Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magic Chef Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Magic Chef Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

The Magic Chef MCIM22TW Ice Maker gives you 27 lbs ice in 24 hours and also can store nearly 4 lbs ice comfortably in its detachable storage basket. The huge capacity makes it ideal for parties and gatherings where every guest asks for ice. The compact design of this Magic Chef countertop ice maker enables easy portability and also saves countertop space to a great extent. The electronic controls of this portable ice maker are meant for ease of use while its incorporated drain helps in keeping the device clean. The elegant white finish fits well with all types of kitchen decor. Makes unique ice cubes in 3 different sizes. The transparent top window lets you see inside it without having to open the lid. The ice and water level indicator of the Magic Chef MCIM22TW Ice Maker shows the water quantity required for making the corresponding number of cubes in one cycle so that you can estimate and make ice cubes based on your needs.
Average Customer Rating:
4.241 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(956 Reviews) 844
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
583
4 stars
217
3 stars
41
2 stars
33
1 star
82
Customer Recommendation86%826 out of 955reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
112 Questions | 840 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
583
4 stars
217
3 stars
41
2 stars
33
1 star
82
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Good Little Ice Maker - If it Meets Your Needs

08/22/2012
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to supplement our refrigerator ice maker, which couldn't keep up w/ demand when we'd have people over. It works for what I'm using it for - making ice ahead of time to bag and store in the freezer.
It by no means should be considered if you 1) need a machine that will continuously make enough ice to supply more than 2 people in ice (unless you use very little ice per drink), and/or 2) want a maker that can store ice - this one actually melts the ice after a while if the ice hopper is full and it stops making ice, and/or 3) like clear ice cubes - this machine makes the cloudy type of ice cubes - which I like.
It makes the ice pretty quickly, so you need to keep up with emptying the little hopper. Note that the 1st couple of batches of ice cubes may not form all the way and start to melt quickly, but let it run and it will start cranking them out. The maker can make 3 different sizes of cubes, and the ones in my picture are the large ones.
It is small enough to fit on the kitchen counter under the upper cabinets, but it can not be opened there - you'll have to slide it out. Because the unit is designed not to slide around, I keep it forward as per the picture. (Suggestion to Magic Chef: use a different rubber on the feet. While large and flexible, they are too soft and leave marks on the counter.)
I only gave it 3 stars for Durability because I've only had it for a few months, so I can't comment on durability.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+78points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Very Effective Dedicated Ice Maker

08/22/2010
By ,
Boulder, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are building our own home and needed a better, more robust source of ice for drinks during hot weather. A compact refigerator with ice cube trays just didn't work well. This Magic Chef MCIM22 unit is fantastic. The water well holds about a gallon and makes ice amazingly fast, just as the specs say. From first startup, I timed 10.3 minutes for the first batch, which includes about 1-2 minutes of startup initialization. Following cycles were 7.8 minutes each. These times are for small cubes. Medium and large sizes seem to take several minutes longer and are not that much larger. Let me explain the sizing: The "cubes" are actually like thick-walled thimbles formed around 9 freezing "fingers" that stick downward into a tray of water (see photo). Medium and large sizes just let the ice grow thicker walls. The most efficient freezing occurs in the early stages when the walls are thinner, and actually, drinks chill faster with lots of small cubes.
As others have said, noise is fairly subdued. Compressor and fan operate with a hum similar to any standard refrigerator. Air intake is from the rear, and warm air vents out the left side, so those two sides need several inches of clearance. I think the right side could go nearly flush against a wall, despite the instructions for clearance on all sides. The rattle of cubes being dumped every 8 minutes is louder but not objectionable (unless perhaps it is located in a small conference room).
The features are quite easy to understand. Water-empty and ice-bucket-full have dedicated indicator lights. One caution: the sensor for ice-bucket-full is a shiny, temperature-sensing peg about twice the length of a pencil eraser located in the ice bucket near the top right corner. If you park the ice scoop near or over that sensor (see photo), cubes will not contact the sensor when full, and overfilling and/or jamming will very likely occur. This seems like a good way to damage the unit.
For the energy-conscious buyer, rated load is 1.9A, or about the same as two 100-watt light bulbs. When the ice bucket is full, electric consumption is essentially zero.
As a dedicated ice-maker, this unit is superb, amazingly fast, and pretty simple to setup and operate.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+763points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kane, PA
Thank you !
Posted 07/21/2013
Your review sold me on this unit ! And your photos of the ice .... exactly what I was looking for ! Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Great Ice maker for a Portable one

08/23/2011
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. Doesn't take up much space. Makes alot of ice. Plus I can use it inside my house or it's great for the RV. We have not have any problems with our ice maker. Great Item. Exactly As Advertised. Definitely Will Do Business With Them Again
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Works well, smells bad

11/14/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is indeed a nice little ice maker. It makes 9 cubes every 8 or so minutes once its been running for about an hour. The first hour it will make cubes but their thin and melt almost immediately. This is not a PARTY icemaker. It will keep up with 3 maybe 4 moderate drinkers, but thats about it. For two people it works fantastic. We use it camping and it really works well. The big drawback, if I were using it in my house, is the smell it produces. It blows a rubber type smell out of the cooling fan. I returned my first one thinking there was something wrong, but my new one is the same. I ran it nonstop for a week hoping the smell would disappear and it smelled my whole kitchen up. Anyone that came over noticed it immediately. It works for me because I use it outside, but id never have one in my house. Also its extremely loud when the cubes drop, so I doubt one would keep it on at night. If you can deal those two issues its really a great machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Buy it!!!

09/13/2013
By ,
New England
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are an ice chewer, as am I, you MUST buy this ice maker! I have been in search of the perfect ice cube for years and this machine is the definitive answer! The rocks this baby produces are PERFECT for chewing, and boy does it pump them out faster than I need them! No regrets at all with this purchase, wish I had made it years ago. Read and follow the instructions first. Then plug her in, dump in some nice spring water, and hit go. Ten minutes later, grab a handful of rocks and top off with your favorite bourbon (or whatever is your thing) and you are THERE!!! Start chewing! Good stuff! You will not be disappointed! I am VERY happy with this purchase, and when it dies, as all refrigeration products will eventually do, I will gladly (and very quickly) purchase another one. Cannot beat the price (especially here at Wallyworld) and / or the performance. HIGHLY recommended!!! GO FOR IT!!! T-Bone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Great Ice Producer

12/13/2013
By ,
Bloomington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our built in ice maker just couldn't keep up with our ice demand on a daily basis and we were tired of emptying ice trays all the time. We bought this machine to supplement this demand for ice. Well it makes so much ice it not only keeps up with our needs, we have filled up an extra ice bin, our built in ice maker bin and zip lock bags. We have not had to use our built in ice maker since we have started using this machine. Looks like we may have to start using it every other day for awhile or we are going to have too much ice. Nice problem to have instead of not enough ice. We have not found the noise to be a bother, most of the noise is when it dumps ice when the bin is empty and not so much after it has dumped a few times...and we find that to be a good noise since it just reminds us how hard of a worker this machine is. It's also nice to just open the lid and scoop out the ice we need and not have to open and close our freezer all day long. If you have the room for this machine and a need for more ice we would certainly recommend this ice maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Quiet Little Workhorse

06/25/2010
By ,
Leon, West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I have been using an ice machine for several years because we got tired of messing with ice trays... besides, the ice trays took up valuable room in our refrigerator freezer. We had previously bought a refurbished machine on eBay, but we discovered the machine had issues. It was loud (compressor?) and the metal ice bucket was a magnet for mold.
When the old one went kaput we bought this ice machine online from Wal-Mart. It is a little bit smaller than our old machine, but we soon learned that it makes ice at a rate that is nothing less than amazing. Also, it is so quiet that you can only hear it when it dumps ice into the easy-to-clean plastic bucket. We love this machine and use it about twice a week. We have even started putting large freezer bags of ice in our big freezer for fishing trips and outdoor barbeques.
You can buy a bigger, more expensive ice machine but I doubt you will find a machine any better than this one. An added bonus is that it doesn't take up much counter space. Again, we love it and give it our highest recommendation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+441points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MIAMI
Posted 07/14/2013
Will this ice maker make my electricity bill sky rocket???
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Meets basic goal of a lot of ice

10/31/2013
By ,
Fayetteville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second unit I've recieved. The first unit did nothing! Literally. It was easy to return to Wal-Mart and I went online to order another. Shipping was very fast for me...two days. The second unit is making ice and consistently makes ice (at least for the two weeks we've had it). My wife, the ice eater, absolutely loved the first ice batch it made on the small setting. The thin-walled, bullet-shaped pieces were easy to eat. As the unit continues to make batches, the ice walls get thicker. Although she can still bite through, she prefers to bash the ice with a rubber mallet in a plastic ziploc bag. Not because she likes the extra work, it's much easier to eat. Maybe the third time would be a charm and we'd get a unit that operates perfectly. We've only had it for a couple of weeks, so I can't review longevity/durability (average until proven otherwise).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

How to Fix "Add Water" False Error

03/06/2011
By ,
La Grange, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Many people have complained that when they get a new unit, set it up and turn it on they immediately get the annoying "Add Water" LED false alert! I say flase because you can fill it up with water to the top of the MAX fill line and you will continue to get this alert and NO ice will be made.
To fix the add water LED on error - remove the screws that hold on back cover, then remove the screws that hold on the top rear cover. Next you will see a small a small tube that the water comes from located about middle way on the back wall near the top of the unit. There will be a piece of metal that is supposed to be bent to touch the stream of water when the pump is running. Bend the metal so that its in the stream of water when running. This piece of metal is that the on board microprocessor uses to sense water flow, if it not touching the stream of water when its running you will get this false alarm and the until will shut itself off and falsely tell you to add water. A Slight bend with a small screwdriver and you are in business!
Now you will not get a false error of "Add Water" when the there is water in the unit.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+104points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Very Pleased

11/03/2011
By ,
Hartsville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reviewing several portable ice makers, I decided to take my chances with this one. After following the mfg. instructions - letting it sit upright for 4 hours after shipment, washing it, placing it on the counter at least 5 inches from a wall, and then letting it sit for another hour - I plugged it in, poured in a gallon of water and had ice within 10 minutes. The first ice was a little small, but after the initial run, the ice is the correct size and does not have a metallic taste. It is a little wet, so if you put it in the freezer it will stick together. I break it apart and it does not stick together after that. It makes much more ice than we can possibly use, so I do not run it continuously. Two baskets of ice fill up my ice bin in my freezer. It makes a basket of ice in about two hours. The fan runs quietly, it is a little noisy as it gets ready to drop the ice. I have had it a week, and am very pleased with its performance and highly recommend it. If anything changes, I will update this post.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

This is great!!!

05/26/2011
By ,
Sumter, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ice maker in our refridgerater was not hooked up, so, I purchased the Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker. This was the best buy I have ever made. After following the cleaning and set-up instructions, I filled the resevour with water and hit the start button. Within 15 minutes I had ice. I tried all three size options and found all to be convenient for my different needs. It did not take long before I had enough ice to fill the ice bin in my freezer. I love the convenient drain on the side. It enables me to completely drain all the water out of the machine and dry the inside for storage until it was needed again. This ice maker is great to have for get togethers, picnics, and for vacations. This is a great addition for anyone who entertains a lot or just uses a lot of ice during the summer. It makes twice the ice in half the time as a refridgerater ice maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Portable Ice Maker

08/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't write many reviews...but I MUST on this one....We got our ice maker for our camper thinking it would save us on ice purchases....We opened the box and set the machine on the counter and let it set for an hour to settle the contents in the unit before filling with water.....we filled the container with enough water to fill to the fill line. after about 8-10 minutes we hear dropping of ice!!! The first few batches of ice looked puny..but after this thing got the insides cold it went to town making nice looking Ice!!! Could not ask for a better machine. It worked flawless all day long and filled the ice bucket up and when the bucket got full it shut down. when we got ice and the ice bucket was no longer full....It kicked back on....we had it making small ice cube, which was plenty big....and it was dropping 9 cubes of ice every 8 minutes like clockwork.
Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Works as advertized

07/31/2013
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ve had this for about three weeks and used it 10 to 12 times. It makes ice as indicated. I have used the medium and large settings. I cleaned it and ran water through it prior to usage as directed. The ice cubes tasted fine. They also did not crack or shatter as some people indicated. I used them along with refrigerator cubes and they seemed to melt at the same rate. If you leave the cubes in the basket they will melt eventually. This process seemed to work as indicated in the manual. The machine did turn off when the reservoir was empty and the basket was full.
You can hear the machine when its running. It didn't seem to be overly loud to me as some people indicated and you can hear the cubes drop if in the same room.
The machine has worked exactly as described in the manual so far. My guess is having it on a flat surface inside the house may have a good deal of impact on its performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

We are very pleased with out purchase.

11/03/2013
By ,
Hot Springs, Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have rated this Portable Ice Maker with 5 stars in every category with the exception of durability. We have only been using it 2 weeks, and have not had a single problem, but that is not long enough to add a rating for durability to this review.(** I was instructed to rate the durability, but my previous statement still applies as my opinion at this time.**) Since we don't have a fridge with an ice maker, we have been buying bagged ice for several years, and use on the average about 5 lbs a day. We have to make a trip for ice about every 3 days. With the price of bagged ice and the price of gas to get it and bring it home, we estimate that we will save enough money in a less than a year to pay for the Ice Maker. It is so simple to operate. Just pour in the water, turn it on, and choose the size of cubes you want (we use the large size). You can hear the finished cubes go into the basket, and you just have to empty the basket into another container and store in your freezer. I store them in gallon Zip Lock Bags. One bag will hold 2 baskets, and we make them in the evening while we are watching TV. We absolutely love the ease of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Love it, does what we needed!

07/31/2012
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this machine because our fridge ice maker seems to never keep up with our daily consumption and this is just what we needed. My husband was skeptical at first and now thinks this is the best thing I've ever bought. I purchased this over a month ago and it has been in use ever since. We have ours set on medium sized ice and it dumps a round about every 10-11 minutes. One round of ice fills approx. a regular sized drinking cup. Freezing the ice in your own freezer makes it harder, last longer. Very easy to use, just continue dumping the ice when the basket is full and filling with water to the line shown and it will continue to make ice. Once the basket is full, the red light indicator will come on and the machine will stop making ice until you empty the basket, once emptied it will resume normal operation in about 30 seconds or so. We're very glad we made this purchase and now we're buying another for our daughter who lives in an apartment without an ice maker!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Perfect ice maker

08/04/2013
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
During the summer we make a lot of ice coffees and our older freezer with ice make just can't keep up with the amount of ice we use. I asked a friend which ice make she had and Magic Chef came highly recommended. It does have a slight humming sound but nothing that would be annoying. The first time you turn it on and it makes the first set of ice cubes, these are small and very wet. The second cycle the cubes are bigger and more solid. You definitely need to transfer the ice cubes to a freezer bag or container when the basket is full, otherwise the cubes start to melt. I would recommend this machine. I turn it on when I get home from work and by the time I go to bed I have at lease 2 ziploc freezer bags full (gallon size). This is also good for parties when extra ice is needed for drinks. It is a little big but fits on the counter and looks nice. The small size cubes are too small, medium is ok but the large setting is best.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Finally, ice that doesn't taste bad.

04/06/2014
By ,
Davis, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic little ice maker! I received my ice maker sooner than the estimated time frame. I paid an extra $2.97 to get it to me sooner. What a deal! I was very excited and hooked it up as soon as I got home. I use filtered water so to avoid any tap water yucky taste. I made small and medium sizes. My smoothies and drinks are so much better with great tasting ice. I don't notice the noise that some users have mentioned. The price is affordable. Whenever it is full, if I am using the ice, I just put in my Britta water container so nothing is wasted. It is small enough so it is not at all in the way. I can't wait for summer!!!! I also bought the extra protection plan, just in case. This item can be returned to any Walmart, another plus.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

So far, so good.

11/16/2010
By ,
Miami, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had this ice maker for about three months, and so far it consistently does exactly what we need it to. My boyfriend is in construction and used to buy ice from the gas station every morning at about $3 per bag. Now, we start making ice when we get home for the next day. It makes enough to fill his cooler and he's saving about $60 a month. Tip: when the red light turns on because it's full of ice, it's because the metal rod sticking through the basket is a sensor and detects cold when the ice touches it. We used to just wait for it to reset, thinking it needed time, but you can reset it instantly by either pouring tepid water over the rod or just hold it using the heat from your fingers. Took us a little while to figure this out, maybe it explains it in the manual but we didn't catch it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW
05/27/2011
By ,
Albuquerque, NM
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This arrived in good time, Site to Store, and was easy to pick up.
It's a little heavy and takes up a bit more counter space than I would like but it makes Ice fast and plenty of it. I move the Ice to the freezer in plastic bags when the bin becomes full. The next morning it's easy to drop the bag onto the counter and bust up the lumps. Some have said it's noisy but we don't find it to be annoying at all.
We us it in our RV and by making one or two bins in the evening we have plenty of Ice for the next day without using too much space in the freezer.
We bought through the Discover Card shopping portal and received $6.00 cash back bonus.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+184points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

A very useful appliance

06/29/2010
By ,
Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very satisfied with the purchase of the Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker. I use it nearly everyday and it does the job perfectly. In fact it's making ice right now. I wanted a counter top ice maker because I have a non-standard refrigerator and the ice makers included in the most refrigerators make the ice taste funny and can be a major source of water leaks.
When the ice maker was brand new there was a strong new plastic smell that would taint the water and the ice. After rinsing the unit out with a mild bleach solution the smell wasn't as noticeable but it takes a few weeks for the smell to disappear completely.
If I had my way there would be finger grooves on the lid instead of the perfectly smooth finish. Also a couple of led lights inside the unit would allow viewing the amount of ice and water in the unit in cases of dim lighting such as behind the bar or on the deck at night.
It's 92 degrees here today so I'm going to fill my glass with freshly made ice and keep cool.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 845 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  43 Next