Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magic Chef Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Magic Chef Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

The MCIM22TW Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker provides you with 27 lbs in 24 hours and also can store nearly 4 lbs comfortably in its detachable storage basket. The huge capacity makes it ideal for parties and gatherings where every guest asks for ice. The compact design of this home ice maker enables easy portability and also saves countertop space to a large extent. The electronic controls of this portable ice maker are meant for ease of use while its incorporated drain helps in keeping the device clean. The elegant white finish of this Magic Chef countertop ice maker fits well with all types of kitchen decor. Makes unique ice cubes in 3 different sizes. The transparent top window lets you see inside it without having to open the lid.
Average Customer Rating:
4.224 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(1087 Reviews) 975
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
655
4 stars
250
3 stars
48
2 stars
38
1 star
96
Customer Recommendation86%935 out of 1,086reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
126 Questions | 886 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
655
4 stars
250
3 stars
48
2 stars
38
1 star
96
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Good Little Ice Maker - If it Meets Your Needs

08/22/2012
By ,
Boston, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this to supplement our refrigerator ice maker, which couldn't keep up w/ demand when we'd have people over. It works for what I'm using it for - making ice ahead of time to bag and store in the freezer.
It by no means should be considered if you 1) need a machine that will continuously make enough ice to supply more than 2 people in ice (unless you use very little ice per drink), and/or 2) want a maker that can store ice - this one actually melts the ice after a while if the ice hopper is full and it stops making ice, and/or 3) like clear ice cubes - this machine makes the cloudy type of ice cubes - which I like.
It makes the ice pretty quickly, so you need to keep up with emptying the little hopper. Note that the 1st couple of batches of ice cubes may not form all the way and start to melt quickly, but let it run and it will start cranking them out. The maker can make 3 different sizes of cubes, and the ones in my picture are the large ones.
It is small enough to fit on the kitchen counter under the upper cabinets, but it can not be opened there - you'll have to slide it out. Because the unit is designed not to slide around, I keep it forward as per the picture. (Suggestion to Magic Chef: use a different rubber on the feet. While large and flexible, they are too soft and leave marks on the counter.)
I only gave it 3 stars for Durability because I've only had it for a few months, so I can't comment on durability.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+127points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Very Effective Dedicated Ice Maker

08/22/2010
By ,
Boulder, CO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are building our own home and needed a better, more robust source of ice for drinks during hot weather. A compact refigerator with ice cube trays just didn't work well. This Magic Chef MCIM22 unit is fantastic. The water well holds about a gallon and makes ice amazingly fast, just as the specs say. From first startup, I timed 10.3 minutes for the first batch, which includes about 1-2 minutes of startup initialization. Following cycles were 7.8 minutes each. These times are for small cubes. Medium and large sizes seem to take several minutes longer and are not that much larger. Let me explain the sizing: The "cubes" are actually like thick-walled thimbles formed around 9 freezing "fingers" that stick downward into a tray of water (see photo). Medium and large sizes just let the ice grow thicker walls. The most efficient freezing occurs in the early stages when the walls are thinner, and actually, drinks chill faster with lots of small cubes.
As others have said, noise is fairly subdued. Compressor and fan operate with a hum similar to any standard refrigerator. Air intake is from the rear, and warm air vents out the left side, so those two sides need several inches of clearance. I think the right side could go nearly flush against a wall, despite the instructions for clearance on all sides. The rattle of cubes being dumped every 8 minutes is louder but not objectionable (unless perhaps it is located in a small conference room).
The features are quite easy to understand. Water-empty and ice-bucket-full have dedicated indicator lights. One caution: the sensor for ice-bucket-full is a shiny, temperature-sensing peg about twice the length of a pencil eraser located in the ice bucket near the top right corner. If you park the ice scoop near or over that sensor (see photo), cubes will not contact the sensor when full, and overfilling and/or jamming will very likely occur. This seems like a good way to damage the unit.
For the energy-conscious buyer, rated load is 1.9A, or about the same as two 100-watt light bulbs. When the ice bucket is full, electric consumption is essentially zero.
As a dedicated ice-maker, this unit is superb, amazingly fast, and pretty simple to setup and operate.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+817points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Kane, PA
Thank you !
Posted 07/21/2013
Your review sold me on this unit ! And your photos of the ice .... exactly what I was looking for ! Thanks
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Great Ice maker for a Portable one

08/23/2011
By ,
Louisiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it. Doesn't take up much space. Makes alot of ice. Plus I can use it inside my house or it's great for the RV. We have not have any problems with our ice maker. Great Item. Exactly As Advertised. Definitely Will Do Business With Them Again
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Very Pleased

11/03/2011
By ,
Hartsville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reviewing several portable ice makers, I decided to take my chances with this one. After following the mfg. instructions - letting it sit upright for 4 hours after shipment, washing it, placing it on the counter at least 5 inches from a wall, and then letting it sit for another hour - I plugged it in, poured in a gallon of water and had ice within 10 minutes. The first ice was a little small, but after the initial run, the ice is the correct size and does not have a metallic taste. It is a little wet, so if you put it in the freezer it will stick together. I break it apart and it does not stick together after that. It makes much more ice than we can possibly use, so I do not run it continuously. Two baskets of ice fill up my ice bin in my freezer. It makes a basket of ice in about two hours. The fan runs quietly, it is a little noisy as it gets ready to drop the ice. I have had it a week, and am very pleased with its performance and highly recommend it. If anything changes, I will update this post.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Works well, smells bad

11/14/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is indeed a nice little ice maker. It makes 9 cubes every 8 or so minutes once its been running for about an hour. The first hour it will make cubes but their thin and melt almost immediately. This is not a PARTY icemaker. It will keep up with 3 maybe 4 moderate drinkers, but thats about it. For two people it works fantastic. We use it camping and it really works well. The big drawback, if I were using it in my house, is the smell it produces. It blows a rubber type smell out of the cooling fan. I returned my first one thinking there was something wrong, but my new one is the same. I ran it nonstop for a week hoping the smell would disappear and it smelled my whole kitchen up. Anyone that came over noticed it immediately. It works for me because I use it outside, but id never have one in my house. Also its extremely loud when the cubes drop, so I doubt one would keep it on at night. If you can deal those two issues its really a great machine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Disappointment

09/04/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was kind of disappointed in this ice maker. The one in our refrigerator/freezer quit working, and I figured this would be an ok alternative; besides, it is a lot cheaper than a new fridge. I read all the great reviews, and thought it sounded like a good one. When I got it, I was pleased to see that it is very easy to operate, and when I read the part about it making ice in 7-14 minutes (depending on the size ice cubes that you want), I thought that sounded good. I tried it out, and left it on for a long time.....I'm talking a couple of hours.....read the manual to make sure I had done everything right (you really can't make a mistake with this, it's so easy to use), and it STILL, even after MORE than two hours, had hardly made any ice. I ended up returning it, and got another one. This time it took a couple of hours to make the ice, and I decided to just keep this one......I wasn't about to return a second one. I'll just have to deal with the fact that it really takes a LONG time to make ice, and be happy that we HAVE ice now.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Quiet Little Workhorse

06/25/2010
By ,
Leon, West Virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I have been using an ice machine for several years because we got tired of messing with ice trays... besides, the ice trays took up valuable room in our refrigerator freezer. We had previously bought a refurbished machine on eBay, but we discovered the machine had issues. It was loud (compressor?) and the metal ice bucket was a magnet for mold.
When the old one went kaput we bought this ice machine online from Wal-Mart. It is a little bit smaller than our old machine, but we soon learned that it makes ice at a rate that is nothing less than amazing. Also, it is so quiet that you can only hear it when it dumps ice into the easy-to-clean plastic bucket. We love this machine and use it about twice a week. We have even started putting large freezer bags of ice in our big freezer for fishing trips and outdoor barbeques.
You can buy a bigger, more expensive ice machine but I doubt you will find a machine any better than this one. An added bonus is that it doesn't take up much counter space. Again, we love it and give it our highest recommendation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+464points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
MIAMI
Posted 07/14/2013
Will this ice maker make my electricity bill sky rocket???
-1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

It does save us money on buying ice

08/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This icemaker does do what it is advertised to do. This is the third one we have owned. The first two did break, but after we had used them for over a year. I think the reason they broke was because of what I think are two flaws in the ice maker. When the ice hopper is full a red light comes on and the ice maker quits making ice. This works off a thermocouple that will again allow the icemaker to make ice after the ice cube triggering the shutdown melts a little. The ice hopper can still be very full at this point and the ice maker will overload with ice. What happens then is when the machine dumps ice, and is too full, the freezing tub breaks where the shaft connects to operate it. A better "lock out" for full ice would probably fix the problem. It would not hurt to beef up the plastic water tub where the actual ice cube formation occurs. When I do the math, buying ice -vs- buying the ice maker and bottled water, I still come out ahead buying the ice maker. The last one we had lasted 19 months and made a lot of ice in that time. The ice maker makes ice so fast that I now just turn it off at night or if we leave the house for a few hours so that it will not get too full and break.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Buy it!!!

09/13/2013
By ,
New England
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are an ice chewer, as am I, you MUST buy this ice maker! I have been in search of the perfect ice cube for years and this machine is the definitive answer! The rocks this baby produces are PERFECT for chewing, and boy does it pump them out faster than I need them! No regrets at all with this purchase, wish I had made it years ago. Read and follow the instructions first. Then plug her in, dump in some nice spring water, and hit go. Ten minutes later, grab a handful of rocks and top off with your favorite bourbon (or whatever is your thing) and you are THERE!!! Start chewing! Good stuff! You will not be disappointed! I am VERY happy with this purchase, and when it dies, as all refrigeration products will eventually do, I will gladly (and very quickly) purchase another one. Cannot beat the price (especially here at Wallyworld) and / or the performance. HIGHLY recommended!!! GO FOR IT!!! T-Bone
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Love it, does what we needed!

07/31/2012
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this machine because our fridge ice maker seems to never keep up with our daily consumption and this is just what we needed. My husband was skeptical at first and now thinks this is the best thing I've ever bought. I purchased this over a month ago and it has been in use ever since. We have ours set on medium sized ice and it dumps a round about every 10-11 minutes. One round of ice fills approx. a regular sized drinking cup. Freezing the ice in your own freezer makes it harder, last longer. Very easy to use, just continue dumping the ice when the basket is full and filling with water to the line shown and it will continue to make ice. Once the basket is full, the red light indicator will come on and the machine will stop making ice until you empty the basket, once emptied it will resume normal operation in about 30 seconds or so. We're very glad we made this purchase and now we're buying another for our daughter who lives in an apartment without an ice maker!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

How to Fix "Add Water" False Error

03/06/2011
By ,
La Grange, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Many people have complained that when they get a new unit, set it up and turn it on they immediately get the annoying "Add Water" LED false alert! I say flase because you can fill it up with water to the top of the MAX fill line and you will continue to get this alert and NO ice will be made.
To fix the add water LED on error - remove the screws that hold on back cover, then remove the screws that hold on the top rear cover. Next you will see a small a small tube that the water comes from located about middle way on the back wall near the top of the unit. There will be a piece of metal that is supposed to be bent to touch the stream of water when the pump is running. Bend the metal so that its in the stream of water when running. This piece of metal is that the on board microprocessor uses to sense water flow, if it not touching the stream of water when its running you will get this false alarm and the until will shut itself off and falsely tell you to add water. A Slight bend with a small screwdriver and you are in business!
Now you will not get a false error of "Add Water" when the there is water in the unit.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+114points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

This is our second one!

05/17/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were given one of these as a gift for our house boat. We have had it for two years now, and we have learned the trick to producing ice very quickly. when we first operated it, it wouldn't work. after a few hours we put in ice cold water from the fridge and it began blowing out ice. so now we start it up, let run for 30 minutes, pour in cold water it off it goes, everytime. at the lake in 115-120 degree weather ice is like gold and costly. we have not purchased ice for two years now. normaly its $15-$20 a day. once you have bags going just keep them going, by the end of the day your looking at 20-25 Lbs of ice. we just purchased a second one for our Idaho floathome because this one worked so well. ice in 7, 11 or 15 minutes, depending on size.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

This is great!!!

05/26/2011
By ,
Sumter, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The ice maker in our refridgerater was not hooked up, so, I purchased the Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker. This was the best buy I have ever made. After following the cleaning and set-up instructions, I filled the resevour with water and hit the start button. Within 15 minutes I had ice. I tried all three size options and found all to be convenient for my different needs. It did not take long before I had enough ice to fill the ice bin in my freezer. I love the convenient drain on the side. It enables me to completely drain all the water out of the machine and dry the inside for storage until it was needed again. This ice maker is great to have for get togethers, picnics, and for vacations. This is a great addition for anyone who entertains a lot or just uses a lot of ice during the summer. It makes twice the ice in half the time as a refridgerater ice maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Portable Ice Maker

08/21/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I don't write many reviews...but I MUST on this one....We got our ice maker for our camper thinking it would save us on ice purchases....We opened the box and set the machine on the counter and let it set for an hour to settle the contents in the unit before filling with water.....we filled the container with enough water to fill to the fill line. after about 8-10 minutes we hear dropping of ice!!! The first few batches of ice looked puny..but after this thing got the insides cold it went to town making nice looking Ice!!! Could not ask for a better machine. It worked flawless all day long and filled the ice bucket up and when the bucket got full it shut down. when we got ice and the ice bucket was no longer full....It kicked back on....we had it making small ice cube, which was plenty big....and it was dropping 9 cubes of ice every 8 minutes like clockwork.
Thanks
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Great Ice Producer

12/13/2013
By ,
Bloomington, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our built in ice maker just couldn't keep up with our ice demand on a daily basis and we were tired of emptying ice trays all the time. We bought this machine to supplement this demand for ice. Well it makes so much ice it not only keeps up with our needs, we have filled up an extra ice bin, our built in ice maker bin and zip lock bags. We have not had to use our built in ice maker since we have started using this machine. Looks like we may have to start using it every other day for awhile or we are going to have too much ice. Nice problem to have instead of not enough ice. We have not found the noise to be a bother, most of the noise is when it dumps ice when the bin is empty and not so much after it has dumped a few times...and we find that to be a good noise since it just reminds us how hard of a worker this machine is. It's also nice to just open the lid and scoop out the ice we need and not have to open and close our freezer all day long. If you have the room for this machine and a need for more ice we would certainly recommend this ice maker.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Meets basic goal of a lot of ice

10/31/2013
By ,
Fayetteville, GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the second unit I've recieved. The first unit did nothing! Literally. It was easy to return to Wal-Mart and I went online to order another. Shipping was very fast for me...two days. The second unit is making ice and consistently makes ice (at least for the two weeks we've had it). My wife, the ice eater, absolutely loved the first ice batch it made on the small setting. The thin-walled, bullet-shaped pieces were easy to eat. As the unit continues to make batches, the ice walls get thicker. Although she can still bite through, she prefers to bash the ice with a rubber mallet in a plastic ziploc bag. Not because she likes the extra work, it's much easier to eat. Maybe the third time would be a charm and we'd get a unit that operates perfectly. We've only had it for a couple of weeks, so I can't review longevity/durability (average until proven otherwise).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Works as advertized

07/31/2013
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I’ve had this for about three weeks and used it 10 to 12 times. It makes ice as indicated. I have used the medium and large settings. I cleaned it and ran water through it prior to usage as directed. The ice cubes tasted fine. They also did not crack or shatter as some people indicated. I used them along with refrigerator cubes and they seemed to melt at the same rate. If you leave the cubes in the basket they will melt eventually. This process seemed to work as indicated in the manual. The machine did turn off when the reservoir was empty and the basket was full.
You can hear the machine when its running. It didn't seem to be overly loud to me as some people indicated and you can hear the cubes drop if in the same room.
The machine has worked exactly as described in the manual so far. My guess is having it on a flat surface inside the house may have a good deal of impact on its performance.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Good choice for a small household

10/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My wife and I are full-time RVers. This portable ice maker is perfect for us. The refrigerators that come in RVs don't have much freezer space. By purchasing the ice maker allowed us to remove the broken built-in ice maker from our freezer, freeing up freezer space. It will also pay for itself by not having to buy a bag of ice every three days. By not having to keep that ice in the freezer also frees up space. It functions as advertized by making ice cubes in a short period of time. The portable ice maker will fit perfectly on the kitchen counter or a kitchen island.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

So far, so good.

11/16/2010
By ,
Miami, Fl.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We've had this ice maker for about three months, and so far it consistently does exactly what we need it to. My boyfriend is in construction and used to buy ice from the gas station every morning at about $3 per bag. Now, we start making ice when we get home for the next day. It makes enough to fill his cooler and he's saving about $60 a month. Tip: when the red light turns on because it's full of ice, it's because the metal rod sticking through the basket is a sensor and detects cold when the ice touches it. We used to just wait for it to reset, thinking it needed time, but you can reset it instantly by either pouring tepid water over the rod or just hold it using the heat from your fingers. Took us a little while to figure this out, maybe it explains it in the manual but we didn't catch it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker, MCIM22TW

Bad customer service

10/15/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
In less than a month the unit stopped working and would no longer create ice. I contact Magic Chef for a warranty repair, and to my disadvantage I had to take it in to a local service center to be repaired. After a weeks time and having heard nothing I called the repair center and they had not even looked at the unit.
I called Magic Chef customer support and they were not helpful at all. They could only tell me this was the standard process and there is nothing they would do.
I would not recommend buying any Magic Chef products do to poor quality control and a warranty system designed to inconvenience the customer instead of the company.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 976 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  49 Next