Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magic Chef Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black

Magic Chef Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black

The Magic Chef 2.4-Cu ft Refrigerator is a compact yet spacious refrigerator for storing your favorite foods and beverages. With a blend of efficient cooling capacity and temperature maintenance, the refrigerator delivers a reliable performance. The built-in temperature controls of the Magic Chef compact refrigerator give you the option to adjust the temperature depending on the items you store. Its in-door storage offers generous space for a wide variety of foods and drinks. This black refrigerator also boasts an additional freezer compartment for making ice cubes, so you can enjoy your favorite drinks to the fullest. It is a reversible door refrigerator, which allows for flexible installation options. The refrigerator features short leveling legs that stabilize the fridge in place. It also includes a flat-back design that allows you to rest the fridge flush with the wall, thereby saving space.
Average Customer Rating:
4.125 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation81%13 out of 16reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 11 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
10
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black

didn't work

09/27/2010
By ,
CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had this product shipped to our daughter away at college. She plugged it in and two days later , it still didn't work...wasn't cold. Had to send back. Very unhappy for the stress it caused her having to repack it and ship it back.......
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
-9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black

Nice

08/17/2010
By ,
Newark, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
working just fine, I wish there was a light inside , that would be nice .
Very quiet also, you will not notice it get on or off .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black
06/13/2011
By ,
MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Came on time, even early and in good condition. Works great. It was the only size that fit perfectly in a pop up camper where a cooler box once existed.
Recommends this product? Yes
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black

majic chef office fridge

03/17/2011
By ,
arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this product for my office to keep bottled water, diet drinks and sandwiches for lunch. It cooled immediately and is working great. I purchased this in black and it goes well with my office furniture. At a glance you do not even notice it is a refridgerator. Also is very quiet running.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black

A great birthday gift!

09/28/2010
By ,
Dayton NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this mini fridge as a gift for my son for his 19th birthday. He loves it! It takes up very little space, and works very well. It came shipped within 3 days, and was packaged securely to the point that there was no damage to the refrigerator. I highly recommend it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black

great convenience in bedroon

10/22/2010
By ,
Austin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
very convenient to have in bedroom and avoid trips to kitchen. Do have to get used to compressor going off and on, especially at night but hardly noticeable during day. Pretty quiet overall.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black

Got my hopes up!

07/03/2014
By ,
Honolulu, HI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This little fridge makes me expect that the foods I buy will stay fresh; there is some worries though for myself about the longevity of the appliance. This is the best idea I came up with for my dwelling; it looks to me that it will be lasting a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black

Works Perfectly for our small trailer

07/13/2012
By ,
Grand Haven, MI
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We placed this frig in a small pop-up trailer. It works fine for our needs. Have not had it long enough to know about durability. We found a way to strap it in so the door does not open when we are moving the trailer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black

Good medium sized mini fridge

03/10/2014
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was liking for a good middle grind between the sure super tiny mini fridges as the large ones. The one sits great next to an arm chair and doubles as a side table. Very cold.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black

Good value. Nice fridge

02/14/2013
By ,
Windber, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice compact refrigerator. Keeps things as cold as my full size fridge at the lowest setting of 1. Quiet, nice sleek black color, and the reversible door is a very nice feature to make it fit anywhere. I just wish it had a light inside. But that was an easy modification. I purchased an inexpensive, battery operated LED drawer/cabinet light that activates with a small magnet. When the magnet seperates from it, it turns the light on. Put the magnet on the door and the light on the side- and its just like a regular fridge light. And now its perfect!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black
01/20/2013
By ,
Bend, Oregon
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The refrigerator had a dent on it and some paint scratched off at the base. Lots of plastic parts on this that reflected poor quality control. This frig was shipped in original packaging this way! And the outer box was not damaged in any way to reflect the condition of the frig when I unpacked this product. Beware!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black

serves the purpose

04/25/2013
By ,
Knoxville
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ice cube tray is VERY small. Have to turn temp. up to get a freeze. Does keep food cold so serves the purpose. Just don't depend on it for freezing much. (Get larger ice tray)
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black

Runs A+, Lightweight, has some self-fixable issues

08/09/2013
By ,
New York, NY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The unit was missing a plastic leveling foot which I've replaced with
an extra small tape measure I placed on its side under the right front
corner of the unit. Next, FYI, one the two plastic covers for the hinges
had come off one of the hinges in shipping(?) so I figured out how to
snap it back on. Next despite sitting upright for 3 days as instructed,
when I started the icebox up the sides of the unit and a metallic sausage
size tube about 4 inches long in the back opening probably hit 140-150 degrees
Farenheit. I note that the room it was in was about 90 degrees at the time
and the manual does warn that the sides may become 30-40 degrees hotter
but it was still worrisome). However, it cooled down in about 6 hours after I
turned on the AC and directed a fan at the icebox to help the unit keep going.
After that the fan was not necessary and this behavior has not recurred. Next,
when you open the unit's door the whole unit slides forward 1-2 inches(possibly
due to the improvised right front corner foot and/or the unit's relatively light weight),
so I open it with my right hand while I hold the unit with my left a left hand thumb
on it which for me is no big deal. Finally, while you get a mini/toy ice tray with the
unit that fits in the freezer compartment, that compartment cannot fit a regular size
ice tray. The compensation for that(thanks to another review on the web) is to put a
regular size ice tray rifgt below the freezer compartment and it will freeze there, but
no more than one tray(I tried 1 and then 2). Other than these compensations
and the two-hands-needed-open issue stated above, the unit now runs problem free,
is correctly cold for the ice box and freezer at the mid setting and is much quieter than
another I had in the same exact same spot until it recently broke down a couple of
months ago. In sum, for me this is what they call in fishing a "keeper". Be nice if Walmart
could send me another right front foot....????? I just haven't had time to call them and
request it. Hope this helps.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black
04/08/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the refrigerator. Perfect size, keeps everything very cold, and it doesn't make much noise.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black
08/26/2012
By ,
massachusetts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this for my granddaughter to start college, item arrived on time and will soon be put into service. good value for the price..
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magic Chef 2.4-Cubic Foot Refrigerator, Black

Fits perfectly!

04/22/2012
By ,
Scripps Ranch, Ca.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Replaced a under counter cabinet cutout space. Fits perfectly!
Quieter than the old unit. Keeps the beer cold in my Man Cave...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.