Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Poulan Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

Poulan Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

The Poulan 14" Electric Chain Saw is equipped with cutting-edge features that will help you take care of big and small jobs. It is ideal for yard maintenance and cleanup. It has a 14" steel guide bar that ensures precision and control. This Poulan electric chain saw comes fully assembled, so it is ready for action right out of the box. This powerful tool has a 1.5-hp, 8-amp motor giving you the flexibility to cut through materials at various angles without the mess or hassle of gas. With an inertia blade brake, an anti-kickback bar tip and a wrap-around handle for safety, this 14" chain saw has a lightweight design that is easy to work with. It will help transform your outdoor living space into a well-kept environment that is free from clutter and debris and suitable for outdoor entertaining.
Average Customer Rating:
4.146 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(82 Reviews) 71
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation88%72 out of 82reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 88 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
44
4 stars
21
3 stars
8
2 stars
3
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

Easy instant on/off saw for fast trimming

09/10/2013
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My Mrs. does not like trying to start and use our power saw. This Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw has turned out perfect for her use. I like it as well for quick small jobs around the property. No mixing fuel, no winterizing other than some cleaning per say. Just plug it in for instant on/off operation.
We use this saw to clear thicker diameter brush, cut branches, and fall small tress, doing so without all the noise my power saw produces. My gas chain saw was hard to restart after warmed up, and mixing oil with fresh gas was annoying, time consuming, and a fire hazard.
I especially like this saw when on a ladder cutting off limbs -- very light and easy to manage, but follow all safety precautions when in a tree. Ladders and saws used together are dangerous. Lost my uncle when he did not properly position himself and his ladder while cutting a large limb. He fell and broke his neck. Search the Internet on this topic, study and fully understand how to safely fall large tree limbs or hire an expert.
This electric chain saw is not as fast as my power saw when cutting down trees. I've fallen up to 12" diameter trees with this saw. The saw does fine when not pushed while cutting these larger sizes.
When cutting brush and limbs from trees it is best to wear boots, jeans, a long sleeve shirt, eye protection, and gloves. Keep the saw's chain lubricated, properly adjusted, the teeth sharp, and go easy during the cut. Super for bucking limbs.
A 2HP motor would probably been a bit better for larger limbs, but the 1.5HP motor does the job ... just don't push this saw. I have a 2000-watt inverter generator, can go anywhere on the property with this saw. Uses about 800 watts from the generator making this saw useful anywhere on the property and when out in the woods.
When cutting up fallen limbs for firewood a homemade saw horse made out of scrap 2x4's is useful for keeping the limbs off the ground and stable while cutting. Works best with two people but can also use a heavier duty bungee cord to secure the limb to the saw horse while cutting - (see photos). I made my sawhorse to fit in the lawnmower trailer for transport around the property.
The saw does seem to leak chain oil when stored, a problem when not expecting that to happen. If this is a common problem with this saw it may be best to empty the chain oil reservoir when storing.
Again, read all safety precautions when falling trees and bucking limbs. What might seem safe enough can suddenly become very dangerous. Too many have been seriously injured or worse when not knowing the proper methods and trying to cut too much tree or a large limb from a tree. It is essential to understand what you are doing and how your cutting will affect the tree or a limb's behavior. ~ jkraemer
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

Just the ticket! Can't beat the price!!

07/06/2013
By ,
Los Angeles County
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed to cut down and remove a couple of small trees and some heavy evergreen brush. This saw performed flawlessly thru 3-4 days of moderately heavy use. I had to tighten the chain once and it was good as new. Easy chain adjustment.
I would definately recommend this chainsaw for the value and performance.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

Mighty Mighty Little Chainsaw

04/24/2011
By ,
Connecticut, USA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed to cut some tress and clear a bit of land on our property. Really didn't need a big saw and didn't want to deal with gas and oil mixtures so I shopped around and found this Poulan. I had been a Union Carpenter during a stage of my youth and remembered the French Canadian Carpenters loved this brand so I gave it a try.
This exceeded my expectations by not only handling all the brush and pruning but I went ahead once I got used to it and fell a couple of goodly sized trees. Even when dropping one of the good sized tress the saw got stuck and I had to actually push the tree over and the chain came lose but when I put it back on and tighten it up she purred like a kitten.
Love this little saw best $47 bucks ever spent. Bought the Poulan oil and sharpening files to go with it. Cleans up and sharpens easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

excellent

09/14/2013
By ,
shelby,nc
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wife bought this for me, had to cut a 21 ince diameter pine tree down, about 60-65 feet tall, had a 18 inch poulan gas chain saw too, the 18 inch gas broke about 2 mins into cut, nothing new with that thing, anyway long story short, i used this 14 inch electric to cut down and cut up the whole tree in about 7 hours, this saw really impressed me , got it to just trim a few branches here and there and it ended up doing more than the 18 inch gas poulan, the only downside to this saw is minor, do not put bar oil in it until you are getting ready to use it, read other reviews on this saw and most other people agree, it will leak out, other than that i would highly recommend this saw, i know that if you buy one like the one i have, you will be amazed at the cutting power, and by the way, after all the cutting that was done, the chain is still sharp, love this saw
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

WOW

03/04/2010
By ,
Blytheville, Ark.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This saw is easy. First you unpack it, put some lubracating oil in it, pump the oil button a couple times then plug it in and start cutting. It sounds not like a gas chain saw, it sounds like a power saw, not loud at all. It is so light weight you will love it. It cuts limbs around a foot round with no problem, it also cuts/trims bushes & hedges. I only needed to cut a few tree limbs and i ended up cutting even my neighbors trees. It is so easy to use and handle, your suppose to pump the oil button after each cut you do but i only pumped it after every 4 or 5 cuts i did, each time you push/pump the oil button that lubracates the chain saw blade. NOTE: It does not come with the lubracating oil so make sure you also buy a bottle unless you already have some at home, any lubracating small engine oil will really work. Also, make sure you have a long enough extension cord to plug into it so you can cut whatever your going to cut. Also, It states on the box and in the manual that you should not return it to the place of purchase but instead to one of its dealers, i think walmart would still take it back tho. But you will love this saw and won't need to take it back. Good thing about this is that it will start each and evrytime you turn it on because it is electric.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+163points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

Cheap and Tough

04/23/2014
By ,
Roanoke, Va.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Gas operated saws make me nervous and even though I have used many types in the past, as an old timer now I wanted something to do some, somewhat small jobs without having to worry about gas and oil mixture or weight, or throwing my arm out pull staring it. Well this little power house was just what I needed. Removed two stumps in my yard and though the blade did get dull and I found it hard to find a replacement on line or in stores I did get one in Lowes. It is an Oregon brand and it will not say the name Poulan on the front it will show this Poulans model number on the back of the box. Just remember the link total for the fourteen inch is LESS than FIFTY. The Oregon was a perfect match and saved me the buying of a chain on line and paying tax and postage that would of been half the price of a new saw. All in all a good saw.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

Excellent chain saw

11/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had some reservations after reading a number of reviews. Also, the amperage of the saw was only (8amps). Glad I chose this one. It's very light, cuts 10" locust branches as good as my Stihl 32AV which didn't start. The oiler kept the chain lubricated and the bar adjusts by a screw after the two lock nuts are loosened. I dump out the bar oil when finished to prevent leakage.
It's important to maintain chain tension while cutting. Wear on Oregon bar and chain is the same as gas powered saws.
No mixed gas just connect the power and press the trigger.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

WONDERFUL!!!! GETS THE JOB DONE!!!!

07/20/2010
By ,
NK, RI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a 61 year old woman with tons of large tree branches to cut down and cut into managable sizes. Plus i had a huge stump to shave down. I read the directions thoroughly, was very careful, and this product performed beyond my wildest expectations!!!! Easy to operate and easy to tighten the chain, everything about it is wonderful. Don't forget the chain saw oil, made by the same company.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

The chain jumped

09/23/2014
By ,
tx
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The chain jumped on the first use. It is not powerful enough, and it clogs full of branches too often. I understand it is a miracle to have something that works and is this cheap, but it only worked for a few minutes. It is not worth the hassle. It is not much better than a 30 dollar electric trimmer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

Great chainsaw for small to medium sized trees.

04/16/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this chainsaw to clear a lot of brush. I'm a woman that has never used a chainsaw and thought that it would be small enough for me to handle. To my surprise, this saw is easy to use and cuts larger trees than I ever expected.
In some of the other reviews, people complained of the oil leaking. It did leak the first few times that I used it, but it no longer leaks.
My husband has used chainsaws for years. He tightens the chain for me after every 5 to 6 hours of use or I have cut down a tree that is too big for the saw and me.
Over all, this chainsaw was well worth the $50.00 that I spent on it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

It's a Great Saw

05/03/2010
By ,
Lexington Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Once I received my saw I was hesitant of actually using it, but after I reviewed the owner's manual, I said what the heck lets go to work! The saw was easy to use and works wonderfully, it made my mission of clearing small trees and shrubs from my yard a piece of cake. I love it and can't wait to use it again. For the price it can't be beat. Being electric it is nice not having to worry about gas/oil to keep it running.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

Poulan 14" Electric Chain Saw

10/06/2010
By ,
South Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this at my local WalMart for less than other stores "sale prices". The box said it was great for limbing and pruning and it does that very well. It trimmed allot of over grown trees on the edges of the property in a very short time. Its mostly plastic so its not a heavy duty luberjack type saw, but for the price it does its job well. Since as a home owner in the city, the saw will only get used once or twice a year, I didn't want to mess with tuneups and old fuel every year with a gas powered chain saw. This electric chain saw fits my needs perfectly. The price was the cheapest I could find on the exact same model! My friends are all ready wanting to use it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

Worked Great

07/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Only used it once thus far, but worked great. Was able to cut down thick branches off a tree. Would recommend this product.
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

Makes you feel like a pro!

04/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a shorty, just over five feet, and the acre of property I have had overgrown for over two years, I couldnt even mow grass or move about for trees and branches and palmettos, .........and this cut thru the small trees like butter. With my safety glasses and gloves it cut the work like butter as well, what was taking me an hour took ten minutes........that was until the chain slipped, now that was a bit of an aggravation but..........still overall, it comes out of the box ready for some oil and to get the job started and so easy to handle even an novice like myself felt like I had been clearing land all my life. Worth every penny.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

Mine works great

12/09/2011
By ,
Bakersfield, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought my poulan 14 inch chainsaw 11 years ago and it still works like new. I am still using the original bar and chain because I take good care of it. The one I have is model EL-14 patriot I paid $50 for. The one I have is a 12 amp so I am not sure about this 8 amp. version. I do not see the EL-14 at the store anymore. Poulan does make good saws and these electric ones are good for tree trimming and firewood cutting. They are light weight,less vibration, and quiet compared to gas chainsaws. The only thing I can say negative is I wish it was an automatic oiler. Not sure about the newer ones. Mine is made in the USA and not sure about the newer ones as they are owned by husqvarna now. Only the Poulan Pro is electrolux I think. You will not regret this purchase. Just make sure you learn how to cut with a chainsaw, learn the do's and don'ts. And always be safe.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

poulan electric chainsaw

08/07/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love this chainsaw. Easy to use. The only problem is finding replacement blade or right size file to sharpen blade.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw
06/19/2011
By ,
Bossier City, Louisiana
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great saw, but still unable to find a replacement blade. Even Pouland can not match any of the numbers.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

Be prepared to spend a lot of time to fix chain

08/13/2011
By ,
Pennsylvania
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It worked great at first, then after having cut several branches, the chain came off. Oil leaked horribly, dripping around the floor. The plastic oil reservoir and cap is like toy. Make sure you don't tilt it. The manual is not clear about how to fix the chain. Then those tiny screws will definitely give you headache. The blade doesn't move in by just loosening the nuts. The chain adjusting screw takes for ever to barely tighten. The 2 bar nuts are so short that you most probably need extra hands to help fix the nuts in. After spending hours on fixing it, it only cut a few branches before the chain came off again. It's been many times. Annoying! I can't return it because I bought it many months ago and put it aside for quite a while before I started using it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

Great saw for light duty and clean-up

10/01/2014
By ,
Lake Isabella, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a Remington 10" Electric Chain Saw for 26 years and when the plastic housing broke I wanted to replace it with something as close to it as possible. The Poulan matched the old Remington better than newer models of Remington. I have only used briefly but I am very impressed with the operation..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Poulan 14'' Electric Chain Saw

GREAT LITTLE ELECTRIC CHAINSAW !!!

11/04/2012
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would deff recommend this too people that want to do some tree branch trimming and dont want to purchase a gas chainsaw. It worked great right out of the box. Just added some bar chain oil and grabbed my 50 foot extension cord and had some fun outside (man fun :D lol). This saw did more than just cut limbs 8 in. diameter size ones, It was also used to drop a full size tree too the ground leaving the stump about 3 feet off the ground. The tree was about 25 feet - 30 feet tall. It worked great! As long as you make the appropriate cuts and notches, then cut the tree the rest of the way from behind, it fell too the ground with a big THUMP, all by a little electric chainsaw! I was impressed! Just make sure you have enough cord too get around with :D. Again, I WOULD recommend this too anyone needing a cheap saw that would do the job time and time again. Always make sure it has oil in it, it went thru oil kind of quickly, but its ok, Id rather have an oily saw blade that stays cool and doesnt wear the teeth down as quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 72 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next