debris then running over it again...Using a shallow setting to start with helps some with this issue..I seem to be able to get into a wet garden quicker with this tiller than the troybuilt..When tilling in soft soil or recently tilled soil you will be hard pressed to use one hand with this tiller because the counter rotating action of the tines works against the forward motion of the wheels thereby basically keeping the tiller spinning in place..The more shallow the tilling depth, the less this is a problem but you will still have to either lift the handles some to get it to go forward or get behind it and push it some which does require some effort..When hitting rocks the handles will not bounce up suddenly like the troybuilt did but a big rock will stall the engine..Having to pull pins out of the wheels to get it to freewheel is annoying. The engine runs smooth and is more quiet than the troy built I had..I guess the ideal combination would be to have a tiller like this for preparing a bed and also one with forward rotating tines for quick cultivation, once the ground is tilled, but overall I would rate this tiller as very good
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+82points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Yard Machines 18" 208cc Rear-Tine Tiller

Good as all the rest at $100 less

04/22/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a excellent tiller.It tills with ease and breaks up dirt to a fine powder.I run a assisted living facility and the residents love tilling the dirt up for the garden.Hopefully this will encourage them to be successful gardener's with ease.I checked all over and by far this is the best buy.Their are many others out their with a different paint and name but probable made by the same manufacturer.if your in the market for a rear tine tiller this is the place and the tiller to get .I order to pick up at my local wal mart. Don't think I'll ever get a front tine again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Yard Machines 18" 208cc Rear-Tine Tiller
04/02/2010
By ,
Salem, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, this is a real workhorse! It's my first rear tine tiller and it proved itself to me quickly. It dug through dirt, roots and rocks. I was impressed! Would definitely recommend this tiller. Price was great and saved alot of shipping costs by having it shipped site to store!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Yard Machines 18" 208cc Rear-Tine Tiller

Great Product

03/29/2010
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tiller is everything I expected and more. It works wonderful and I would recommend it to anyone interested in tilling a small to medium sized garden.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Yard Machines 18" 208cc Rear-Tine Tiller

Excellent performance for small gardens

07/08/2011
By ,
southwest virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price and availability from Wal-Mart are very good Ship-to-store is free and fast. The tiller is well built starts easily and runs strong. Have used for about 3 months now and it tills up hard rock filled areas with relative ease. At maximum depth two passes are needed to complete the 18" row. Excellent fuel economy. Moving around does require the removal of the wheel pins but this is a minor issue and does not effect the overall quality or performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Yard Machines 18" 208cc Rear-Tine Tiller

great tiller

08/22/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
bought this tiller for a 200 x 45 foot garden works great the only thing i would change is i would put a neutral on the trans
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Yard Machines 18" 208cc Rear-Tine Tiller

A good medium duty tiller

04/10/2011
By ,
central Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After about 2 weeks, I am quite pleased with this garden tiller. It seems to have plenty of power, does a good job, is easy to run, and is easy to maintain. The adjustable side shields are nice too, to help keep the garden smooth. My garden is about 2500 square feet and I expect this tiller to keep up with it just fine.
I would prefer it had a forward, no-till gear for moving it from the shed to the garden and back, but that's not that big of a deal. For the money, I think it's just fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Yard Machines 18" 208cc Rear-Tine Tiller

never would shift from forward to reverse

03/27/2012
By ,
Arkansas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
machine would be ok if you could buy parts to fix the thing. Wal-Mart used to sell some parts, now if you have a problem you have to throw away the old machine and buy a new one, so much for GREEN EARTH! A simple little part ~ float in carb is bad and can't buy one!!! This is crazy, theere should be a law if you sell a machine you should have to offer parts to fix it for at least 10 years. My machine is only 3 years old, and now I have to buy another one ~ no profit for me to raise my own food!
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Yard Machines 18" 208cc Rear-Tine Tiller
03/31/2013
By ,
Dallas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got my Tiller last week and started it for the first time yesterday...it seem to run ok.. The next day it was extremely hard to start.... I finally got it started and then the motor didn't seem to be putting out enough power when the throttle was wide open... the motor is called a Power-Mate and it is way under powered.... I do not recommend this tiller at all... MTD needs to put a much better engine on this thing... Very disappointed with the performance...
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Yard Machines 18" 208cc Rear-Tine Tiller
04/11/2013
By ,
montgomery,tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
For price, should of had speed cable , the tines are placed way too far out on the shaft , which in time will cause wear to shaft and the transmission gears , tines DO NOT have full support of the drive shaft. It is a work horse , but the placement of the tines worry me!!Boggs down easy in pretilled soil, the cleats on tires wouldn't pull it without constant help from the operator.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Yard Machines 18" 208cc Rear-Tine Tiller
04/19/2013
By ,
Enterprise, Al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has the power and the width to till up some serious garden area. Love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Yard Machines 18" 208cc Rear-Tine Tiller

Excellent Tiller

05/14/2013
By ,
Liberty, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I put gas and oil in and checked the gear oil. Everything ready. Got ready to have to pull multiple times and was suprised that it started on the very first pull. I have now used this tiller 6 times and it has started on the first pull every time. Amazing, most devices take multiple times of pulling before it starts. I checked around on tillers at several big box stores and this tiller was larger and at least $200-400 cheaper, definitely worth the money. Plus free shipping to the nearest Wal-Mart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Yard Machines 18" 208cc Rear-Tine Tiller
05/16/2013
By ,
West Liberty, ky.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I`ve had this tiller for two months and I`m on the third belt. Called service dealer and it will take two weeks just to look at it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Yard Machines 18" 208cc Rear-Tine Tiller

poor quality

05/15/2012
By ,
idaho
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this tiller last week in the store, and it only lasted for 30 minutes. We bought the displayed item because there isn't any product left in the store, and we paid at a discounted price $600.00, even more than the online price. When we tried to use it, we noticed that the tires were installed wrong, and blades were reversed. So we went through the trouble to fix. Sunday morning, we were ready to use it for our yard, and it only lasted for 30 minutes, then died. We were NEVER able to start the engine again. I would not recommend this product to anybody
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Yard Machines 18" 208cc Rear-Tine Tiller
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
4.5 out of 5
4.5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5