Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for HP HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

HP HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium

The HP 17.3" Laptop PC plays full-screen HD TV and movies with the crystal-clear 16:9 display. Enjoy photos and videos on your HDTV with the HDMI port (cable sold separately). Enter data quickly with the numeric keypad. Look good on the go with award-winning, high-gloss HP Imprint finish. Get online more quickly with Windows 7 and high-speed wireless LAN. Create personalized, silkscreen-quality DVD and CD labels withLightScribe.Plus, the HP 17.3" Laptop PClets you chat face to face with the HP Webcam and mix it up with YouCam's fun special effects.
Average Customer Rating:
4.745 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(98 Reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
79
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation96%94 out of 98reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
79
4 stars
15
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium

A Good Laptop But Not Perfect

04/26/2010
By ,
sulphur springs, texas
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This laptop is a very good deal i use it every day for school work and to get on facebook and stuff.
Very easy to navigate with and nothing is squished on its 17 inch screen, no webcam tho.
Flaws: overheats ALOT, Acts weird like shuts off by its self, and Freezes.
I love this computer alot but i hate the flaws i recomend this to other ppl. honestly this is a perfect computer for anyone it has windows7 the only thing missing on it for me was microsoft office but other than that it does everything, stop looking this is the computer for u.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
-9points
Review 2 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium

HP Laptop

06/13/2010
By ,
North Carolina
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased this computer in February of this year. It was a great buy and worked extremely well until about two months ago. It started overheating and shutting down at least 3 or 4 times a month. In the last week it has crashed daily up to almost four times in one day. I have contacted tech support numerous times and they have been very helpful attempting to correct the issue however the problem still exists. Now I will have to send the laptop in for repairs...Did I mention I am in graduate school online ughhhh! I will not purchase another HP...I'll buy something else in the near future. Be extremely cautious with this model.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium

Crashes

07/14/2010
By ,
Flint Mi
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My laptop has been crashing about twice a day. I'm working with HP to try to resolve the problem. According to others this is a great buy. This may be an isolated issue. When it runs I love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium

Horrible Selection

06/13/2010
By ,
Richmond, VA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I brought this laptop because my husband and I were competing for the use of our other laptop. I am a student so I needed it the most. We wanted something that would allow us to complete functions as uploading videos and photos, web browsing, and microsoft office functions. Basically a computer for a college student. It worked well for about 1.5 months then the screen started to go out slowly. Product was still under warranty but HP gave me the run around to get it fixed. Spent several day on the phone with HP associates until they finally asked me to send it in for repairs. 1 week later they call telling me that there was internal damage for which the warranty does not cover. The wanted to charge the price of the computer to fix it. This was a total crock. I had an computer technician look at it and he said the video card went out/over heated. This was a defective unit and a waste of money. The company would not cover it under warranty and tried to state the reason was because I damaged the video card. I will never buy another HP again. Don't buy this for your college student
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Review 5 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium

Mine at last, love the laptop

03/08/2010
By ,
Paola, Ks
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have waited for years for a laptop, I am glad for the wait. It is great to have.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 6 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium

Perfect Laptop

04/05/2010
By ,
Marshfield, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This laptop was perfect for me. The screen is large, but the weight is not too heavy. Love the # key pad on the side. It has more memory than I will ever use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 7 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium

good deal

03/10/2010
By ,
Ocala, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hi, I just bought this HP 17.3 laptop of 2 that for me and my ex boyfriend . we loves it and comfortable . no problem at all . but one thing that we understand is that the webcam little not clearly and didn't use it that much since ... that good price that I got 2 of them too ... that laptop have no problem at all , no damage, no broken, and etc it very good one .. just the webcam that's all .. I plan order other one more soon too .. smile
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-9points
Review 8 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium

Outstanding so far

04/07/2010
By ,
Coldwater, Mi
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
While I've only had this computer for several weeks I've been very happy with it. i'll break it down like this:
Pro's: Screen is bright, clear, and huge; Keyboard layout and touchpad are functional and large enough so you aren't fumbling over keys like smaller laptops; processor and memory have handled everything I've thrown at it (right now watching netflix in 1 window, this review in a separate browser, & burning a DVD at the same time). Price was right on. HDMI goes into my TV! online streaming through my big TV when I want it! And Windows 7 is great.
Con's: speakers are quiet, but I use headphones with their own volume so no issue really; No Windows 7 disc. You can create images and backups but having the discs is just something I like; Cases are more expensive but duh they are going to be larger.
I looked at Dell and Acer and this one just seemed like a better choice w/ the HDMI and other great reviews I've seen. It's only been a month but I'm happy so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium
07/08/2010
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great computer! Monitor screen is very large and keyboard is quite spacious. I do like the number pad on the right of the board, as this helps with numerical tracking. When computer is closed, shiny top panel gets finger prints quite easily. Now we just need to get a case:)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium
03/03/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought my first one and some of the keys fell off. I took it back and so far the second one has been great. For what features it has it's a great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium

Good Starter Laptop

05/27/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am a IT Consultant and I feel this is a great starter laptop with lots of nice features. I bought it for my sister. The display is excellent, it has a decent amount of drive space, and with the 4 GB of RAM, it can run most all applications anyone needs to run.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium
01/17/2010
By ,
vernon, MI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this laptop for school and for normal home use. It is super fast and burns cd/dvd like lightning!!! The only problem I have is finding a case that doesn't cost an arm and a leg. Another thing was that it said it had a webcam and it doesn't but not that big of a deal. overall it is a great laptop for the price. There are so many features on this laptop that im still finding them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+56points
Review 13 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Value

02/04/2010
By ,
Taylors, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this at the black friday sale in 2009 as my Christmas present. It was an incredible value for the money. The last time I purchased a laptop, yo couldn't find them for less than $1000 and be worth owning.
The screen is huge, great for playing movies, however the screen finish is glossy, which plays havoc with screen reflections. The case is a glossy black too, but they provide a cleaning cloth to help remove smudges. Those 2 things are my only complaints.
It WASN'T loaded with tons of trial ware, but did come preloaded with trial MS Office & Norton Antivirus, which I would say are important.
Mine didn't come with a built in webcam, even tho there is a hole in the frame for it, which is the only thing I wish it had. It is really fast and Windows 7 looks great on it (I didn't like Vista).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 14 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Product at Great Price

02/23/2010
By ,
Gilbert, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My older HP laptop passed away early Friday morning leaving me up the old creek. We searched the internet for the best laptop for the money and found it at Walmart. This is a great laptop. We had to drive a little out of the way to pick it up because all of the closer stores had sold out, but it was worth the extra miles. It's fast and does everything I want to while looking terrific. I would not hesitate to recommend this laptop.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 15 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Machine, Problematic OS

07/02/2010
By ,
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Computer itself is fantastic!! 17.3" screen is the way to go! Only drawback is that apparently Windows 7 has a glitch that causes it to reboot itself once or twice upon starting the machine. No fix seems to be available yet, but as soon as the download is out, this computer will be a 5 star deal!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 16 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium

Great Computer

07/12/2010
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great computer I like it alot! It is very fast works fast only once in a while i will have trouble like it might freeze but also it if you shut it down and turn it back on it will take a few minutes to load everything in. This is a very good computer and for younger people it is a very easy computer to use!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium

NICE

05/30/2010
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this laptop for about a month!!! Love it!!! it is awesome, and fast!! the mouse pad is a little touchy, but u get used to it!! All and all u can't beat it for the price!!! Love it!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium

Good value for the money

06/29/2010
By ,
Benton ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love the laptop. Still getting use to Windows 7 but other than that it meets all my expectations. Easy to set up the wireless network. I like the separate number pad for 10-keying. Very good buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium
03/25/2010
By ,
Dupo, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wow, this laptop is GREAT does everything and does it fast and the price is right for all you get. Buy it you'll love it.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for HP 17.3" G71-449wm Laptop PC with Intel Pentium Processor T4300 & Windows 7 Home Premium
06/09/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very pleased with my laptop. Would recommend it to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 86 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next