Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Compaq Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Compaq Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

For those who want everyday computing capability at a great value, the Compaq Presario CQ61 series Notebook PC delivers in style. Balancing mobility and performance needs at 5.9 pounds, the CQ61 is powered by AMD processor and ATI graphics technology along with these essential features: 15.6 Diagonal HD HP BrightView display for full screen views, integrated high-speed wireless LAN enabling connectivity within hot spots, and Altec Lansing speakers that deliver smooth audio performance.
Average Customer Rating:
5 out of 5
5
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation100%16 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
16
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium
02/10/2010
By ,
Barberton Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just got this lovely little notebook, and I am so happy with it. This is my first one, and it runs better than my desktop, which is a HP/Compaq, with lesser memory. My hubby found it in the store, for $348, which was a steal in my eyes...lol. We were looking around for one that could handle some online gaming (World of Warcraft) and this runs it perfectly! It loads pages so quick, I was really amazed! I haven't tried out all the features yet, but I love the keyboard, the sound is pretty decent by ALtec Lansing, the touchpad is pretty good, takes a little getting used to since Im used to a mouse, which Im going to buy to go along with this. The battery gave me a little over 3 hours of used, but when I checked the status I was at 43% battery life and I had been using it for more than 3 hours, so I could have probably gotten more out of it, I just plugged in the cord to recharge, so I didn't lose my work I was doing. For my first laptop, I am so happy....a great Valentines Gift...I would recommend this to anyone...and I would try the store first, it may be cheaper than the online price. I will write another review in a month to see if Im still as happy...I'm pretty sure I will be since I am a fan of HP/Compaq products...they perform as they say they will (atleast for us)!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+86points
Review 2 for Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Great buy great product

02/20/2010
By ,
Manchester, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first saw this laptop while doing Christmas shopping and wanted to get it as a to me from me gift (something I do on occation) but I felt I would be cheating others I was shopping for if I spent $348.00 on a gift for myself. I wasnt aware how popular this laptop was because it took me two months to finally get my hands on one because they were selling as fast as cabbage patch kids in the 1980's.
I dont know how HP/Compaq can offer such an affordable laptop, with great performance at such a low price. There are other laptops out there that offer everything this one has, for $200.00 or more. It even has 3 usb ports when most of the more expensive ones only have 2. This is an awesome laptop. Set up was easy, searching the web is a breeze. The 2GB memory is upgradable to 4GB if in time it is needed.
I also own an HP printer that prints beautiful pictures and you cant tell the difference between pictures printed at home to those done in a photo lab.Having complete satifaction from one HP product was one of the factors that came into play when I was looking for a laptop. HP delivers quality performance and they also have a wonderful crew available should you ever have to call for tech support.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Review 3 for Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Worth every penny!

02/24/2010
By ,
Howell, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were in the market for a new laptop. Saw the great price on this one so we bought his and hers for less than the price of a bigger named machine! I always had snubbed my nose at Compaq in the past. But when I compared this machine to the available HP machines (Compaq is made by HP) I really saw that look and feel wise, they were identical. If you add the built in software (Win 7 Home Premium with MS Works, Norton, etc) and you take that out of the great price you're left with asking the question "How do they make it soo cheap?!"
Seriously though, we have two of these machines running almost constantly since we bought them three days ago and we couldn't be happier. Only time will tell if these machines last long enough, but for the price, what do you have to lose?
If you are thinking about a netbook, don't. This is the same price with double the memory and a good sized 7200RPM hard drive!
My only gripe is I wish they had a basic media card reader on-board.
But it's only $350 so I really can't even complain about that!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

GREAT

02/14/2010
By ,
MIAMI, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I BOUGHT THE COMPUTER ON 2/13/2010. IT WAS THE BEST INVESTMENT $348.00. WILL RECOMMEND TO EVERYBODY..... YOU DONT HAVE TO PAY MORE TO GET A GREAT PRODUCT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Replaced old notebook computer

02/14/2010
By ,
goodland, ks
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this new Compaq notebook to replace my old MSI notebook which was a lemon ever since I bought it.
I am very happy with this notebook. Its runs everything fine and doesnt get overly hot.
I was surprised of the performance of the intergrated graphics. Runs well, would reccomend it. Is a great value also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 6 for Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

The best bar nun

02/14/2010
By ,
Pocatello ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This computer does it all and that is a fact. I don't know how they did it. All the stuff in it for the price of $348 wow thank you HP! your the best. This laptop is way better then the $5000 desk top my son built me sorry son but it is. If anyone passes on this you will be sorry I know I would be.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 7 for Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Wow what a deal!

02/16/2010
By ,
Kennebunk, ME
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this as a replacement for a 2 year old Acer for my business, This has the same amount of memory as the old laptop and has a larger hard drive. I was a little concerned as I thought the larger hard drive may slow me down a little but, I have to say this was the best investment I have made for my growing business. The computer is fast and allows for multitasking very well with Windows 7. Sound quality is good and the internet loads very fast as does the machine at start up. I couldn't be happier. Thanks for the great price on a quality laptop Walmart and HP/Compaq.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Unebelievable value

02/25/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've had this laptop for a few days now and I simply can't believe how great it is. I'm not judging it based on the remarkably low price. I'm judging it against the many other notebooks I've owned and used. This is a great laptop period. Then when you factor int he $348 price it becomes simply an unbelievable value.
Looks great. Has a "solid feel". Very fast. Great keyboard. Great screen. I haven't found a flaw yet.
Hard to find in stored and they are selling faster than they can be stocked. I got lucky after a few tries checking inventory and visiting stores.
One note this notebook does not have a built in web cam. I prefer an external anyway. But if a built in cam is important i believe another model is available with an on board camera for $50 more.
If you are looking for the best bang for your buck laptop out there don't hesitate. Buy this one. If you can find it in stock that is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 9 for Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Good value

02/16/2010
By ,
Long Beach
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value - clear screen - This is my second Compac Notebook - first one purchased in 8-2006 - still runs but the screen was damaged - wore out and I was using a monitor for viewing. If you are going Wifi then movies from Netflix or ITunes should download in 2-3 minutes.
I have to say, I was happy that the price went down from $398 to $350 when I purchased the unit at the store - which by the way, the guys in the Eletronics Dept. gave excellent customer service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 10 for Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

A Very Good Machine

02/23/2010
By ,
Flint, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As A computer techinician its always to keep up on the latest technology and the best running systems out there. I do know that there is better systems out there but man this one is great.
I bought because I'm going back to school and the school training is required that I have at least a better laptop then my old one. Even though my Dell is still perfectly functional I love this new compaq because it boots right up. I never thought I would get to have a laptop like this as money is tight but the price made it reall affordable. If it was me I would prolly sell this laptop for more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Great price!!

02/18/2010
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am in graduate school and was going to get a netbook, but this fully functioning laptop was just $42 more than the cheapest Acer netbook I was considering. I bought this because of the 250 GB hard drive, 2 GB ram, 6-cell battery, and optical drive, which a netbook does not have. It's a great computer. Obviously it is much heavier and bulkier than a netbook. Time will tell if that turns into a negative for me personally, but this is the best price I've seen for a laptop with these specs, if I could give it more than 5 stars for value, I would.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Very happy 1st time laptop user

02/19/2010
By ,
Charleston, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband bought me this computer for Valentine's day, my first laptop, and I love it. I haven't used my desktop since I got it. But as a first time laptop owner I wish the instructions booklet was a bit more detailed. I find myself heading to the HP website a little more than I'd like to. Other than that it's a great computer for a great price. In fact my mother went out and bought one a few days after we bought ours.
Also, my 6 year old daughter loves it! It comes with quite a few games for her, she loves Purble Place.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

Super Deal

02/28/2010
By ,
Eastcoast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great laptop. I had to hunt real hard to find this one but was worth it. This is a great laptop that stays cool with a insane selling price and that is why it is pretty much gone from the store shelves and online. Windows7 home premium 64bit is the icing on the cake and the screen is nice and of good size + lots of hard disc space big ole keyboard, cd/dvd player burner so whats not to like ?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium
02/18/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had several computers over the last ten years and have to say that this is the BEST value for the price!! It's an awesome package @ an awsome price, and seems very FAST and RELIABLE!! I would HIGHLY recommend this computer, and for sure will be buying a couple more like it for our daughters who are graduating this year and going off to college!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

very nice

02/27/2010
By ,
hoquiam wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i just bought this yesterday and they said it was kind of slow but i am replaceing a 9 year olld desktop and this laptop makes my old computer look like a dinosour it is very fast and its just as fast as the other one i have tried at best buy and other stores its a very good laptop buy it for sure its fast and cheap what more could u ask for hello
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for Compaq 15.6" Presario CQ61-411wm Laptop PC with AMD Sempron Processor & Windows 7 Home Premium

GREAT COMPUTER AT A GREAT PRICE

03/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This computer is so awesome. Ive had it for almost a month and my whole family loves it.The screen is beautiful, the keyboard is easy to use, and windows seven is the icing on the cake. So if you are looking for a good computer get this one if you can find it in your area because they are selling FAST!!! I highly recommend this computer to anyone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points