Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Guardian Guardian Underground Fence System

Guardian Guardian Underground Fence System

Keep your pet in your yard where you want them with the Guardian Underground Fence System. It comes with what you need to get started, including 500' of wire, 50 training flags and the transmitter and receiver collar. The system has two adjustable levels of correction, as well as just tone when you are training the dog. This pet fence system is easy to install using the waterproof splice capsules and wire nuts. The operating and training guide helps to get you set up and started on training your pet to stay in the designated area. The electric fence for dogs comes with a low battery indicator that lets you know when the power unit is weakening, so you can change it before it runs out.
Average Customer Rating:
4 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation75%15 out of 20reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 41 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Guardian Underground Fence System

Great Product & Super affordable

04/10/2011
By ,
hamptonville, N.C.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this system from my local Walmart for 99.00. I also purchased an extra 500 feet of wire. I rented a easy trencher that is made especially for installing underground dog fences from my local rental place. It cost 60.00 a day and I highly recommend renting one of these. It digs the trench and burys the wire it even throws the dirt back on the open trench. You can veiw this trencher on youtube. Just search for under ground dog fence trencher or easy trencher. I installed 1000 feet of wire in less than 2 hours. It only took me about 4 hours total to install this system. After installation my dog got shocked 3 times and was trained. She now knows that when the collar beeps to turn back. The flags really work well to let your pet know where the boundry is. I do work in the construction feild and I am very mechanicaly inclined but if you do this right this is a very simple system to install. I would recommend this product to any pet owner.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Guardian Underground Fence System

Best Investment, BY FAR!

12/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased the dog fence about 1 month ago, was very skeptical about it, because I felt that I was going to be hurting my dogs. It really bothered me. I have 4 dogs. All of which are different. 2 labs, a Springer Spaniel (all hunting dogs) and a white fluffy little barkin ankle biter. The fence install WAS time consuming, but super easy to do, and worth the time spent. 1-1.5 inches in the ground and it's safe! Loved that! Took my boyfriend and I appx a day and a half to install. 700 ft of wire covered nearly an acre and a half of land. After install was complete we walked all dogs around the perimeter, with the reciever set at 5 and the collar at 3. They all learned quickly! My dogs are now outside unsupervised after only 2 weeks of inconsistent training. They are smart, bc when they learned that the beeping was the warning that they'd be shocked, they turned away. All 3 took that enature 2 weeks to learn that the yard was not a monster and now they could run and play without escaping. After my springer (adopted, stubborn, never excersised prior to adoption monster) escaped for one whole day i knew this would be in our best interest. She was a deer, bird, and rabbit chaser. Our yard was recently filled w deer as I let her out the door, and she ran and ran after them until she got appx 2 feet from thr boundary and without getting shocked, just a beep beep warning, she looped righy back around and just barked. Amazing! Also, as all 4 dogs were outside, a group of kids walked passed the front of my house.. they ran until they heard the beep and stopped at the fence line, never crossing it and just barked. It's really phenomenal what freedom this gives my dogs.. and peace of mind AND QUIET it also gives me and my boyfriend. One other plus was that as my dogs were all outside, and boyfriend inside, I was able to get into my car and drive off without them chasing me. Just a few wonderful examples. All of which could NEVER happen without this system. My ONLY complaint would have to be that the collas are sort of cheaply made... they work fine.. just sorta cheap. One of the collars had an issue with the prongs that give off the electric charge.. but that is bc it wasn't screwed on tight enough.. and that really was no big deal, bc I was able to return it without issue. And from what I hear the batteries sort of die out quickly. But, I have not experienced that yet. And it has been a month. I highly recommend this product. My dogs are happy, I'm happy and my cats get a break from the dogs.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Guardian Underground Fence System

great product

07/21/2010
By ,
myrtle beach, sc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
product works very well if you follow instructions. be sure not to bury wire too deep or it will not work right. installing cable was a little difficult for me, but i did not have the right tools. a small trench tool or even something to just cut a line in the ground is all you really need. i've had this product for almost a year now and the dogs had never ran out of the yard until lastnight but this was due to slackness on my behalf for not changing the batteries on the collar. they had been used to hearing the beep when they got close to the property line and would back off, but after not hearing that anymore, they ran off lastnight but i was quickly able to catch up to them.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Guardian Underground Fence System

very useful

04/25/2011
By ,
alabama
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I read all the reviews on this product and was a little skeptical at first but figured I might as well. if I didn't like it I could always return it. Well, I would like to tell you that this is a great product. All it took was him getting shocked a couple of times and now he knows where the lines are and he will not go near it. Even if I leave the house and go next door he will sit right at the edge of the line and wait on me. Like I said I was worried about putting so much money out on something that wouldn't work, but it was worth every penny I spent on it. Little hard to install but got all the neighborhood kids involved in covering it. If your dog is stubborn and will not stay in the yard then this is what you need.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Guardian Underground Fence System
02/21/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a very stubborn dog, and thought that this would not work, but for the price I had to try it. It works my dog has not left the yard yet. He used to chase cars so bad that I thought that he would not make it, but I got this and he does not leave the yard, and without the collar on he will stop before he even hits the flags.It only took 3 days, and he was trained. This is a great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Guardian Underground Fence System

Great for stubborn dog

01/10/2012
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Yes, I would recommend this product.
We just bought a new house and my dog keeps digging her way under the fence. After reading some of the reviews on difficulty installing or it not working at all I decided for the price I'd try it anyways and man I'm glad we did. We opted to staple the wire to our fence and only bury it at the gate to eliminate some of the busy work and it's great. I suggest really reading the instructions because there are some specification on wire distancing but there are diagrams that we found to be exceptionally helpful. Total instal time was around an hour but we got it in our first shot and we are VERY happy customers.
BTW~ after the first shock my dog learned she can "break the barrier" so to startle her we upped the zap intensity to a 3. She's half dachshund/half beagle so she's a digger by nature but this seems to have done the trick!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Guardian Underground Fence System

Works Great

01/21/2010
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought this product last week. We put the system together and it works great. We have to full grown lab/German Sheppard mixed. We trained them in about 15 minutes. The only thing that I would recommend is make sure you don't put the wire too far into the ground. That will cause it to not work properly. But other than that it works great. I highly recommend this product. It’s very easy to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Guardian Underground Fence System

Excellent

04/28/2010
By ,
NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a small Cairn Terrier and a German Shepherd/Lab mix. This works great for both of them. For those that reviewed that you had to have the collar next to the wire for it to work, I also experienced this problem and could not figure out why. You have to widen the boundary width and it changes the width from the ground also. If you change the boundary width and take the collar by the wire you will see the difference, it will work higher off the ground, I had to figure it out for my Shepherd/Lab because she stands taller than the terrier. This product works great, once the dogs are trained they hear the beep and turn around.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Guardian Underground Fence System
11/19/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our dog got into the habit of running off and staying gone when we let him out. So we bought this "fence" and he hasn't run off since. I highly recommend this product. I also recommend going ahead and buying an extra spool of wire as well, because you will need it. We had to put a section of ours across the driveway so to make sure the gravels would not cut the wire when cars came across it we put it in a pvc pipe and buried it about 6 inches down in the driveway to insure that it did not come back up as cars drove across the driveway. This fencing system works great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Guardian Underground Fence System

Greay Product

07/16/2011
By ,
kentucky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First and for most you have to train your dogs, if you leave them in the yard before they are full trained and they break the fence line you have successful trained them to break the fence line. I have two labs that will never break the line, even when other dogs in the neighborhood walk right beside our yard. A cat even comes to the fence line and antagonizes the dogs. I have uses this exact fence for three years with no issues. If you let the battery go down some dogs will leave the area. One of my Labs test the fence every day, so you must be a responsible owners to keep this type of dog contained.
THE EASIES WAY TO INSTALL THE FENCE IS TO USE A GAS EDGER, SO RENT ONE IF YOU DON’T HAVE ONE.
I have used underground fences 10 years and have great success with many dogs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Guardian Underground Fence System

GOOD PRODUCT!

02/09/2011
By ,
RODEO, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WE ARE USING THIS FOR OUR GOAT. HE IS BIG AND HAS A LOT OF HAIR. THIS IS THE SECOND PRODUCT THAT WE TRIED (THE FIRST WAS FAILED)AND WORKS VERY WELL ON MAINTAINING OUR GOAT INSIDE THE AREA THAT WE ONLY WANT HIM TO GO. VERY USEFUL~
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Guardian Underground Fence System

Very Satisfied

08/26/2010
By ,
OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I bought this item over 2 years ago for our Weimaraner. It is OUTSTANDING! He was trained in 2-3 days and stays within our yard with or without his collar. For those of you who may be hesitant about breed or weight, our Weimie is 75lbs and EXTREMELY active (we trained him when he was about 15 weeks old). We just bought another Weimie and are working with him on the fence. Again, we are incredibly happy with this fence!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Guardian Underground Fence System

poor product design

05/22/2011
By ,
NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
what i dislike most is that it shocks dog sometimes when he is not even near border. when it storms he freaks out and runs out of yard. when he tries to come back in he can't, b/c
it shocks out of perimeter also.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Guardian Underground Fence System

Not worth buying

12/10/2009
By ,
Salina,UT
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product a few weeks ago. We installed it and we thought it worked but when we buried the lines they would no longer pick up the signal. We had to almost touch the colar with the wire to make it work. terrible!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Guardian Underground Fence System

not worth the trouble

12/23/2011
By ,
North Carolina
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this to keep my dog out of our flower bed and to keep her in the yard. After training her she would continue to push the boundary (even after setting at it highest setting), as a result this would kill the batteries in a couple of hours. Then she dug up the cable and chewed up the insulator capsules. So I went and bought another section to repair it and new batteries and she repeated the process all over again. WASTED $150.00. and now I can't return the item.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Guardian Underground Fence System

Great product

01/21/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my fence for a black lab puppy, I laid out the wire for the border I wanted (the 500 feet is more than enough for your average sub-division postage stamp lot. Front and back yard)
The ground is frozen so I couldn't bury the wire because of the ground being frozen but wanted to get it up and running so I could start the training process. Turns out there was really not much training, the dog got shocked a couple times and now she knows not to get to close to the flags.
within two days we no longer used her leash, she freely roams the yard and we love it!!!! I compared many products online and this is a GREAT buy.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Guardian Underground Fence System

AWESOME!!!

10/20/2011
By ,
Copperas Cove, Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutly love this thing. My dogs are houdini's and escape artists. They had gotten so bad that I bought a chainlink pen for inside our fenced yard. They busted out of both of them. After moving to a bigger place I figured they would not want to run out of the back yard since it was so big. BUT NO they still got out. In the first week they got out 13 times. I installed this fence, granted it toke a few hours but it was well worth it. It only toke them getting shocked 2x before they knew not to even come close. I would definetly recommend this to anyone who has dogs that need to stay in the yard.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Guardian Underground Fence System

Tragedy

11/29/2010
By ,
Placerville, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I found two lost dogs yesterday, both wearing collars from the PetSafe Guardian invisible fence system. I see this ALL THE TIME (and with other brands of invisible fencing, too -- all the same). Essentially, when a big enough temptation comes along, your pet will leave your yard to chase it, enduring the shock because of their excitement level, but when they are done chasing, then the invisible fence will prevent them from coming back *in* to their yard. Build a real fence, people! It's the only safe option.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
kentucky
not properly trained
Posted 07/16/2011
It appears that the dogs were not properly trained with the fence. I have two labs that will never break the line, even when other dogs in the neighborhood walk right beside our yard. A cat even comes to the fence line and antagonizes the dogs. I have uses this exact fence for three years with no issues. If you let the battery go down some dogs will leave the area. One of my Labs test the fence every day, so you must be a responsible owners to keep this type of dog contained.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Guardian Underground Fence System

Does not work!!

04/13/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product does not work!! I installed this and re installed with a new receiver & collar - the signal is so weak that you have to put the collar 1" away from the wire for it to work. Do not waste your time or money!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Guardian Underground Fence System
11/28/2011
By ,
west palm beach
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
best thing we ever did cori our dog kept jumping over the fence then it would take me hours to get her back home. just to old to have kept this up. at first i felt so guilty doing this to her but its much better then her getting out in traffic
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.