Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for My Neighbor Totoro (2-Disc) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

My Neighbor Totoro (2-Disc) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation87%13 out of 15reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 10 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
0
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for My Neighbor Totoro (2-Disc) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Excellent For Hyper Kids???

03/24/2010
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this along with the Ponyo DVD for a hyper active 6 year old. Somehow these movies keep his attention and he watches them over and over again. So, check these out if you have a younger child interested in anime, but don't want them exposed to the violence and PG-13/R ratings that come along with most anime. Great for kiddies!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for My Neighbor Totoro (2-Disc) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Not What You Remember

03/20/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this dvd for my girlfriend as a gift. She had grown up watching this movie dozens of times as a child. But you should be warned, if you're buying this for someone who was a fan of the original, the movie has been changed. The movie has been completely re-voiced by different voice actors and even the script was changed. For example: In the original version the older sister's name was pronounced "Satsuki". In this new version they pronounce it "Satski". And the little black creatures that were once called "dust bunnies" are now referred to as "soot gremlins". Needless to say, my girlfriend was bitterly disappointed that they had messed with her childhood memories. That said, its still an enjoyable movie for anyone who has never seen it before, but be warned that it is different than it used to be!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for My Neighbor Totoro (2-Disc) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

LOVE THIS MOVIE!!!!

09/13/2010
By ,
Virginia Beach,VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My number one movie when i was younger took forever to fine it at a good price.A must buy.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for My Neighbor Totoro (2-Disc) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

THIS MOVIE HAS BROUGHT 22 YEARS OF ENJOYMENT!

12/16/2013
By ,
Bakersfield, Californa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I first purchased this movie 22 years ago when my first grandchild was about to be born. I believe I saw it advertised on T.V., I watched on my own and was so impressed. Hayao Miyazaki is a famous Japanese writer and director, over the yeas I've collected many of his animated movies. The movie introduces children of all ages to a classic tale and culture from another country, it is so magical and touching, sad and happy! I've shared this movie with many, and of course my grand children we all LOVE IT SO MUCH!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for My Neighbor Totoro (2-Disc) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Excellent Anime!

06/22/2014
By ,
Reynoldsville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought it as my daughter's 25th Birthday gift! She loved it when she was a little girl! She wore out the VHS tape! She couldn't wait to play it for her kids!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for My Neighbor Totoro (2-Disc) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Great classic movie for kids

03/21/2012
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great classic movie for kids of all ages. My two girls, ages 3 and 5, both adore this movie. It is fun and full of fantasy, with some great famous voices attached for the English voice over. Makes a great, fun family movie night!
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for My Neighbor Totoro (2-Disc) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

NOT FOR CHILDREN !!!!!!

03/14/2012
By ,
florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Even though this is a cartoon it has inappropriate content for children in the U.S. It maybe suitable for Japan because they bathe together. A father and 2 daughters bathing together nude; NOT for my grand daughter!!!! I thankfully was watching it with her when I saw this scene not far into the movie. I couldn't stop it fast enough; needless to say, we did not watch it entirely. I cannot believe movie stars attach their names to such garbage. I returned it the following day.
I wouldn't even give this movie a one star.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-83points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for My Neighbor Totoro (2-Disc) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Classic

03/07/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great movie for all ages. Watched it when I was a child glad to have it on DVD
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for My Neighbor Totoro (2-Disc) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)

Very nice movie...

05/07/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the very nice movies I have seen in many years. I recommend to everybody.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for My Neighbor Totoro (2-Disc) (Special Edition) (Widescreen)
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.2 out of 5
4.2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5