Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for HP HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

HP HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

The HP 24x DVD RW SATA LS Internal, 1270vi helps you to quickly store, back up and transport files on DVDs and CDs. You will enjoy incredibly high transfer rates with the drive's SATA interface and ultra-fast recording with up to 24x recording speed. This multi-format DVD burner is compatible with any DVD drive or player. You can easily preserve, edit and share up to 8.5GB of video, photos and multimedia presentations on one double-layer disc. This internal DVD RW drive comes pre-loaded with superior optical storage features and software package to edit video, create slideshows, back-up music and data. You can even make beautiful customized labels with the LightScribe software and burn them directly to your discs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(50 Reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation88%44 out of 50reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
53 Questions | 106 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
35
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi
06/17/2011
By ,
ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

I'd buy it again...

05/08/2011
By ,
Jonesboro, AR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good, solid, simple DVD/CD player-recorder. It does come pre-packaged with Nero 9 Essentials which I am less than thrilled about, but it's included. Nero 9 Essentials is essentially intended to entice you into buying the full version of Nero… but N9E is free and it will work unless you must have the other features.
One minor installation issue. My system is just over 2 yrs old and I have a SATA HD, so I had SATA data connections available on the motherboard. My problem was all the SATA POWER connections (3) are on the same line from the power supply. My Wal Mart doesn’t carry the IDE-SATA power connection converters. I had to relocate the HD beneath the new DVD so the SATA power connections would reach both devices. It wasn’t a big problem, but if you are looking for a replacement for an existing IDE DVD (as mine was), you might have the same problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

Poor performance, died in 2 months

05/03/2010
By ,
Lexington, SC USA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought one and it did not live up to performance expectations with the SATA interface. After only two months use, the ability to read/boot/or write CD's disappeared. I am very disappointed in the HP brand name, for the first time. The power cables weren't included with this unit, they are normally attached permanently to the power supply of your computer. I was not upset about that, some other users expected longer power connectors when it's not the responsibility of the accessory manufacturer to maintain your power supply. The included data cable was long enough. VERY POOR quality on the drive. Made for HP by Lite-On so I am told. Fit and finish look OK, but it quit after less than 25% of the warranty period.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi
12/19/2011
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This HP DVD R-W internal disc drive surpassed what I expected for this price. It is easy to install and just as easy to operate with the enclosed Nero Program, although I liked the older versions of Nero as well as this one. This drive reads and burns DVD'S and CD's with ease. I have a lot of fun with the Lightscribe Label function, as it elimates the use of paper labels. I have no complaints with this unit as of this date. A really good buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

looks good but not what I needed

05/29/2010
By ,
Owingsville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am sure it was good but it is a sata device which is incompatable with my mother board. I should have done more research and ordered an IDE device or external dvd/cdrw
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

Better Than Expected. Exceptional Value!

07/10/2010
By ,
NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Needed a quick replacement DVD RW and this one fits the bill. Bought online and saved $10+ over in store price for same product. Easy to install, didn't even need instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

DVD/CD Writer

01/10/2011
By ,
Atlanta GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It seems to be a very good product, unfortunatly it did not work with my old pc. i have a pata hook up not sata (which you need for this product). and even after buying a special converter i couldn t get the writer to work correctly it actually prevented my pc from booting up . so i had to return it and buy a completely different one. but the price was really good and the shipping was fast.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

Compatible with Windows 7

06/26/2011
By ,
Northern Kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had not purchased a CD/DVD burner recently, so I was not aware that newer units do not come with a driver disk. Instead, they are built to a standard and Windows uses a built-in generic driver. However, the driver that comes with Windows 7 does not automaticaly recognize all drives. I had purchased an Asus drive from Newegg, and was surprised to discover that Windows 7 didn't work with it. Windows 7 kept asking for a driver, but there was no driver. Fortunately, my local Walmart had this HP in stock. I ordered it for pickup and the next morning it was waiting for me at the store. Thank you Walmart for saving my weekend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

Just what i wanted

01/26/2011
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought it for the Lightscribe! Works well so far, love the Lightscribe. Was easy to install in my Dell E521. Does everything i want. Great deal for $38 online and site to store was great too!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

Esay to install, easy to use.

07/26/2011
By ,
Pensacola
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this to replace my my old lightscribe burner. I have only used it one time. It burns much faster than the old one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

Also needed for HP 24X DVD RW

04/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You have to get a sata power cable - not supplied.
Otherwise it's good and works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

Not compatible

04/10/2011
By ,
Athens, Ga
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product came on time, The only thing which I didn't know until I tried to install it to my computer, was that it wasn't compatible with my computer, so I had to return it to Walmart.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

Excellent, easy to install, fits perfectly

05/15/2012
By ,
Chickasha, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I old internal burner was going out. I priced these everywhere and Walmart.com had the cheapest price by far. I received this item within the week and it was very easy to take the old one out and replace this one. It was my first time doing this so I was glad it worked. The drive works flawless and has super fast burning speeds.
This also comes with burning software from NERO, haven't used this yet nor I have I used the light-scribe but hear from my friends it works great.
Would highly recommend this DVD burner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

Great Writer with One Caveat

02/04/2012
By ,
Alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this writer about one month ago so cannot comment on the longevity but the installation process was quick and simple. My Dell is SATA equipped. I just hooked to the current cables. This will make a difference. If your computer is IDE then a converter cable will have to be purchased. Since I’m not at all computer technical savvy and have had problems in the past with these converter cables, that’s another reason I bought this writer. At boot up it was picked up and assigned the same drive letter as the one I took out. So far the unit works flawlessly and is extremely quiet. The Lightscribe labeling works great. Wal-Mart is a little higher priced on this unit than some other places, however, since you can get the site to store shipping free, the final cost is about the same. The one caveat is the Nero 9 software. I already have Roxie burning software but wanted to check this out so removed my software and started loading Nero. It wanted to load other third party files from the web in order for the software to work and did not give me the option to decline so since I have read several other reviews that state this software is just basic with no bell and whistles, I stopped the installation. You can get the writer manual from the disk without loading the software. You can also go to Lightscribe.com and get all the software for labeling and many, many labeling templates. With my computer it takes about 20 minutes to burn a label with several graphics and 7 or 8 minutes to burn one with short simple text. I love the lightscribe technology and so far happy with my purchase. I also purchased the 1 year replacement warranty for $3.00 so this makes me feel a little better.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

Poor Design

04/18/2010
By ,
Maryville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Could not install this drive in a Dell tower computer because the supplied power cable was too short. What was HP thinking when they sold this. Also found out that several of these units have been returned due to this problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

My kind of computer product

02/25/2011
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It has a fast download, it's like it isn't there. It does everything it's supposed to do & we don't have to give it a thought - no problems, no worries.
Price was a touch higher than we'd plan to pay, but ihas been worth it with how easy it is to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

HP Internal Dvd 24x

03/08/2011
By ,
Moundsville,WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am happy with this Hp Dvd limited Error messages. I found that HP made a great product,
A Excellent Rating would including Roxie Easy Creator install of Nero 9 EZ. I also like its Light Script writer and use of 8.5 DLL Disk.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi
05/14/2012
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Unfortunatly I had to return the unit, because There was no SATA connection available on the mother board. I will be looking for a USB DVD RW to attach to my computer.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

Worked great right out of the box.

05/21/2012
By ,
Las Vegas, Nevada
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Swapped out an LG burner that wore out. Straight swap and no problems. Nero recognized the new unit and I was off and running.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for HP 24X DVD RW (SATA) LS Internal, 1270vi

Great DVD drive at a great price!

05/30/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, great price, easy to install. Loved using the online ordering. Also loved the option to ship to store. Mine was ready for pick-up the same day!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next