Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Magic Chef Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

Magic Chef Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

*Not Available for sale or ship to addresses in California. Need a great way to chill beer for a BBQ or backyard event? The Magic Chef Beer Keg Cooler is an attractive black beer refrigerator that holds 1/4 or 1/2 beer kegs at a time — perfect for parties or outdoor events. A bright chrome guard rail protects mugs and glasses from sliding off while you're pouring brews. Strong swivel casters give this Kegerator easy rolling portability, so you can move it from your kitchen to entertainment area without hassle. Plus, the castors lock to keep the unit securely in place. The Magic Chef Beer Keg Cooler also comes with a five-pound CO2 cylinder and holder and a single-gauge primary CO2 regulator with air shut-off valve. Two wire shelves hold anything else you'd like to keep inside with the beer keg.
Average Customer Rating:
3.65 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation65%13 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 16 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
9
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

One of the best kegerator options for beginners

08/22/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
At first I did not want to bother writing a review, but other's reviews have helped me so much that I decided to write a semi-detailed review about this kegerator.
First of all, I do recommend this kegerator because it holds full 1/2 barrel kegs, it does get the beer cold enough for proper performance, Magic Chef's quality is great, and the whole set up is aesthetically pleasing.
The instructions are easy to follow, it has wheels with locks (comes in handy when wheeling the kegerator out from the wall to change CO2 tank/check the regulator), it contains everything you need but the keg of beer, and the 5lb CO2 bottle is enough to charge about 7 kegs if you get it filled to capacity and have no CO2 leaks.
The refrigerator is Magic Chef quality and functions flawlessly... it's the 'Draught Technologies USA' beer equipment that I had problems with. I personally had a leaky coupler (the part that screws into the actual keg and taps into the beer). This wasn't too big of a deal, however, because a good quality new coupler is only $25 and hooks right to the lines supplied with this kegerator. Also, the regulator supplied with this kegerator is a single guage regulator. This regulator only tells you how much pressure you have going to the keg; it does not tell you how much charge is left in the CO2 bottle. The problem with not knowing what's in the bottle is that you won't know when to get ready to fill it back up until it's out, and you won't know if you have a slow CO2 leak until you're out of CO2. I would recommend you purchase a dual guage regulator. You can get them just about anywhere for $50-$75 and it will hook right up to your equipment. You will just need to purchase gaskets for between the new regulator and your CO2 bottle, as they will be different than the one that comes with this kegerator.
Aside from the coupler and regulator (both very easy to replace), the beer gets nice and cold and I have had no other major issues with it. The only issue you may notice is foam when you first draw a beer. That's because the beer tower itself is not cooled. This is a very common issue with all kegerators. Since the beer line going up to the tower isn't cooled, CO2 escapes the liquid much easier when poured. To solve this problem, I purchased a $35 fan that plugs into the wall and blows cold air up a tube into the beer tower. This got rid of my foam, and I've been enjoying cold beer ever since.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

Good Buy

03/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only bad thing is foam. Get a bit of foam with the pressure set at 2 psi. Working with the pressure/lines to play with this. Pretty common issue with all kegerators. Apparently the line in the tower does not keep the beer cold enough and that results in a bit of foam before the beer starts flowing out good. Basically, will get 8 ozs of foam and then will be good for as much as I want to poor.
But easy to assemble and best deal I could find. Runs good so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

Everyone should have one!

08/27/2010
By ,
Orlando, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only thing I would say bad about it is I didn't realize the CO2 canister was installed on the back of it so you can't push it flush against the wall and it sticks out alot further than we anticipated. You can't see that from the picture though but I will say it is a very nice, durable product for a reasonable price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Jackson, Mich
Not cold enough!
Posted 02/16/2012
Purchased this about 3 months ago. Have it in our basement bar room, room temp. Is usually 68. Have had to have the temp. Control set to max since day 1. Inside temp never gets colder than 42. Most of the time it is running between 43-45. We Would really like to have it be 38-40. Other than that no issues. Just wish it were colder!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

Good, but you should be aware of a few things

10/12/2011
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First, be aware that you will have to fill the CO2 tank when you get the box open. Second, the recommended pressure listed in the poorly written instructions is a bit high. You can probably operate between 9-6 PSI. Also, you should be aware that the beer tower itself is not cooled. As such, the first few ounces after letting the beer sit are foam. One solution is to set up a fan and hose that runs up the tower, delivering cool air from main unit to the top. Other than those points, I love this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

First rate product

07/17/2010
By ,
Kansas City MO.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was other reviews that made me buy this kegerator and they were right. Well built with heavy duty tapper and a real co2 tank had me up and running in no time. Quality and low price buy this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

Not cold enough to enjoy

06/08/2012
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been researching kegerators for the past couple weeks, and ended up going with this one. I am sorely disappointed in the actual refrigerator. Never did the temp fall below 44-43 deg F. I bought a 1/2 barrel of my favorite brew, which is not cheap. I was unable to fully enjoy the beer because the refrigerator would not get cold enough. I EVEN TRIED THE SCREW METHOD that previous reviews say and it DID NOT WORK.
Also had to place a piece of wood under the keg to get the door to shut. What a stupid design this thing is. For this amount of money you should get something that performs as expected, and this DOES NOT.
This fridge was located in my kitchen, so it was in a cool area. I returned this piece of junk as soon as keg was empty. I am now going to buy a cheap refrigerator off of Craigslist, verify it gets cold, then convert to kegerator. This will likely be cheaper anyways.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

My buddies love me (their wives hate me)!

02/15/2013
By ,
Marietta, GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did a fair amount of research on these before my wife bought this one for me for a fathers day gift last year. Most reviews complained of a shoddy tap head or a door that wouldn't close. This Magic Chef unit had decent reviews so I chose this one.
It was perfect out of the box. I am on my fifth 1/2 keg and the 5lb co2 btl is still not empty. I will agree with previous reviewers...the mfr recommends setting the co2 gauge to 10. I dialed it back to about 7-8 and it flows perfectly.
I raved about this so much, a family member bought one too. He loves it as well This kegerator is a winner. Absolutely the best gift I ever received.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

Pleased as a whole

12/10/2011
By ,
Lubbock, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this from a local handyman shop already assembled. I basically had to reassemble the thing, but once I filled the CO2 tank and got everything assembled the right way this kegerator has been fantastic! It's a tight fit with the standard 1/2 keg but it does fit and the beer stays VERY cold. As stated in other reviews I plan on replacing the regulator that comes with it so I can see what the PSI is in the tank but other than that this is a fantastic buy. The assembly is as simple as can be. I look forward to enjoying this for a long time. I would DEFINITELY recommend this for people looking for a great rig.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

Great value - nice product

07/09/2010
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fridge is very nice looking, works well, easy to put together. Great value - did a lot of web search and this really is the best deal.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler
04/22/2013
By ,
N.Y
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This unit looks great, chills great, but will not fit a standard size 1/2 keg..the door will not shut tight, the keg hits,1/6, will fit fine but thats it. I contacted Magic chef and they told me they have had this complaint before, so buyer beware!!!!! I have returned to Walmart know problem they are great ! I have since purchased the Danby 5.8 and no problems at all works great fits all, with room for glasses or a couple of bottles..
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

Plug & Play

02/13/2011
By ,
East Bay, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product arrived to my local store via the Ship-to-Site feature in less than 4 days. Once I got it home, I had the unit operational in less than an hour (manual says you should let unit run for 24 hours before installing keg). I purchased separately a dual gauge regulator rather than the single that comes with it. Other than that, I did not need any other type of adjustment. Beer is cold and works like a charm!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

Doesn't hold a keg

07/19/2013
By ,
Denver, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bought it, assembled what needed to be assembled. Got the CO2 cartridge filled. Bought a keg of beer and it doesn't fit. Very disappointing... Don't buy it unless you are going to remove the tap and use it as a mini fridge...
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

Needs Improvement

02/12/2013
By ,
Dillon, Colorado
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product needs improvement in the following areas.... 1) Instructions are vague at best. 2) Keg is very tight in unit. 3) Dripping dispenser. 4) So far nothing but foam after waiting 24 hrs to settle.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

Magic Chef 4.9 Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

07/21/2010
By ,
Lake havasu City, AZ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We are having a lot of trouble getting too much foam and the beer isn't that cold enough. With the bottle on the back it makes the cooler stick out too far.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

not worth the money

01/27/2013
By ,
WI
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
when we got it home we got a quarter and the co2 tank filled. hooked it up and NOTHING. So a buddy of mine owed a tavern so he cam to look at it. again NOTHING. hmmmm so I called the home brew store and with a $40 service call and a $40 coupling that was bad. we are in business. once replaced the defective parts it wooks great. Also barrels that have plastic on the outside will not fit. Measure before you buy your beer.
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

Poor Quality, workmanship, customer service

03/07/2013
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This unit was a nightmare. The co2 holder was bent and had to be modified to fit. Nothing but foam, finally troubleshooted parts were missing. Called "customer service 4 times to get parts. Called me back a few days later and they lost the order and didn't even know what part was previously ordered. Been over a month and we are returning the product. A complete waste of time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

Great for the value

09/11/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had no problems, alot of people complain about it being to foamy, not try the Keg cooler isn't the problem knowing how much CO2 to put in is the problem, it takes some trial and error.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler
06/19/2012
By ,
Illinois
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No problems. Worked but took about 24 hours to initially cool the keg.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler

Couldn't be easier

05/22/2012
By ,
IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quick set up + No problems = Cold Beer. Simple as that.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Magic Chef 4.9-Cubic Foot Keg Cooler
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5