Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magic Chef Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White

Magic Chef Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White

The white Magic Chef refrigerator comes with a host of features including temperature controls, glass shelves, a crisper drawer and a can dispenser for your favorite beverages.
Average Customer Rating:
4.389 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(18 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation89%16 out of 18reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 12 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White

Great Refriderator

12/12/2010
By ,
houston,tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I highly reccommend this item for anyone needing a fridge that isnt a dorm,or house one..It was exactly more and what I needed,,Changed my kitchen life..Thanks.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White

Shipping & Warranty Issues

06/29/2010
By ,
Austin TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Arrived at scheduled time 2 weeks after order. Un-boxed and there was a scratch and dent in the door. The rear corner was also dented in like it was dropped pretty hard. Plugged it in and no cold air either. The manufacturer warranty person said I would have to FAX (not E-mail, not over the phone, FAX) them and then they would send me a list of places to take the refridgerator and leave it for some unknow time. They would then contact me at some point to come back and pick it up. The person on the phone is polite, and basically appologises that the Magic Chef warranty is a nightmare!
Walmart was fantastic. E-mailed customer service, and they called me in less than five minutes. All I had to say was "it's not working", and immediately I have a new unit/pick-up delivery date. The replacement works great! The glass shelves are nice. The door shelves and crisper are decent as well. Freezer is bigger than I expected, and plenty cold. It looks like it should cost alot more.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White

Good Office Refrigerator

06/30/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great addition to our office - takes up no more floor space than a counter-height fridge, but gives everyone more options with the included freezer space. There is plenty of door storage, good interior lighting, and room for everyone's lunches and beverages. Now, we even have ice cream treats for hot afternoons. Just got this two weeks ago, so we don't yet know how durable this unit will be, nor if it is really self-defrosting; but so far, so good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White

Beer Fridge

07/01/2010
By ,
Concord, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product had the same dimensions of what we needed to replace but was so much smaller on the INSIDE where it counts! You could not even stand up a Corona bottle!
Otherwise, for what it is it is cool, just a little overpriced in my opinion.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White

Space Efficient Fridge

02/15/2011
By ,
Baltimore
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for my "man cave". I have limited space & wanted a simple, trouble free fridge. This was the only auto-defrost fridge/freezer I could find in a compact size so I went with it. It's deeper than it is wide - which I think is a bad design. I would prefer wide & shallow to narrow & deep. Things fit fine, just not much. It doesn't have an ice maker option. Not sure there would be room anyway - but it would be nice to have. Cost is high (I think) for a no-frills, 1/4 sized fridge. But if you also want the auto-defrost feature in a small package I think you'll find little to no choices.
The energy rating claims low usage but it seems to run quite often. We'll see how it impacts my electricity bills. I expect a significant increase based on how often it seems to run.
Happy choosing.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White
11/01/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Everything that I expected. So far it is working well and I am very satisfied with the product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White

defective

07/12/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We got the frig up the stairs into the apartment and needed to switch the door to open from other side. The bolt would not hold in the upper part of the frig. Magic Chef sent repairman (thanks for that) but he said it's defective. Now what?
Have to pay to have it taken back... should I order another?... will it have same problem??
Other than this problem, it seemed to look ok and had decent space in it for such a small frig.
But haven't had it long enough to see how it holds up to months/years of use.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White

Fridge for our sons college appt

02/27/2011
By ,
Hollywood, MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this item for my son's appartment at college. Took a while for him to get it there and set it up but he loves it. It allows him to keep items in his room locked away that he does not want to put in the community fridge. Of all the small type fridges my wife and I looked at this one had the largest freezer in it and it is large enough to hold the items he wants to keep in his room. Thus far we have nothing negative to say what so ever about this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White

Good for the price

11/14/2010
By ,
west palm Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sort and simple ..product was purchased for a apartment . It fit the space I had and also met what I wanted in a fridge.
Little problem switching door , but worked out ok.
Defrost works great
again great for the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White

Love This Refrigerator!

12/12/2010
By ,
Erie, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have only had this for about 2 weeks now. It's running great...so far. The size is perfect for a small apartment. Very spacious.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White

Nice for a second frig.

06/02/2011
By ,
central kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this frig to hold soda and leftovers when there is no more room in the big frig. It's tall slender design fits beautiful between the door and the big freezer. The freeze on top keeps the kids TV dinners and frozen snacks so they don't go digging in the big freezer. I probably will buy another this size when this one gets old.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White

New product........

12/12/2010
By ,
Huntington Beach, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Looking at all Compact products we have found that in this price range this is very nice. We pack a lot of food in it and we love it. There was a large dent in the back side from shipping but still works great. I found a couple minor dents under the paint but you would have to look hard to find them. After our purchase we saw a 10.0 cubic foot at Sears but too big for our purpose. All in all we are very happy at this time. We are hoping to get a lot of service out of this unit. Frididare had a lot of bad reviews so we picked this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White

Great Little Product

11/27/2010
By ,
Palm Springs, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It's perfect for what we needed it for. And so happy to have an easier time using the big freezer now that we have an overflow spot. Amazed at how much it holds! Only had it a little over a week, but seems to be working well.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White

Magic Chef Refrigerator

10/31/2010
By ,
Paris, TN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice compact refrigerator for the price. It is working very well for us.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White

great small refrigerator

09/23/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
looks good....works good....price is good
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Magic Chef 5.1-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, White
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5