Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dorel X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Dorel X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

This sturdy, twin loft bed is the ultimate space-saver for any child or teenager. The cool modern design will be sure to maximize space in any room. The bed includes a built-in desk which provides a quiet spot to study or relax.
Average Customer Rating:
4.386 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(158 Reviews) 147
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
48
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation92%145 out of 157reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
46 Questions | 233 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
94
4 stars
48
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

DO NOT BUY THIS IT IS NO GOOD

09/16/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I BUT IT CAN IT IS TAKING 2 DAYS TO BE BUT UP AND IT MAY TAKE 3 DAY
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-34points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

My daughter was so excited!

03/05/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter has a teeny tiny room, so I thought this might help. She picked out the color, and I put it up for her as a surprise before she got home from school. Shipping took maybe 2-3 days! The look on her face when she walked in was beyond priceless. My boyfriend and I put it together in about an hour and a half. The instructions were a little irritating, and when you get the part where you put the desk top on, I highly recommend someone with muscle holding it up.. I made my boyfriend test it first, the bed easily supported 200 pounds, and the underneath of the bed barely even gave... My daughter loves sleeping in her new bed. It looks nice, and the desk was more sturdy and larger than I ever imagined. I would definitely buy this product again and I have already recommended it. Sorry about the mess, she had dance class and didn't clean her room the day I took these.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

A bed for a college kid.

08/04/2010
By ,
AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed is beast. I thought it was a good price for a bed and desk combo. I'm 18, and my younger sister and I put it together in a couple of hours. It makes my room look so much bigger with the bed up top. It's sturdy and has loads of space to do my college work on, and some more. & it's very unique.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

we love it

08/26/2011
By ,
capitol heights, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son was excited when he came home an it was there. He sleep so comfortably in his new made over room.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Great Spacesaver

01/09/2014
By ,
Falmouth, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had read mixed reviews about this product and was somewhat leery about purchasing it. A couple of people mentioned the bed getting damaged during shipment and recommended that if you buy it, you have it shipped to the store. So...that is what I did. I purchased two...one for each of my boys. There were a lot of parts to put together and it took a couple hours. On both of them, there was one screw, in the exact same spot, where I couldn't get the holes to meet up well enough to get the screw in. It was on one of the braces for the desk, but with all the others, I felt it wasn't a major issue. The beds are sturdy. That was a huge concern of mine. I had been looking at other loft beds with desks and read many reviews where they weren't sturdy enough. I chose this one from a review from a male college student. If a grown man can use this bed, then my 8 and 10 year olds can. My kids love them. The opened up their rooms and provided so much more space. No more trying to hide things under the bed!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Great Bed!!!

06/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this bed for myself as a birthday present. I have a really small room, so I knew I could use the extra space underneath to give me some extra space to move around in. Plus, I've wanted a desk for a while but all the ones I've owned have been really small and more of a nightstand. Anyway, the desk is really good sized (I'm using it right now) and the bed is quite sturdy, although it does have a few slight annoying things. Like, if you've ever slept on a cot then you know how they squeak when you shift positions. This bed makes the same kind of noise if so if you toss and turn at night it might get really annoying. Also, it's difficult to put together, particularly getting the desk on while trying to balance it with a single hand or knee, etc. Basically, I've learned to live with both, and I love how it opens up my room. I was worried that I wouldn't like the design that much, but it really looks good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Great Price and Solid Construction

04/23/2014
By ,
Joplin, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Due to other reviews containing damage reports and missing parts, I had this bed shipped to store and picked it up. Once it arrived, a friendly Walmart employee loaded it into my vehicle for me. This bed weighs 122 pounds, so it was a bit of a struggle to unload it at home. I think of myself as somewhat of a handyman and it took me right at 2 hours to assemble without any problems.
I only give this bed 4 stars because the rungs on the ladder are only about an inch wide and are somewhat painful for me to walk up barefoot. That is not a huge consideration though since it isn't my bed anyway, but I do go up a couple steps to wake up my daughter in the mornings.
Follow the instructions closely and be sure to not tighten down any of the screws until the entire bed is assembled. Once you tighten the screws down the bed is surprisingly solid. The desk surface seems to be fairly well made as well. All in all, it was a good purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Avoid home shipping

07/19/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased two beds both came with the packages that where torn and taped by fed ex, many of the pieces came bent and scratched from falling out the box prior to them being stuffed back in and re taped by fed ex. I should have had them delived to to local walmart for shipment
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Good quality

07/18/2010
By ,
Jefferson, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this bed! For 12 year old girl with a small bedroom. Opened the space up nicely. The quality of the bed was unexpectedly awesome. I mean that as, it is not rickety and feels very solid when up. The price is actually what finally convinced me to get it as I was looking at cheaper models that I believe would have been made with"less quality". There was one thing only that bugged me... One day after purchase, the price dropped another ten dollars! Lol. One more thing, it was easy to put together. One husband and one 14 year old son slapped it together in under two hours. (that's really good!). And no foul words were uttered!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+115points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Nice bed, especially for the price

07/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to put together, attractive, sturdy,and comfortable...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Awesome

08/03/2010
By ,
Fremont, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this bed instead of the one IKEA sells, because this looked a better design. The package was pretty big and heavy. The manual is easy to understand and I suggest that before assembling go through all the steps in the manual first. Some of the nuts i left them loose while assembling, so that the whole thing fit easily. Then i went back and tightened all of the them. No parts were missing. Its built well and does not wobble at all. I bought a Sealy twin mattress to go with it. Daughter loves it.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Great price, great quality loft

02/19/2013
By ,
Kokomo, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this exact same product for much higher prices elsewhere. I had it shipped to my local store for free and that was the first time I've ever used that shipping option. The pickup process was painless and I even received a text message when my product had arrived. I bought this bed for my 13 year old son to make more room in his room and provide a place to do homework. He's 5' 8" and weighs 130. He loves it and has a little room to grow. The craftsmenship in this is good. All parts and tools were provided with good intructions. All parts were marked well. It took my son and I about 1.5 hours to erect and another 20 minutes to remove all the warning stickers. It does require two poeple to build. The bed is very sturdy with the X brace design. My only complaint is the front guard rail had minor scratchs from shipping. They need to protect this peice better since it's eye level and the first thing you look at.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Does the job

06/26/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It was inexpensive, not too difficult to put together alone, and it is what my 12 year old wanted. Nothing spectacular, but worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Bought 2!!

06/25/2014
By ,
New Jersey
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easier to put together the second bed once I got the hang of it. Directions are a little hard to follow at first. Much more space in boys shared bedroom. We love them!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Good bed for the price

06/23/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The bed took a while to put together but it is great for a small bedroom. It is sturdy and well built.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Solid, Sturdy, well worth the Money

01/14/2011
By ,
Temperance, MI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First off... to all the reviews that say the bed is not sturdy...you probably put it together wrong.. This bed is so sturdy, it barely even vibrates if you whack it on the side... Easily put together by myself in 1.5 hours. All pieces were there. Great quality. Site to store arrived 4 days after I ordered it... Can't ask much more than that. My daughter loves it. Desktop is HUGE she fit a computer, monitor, 20 Inch TV, lamp, keyboard, mouse, and shelf system on it. with from to spare... Highly recommended!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Very disappointing and frustrating!!

08/16/2011
By ,
Lewisville, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We received two beds. Took about 3 hrs to put together the first. Started putting together the second and found that it didn't have some pieces. Called company, and they sent the wrong pieces the first time. Called them again, and they sent the right pieces, BUT from an updated model. The model I had purchased (on sale) just about 3-4 weeks ago, has been discontinued. The new pieces did not fit the "out dated" bed. Called the company, AGAIN, and they simply said that I could disassemble the bed and return it to Wal-mart for my money back. Do you know how hard it would be to disassemble this bed and take it back to the store with a baggie full of screws? The company that builds these for this company has discontinued this model...what a surprise! Basically, I'm stuck with a loft bed missing 2 pieces. If you buy this product, take heed. You may not get all the pieces in the box and if you don't .....your problem!!
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Great value on a loft bed.

01/06/2014
By ,
Richmond, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Assembled with my 10 year old son (who tightened most of the bolts himself) by laying everything out and studying instructions and diagrams for a problem-free installation. One bolt would not start in its hole, but by looking at the nut, I realized that a small weld scrap was preventing the bolt from starting. One flick with a small screwdriver and the hole was opened up.
The bed is solid and provides a nice workspace undernearth. Remember that with low ceilings, your child will not be able to stand up in bed (a good thing) and if they are tall they might not be able to sit up straight in bed.
Overall, we are very happy with cost, ease of assembly, and stability of this bed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

My daughter loves it!

01/29/2011
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I got this for my 10 year old and its great! Assembly was a bit of a nightmare because of the instructions, they were not super clear, but easily done with two people.
I was originally going to get the one from IKEA, but this one is slightly cheaper and the desk space is longer.
Because the bed is so elevated, my daughter can walk comfortably around underneath the bed where the desk is, but that means there's not a whole lot of space between the bed and the ceiling. Its something to keep in mind if you're thinking of getting this for an older child or adult; getting in and out of bed might be awkward for someone who's tall.
No complaints otherwise :) Very stable once assembled, I made sure to tighten every piece super well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Great bed for opening up space in small room

11/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this bed for my 10 year old son. He has a small room and really wanted a desk to do his homework and such. Shopping around, this bed had the best ratings and the lowest cost of any others I looked at. The bed took a few hours to put together (two people). The bed is VERY sturdy, does not shake at all. The steps were uncomfortable on his feet at first, so we just bought a pipe insulator for $5 from a hardware store to cover the steps and and it works great.
I was also concerned about our 8 foot ceilings, but he has plenty of room between the bed and the ceiling (we bought an 8 inch memory foam mattress). Overall, great bed and great deal. I would recommend this bed to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 148 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next