Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Dorel X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Dorel X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

This sturdy, twin loft bed is the ultimate space-saver for any child or teenager. The cool modern design will be sure to maximize space in any room. The bed includes a built-in desk which provides a quiet spot to study or relax.
Average Customer Rating:
4.376 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(186 Reviews) 175
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
110
4 stars
56
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation92%171 out of 185reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
50 Questions | 239 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
110
4 stars
56
3 stars
8
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

DO NOT BUY THIS IT IS NO GOOD

09/16/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I BUT IT CAN IT IS TAKING 2 DAYS TO BE BUT UP AND IT MAY TAKE 3 DAY
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
-43points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

My daughter was so excited!

03/05/2014
By ,
Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter has a teeny tiny room, so I thought this might help. She picked out the color, and I put it up for her as a surprise before she got home from school. Shipping took maybe 2-3 days! The look on her face when she walked in was beyond priceless. My boyfriend and I put it together in about an hour and a half. The instructions were a little irritating, and when you get the part where you put the desk top on, I highly recommend someone with muscle holding it up.. I made my boyfriend test it first, the bed easily supported 200 pounds, and the underneath of the bed barely even gave... My daughter loves sleeping in her new bed. It looks nice, and the desk was more sturdy and larger than I ever imagined. I would definitely buy this product again and I have already recommended it. Sorry about the mess, she had dance class and didn't clean her room the day I took these.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

A bed for a college kid.

08/04/2010
By ,
AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bed is beast. I thought it was a good price for a bed and desk combo. I'm 18, and my younger sister and I put it together in a couple of hours. It makes my room look so much bigger with the bed up top. It's sturdy and has loads of space to do my college work on, and some more. & it's very unique.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

we love it

08/26/2011
By ,
capitol heights, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My son was excited when he came home an it was there. He sleep so comfortably in his new made over room.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Great Spacesaver

01/09/2014
By ,
Falmouth, VA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had read mixed reviews about this product and was somewhat leery about purchasing it. A couple of people mentioned the bed getting damaged during shipment and recommended that if you buy it, you have it shipped to the store. So...that is what I did. I purchased two...one for each of my boys. There were a lot of parts to put together and it took a couple hours. On both of them, there was one screw, in the exact same spot, where I couldn't get the holes to meet up well enough to get the screw in. It was on one of the braces for the desk, but with all the others, I felt it wasn't a major issue. The beds are sturdy. That was a huge concern of mine. I had been looking at other loft beds with desks and read many reviews where they weren't sturdy enough. I chose this one from a review from a male college student. If a grown man can use this bed, then my 8 and 10 year olds can. My kids love them. The opened up their rooms and provided so much more space. No more trying to hide things under the bed!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Great Price and Solid Construction

04/23/2014
By ,
Joplin, MO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Due to other reviews containing damage reports and missing parts, I had this bed shipped to store and picked it up. Once it arrived, a friendly Walmart employee loaded it into my vehicle for me. This bed weighs 122 pounds, so it was a bit of a struggle to unload it at home. I think of myself as somewhat of a handyman and it took me right at 2 hours to assemble without any problems.
I only give this bed 4 stars because the rungs on the ladder are only about an inch wide and are somewhat painful for me to walk up barefoot. That is not a huge consideration though since it isn't my bed anyway, but I do go up a couple steps to wake up my daughter in the mornings.
Follow the instructions closely and be sure to not tighten down any of the screws until the entire bed is assembled. Once you tighten the screws down the bed is surprisingly solid. The desk surface seems to be fairly well made as well. All in all, it was a good purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Teenage daughter loves it

02/19/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have been remodeling our home and decided it was time for the teenage daughter to get some new furniture. She was in need of a bed and a desk but that would have really limited her space. This is perfect for her, it is very sturdy. She is 14 and this doesn't wobble at all. It was a lot easier to assemble than what it looked like. It took my husband about an hour and a half from start to finish. The desk is really long, so it is perfect for someone who has a lot of stuff. Also, there is a lot of room under the desk for storage. My daughter loves this and her friends think it's really cool. The only complaint is that the stairs really hurt your feet, my husband got some black foam tubes (like what you would use for pipe insulation) and put it around the steps. Worked like a charm! Super cushy and it blends right in. I will be buying another one of these for my younger child.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Great Bed!!!

06/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this bed for myself as a birthday present. I have a really small room, so I knew I could use the extra space underneath to give me some extra space to move around in. Plus, I've wanted a desk for a while but all the ones I've owned have been really small and more of a nightstand. Anyway, the desk is really good sized (I'm using it right now) and the bed is quite sturdy, although it does have a few slight annoying things. Like, if you've ever slept on a cot then you know how they squeak when you shift positions. This bed makes the same kind of noise if so if you toss and turn at night it might get really annoying. Also, it's difficult to put together, particularly getting the desk on while trying to balance it with a single hand or knee, etc. Basically, I've learned to live with both, and I love how it opens up my room. I was worried that I wouldn't like the design that much, but it really looks good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+48points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

My boys love their new beds

03/02/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We bought 2 of these loft beds and my boys love it (ages 6 and 10). The beds are very sturdy. The only draw back are the stairs as an adult it hurts my feet when I climb to check on the boys but the boys don't seem to mind them.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Not very sturdy

02/26/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This bed was confusing to put together. The directions are not clear as to which way to turn the pieces you use. I almost had the entire bed together when I realized I had put one piece on backwards and had to redo the entire process. However, now it is still shaky/not sturdy even though every piece is in the right place and it's complete. Makes me kind of nervous to let me son sleep on it!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

cool!!!

02/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter loves it!!! Makes her feel like a grown up...I bought a set of drawers that match it... Looks like it came together...love it! I put it together with my daughter but needed more help with the desktop part...a little heavy but I had my family help. We got it together in about 3 hours. Worth the time!! I looked around and found others that were more expensive and not as modern... great!! Would recommend! ☺ My daughter now loves to do her homework at the desk and uses it all the time!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Good quality

07/18/2010
By ,
Jefferson, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this bed! For 12 year old girl with a small bedroom. Opened the space up nicely. The quality of the bed was unexpectedly awesome. I mean that as, it is not rickety and feels very solid when up. The price is actually what finally convinced me to get it as I was looking at cheaper models that I believe would have been made with"less quality". There was one thing only that bugged me... One day after purchase, the price dropped another ten dollars! Lol. One more thing, it was easy to put together. One husband and one 14 year old son slapped it together in under two hours. (that's really good!). And no foul words were uttered!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+125points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Perfect for the picky teenaged grouch.

02/20/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for our 16 year old boy. Shipping took forever so avoid ordering online if there is one available in store. Bed is sturdy and rather easy to put together. Requires two people to assemble. The desk underneath has plenty of room for all sorts of piles of junk that teenagers acquire. Our 16 year old loves it and now our 17 year old wants one too.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

I love this bed.

02/23/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the fact that the instructions to do it yourself was so easy to understand. I would recommend this bed to anyone who is looking for a convenient way to save space in your kids bedroom
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Stylish and Space Efficient

02/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very modern and stylish loft bed, made of durable steel frame. It took 2 people 1 hour to put it together. It functions as a place for my college age son to sleep when home from college and I get to use most of the floor space for a home office.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Great price, great quality loft

02/19/2013
By ,
Kokomo, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I found this exact same product for much higher prices elsewhere. I had it shipped to my local store for free and that was the first time I've ever used that shipping option. The pickup process was painless and I even received a text message when my product had arrived. I bought this bed for my 13 year old son to make more room in his room and provide a place to do homework. He's 5' 8" and weighs 130. He loves it and has a little room to grow. The craftsmenship in this is good. All parts and tools were provided with good intructions. All parts were marked well. It took my son and I about 1.5 hours to erect and another 20 minutes to remove all the warning stickers. It does require two poeple to build. The bed is very sturdy with the X brace design. My only complaint is the front guard rail had minor scratchs from shipping. They need to protect this peice better since it's eye level and the first thing you look at.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

love it

02/16/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My son & daughter share a room & this bed is perfect for them with these beds they have the entire floor to play
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Inspector Gadget's desk bed

02/10/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Upon assembling, the side frame was bent. I muscled it to make it work. The desk creaks with my arm on it. For the price and the limited space that I have, I don't mind it.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Solid frame that should last a few years!

08/05/2014
By ,
SF, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm a 22 year college graduate and purchased this bed for my tiny studio apartment in SF. It's worth mentioning that I assembled the bed by myself with no help and didn't have much of an issue - took about two hours. If you think before you assemble you can easily do it on your own as well. I'm about 6' and weight roughly 165 lbs. I feel totally comfortable sleeping on this bed every night. It's actually the perfect fit. The material is strong, but obvious not the best. It's functional and sleek. It doesn't even look to cheap in person. I'm hoping to get 2-3 years out of this frame. Would I recommend it? Sure. It says what it does and looks like the picture!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for X Loft Bed over Workstation, Black

Very Impressed

01/31/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered 2 of these beds for my 16 year old sons. I was nervous about the weight on a metal bed but after a month they are working great. The space underneath is perfect for teenage boys who have to share a room. There are 2 things I wish were better both involve the latter. I wish it was movable so we weren't limited by where we set them up also, the latter rungs are thin and hurt the boys feet when they climb up. One of my sons fixed this by wrapping them with duct tape.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 176 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  9 Next