Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Guardian Guardian Bark Control Collar

Guardian Guardian Bark Control Collar

The Guardian Bark Control Collar is a humane way to help your canine pal learn to stop barking. The item is adjustable so it is a good fit for many different breeds of dogs. The Guardian bark collar is weather-resistant and durable, so it can be used to train dogs both indoors and outdoors with relative ease.
Average Customer Rating:
4.156 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(199 Reviews) 186
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
122
4 stars
40
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation82%162 out of 197reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
65 Questions | 177 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
122
4 stars
40
3 stars
7
2 stars
6
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Works great

06/03/2014
By ,
jonesborough, tn
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would recommend this for most dogs. Only issue is that if you have a dog that can take off those cheap plastic clasp collars I would not recommend this. This collar worked great the first week until my really smart dog had enough broke the plastic clasp to get the collar off and then chewed up the shock box in a half dozen pieces. I wish this has the metal clasp. I would repurchase but with the cheap collar I can not afford to repurchase every week. LOL! Other than that the actually schock part worked great.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Very good bark collar

03/04/2011
By ,
Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I raise and train Treeing Walker Coonhounds. These hounds are loud and very vocal. They will bark just to hear their voices (as they mature and develop their voices) when they are young. I have used the Guardian collar for over a year now on 5 different young hounds that I've had in here for training. I live in the city on a 264' x 264' lot and only keep two dogs at a time, one of my own and one to train for others. The Guardian collars have discouraged the hounds from barking unnecessarily in the yard. I don't want them barking unless they are on trail or at the tree and the collars have successfully helped me control the barking. The dogs learn quick and seem to be happy and content without barking in the yard. They do get plenty of chance to exercise their mouths in the field where it is appropriate.
(click to see the video)
User submitted video
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+165points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
Ridgecrest,Ca
Thanks for the video!
Posted 10/07/2011
A minute and a half of straight hound barking! A-maz-ing! If this collor works on that barker-it has to work on our dog!
0points
Customer Avatar
modesto ca
WALKER-HOUND!
Posted 08/05/2011
Okay, so my husband and I are going to try this product today because our walker hound is so vocal during the day, he dose not bark he screams, and very loudly just to hear himself. I purchased this seeing that your review with your walker hounds are good so I pray this works or my husband is going to need to just stick to his bird dog instead of a bird and a bear dog! Our walker hound has the most personality i have ever seen in an animal but sometimes too much is too much, especially because he doesn't listen very well he just thinks hes being cute!
0points
Customer Avatar
Montana
Thanks!
Posted 08/01/2011
This is exactly what I needed to know. I have a hound and wanted to know how well it would work on him, so thank you for your helpful review!!
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 3 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Stopped Bam from barking in about one day

01/07/2011
By ,
Las Vegas NV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a condo and a German Shepperd. I bought this product out of desperation and am 100% satisfied with it. It stopped Bam from barking the first day. I paid $37 for it in the Walmart store.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Recommend Product

12/28/2009
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After 2 days I would say this product works. I feel bad for my dog, but after 2 days he has stopped barking and does a lite growl now....would recommend this product to anyone with a dog that barks excessively.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+236points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Great product that works at a great price.

04/19/2013
By ,
Pittsburg, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a dog that is a little over a year old and tried everything to stop her from barking at night when she is in the house. It has gotten worse over the last several months and we had ran out of training options. We tried a couple of the sound/sonic anti-barking devices and that just made her bark more. I thought it would be cruel to use barking collar but we had ran out of options to keep her from barking late at night and/or in the early AM hours. Our dog has adjusted to it quickly and it has not caused any change in her mood or friendly nature.
It worked the first night we used it and we should have bought one sooner. I would recommend this to someone with a barking dog and has ran out of options to stop the barking. We only use the bark collar at night while she sleeps in her kennel. I followed the manufactures instructions/recommendations and it has performed just as promised. Not bad for under $40.00!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Great bark collar

05/07/2013
By ,
Newport Richey FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a very strong willed Dobie pup. While potty training him, we took him out the front door and sometimes if he saw anyone as we went out you would have though he could eat them alive the way he barked. Got this collar because first because of the reviews and the price. Pet stores want at least 3 times the price of this one. I didn't trim the collar length down like they say because I knew my pup would grow. Just folded it up and used electrical tape to wrap once around to hold it. Tested it like they said and put it on mu dog for a test run. He barked, it beeped. Third bark & beep he looked around and on the fourth or fifth bark, he gave a little yelp and looked around like someone was behind him. He quit barking. Used voice commands also telling him it was "OK" and not to bark. Didn't have to use it but three times before he got the message. Only occasionally us it when he gets in one of those real head-strong moods and won't listen. I would highly recommend this bark collar to anyone. Just make sure you have it adjusted around the neck like you should.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

It works

03/15/2014
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked as instructions said it would. If you have a dog that barks at the shadows all night long this will do the trick. I was wanting to know how much of a static shock it was and this morning while shutting the gate I banged and rattled the chain hard enough that the collar while in my hand gave me the first shock. It does not hurt but reminded me of a good shock like when you drag your feet across that carpet and touch a metal door knob.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Calmed down our Hound's excessive barking

03/27/2014
By ,
North Carolina
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Morning and evening barking was becoming a problem. We have a small neighborhood and our dog's bark is quite loud and becoming excessive. I decided to do something about it and purchased this collar. I only use it on him in the mornings/evenings but leave it off during the day (since pretty much everyone is at work/school). The collar quieted him down greatly! Occasionally he will let out a few barks here and there, but not as excessive as it used to be. We have families who run/walk in our neighborhood and I was tired of him chasing them (he's fenced in) and barking. Today I saw him sitting down quietly and just staring as a runner ran by rather than barking at them. I recommend this bark collar!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+18points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Works in the first day

12/15/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I became pregnant with my second child my dog became very over protective. This lead to him starting to bark excessively. He is a very good dog and well behaved and barking hasn't been an issue before. I understand he is just going into protective mode, but his barking was waking up my daughter and sometimes the neighbors. We tried a few other corrective methods before resorting to a collar. All it took was 4 barks with the collar on and he has stopped. Very very happy with the results. Bark collars are not meant for long term use. You need to identify the cause of the barking first. Then address the needs of your animal. Bark Collars should only be used for a short period of time as a corrective measure, not as a punishment. But if you have identified the problem and need help correcting your dog this was a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Texas
Thank you
Posted 03/01/2014
This is exactly what i wanted to read on a review of a collar. Ive been tossing the idea around for my Rhodesian Ridgeback/Shepard mix. Shes extremely over protective of my and my 1 year old daughter. Its getting to the point where no one can walk in the door. I am going to try this for a short time use and then try to get some training in but after reading your review i want to say thank you cuz i think this might be the one thing that works.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 10 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Best Bark Collar out there

07/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a dog breeder and am very familiar with bark collars. The guardian collars are hands-down the best that I have found, especially since they are also the best value. Most people that are not getting good results are not using them properly. They have to be tight enough that the contacts on the inside are buried in the hair at the neck of the dog and touching skin, not just hanging off of the dog or only touching the hair only. If a dog has longer hair, you need to part the hair or shave down the hair in that area in order to have the right contact. If the collar is fit properly, it will work very well. 5 stars from someone who has been using these for years on many different dogs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+176points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Posted 08/26/2012
Will this affect my dog's barking if I want him to bark at intruders?
0points
Customer Avatar
have a question
Posted 07/20/2012
does it stay on all time or shut off after a while I am looking for one that stays on all tie time because I can not tell when Candy will start barking
+1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 11 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

worked great

09/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
controlled barking immideately. did not cause any major discomfort. more of an annoyance to my dog. I take it off when he comes inside, and am starting to put his regular collar on when I let him out. he thinks his regular collar is his bark collar and is only barking when people and other dogs get near the yard, which is ok. My goal was to cut out the excessive barking, not all of it. In a short period of time he is almost at the point where he doesn't need it. The most important aspect of this collar is that it is humane. Thank you very much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Doesn't work as far as I can tell

09/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Had it for a day and doesn't work as far as I can tell. Then, by the second day the batteries are already dead (keep in mind it was only on the dog 8 hours or so and even then it wasn't working). Taking it back to the store to get my money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

wonderful product

04/10/2011
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am so glad I decided to try this product! I was ready to give up my queensland and decided to try one more "Anti-Bark" product, within minutes she quit barking. First good night sleep since getting her. I only put it in her before I go to bed and take it off first thing in the morning so I have not had any problems with the neck irritation I have read in other reviews. I am Thankful I found this product, no complaints from me at this time, Been using product almost a month so far. Even if the batteries go out every month like I've read in some reviews still feel pleased with product and will happily replace batteries as needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

It works

09/04/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Have had this for 3 days. No more barking. My little 1 1/2 year old pugottie learned after 1 bout of barking. Now I don't have to worry about leaving her during the day.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

It Works!

02/22/2010
By ,
Bakersfield, Ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My neighbor was very annoyed by my small/medium mix always barking. My neighbor couldn't throw out his trash without my Tiger barking excessivly only at my neighbor which led to many animal control calls and police calls. Since the purchase of this bark collar things have been pretty peacefull! Its only been one month but I still need to have him wear the collar, I tried to take the collar off after one week but he just continued to bark. This collar is amazing and brought peace between me and the neighbor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

AMAZING!!!!!

12/22/2010
By ,
florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought it for $40 at my walmart and had results in less than a minute. It was amazing. I have a stubborn red nose pit that I had to finnaly break down and buy a different collar for. The last brand I tried didnt work. She is amazing now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+73points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Customer Avatar
MA
Not a good fit for a small dog
Posted 05/18/2012
I have a 14lb Papillon. No matter how tight I put the collar, it would shift which didn't allow for it to feel the vocal cord vibration so it didn't work. I found another that is made for small dogs by a different company and it is working well. This product probably works just fine for a larger dog.
0points
Customer Avatar
Missouri
Great Collar!!
Posted 09/15/2011
Have a 100 lb chocolate lab that loves to bark all day when he is outside. Picked this collar up at the local walmart. Seriously, this collar worked with his barking problem instantly. He is now a pretty quiet while outside. TWO THUMBS UP!!
+1point
Customer Avatar
Naples, ME
Posted 08/08/2011
I have an 11 month old blue nose pit. He's not used to the new 12'x20' kennel I purchased. Looking for a collar that's powerful enough for a pit, since they have such thick necks. I'll have to try this one out.
0points
Read Comments (3)
Read Comments (3)
Review 17 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Product works great!

04/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bark collar for my 35 lb. mixed breed dog. She was a serial barker and would bark at anything (a leaf blowing in the wind, the kids next door, cars driving by, and often nothing at all). She would get "in the zone" and would not respond to calls. The FIRST DAY I put the collar on her she learned right away what "no bark" meant. Sometimes even with the collar off she will not bark. What a pleasure to have her outside now! Best money ever spent!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Excellent purchase.

07/18/2010
By ,
Beautiful Southern California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After waking up last night to my basset hounds non stop barking (I have had him for 7 years) I finally told him enough is enough. He gets all worked up and just cannot control himself.
I, like someone else posted, feel sorry for my little brat dog. More importantaly I need to keep my sanity.
I removed it and told him that I will put it back on if he starts barking again.
This works. So far so good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Guardian Bark Control Collar

Works Perfectly on my Italian Mastiff

10/17/2013
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this collar after days of barking from our 120lb Italian mastiff and our 60lb plott hound. The other reviews are correct, you have to properly use the item for it to work effectively, however, if you make sure the collar is tight enough to make contact with the skin of the dog, the collar works like magic. It gives a warning beep to the dog on the first bark and if the dog continues to bark, it will give a shock. I have found that my dogs only need to wear it a few hours during the day to know that barking does not give a favorable result. I would STRONGLY recommend this product to anyone who has a barking problem. I wish I knew about this product sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Guardian Bark Control Collar
09/04/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have 4 large dogs, 60-80 pounds each. The collars work on all of them. They used to go crazy barking at every little thing, person walking down the street, someone pulling in across the road, someone visiting the neighbors, etc. They learned after only a day or two. I have recommended this collar to several people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 187 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  10 Next