Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Guardian Guardian Bark Control Collar

Guardian Guardian Bark Control Collar

Guardian Anti-Bark Collar, GBC11-12133
Average Customer Rating:
4.155 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(187 Reviews) 174
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
38
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation82%152 out of 185reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
62 Questions | 177 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
114
4 stars
38
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 41 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Works like a charm

07/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As a owner of many dogs throughout my life, bad behavior is typically that of the owner and not of the dog. In the case with my small frise mix, she gave me a run for my money.
Every time my girlfriend and I leave the apartment, we have to secure her in a steel grated kennel. Due to her extremely obsessive nature, she will bark, bite and claw non-stop literally for hours until we come home.
We've tried almost every technique under the sun, but nothing seemed to put a dent in pacifying her overwhelming need to bark. Of course, there needs to be a lot of time and patience training the dog, but with my full-time job, I just don't have the time.
I'm still not happy to resort to shock collars, but I'm left with little choice. We live in an apartment, and management isn't very happy about that sort of thing, not to mention our neighbors.
The first time using the shock collar, we tested her reactions and stood outside the front door. Fair warning, the first or second time using this is heartbreaking. within the first 15 seconds of constant barking, the collar releases a type of 'warning' to the dog, and with each 15 seconds of constant barking, the collar intensifies the shock. We heard her yelp and screech for the first day, but the second day, the dog seemed to become 'aware' of this system of monitoring. For the next two days, she tested the boundaries of barking, and was reminded of the consequences. By the fifth day, our dog stopped barking entirely!
It's been three weeks, and I still put on the shock collar before leaving, but she now knows not to bark anymore. This is a great last resort product, and I recommend using training methods prior to giving this a try, but it for certain will stop your dog from barking.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 42 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

LOVE this!

07/10/2012
By ,
Montana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This has helped my dog more than I thought possible. We were going out of town and staying in a hotel where my dog was going to spend a decent amount of time in his crate while we were at a wedding. He is a barker, and that just doesn't work in a hotel. We used it for a few weeks beforehand when he would be home alone and it really seemed to condition him very quickly. He never seemed to hate it, and liked the freedom it gave him (we used to have to crate him every time we left the house or he would bark constantly, but while he was wearing it he could stay out of his crate). It did just what it is supposed to do- it kept him from barking! I now use this every time we leave home and he never barks while wearing it. I love it! And my dog loves not being cooped up in a crate all the time! I would definitely recommend this to others! The only negative thing I have noticed is that the batteries don't last as long as I would expect- they were dead within a week and a half of purchasing this. Maybe the new set will last longer now that he has learned not to bark while wearing it, so it won't be draining the batteries- I guess we'll see! Anyway, I'd recommend keeping an extra set of batteries around in case.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 43 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Great product, great price

07/17/2012
By ,
Houston
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Should have gotten this years ago. Tried other expensive collars. Broke easily or too strong, possible dangerous with kids around. This one works, gives the right amount of shock to control my dogs barking. The price is not $100 bucks either!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 44 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Best Investment I made

07/17/2012
By ,
Syracuse, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OMG...why did I not think of getting this years ago. I have a dog that does not bark when I leave the house, he screams as loud as he can. He definately has anxiety issues about being left alone even though I have 4 other dogs to keep him company. As soon as I got this collar and put it on him and went out the door, I waited to see if it truly would do what it claims to do. Oh Yea!!!! It worked great. After just 3 times of putting it on him, he already knows what will happen if he starts screaming. I don't really have a barking issue with him except when i have company come over, he gets so excited and wants to keep barking until he gets all his "hello's" in to everyone. That does not bother me. Now all I have to do is show him the collar and he lays right down as if preparing what to do when it goes on. This is by far the best investment I have made. It keeps him calm and it keeps my neighbors happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 45 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Ineffective

07/22/2012
By ,
Edmond, OK
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My dogs didn't even notice the collar.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 46 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

It worked for us

07/26/2012
By ,
MD
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this for our senior dog after I had to start crating him because he was having accidents all over the house. Since we just moved into a brand new home, you can understand why this would be an issue. We tried leaving a light on for him next to his crate, I took him to the vet to get a check up and he was started on Valium, and I tried another product where a high pitched sound goes off if the dog barks that only the dog can hear (not if he is 15 years old and can't hear so well like our boy). Nothing helped him with the barking. He barked all night long and got so upset he was shaking, panting and going to the bathroom #1 and #2 in this crate. This left for a wonderful mess to clean up every morning. Please know that we sleep with white noise machines going all night so he was not keeping us up all night and I was not looking for a solution for US to get sleep but for him to be calm.
Finally, I had to try something else. I bought this collar after much research, put it on him, he barked 3 times and hasn't again since and it's been almost a week. I love my dog very much and it was hard for me to buy this collar but it was harder for me to watch him be so upset and all the barking was stressing him out more. I am happy with this product and will continue to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 47 for Guardian Bark Control Collar
07/26/2012
By ,
Cincinnati, OH area
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Unit DID NOT operate initially, had to replace the batteries to get unit to function. Now unit works as advertised and I am pleased with operation.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 48 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

It works!!

07/29/2012
By ,
Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had neighbors who complained about my dog's barking. They were going to report me. I had used a different one first. Then I got the Guardian Bark Control Collar and my dog hardly ever barks outside (or inside without the collar). It is a product that can be trusted to do the job it says it will. The batteries are not very expensive and the first set comes with the collar. It is not harmful to my dog, a miniature pincher. This is the second collar exactly like this that I have owned.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 49 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Unbelievable

08/01/2012
By ,
Timmonsville, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had my dog for a long time, he's part of the family and he is a house dog that roamed about as he pleased. I had health issues and I had to put him in an indoor kennel at certain times and at night. I tried everything to stop him from barking constantly. After all else failed over a 6 month period I made the purchase of the Guardian anti-bark collar at WalMart. It was simple and after some minor adjustments it worked within 5 minutes. I rarely do reviews but this product worked so well I just had to tell people about it. My dog is so calm and the house is peaceful again. He's back to his old self and a much happy dog.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 50 for Guardian Bark Control Collar
08/15/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works very well....one bark and nothing else afterwards. Very satisfied!!!!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 51 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Works Great!

08/20/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My dog was acting silly growling and barking every morning when I put them in the back of the truck. It was really embarrassing, I had to put him inside until we left the neighborhood. After I got this collar, it's much better. He still whines, but no barking and it's not as loud, thank goodness! Works great, highly recommended. Make sure it's tight and right on their windpipe. Loose and/or to the side doesn't work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 52 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

I'm amazed!

08/24/2012
By ,
St. Louis, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this collar for my 3 1/2 year old pup this afternoon after looking at several (much pricier) options at pet stores. I am so impressed. We live on a corner and normally he spends the early evening running back and forth along the fence barking at people walking home from the local metro stop. Not tonight! I've never written a review for a product before, but it's working so quickly I had to give it props. He does seem to be startled a bit when he does bark, but not in any pain.
My only concern about this product is that since it's cheaper, I wonder about the longevity of the included batteries. So far so good though :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 53 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Overall great

08/26/2012
By ,
Summerville, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The system works great when you can keep it under the neck. I have a small dog and when it shakes her head the unit rotates to the side. It only took a couple of days for her to learn not to bark. I know on only one high shock and she no longer was barking at everyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 54 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Good anti-bark collar

09/04/2012
By ,
Clarks Green, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this collar works very well. I have it on a 14 pound Havanese dog. It does what I thought it would do. A bit pricey.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 55 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Awesome product!

09/05/2012
By ,
Pollock Pines, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This worked within hours of use! I never thought my dog would ever stop the barking, I had no faith. She is happier dog now that she is not tortured by every little disturbance in the neighborhood & so is our family. THANK YOU!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 56 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Great training tool

09/08/2012
By ,
Kansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This collar got our Dachshund's attention from the very first. She doesn't learn very well though. Need to put it on her whenever we go out. Her Zapper keeps her minding her manners when she has it on.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 57 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

this is a NO!

09/11/2012
By ,
Kings Mountain, Nc
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This collar did nothing, I have had it a month and still nothing. I put it tight on my dogs neck, made sure it was touching skin and waited...nothing. After about an hour of his barking with the collar on, I went out and the collar was loose and barely touching him, I tighten it back up even tie the thing and go back in. Another hour of him barking, I repeat the process. Nothing. The collar might work if I could get it to stay tight around my dogs neck, but no matter what it comes loose. He just barks nonstop, I literally just went outside and tightened the collar again, came in and right at the very moment he is barking like crazy. Don't waste your money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 58 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Did the trick

09/11/2012
By ,
San Jose ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My doberman pup has a deep loud bark. He suceeded at upsetting nearly all my neighbors within a 4 home radius one night. Next day found this at Walmart and it did the job. My pup doesn't bark like he used to. Very impressed. The only reason I gave it a 4 on expectations is that the battery only lasted about 35 days so now he's back to barking..time to head to Walmart and pick up some batteries ;)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 59 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

I own four!

09/24/2012
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have three small dogs and I often foster so I purchased four of these. I live in an HOA community so they are a Godsend. I have seen the same brand at Petsmart and Petco for double the price. Batteries have a long life as I have yet to change them and it's been about a year. Great value for the money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 60 for Guardian Bark Control Collar
11/01/2012
By ,
Ga
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have had this collar for about 3 wks, our dog wore it a week to week and a half and learned quick not to bark. We were having complaints from a neighbor about her barking so much at night. We live out in the country and she was seeing deer and other animals.. She has only had it own at night as it says to not leave it own I think over 12 hrs.. And she has had it own at all the last 4 to 6 nights . Maybe she has learned her lesson... I did not rate it perfect because I have not owned it long and don't know how long it will last... But it has done the job..
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
41-60 of 175 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next