Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Poulan Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

Poulan Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

 
Average Customer Rating:
1.677 out of 5
1.7
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation19%6 out of 31reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
4 Questions | 20 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

USELESS

07/15/2010
By ,
ARKANSAS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
PURCHASED THIS WEEDEATER TO REPLACE AN RT-112 THAT HAD SERVED WELL FOR 5-6 YEARS AND SIMPLY WORE OUT. SINCE IT HAD DONE SO WELL I WENT WITH WEEDEATER BRAND AGAIN. THIS WAS ONLY ONE IN STOCK. FIRST USE IT WOULDN'T SELF FEED. SO I WENT BACK TO OLD ONE. THE OLD ONE FINALLY DIED TODAY SO I GOT THE SHINEY NEW ONE BACK OUT. NEEDLESS TO SAY WITHIN THREE MINUTES AND MANUALLY HAVING TO PULL STRING OUT MY NEIGHBORS SAW AN ADULT TEMPER TANTRUM COMPLETE WITH A WEEDEATER SMASHING LIKE A ROCK STAR. LESSON LEARNED......NO MORE BRAND LOYALTY.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

Ended up as road kill . . .

07/25/2010
By ,
Marysville, KS
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My husband bought this piece of junk a couple months ago, but I noticed the trimming never was done. Now he's on active duty, so I asked him about the trimming, and he said he only trims about once to every six times he mows. I decided to trim a bit after I finished mowing today. I got out the trimmer and started . . . and it worked fine for about 30 seconds. The line jammed, so I read the instruction booklet, and followed what it said, hoping for the auto line feed to work. It didn't. It jammed, crammed, and glued the line together inside (this is the line that came with it). I tried to get along with the trimmer, but after it failed for about the 15th time, I launched it into the street. I picked it up and launched it again--several times, until it broke into many pieces. Mechanical road kill (it's in the trash now). I think my husband didn't want to admit that he had bought a worthless piece of cheap junk. Somehow, I feel better, except that I contributed to the ecological nightmare of a throwaway society . . .
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

Very Poor Review

08/01/2010
By ,
Lenoir City, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is the most worthless weed eater I've ever used. The automatic feed does not work!!!! You use more time flipping the head up to push the button & pull to get more line manually than you do weed eating. The line breaks if you bump the slightest thing. This is a total thumbs down! Put this one in the back of the garage. For $40 more I ended up getting a Black & Decker GrassHog XP! Absolutely love it!!! Did my whole yard, didn't slow down for anything. It automatic feed, dual line. Most power an electric weed eater could have. Eats up roots & dirt, and without breaking the line that comes on it!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

horrible

04/22/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Horrible weedeater...very cheap..but after about 2 feet of cutting you have to stop, lift it up and manually take out line...takes about 3 times too long.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

Poor performance

04/24/2010
By ,
St Charles, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It says automatic line feed, but only way to get line out is to manually do it. This one does not allow to bump and feed more lne. Very time comsuming
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

Very Dissapointing

04/30/2010
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Automatic line feed does not work, very frustrating. Avoid this product at all cost, it's a waste of money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

worst piece of garbage

05/05/2010
By ,
Bastrop, La.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had a Weedeater 12 for 13 years and it was excellent. It wore out and the closest replacement was this. I have gone through 4 rolls of string in the time I used one roll with the old trimmer. This "New" design stinks as it forces you to sit down and manually pull the string out each time the string breaks. I will never buy a Weed
Eater again.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

Waste of time!

05/19/2010
By ,
Idaho
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do not buy this. I live in a townhome with a small yard, during first use this thing went up in smoke. Now I must take it back, I guess you get what you pay for. Also if you are tall, then this will not work for you. You have to hunch over to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Greensboro, NC
THE WORST
Posted 09/14/2013
I've only used the weedeater a few times and it just died. The battery is fine (I checked it), so it has to be the weedeater itself. Will not run, not to mention the fact that the string doesn't feed correctly. DO NOT BUY THIS WEEDEATER!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

..it only half works..

08/02/2010
By ,
AV, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy this for just a weed eater and not an edger. It is a decent weed eater for the price, very powerful and very noisy. One problem I have weed eating is frequently the line will come out of the outlet eye and I have to stop to fix it at least 5 times doing my yard. Don ' even think about using it for an edger. The above mentioned problem happens the second I try to edge, every single time, so it is pretty useless for that.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

Monumental piece of garbage

05/27/2011
By ,
Taylor, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish I could give this less than a "1". DO NOT buy this. It does not feed, and the original line AND the replacement spool are GARBAGE! The line lasts for less than 30 seconds before you have to turn it upside down, open it up, MANUALLY feed the line through, and start all over! My yard is about 15' x 30'. It took me close to an hour and an ENTIRE spool of line to cut less than 30' linear feet of edge!
Too bad for me that I bought this last summer, and can no longer return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

Yes Junk!

07/15/2010
By ,
NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst ever! Doesn't feed the line....or feeds too much.
Very frustrating to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

JUNK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

05/23/2010
By ,
NV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Right out of the box it would not feed the line. After about an hour of agonizing use THE HEAD BROKE RIGHT OFF THE SHAFT!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

A Cult String Trimmer

07/25/2010
By ,
Washington, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the money this string trimmer ROCKS.
Disclaimer: Do not expect this thing to perform auto feed.
There is a manual push feed button on the spool.Expect this to work 20% of the time. Just realize that you will need to take off the spool cap and manually feed line through the hole. So why did I give it 5 stars? Well, for one, the motor on this is very powerful and cutting is a breeze. For the $28. and change I paid for this in the local store, I knew what I was getting before I purchased. Given that my $100 gas string trimmer is broken, and I weed whack a couple of times a year, this inexpensive replacement, is more than adequate. Are there better units out there? I'm sure there is...but for the money, this model with it's inherent quirks is just fine. Just don't expect a Mercedes at a Yugo price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

decent trimmer

07/04/2011
By ,
Ada, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I read the reviews of others before purchasing....and still made the purchase. for the price it is a very decent trimmer. if you have a very big yard and have a lot of trimming to do, then this prob isn't the trimmer for you. but my yard isn't big and this trimmer is lite weight and easy to use. I have problems walking and can get off balance easily. this trimmer is quite easy to use and because it is lite weight i don't have a problem using it. it does a very good job trimming around my fence and up next to my house and around shrubs and trees. I recommend reading the guide before using as most of the other reviewers prob didn't. i have not had a bad problem with the line needing to be restrung thru the eylet and the the auto feed works fine ...if you follow the directions!
I recommend this trimmer for anyone. my 16 and 20 year old daughters can use this item too with ease.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

I should have read the reviews...

07/27/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
... but I was desparate to finish the yard work and my old reliable Weedeater finally died after yerars of faithful service. This one started off good but the automatic line feeder is a joke and quit feeding altogether. I'll be looking for another brand that has the tap function..
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

Terrible Product

07/26/2010
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I originally bought this product because of the low price. I had difficulty putting the blade on. Once I got that fixed it was downhill from there. I wish I had read the reviews before I purchased it. It is a pain in the neck to use. The line keeps getting caught and you have to keep manually pulling it out. It is such a hassle and definitely not user friendly. I am very disappointed in the poor quality and would not recommend this to anyone else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

worst weed eater ever

07/11/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Automatic string feeder doesn't work. I spend more time turning the weed eater upside down to get more string out than I do actually trimming. I am not exagerating when I say I can't trim more than 30 seconds at a time before I have to manually feed more string and that usually consist of taking the spool apart to dig out the string. I wouldn't waste the gas money to go pick one up if they were giving them away.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

piece of junk

07/10/2010
By ,
Nebraska
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Will throw this prodect away. The automatic line dispenser only causes the line to be replaced several times per summer. I cannot believe Weed Eater marketed this poor design. I either spent time trying to pull the line out of the spool, or respooling the line after running out with limited use. I will never buy a weedeater product again. The one I had growing up was much higher quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

Piece of junk!!!

07/11/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This thing is horrible!!! The line doesn't automatically feed so you have to keep manually pulling more line out.
It was used for the third time today and the guard came completely off and WalMart doesn't carry replacement parts so now it's garbage.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Weed Eater 13'' 4.3-Amp Electric Trimmer

You get what you pay for!

07/11/2010
By ,
Powder Springs, GA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buyer beware! I can't say anymore than the other reviewers so heed their warning and spend a little more to get a better quality trimmer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 31 total reviews
1 2 Next