Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Mainstays Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Elegantly illuminate desk and work tables with this Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp in black. It blends in well with most desk and tables without being too obtrusive. Designed with elegance and style, it has a contemporary design that works well in any space. It also makes an excellent bedside lamp. Further, you can adjust the focus area of the flexible gooseneck desk lamp to suit your needs. It's an easy-to-use lighting solution that provides an ideal focused beam of light for tasks. It's also an excellent choice for crafters and those who need hands-free lighting. Each black desk lamp comes with a 35 Watt halogen bulb. The easy-on, easy-off switch ensures that you can turn it off easily.
Average Customer Rating:
4.289 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(173 Reviews) 136
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
40
3 stars
16
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation85%147 out of 173reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
20 Questions | 134 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
103
4 stars
40
3 stars
16
2 stars
5
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black
02/20/2012
By ,
East Islip, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My former lamp was irreparable and I needed to have a light by my laptop...I checked on a number of sites and found each offer to be expensive and certainly not worth the money. I am absolutely thrilled with this lamp and I am very thankful to Walmart for their assistance in getting it shipped to me in record time...It works very well and a bonus is the secondary lighting that comes off the inner bulb...
A real worth it and I will recommend it to all that needs a small table lamp
Thank You
Al
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FL
inner bulb?
Posted 04/30/2014
what?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

DESK LAMPS (2) - FROM GLOOM TO GLAD !!!

07/29/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These desk lamps have a thumb screw to turn them on and off, something I have not previously seen on a desk lamp. When I turned it on, it gave out a very low and unacceptable light. I sadly shook my head and reached to turn it off - BUT - instead of going off, it went to a much brighter light! The description did not mention this wonderful feature, two levels of brightness.
Now, to some, like college students sharing a room, the lower light might be beneficial if one is sleeping and another is studying.
Another thing I like is the flat base. I can put To Do notes on this base under a magnet. They are replacing lamps with a rounded base and this flat base will help to keep my desk tidy, To Do's in one place.
I would recommend these desk lamps highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+96points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Torrington, CT
Desk Lamp
Posted 02/08/2012
The description DOES say 2 light levels at the very beginning. Guess you missed it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

a great lamp for the price.

07/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a lamp for my desk the last 10 years which I loved because it was small and versatile with a flexible neck but gave off a great deal of light which was perfect for late night writing on my computer. For some reason, the lamp stop working. After trying to fix it to no avail and finding out that particular model lamp was no longer manufactured, I stumbled across this lamp on the Walmart site.I thought it might be a bit too large for the space I wanted to fit in, but took a chance and purchased it. I got the lamp and took it out to find that it fit perfectly into the space. And was pleasantly surprised at the weight of the lamp and the feel. It seems to be well constructed and not at all cheap in appearance or design. Additionally, it has a higher wattage halogen light bulb than my old lamp which gives a larger cone of light across my desk. The only drawback so far is that the switch to turn the light on is located in the power cord rather than on the base of the lamp as it was on my old lamp. So I have to fumble a bit behind the desk to grab the cord to turn the light on and off. A small price to pay for very decent lamp at an excellent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Great value!

08/28/2012
By ,
Sayreville NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This lamp suits my needs just fine. The brightness level is just right and the inline switch is not far from the base so its really not a big deal for this price! Please note
there are two models of this lamp. Mine is identical to the one in the photo but does not have two brightness levels. Just on and off. The model number of the one i purchased is
MS10-020-002-20 and the one described here is MS10-020-002-25. If the brightness feature is important to you, make sure you are getting the right model if purchasing at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Newstead
Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black
Posted 12/16/2013
So which lamp is the brightness? MS10-020-002-20 and the one described here is MS10-020-002-25. I need it for a focus lamp will this do?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

small desk lamp is very useful.

11/08/2010
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I was shopping around, I could not believe the price on some types of desk lamps. I went on line and found this at a very reasonable price. I thought it might not work very well or look very well. I was wrong. It is I believe a very well made article, especially for the price. It is small enough right next to my computer, for which I, in particular, need light. Also, the light part is movable, making the light useful wherever I need it. I am happy with this purchase. And NO assembly.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
West Medford
35 watt Bulbs
Posted 03/10/2014
I just ordered a set of bulbs for the lamp; but am having trouble fitting the bulb.
I ordered JCD 120V G8
35 W Halogen Bulbs.
Am I supposed to Order another Type ?
It says it is a Type T Lamp; and that it takes
35 Watt MAX.
Do you know where to order the Particular
Bulbs for this Particular Lamp?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

nice

07/11/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
really clean amount of light for reading
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

just as shown

04/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great, looks good, does exactly what its supposed to and didn't cost much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Great Lamp

02/13/2014
By ,
Arlington, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good lamp but be careful because it gives off a lot of heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Jim dandy lil' lamp!

06/24/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great task lighting/reading for desk, bedside, on small tables in living areas. Nice ambient lighting when pointed downward, too.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Second review

06/21/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The first review on this was about how much I loved it, and what a great idea it is. But, like a previous reviewer, I found out that mine lasted for about one month!!! I still love the idea and would buy another one if they could make it last!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Just What I Needed

02/20/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My new halogen desk lamp is just what I needed. Now I can work at my computer without
having to turn on the overhead lights in my room. I am using much less electricity than
before I purchased this desk lamp. It came fully assembled. All I had to do is decide where I
wanted to set it up and plug it in. The quality of the lamp is apparent in its construction. The
black color matches all of my computer hardware, too. I am a very satisfied customer.
Jim Paris
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

halogen light bulb will not last!

02/26/2012
By ,
El Paso, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
halogen light bulb goes out in 2-3 months & there's no way to replace it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Morgantown, WV
To Replace Bulb
Posted 05/12/2013
I get my Halogen light bulbs from a local "Electrical Store". They are about $3/each.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Parlin, NJ
Lamp replacement
Posted 11/26/2012
Yes, the stock bulb burns out fast but you can replace it.
Loosen the screws that hold in the lens. Remove the lens and you will see the bulb.
Pull it out and replace with a the new bulb. Put lens back on and your back in business.
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 13 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Had a high low Halogen

06/09/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would liked it more if it had that High Low Feature
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Exactly as described

09/27/2010
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a small desk lamp for upclose work. The two I had previously emited so much heat from the bulb that I had to run a small fan, wasting more energy. But this little beauty emits LOTS of light on the high setting (another nice feature ~ two light levels!) without heating up my office. I like the flat base, too. The on-off switch on the cord doesn't bother me, as the cord is easily accessible with my desk configuration. Overall, an excellent value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Good desk lamp

06/03/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easily adjusted gooseneck, bright light, good price. Very satisfactory in every way.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Is goodfor a desk.

05/31/2015
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does not have an on/off switch; has to be plugged in and unplugged for each use.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Does everything I wanted of a lamp.

07/14/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a classic design desk lamp, for an inexpensive price, with a very stable base. This is all that and more. Looks far more expensive than it is, classic design, great, heavy, sturdy base, on/off switch at perfect location and the two degrees of brightness is an extra treat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Perfect lamp

11/28/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much better than the old OttLite lamp, which kept shorting out bulbs. This one fits nicely behind my laptop and provides enough light for the table and what I'm working on. While it does heat up, even after a couple of hours, I can still touch the lampshade; I was concerned about heat from other reviews. I wouldn't try touching the lens, though. Hope when it needs a replacement bulb I'll be able to find one. I like the long neck, adjustable so I can shine the light where needed. My laptop is a 17", so this lamp is perfect. Would highly recommend, but have only had it about a week. Oh, re the cord switch, I simply looped it around to the left side of the laptop and used a twist tie to gently secure it a USB cord I already have plugged in for a trackball I use (could also have done it with the printer or ancillary keyboard USB's--this makes it very easy to simply reach up and shut off the lamp with my left hand.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Mainstays Halogen Deks Lamp

05/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Small Foot Print Bright light, perfect to use in a small area
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black
11/20/2011
By ,
California
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Fairly simple, easy to use lamp. There are only two issues: one is that it arrived with a sticky filmy covering all over the lamp, most of which is still on there. It makes the lamp look dirty & it was bought brand new. The second issue is I wish the lamp had an on and off switch, or a twist on/off switch. The on/off function is further down the cord, which makes it difficult to reach if it is behind the desk.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 137 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next