Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Magic Chef Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Magic Chef Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

The Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave with a contemporary exterior adds a modern touch to your kitchen. Simply choose from the ten power levels that this oven features to cook at your desired pace. Featuring a roomy capacity, the compact LED microwave oven comes with three automatic defrost settings for your additional convenience. Defrosting meat, heating up water for tea, or preparing an entire meal are now easy tasks, thanks to this microwave oven equipped with 6 preprogrammed menus. This stainless steel microwave oven integrates an easy-to-read LED display and electronic controls for easy operation. It also features a child-lock facility that makes this oven safe as well.
Average Customer Rating:
4.28 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(443 Reviews) 375
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
284
4 stars
97
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
45
Customer Recommendation88%388 out of 443reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
74 Questions | 514 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
284
4 stars
97
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 star
45
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Love this microwave!!!!

12/31/2013
By ,
rockland county ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed to replace my last microwave and wanted something that works well and also looked nice. This fit the bill for both. I love the stainless interior and the outside looks nice on my countertop. NO!! You cannot use any metal in it. It has all the features I wanted. The size is great! I did not expect the interior to be so roomy. My old micro was 1 cubic ft. I also had a "Push button" type opener, but I like the handle better. I'm glad I got the "magic chef " Hopefully, it will last a few years.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Most beautiful microwave I've ever seen!

07/09/2011
By ,
High Ridge, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I thought about returning it because it doesn't have as many features as my old GE, but I'll get used to it because it's just too gorgeous to send back! Everyone notices and compliments on it's appearance. It is stainless steel INSIDE and OUT! It has a door handle instead of the push button opener. ( Note to manufacturers: Many people prefer the door handle-you might want to take a survey.) And when you first open the box and take it out, you might think they sent a blue stainless steel microwave by mistake, but don't panic; it's just a thick blue film they put on to protect it from scratches, although the blue looked nice to me. There's a sticker warning you to peel it off before using the microwave for the first time. All in all, I'm pretty satisfied with what it does so far and it's so quiet , you hardly know it's running.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Excellent choice for looks and value

09/23/2012
By ,
East Tawas, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This microwave really looks great! Stainless steel inside and all around the outside! I love the vertical chrome handle. Ok, it doesn't have the 'sensor' settings that more expensive models have, but it has all I want to reheat and defrost food. There is a light on inside when the unit runs and it stays on when you open the door. I like all the features and it is easy to use and easy to clean. However, it only beeps a tripple beep when it's finished....no additional beeps later. I read hundreds of reviews on all the other big name brands and the reviews on this model before purchasing it. I am very glad with this purchase! I still can't believe that I paid only $99.99 for this microwave! It is well worth it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Beautiful but

03/17/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This microwave is indeed beautiful. Ours lasted 100 days--at that point after a certain period of time, it would stop heating. The machine still ran so you are unaware that it is not cooking. I have had microwaves since Amana came out, and have been cooking rice in them since the 1970's. When we called the repair people, we were told, you should not cook rice in it for over 10 minutes-people have difficulty cooking potatoes also. Last night I cooked onions for 6 minutes, opened the door, and steam poured out, and when I attempted to cook the mushrooms, it ran but did not cook. The response from the repair people--that happens. This is my 4th microwave and never have I had this problem. It is totally unacceptable. The warantee says I must bring it into a repair shop, of which there are 2--60 mile round trip. We have bought a new microwave--definitely not a Magic Chef and will be tossing this one out. Beautiful but not much of a bargain. It was an expensive $200 lesson
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

A good choice at a reasonable price.

07/08/2013
By ,
Kingston, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I spent hours doing research on the internet, before I selected this microwave. Our first microwave lasted for decades. The next, an LG, failed in about two years., and the last, a GE, worked for three. I am hoping for better from this one. Perhaps this smaller company is less advanced in planned obsolescence engineering! If not, it cost less than half of the prices paid for the other two.
I wanted one with a light inside, when opened, so I could see how things were doing - which this one has. I like the door handle, which can't fail, as those push-button openers are known to do upon occasion.
The beeper has a high, unmusical, slightly annoying sound - but it doesn't repeat itself, which suits us fine. Also, it flashes no annoying messages, like the GE did.
Except for "Beverage," we haven't found much use for the single key commands - and I have yet to figure out how best to defrost things. Containers have a tendency to get too hot on the bottom.
Overall, it has behaved quite acceptably so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+17points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Great oven look and partial stainless interior

01/23/2014
By ,
Sacramento, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I am,so far, pleased with this microwave oven. High marks for exterior appearance . A big plus is it's stainless steel interior, however the top of the interior is not stainless steel; it appears to be a painted silver enamel which on casual inspection might be overlooked. I wanted a full stainless interior which is not present on this model.
I bought this model due to the fact that my last several microwave ovens interior paint failed and began to rust as paint (and or choice of metal for interior) seems to be of a lesser quality on more recently manufactured microwave ovens and therefore have a shorter life as a result. The areas that rusted on my previous microwave ovens did not occur on the top interior panel so I don't think that the non stainless top interior will really be of consequence on this model.
I just purchased this oven so I can't vouch for its durability but based on cost I believe it to be very good value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Good In-Between Choice

01/21/2014
By ,
Ozark, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was indifferent about replacing the one we had; it had some quirks but overall it still worked OK. Well, I was wrong. This offering from Magic Chef proves that all are not the same. This unit looks great and its performance has exceeded my expectations. The unit has a "professional" appearance in that the entire box, inside and out, is made of stainless, unlike so many other models which feature a stainless door or front panel only. Performance-wise, this model cooks more evenly than any microwave I have ever used; it is a little bit faster than others we have had, but the difference is most noticeable in the lack of "hot spots" or "little explosions" when you are heating things like spaghetti sauce in a large volume container. It heats very quietly and very evenly, unlike most all of our previous models. I am pleasantly surprised by both the quality and performance of this unit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Good Quality for the Price - Arrived ON TIME too!

01/03/2014
By ,
Littlerock, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My old ''GE'' microwave was about 7 yrs. old, then the ''light show'' began.. I knew I didn't want to risk anything else happening, so I went to Walmart.com and looked at all their microwaves.. I did my research on a lot of them, and came to this Magic Chef ... It's staineless steel on the outside AND inside ... it should be a whole lot easier to keep clean ... although I always keep mine clean to begin with... It's quieter than the GE was and easier to use too...It arrived in a few days and was ''out of the box'' and set up on my Counter in less than 10 minutes...So far, I've had it a little over a week, .. it's great looking on my countertop too.. For the price, size and design, it was a ''No Brainer'' for me... it cost me less than any microwave I've bought in the past.. I also opened up a Walmart.com credit card which offered $25.00 credit if I used it that day towards my purchase...Can't beat that either!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Very impressive microwave

10/12/2013
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After owning many different microwaves through the years, this unit is everything we were looking for. First of all, the stainless steel outside and inside is beautiful and durable. The finish is easy to keep clean and resists fingerprints. The door closes firmly without that cheap feeling so many units have. The keypad and settings are very easy to use, for any age group. The variable power levels are useful for any task. Even the popcorn setting makes a perfect bag, with few kernals left behind. The inside is quite large and the light illumination is great. My wife really likes the stainless steel and the ease of keeping it clean and bright. Overall this microwave is very powerful, impressive, and exudes quality. It's far better than any we found at the completion. We would definitely buy again. As for shipping, it arrived at our house three days after placing the order!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Magic Chef Microwave

04/08/2014
By ,
Webster Springs, WV
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
When it first arrived I was so excited and it was a lovely machine. Stainless steel inside and out, so my son helped me to get it hooked up and I set the clock and it worked perfect. There was nothing I needed to use the microwave for that day, so next day I wanted to heat up some can green beans. I put them in and set the timer for 2 min and when they were done , they never even got warm, was as cold as when I put them in. I tried this 4 more times and then got instruction book and read it again and then tried it again and still would not heat. I called Magic Chef Co. because I thought it was their product and they might be able to help me. What I was asked if I purchased it from them and I said no I purchased on line from Walmart. They said take it back where you purchased it we can not help you. So, no I would not recommend a product that the Mfg does not even stand by or even try to help solve the problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

The Best Microwave Oven

02/09/2011
By ,
Los Angeles
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
With no disrespect to Wal Mart but who would have thunk. With all the high end (and high priced) stores that sell very high end appliances you'd never think Wal Mart would have this gem. We've owned 4 other microwave ovens and this is by far the very best. I am actually a licensed Quality Engineer and pretty much know what to look for in manufactured products. This all SS inside and out microwave would be an incredible buy at twice the price. They even put an 8 year warranty on the magnatron tube - the heart of the machine. It has a handle on the door that you actually pull rather than a button of some kind like most of the others have and it heats very evenly with a system that directs microwaves from 5 different directions as well as having a rotating dish to further aid even heating. Everyone who has seen this beauty in our home has commented on it's good looks. For me to rave about something like this is very rare. I may not come across something made as well as this for a long long time. So, if you need a microwave of this size, don't even think about it. Just order it while you can.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+337points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
salida,co
Great Purchase!!!
Posted 07/14/2013
I read reviews on ALL the microwaves on this site. Then I read this review. I liked the fact that a licensed Quality Engineer gave this product such a great review. I knew I had found the right one. I am very pleased with this purchase. It works exceptionally and is absolutely gorgeous inside and out. I am so happy I found it. Stainless inside and out.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 12 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Works much better then other's have had.

03/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the Magic Chef due to it being the cheapest one I could find that had a 1100 wat power rating, as I had seen on many different food products that you should not cook them in a microwave below that power setting.
While it was a fair bit more than I would have liked to pay, the product so far does seem to be worth the money. It cooks faster and more evenly than my old microwave and it's simple enough to clean up if a mess is made.
What really surprised me was the size of this product, It was about large enough to fit the last one I had in to, honestly I did not even know they made them this big I did not look at the size when bought it only the power rating, I though all of them were the same size. Lucky where we keep it is large enough for it.
So over all I would say it's a good microwave and if your okay price tag you won't regret getting this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Condensation in Clock on Control Panel

04/04/2014
By ,
FL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
So happy finding this beautiful stainless steel interior/and exterior! for good price after comparing many. This is third after two less expensive had defect problems and had to carry them back to store. Really does not seem microwave ovens are made as well today, since this is fourth time in ~34 yrs. I need to buy one. Never had any problem buying the three and each lasted well, with two lasting longer. But, they all worked, heating hot, lighting when opens door and off when closed. No condensation was an unusual problem, just inside needing to be wiped out after cooking. Called company and they verified no condensation should be in the control panel or clock area at all. I see the control panel and light problems for some purchasers, and wonder if condensation got in there. Looking in this one, I see wires in where light bulb is and wires when looking through holes where door latches close, and condensation can go into both places through screen. Don't think the seal to protect clock/control panel was put into this one, because asked customer service if a seal should be there to keep condensation away from control panel, and reply was "Yes." Have to return and not sure if trying this one again or another more expensive one with stainless steel. Seems like I have to be really lucky to get a microwave oven that works today. Takes up a lot of time I need to get to other things...Very glad Walmart will put up with the problems, as I cannot imagine what this would be like buying from a big box home building supply, electronics, or appliance sales store. Thanks Walmart, I do believe I will get one that will be just fine. Perhaps Walmart sells so many, the assemblers go a little fast putting them all together, but get most of them right.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Microwave extraordinaire!!

08/24/2011
By ,
Singer, LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I, of course, read the reviews before purchasing this product and I was a bit concerned about the flaws that were noted in some of the reviews. My husband and I tend to have bad luck and I figured we would end up with one that the light stayed on in, got banged up in delivery, or just quit working. Well, it is time for me to buy a lottery ticket. We have a beautiful and awesome microwave!! We were replacing a 1200 watt microwave, but there is no preceptible difference with the 1100 watt. It cooks, reheats, and defrosts well. It operates quietly. In short, it is the best microwave we have had in our 29 years of marriage and it just may be our last. Not only would I recommend this to a friend, I would buy it for my children.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Great Microwave except for one big flaw.

01/09/2014
By ,
Maryland
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like this microwave; it's attractive, cooks quickly and evenly and is fairly quiet. Unfortunately, there were a few minor inside scratches and one tiny place that looks like it's rusted. But the big flaw is that when condensation forms inside, the water runs down inside from the top of the door and runs onto the top of the window and down inside what is apparently a double plastic window. This forms spots on the window and there is no way to get to these spots to clean them. I imagine that eventually the window will end up covered with these unsightly spots. So, I'm going to return it. I was willing to deal with the few small flaws, but a heavily spotted window is unacceptable.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Microwave

05/10/2011
By ,
Richmond Hill,GA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really like the look of the microwave and find it a lot more powerful than my last one. I was a bit worried by some of the reviews i.e. light would not turn off.
When I got microwave home I noticed I had the same problem with the light when closing the door however after my husband looked at it we noticed it was just the way the door closed in to the latch and you just have to pull slightly down on handle when closing microwave door.
I really like this microwave it looks very nice in my kitchen and works very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Great unit, stainless steel inside and outside

04/18/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the second identical unit I bought, last one last over 10 years, like the simple
operation and stainless steel in & out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Great Stainless Steel Microwave Oven

03/03/2014
By ,
New Hampshire
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After only thirteen months, our large stainless steel Panasonic microwave oven's door wouldn't shut,so we decided to look for an oven with a door handle. I looked everywhere online, and was thrilled to find this all stainless steel Magic Chef oven at Walmart.com. We had a Magic Chef oven for many years and liked it. This one, we bought with an extended warranty, just in case....and love it so far. We've had the microwave for about three weeks, and really like its functionality. With our other stainless steel appliances, it fits right in. It's a good size microwave, a bit smaller than our Panasonic, but I like it so much better. I couldn't believe the price of it, and was even more impressed when I took it out of the box. It looks like a designer piece. It's so nice to find something that's a quality piece for a low price!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

Wonderful "Real" Microwave!

04/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it! Fits a dinner plate, has room to stack, easy to use, full wattage! Great purchase. That it was less than $120.00 is amazing! It replaced a pricier, smaller Samsung.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Magic Chef 1.3-Cubic Foot Digital Microwave, Stainless

So far, so good!

09/30/2010
By ,
Vancouver, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've only been using this microwave for a couple of weeks, but so far I have no complaints. Stainless steel inside AND out makes for easy cleaning. When the microwave is microwaving it's super quiet, yet powerful and doesn't take up too much space. I can easily fit a full size dinner plate in it. I feel good about recomending this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+113points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 376 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  19 Next