Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Weed Eater Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer

Weed Eater Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer

 
Average Customer Rating:
2.245 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(49 Reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
10
1 star
23
Customer Recommendation28%13 out of 46reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
10
1 star
23
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer

get what you purchase

06/19/2010
By ,
Houston
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We had this for one season before the mottor kicked the bucket. The mottor is only 5 amps, we are going to try a stronger one. The spool was a nightmare to try and put in and if you do it wrong, you will spend several hours trying to feed line through. You get what you pay for with this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:A few times per month
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer

Worst weed eater product I've ever owned

07/03/2010
By ,
Redlands, Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've been using this weedeater for the past hour and I have to say I'll be returning it. I purchased this model to replace my old reliable weed eater expecting the same reliability, boy was I wrong. Most of my hour of "yard work" has been spent manually feeding the line, replacing the line that has broken off in the head (and I have to take the whole thing apart). The automatic feed simply does not work. wish they had the older model, at least it worked. I want to give it .25 stars, but i had to click one.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer

Lasted 6 years

06/21/2010
By ,
Pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This weed eater is being replaced tomorrow.I bought it in 2004 and it has worked fine althought it was not used hard.
The unit still works but the head got moisture in it and I can't replace the cartridge filled with trimmer line.
A bit of advice,if you buy one don't try to wind up new string into the cartridge,buy a whole new cartridge,about $9.00 and save yourself a lot of aggravation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer

DO NOT WASTE MONEY ON THIS

06/11/2011
By ,
Middle GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I've owned about 6 electric weedeaters and this is BY FAR the worst one yet. When the line breaks, you can't bump it to get more line. Instead, you have to stop the wheel from spinning and then push a button on the side of the wheel and pull on the line simultaneously. The line would break every 10 or so feet.
Many times, the line would break off completely, requiring you to pull off the cap, take out the line reel, unwind it, place the end back thru the wheel's line hole and then reassemble. I had to do the latter task three times within a fifteen-foot stretch earlier today. When it broke a fourth time three feet later, I gave up and threw it in the trash where it belongs. Everytime I've used it, this stuff would happen.
DO NOT waste your money on this junk, spend $10-20 more and get something worthwhile. A different brand is recommendable.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer

Get the Job Done

05/18/2010
By ,
Fort Worth, TX
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
easy to use for a person who knows nothing about doing yard work
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer
02/24/2012
By ,
Mesa, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is a piece of junk. On the positive side, it is fairly lightweight and not too tiring on the hands and arms for extended periods of time. All the rest of the review is negative. It is constantly breaking the line, it does NOT automatically feed through, and you are constantly stopping and removing the spool to either untangle OR pull out additional line. I had this weed eater less than one full year, with moderate use (about once a week on a small yard). It was only used to do edging and, if it worked the way it should, about 15 minutes worth of work each time. I would spend an HOUR each time because it was constantly breaking the line and I had to re-thread it. One day, after using it in the yard, the motor made a sharp sound and just quit on me. It had always been kept indoors and was well taken care of. Less than 8 months old and the motor went out on it. I would NOT recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer

My third and WORST weedeater.

10/01/2011
By ,
Edmond, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I previously owned (and loved) the gas-version of this weedeater, but was due for a new one. I very much enjoyed the trimming/edge combo, but it appears that weedeater no longer makes the gas model of this trimmer, so I purchased this electric model.
After three tries, I am extremely disappointed.
The .65 line breaks very quickly, and the automatic line feed never works, so what should take just a few minutes turns into half an hour, easily. After reading the instruction manual and giving this thing three chances, I am returning it to Wal Mart and looking for another brand.
I have used gas weedeaters with satisfaction for over ten years, so I was surprised and disgusted with the (lack of) quality with this one.
If I had to do it again, I would use my wife's good scissors before I would use this weedeater.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer

I AGREE, THIS IS A WORTHLESS PIECE OF JUNK!!!

10/04/2011
By ,
CULPEPER, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a worthless piece of junk. I spent so much time trying to do my yard that I just gave up.
I wished that I had never bought this. WARNING TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR A WEED EATER, DON'T BUY THIS PRODUCT!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer

It's Okay

06/09/2010
By ,
Magnolia, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The trimmer does a good job but replacing the trimmer line is difficult and time consuming. The instructions in the owners manual to manually feed the string is difficult to follow and the string does not automatically feed after you replace it. Wal Mart only carries the replacement string and not the replacement spools for this model. If you buy this trimmer order the replacement spool from Weed Eater you will save yourself alot of time and head ache.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer

Weed eaters on fire don't replace fireworks!

07/02/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this weekeater last year as something that wasn't the cheapest, but it would be light weight for me to use to trim the weeds around my home. Well, after using this weed eater for one season, the weed eater started smoking and then flames shot out of the head of it. Although I love fireworks on the 4th of July, this incident on the 2nd of July just didn't cut it for me and the fireworks.
Not only did I have problems with the fire, but trying to change the spindal out made it quite difficutl to use....do not buy ....save the money and find something of better quality!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Once per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
San Antonio
Totally agree
Posted 05/18/2012
Same thing happened to me i hear you
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer
09/24/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product is one reason people don't work on their yards. I've used it 3 times and it ran out of line on the 3rd try. Bought some new line, which the clerk said was the root of my trouble. The line breaks every 3 feet while edging causing you to remove the cap and manually feed the line through. My neighbor grimaces (or laughs) evertime he hears the fequency change on the weedeater (line eater). He knows it just broke. I should have read the reviews first. What a piece of junk!!! I will say it does one thing very good. It flys 30 feet further than it can edge without breaking.
Here's a usage tip "Use something else".
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer
06/20/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After 10 years, I'm having to replace my weedeater... and I am buying the same model, mainly because it's easy to use. Yes, it has it's challenges with repacing the line & the line feed, but it's dependable & lightweight (compared to the gas models).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer

Not worth the effort and price!

08/03/2012
By ,
Loveland, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent almost 2 hours using this weed wacker stopping every 2 minutes to take it apart to pull out the string to chop down my weeds.... The string is of uber-poor quality and is melted together or twisted so it will not advance. Once I put it away and just pulled weeds by hand the job was done much faster. I will be returning this item because of is poor quality and a waist of time and money. I hate to give a bad review and can blame it on the spool line but, because of the time restraints on returning and testing an item, my overall view has to be negative, because I was not given enough time to try multiple spools of string. Im sure the motor will continue to run and do its job but if the string spool will not advance what good is it? This also brings up the use of string. I own less than 1/4 acher, half of that is domicile, the other half of that is drive way and is paved. The rest is where weed and grass grow up through the cracks. So, this is a very small portion of land needing to be trimmed.... I used almost an entire spool and was not even able to finish my job without hand picking. The string is of poor quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer

Light duty product only

05/25/2012
By ,
Kentucky
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have a '75 x 175 foot piece of land. With all the rain we got last year and this spring, it's been hard to find a dry day to trim the ditch running along side my property. So the weeds get fairly high by the time I can get to them. I am sure with a small flat piece of property this product would be a good product to use. But if you have a large piece of land or you have ditches or uneven property to deal with or you live in an area that has had a lot of rain, allowing for overgrowth of weeds, I don't recommend this product. One, the cord sometimes slips off the product and you have to plug the cord back in. Two, you constantly have to stop and manually feed the string because the string doesn't feed properly (this is a BIG headache). Also, I had it only two years and this season the motor burned out. I'm not sure if it was due to the tall weeds or because I couldn't wait any longer for the ditch to dry, the weeds had to come down. So it might have been over worked or maybe isn't designed to handle damp weeds. This product is only designed for light use. Not heavy duty. It's true what they say, you get what you pay for.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer
03/15/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have bought Weed Eater brands for many years but now I am searching for one like they used to make. I despise having to keep winding the string on & taking it apart to get it unstuck. Getting no more than 4 to 5 ft. at a time. Disgusting. GO BASCK TO THE CARTRIDGE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer

WASTE OF MONEY!

08/18/2011
By ,
Oklahoma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to replace our OLD Weed Eater brand weed eater and I am extremely disappointed! I wish I would've read the reviews before purchasing, lesson learned. I would give it 0 stars if that was possible. I share the sentiment of others who have issues with the auto feeding, not being able to reload the line, and I wish it had the tap mechanism like the old reliable one did. I almost threw this in the creek behind our house the last time I used it because I was SOOOO frustrated!! I have used it 3 times and will not use it again. It adds at least 1-2 hours on my yard work time which means less time to relax and enjoy my beautiful yard when it's done...I HATE THIS WEED EATER and I don't ever use the word HATE. Please save your money, read reviews and save yourself a big headache!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer

Its reliable

06/05/2010
By ,
San Diego,CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just bought this to clean up my yard, and it works like it says. I was able cut those ugly grassy weeds on the side of my house with no problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer

junk

06/08/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
returned product within 3 hours,auto line feed does not work,great in theory but horrible design, absolute piece of junk more reviews will reveal lack of quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer

great if you want to be irritated

08/08/2011
By ,
Akron OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
worked so-so until the original spool ran out. you can't rewire the spool - it keeps coming undone. It does not auto-feed the way they say it should. It works the best when using as a edger. I had less issues with the wire getting caught inside and needing to take the thing apart to make it work. I do not believe this will last until next season. I may break it out of frustration well before then. I would not recommend this product to anyone and wish we would have read the reviews before we went to get a trimmer. I gladly would have paid more $$ to be less irritated by using this thing!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Weed Eater 15'' 5-Amp Electric Trimmer
06/07/2012
By ,
Kyle, Texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
If I had know that you had to buy the replacement spool instead of rewinding it yourself I never
would have purchased this model. The spool is around 7 to 8 dollars. By the time you buy
3 spools you could just buy a new weed eater. If you want one that you can rewind do not
buy this model.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 24 total reviews
1 2 Next