Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dorel X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Dorel X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

This sturdy, twin loft bed is the ultimate space-saver for any child or teenager. The cool modern design will be sure to maximize space in any room. The bed includes a built-in desk which provides a quiet spot to study or relax.
Average Customer Rating:
4.393 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(150 Reviews) 139
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
46
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation92%137 out of 149reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
45 Questions | 230 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
46
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

My daughter was so excited!

03/05/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter has a teeny tiny room, so I thought this might help. She picked out the color, and I put it up for her as a surprise before she got home from school. Shipping took maybe 2-3 days! The look on her face when she walked in was beyond priceless. My boyfriend and I put it together in about an hour and a half. The instructions were a little irritating, and when you get the part where you put the desk top on, I highly recommend someone with muscle holding it up.. I made my boyfriend test it first, the bed easily supported 200 pounds, and the underneath of the bed barely even gave... My daughter loves sleeping in her new bed. It looks nice, and the desk was more sturdy and larger than I ever imagined. I would definitely buy this product again and I have already recommended it. Sorry about the mess, she had dance class and didn't clean her room the day I took these.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

A bed for a college kid.

08/04/2010
By ,
AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed is beast. I thought it was a good price for a bed and desk combo. I'm 18, and my younger sister and I put it together in a couple of hours. It makes my room look so much bigger with the bed up top. It's sturdy and has loads of space to do my college work on, and some more. & it's very unique.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+24points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

we love it

08/26/2011
By ,
capitol heights, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son was excited when he came home an it was there. He sleep so comfortably in his new made over room.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Great Spacesaver

01/09/2014
By ,
Falmouth, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had read mixed reviews about this product and was somewhat leery about purchasing it. A couple of people mentioned the bed getting damaged during shipment and recommended that if you buy it, you have it shipped to the store. So...that is what I did. I purchased two...one for each of my boys. There were a lot of parts to put together and it took a couple hours. On both of them, there was one screw, in the exact same spot, where I couldn't get the holes to meet up well enough to get the screw in. It was on one of the braces for the desk, but with all the others, I felt it wasn't a major issue. The beds are sturdy. That was a huge concern of mine. I had been looking at other loft beds with desks and read many reviews where they weren't sturdy enough. I chose this one from a review from a male college student. If a grown man can use this bed, then my 8 and 10 year olds can. My kids love them. The opened up their rooms and provided so much more space. No more trying to hide things under the bed!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Great Bed!!!

06/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this bed for myself as a birthday present. I have a really small room, so I knew I could use the extra space underneath to give me some extra space to move around in. Plus, I've wanted a desk for a while but all the ones I've owned have been really small and more of a nightstand. Anyway, the desk is really good sized (I'm using it right now) and the bed is quite sturdy, although it does have a few slight annoying things. Like, if you've ever slept on a cot then you know how they squeak when you shift positions. This bed makes the same kind of noise if so if you toss and turn at night it might get really annoying. Also, it's difficult to put together, particularly getting the desk on while trying to balance it with a single hand or knee, etc. Basically, I've learned to live with both, and I love how it opens up my room. I was worried that I wouldn't like the design that much, but it really looks good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Nice bed. Directions are terrible!

04/12/2014
By ,
derry pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter loves her new bed (other than she can no longer reach her night stand). The bed does save a lot of space in her small bedroom, however she now has no where to put her things when she is in bed. This is our fault for not thinking ahead when we made the purchase. I put a few shelves up so she has a space to put her cell phone, books, etc.. when she is in bed. We are still trying to figure out where to put a lamp so she is able to reach it. Warning.. The directions are a total nightmare! We got down to the last few parts and the screws and nuts did not fit. We were able to rig it together but it was a difficult task. Had the directions been a little easier, I would have rated it a 5.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Nice!

03/31/2014
By ,
Monroeville, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The only significant problem I had with this bed was that WalMart accidentally shipped a mattress instead of a bed the first time I tried to pick it up at the store. So I had to wait another week to get it. Other than that, the bed is fairly easy to put together. I was in no hurry, and took my time, and it took 4 hours. You will need a second person to hold the larger pieces together as you insert and tighten the bolts. The bed is extremely sturdy! And, pleasingly so, the bed is much wider than it looks in the photo at Wal-Mart.com. Also, the desk is not wide, but wider than it looks in the photo and very adequate for my 12-year old son to do his homework. A few dings occurred in shipping but they are on the inside of the rails and not apparent, and didn't bother me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Great space saver

03/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought this as a birthday present for my son who is about to turn 13. He needed a loft bed because his room is very small. The shipping was fast and convienently shipped to my house (another bed we were looking at couldn't and that was a bit of a drawback). The corner on the desk was damaged upon opening the box and a few pieces had slightly bent screw anchors (or whatever that part is the screws go in to anchor the piece into another piece), but we fixed it.
The directions were a bit lacking and after a while we stopped trying to follow the directions and started looking at the pictures to put it together. It was a but if a hassle but we got it. We had hoped to have it assembled before he got home but failed. Overall, my son loves the bed. It's sturdy and doesn't squeak or make any noise that we can hear. Definitely worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

great deal!

03/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this for my 8 yr old because i wanted a bed he could use for AWHILE..he liked the idea of a "high" bed :)
Very simple to put together took about 3 hours looks GREAT!!! DESK IS HUGE!!! AND VERY STURDY!
Now my 13 yr old son wants one too!! so im going to order another one.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Good quality

07/18/2010
By ,
Jefferson, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this bed! For 12 year old girl with a small bedroom. Opened the space up nicely. The quality of the bed was unexpectedly awesome. I mean that as, it is not rickety and feels very solid when up. The price is actually what finally convinced me to get it as I was looking at cheaper models that I believe would have been made with"less quality". There was one thing only that bugged me... One day after purchase, the price dropped another ten dollars! Lol. One more thing, it was easy to put together. One husband and one 14 year old son slapped it together in under two hours. (that's really good!). And no foul words were uttered!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

great price

04/11/2014
By ,
rancho Cucamonga ca
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Loft bed so perfect for my 13 year old daughter.Has a very small room and it's perfect. Great proce
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Great value on a loft bed.

01/06/2014
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Assembled with my 10 year old son (who tightened most of the bolts himself) by laying everything out and studying instructions and diagrams for a problem-free installation. One bolt would not start in its hole, but by looking at the nut, I realized that a small weld scrap was preventing the bolt from starting. One flick with a small screwdriver and the hole was opened up.
The bed is solid and provides a nice workspace undernearth. Remember that with low ceilings, your child will not be able to stand up in bed (a good thing) and if they are tall they might not be able to sit up straight in bed.
Overall, we are very happy with cost, ease of assembly, and stability of this bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

good bed for the money

03/05/2014
By ,
georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
my kids love this bed plus it solved the "have to get off the computer to go to bed problem".the desk is approx 6ft4in long and narrow about 2 feet deep .enuff room for computer and homework space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Looks good and is very sturdy!

03/31/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My husband didn't want me to buy this for our son, thought it looked cheap and weak. As he was putting it together he had to apologize - he loved it! Perfect for our son! Sturdy, looks great - so far perfect except it came with damage to the corner of the desk which is disappointing but not worth returning it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Great bed for small rooms

04/01/2014
By ,
Kent, WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We purchased this bed for our son who has a very small room. This gave him extra floor space and the desk was a definite bonus. Very sturdy and our son is loving it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Awesome

08/03/2010
By ,
Fremont, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bed instead of the one IKEA sells, because this looked a better design. The package was pretty big and heavy. The manual is easy to understand and I suggest that before assembling go through all the steps in the manual first. Some of the nuts i left them loose while assembling, so that the whole thing fit easily. Then i went back and tightened all of the them. No parts were missing. Its built well and does not wobble at all. I bought a Sealy twin mattress to go with it. Daughter loves it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

nice bed

03/24/2014
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my 13 year old daughter and she loves it! It is very sturdy and was easy enough to put together. It took about two hours to get together with two of us. Well one of us holding on to parts and the other screwing all parts together. We shipped site to store and didnt have a problem with missing or damaged parts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Great price, great quality loft

02/19/2013
By ,
Kokomo, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this exact same product for much higher prices elsewhere. I had it shipped to my local store for free and that was the first time I've ever used that shipping option. The pickup process was painless and I even received a text message when my product had arrived. I bought this bed for my 13 year old son to make more room in his room and provide a place to do homework. He's 5' 8" and weighs 130. He loves it and has a little room to grow. The craftsmenship in this is good. All parts and tools were provided with good intructions. All parts were marked well. It took my son and I about 1.5 hours to erect and another 20 minutes to remove all the warning stickers. It does require two poeple to build. The bed is very sturdy with the X brace design. My only complaint is the front guard rail had minor scratchs from shipping. They need to protect this peice better since it's eye level and the first thing you look at.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Solid, Sturdy, well worth the Money

01/14/2011
By ,
Temperance, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off... to all the reviews that say the bed is not sturdy...you probably put it together wrong.. This bed is so sturdy, it barely even vibrates if you whack it on the side... Easily put together by myself in 1.5 hours. All pieces were there. Great quality. Site to store arrived 4 days after I ordered it... Can't ask much more than that. My daughter loves it. Desktop is HUGE she fit a computer, monitor, 20 Inch TV, lamp, keyboard, mouse, and shelf system on it. with from to spare... Highly recommended!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

?????

03/16/2014
By ,
millville PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We receive the product earlier than promised...however when opening to assemble there was no assembly book...called manufacturer and they promised to send it out immediately...its been a week and still no instruction manual for assembling this bed
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 140 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next