Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Mainstays Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Elegantly illuminate desk and work tables with Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp Black.  The Mainstays desk lamp black blends in well with most desk and tables without being too obtrusive.  Its contemporary design lends itself to be used as an office desk lamp with ease.  Further, you can adjust the focus area of the flexible gooseneck lamp to suit your need.  It is remarkably simple to use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.317 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(145 Reviews) 108
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
31
3 stars
12
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation84%122 out of 145reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 120 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
90
4 stars
31
3 stars
12
2 stars
4
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black
02/20/2012
By ,
East Islip, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My former lamp was irreparable and I needed to have a light by my laptop...I checked on a number of sites and found each offer to be expensive and certainly not worth the money. I am absolutely thrilled with this lamp and I am very thankful to Walmart for their assistance in getting it shipped to me in record time...It works very well and a bonus is the secondary lighting that comes off the inner bulb...
A real worth it and I will recommend it to all that needs a small table lamp
Thank You
Al
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
FL
inner bulb?
Posted 04/30/2014
what?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

a great lamp for the price.

07/18/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had a lamp for my desk the last 10 years which I loved because it was small and versatile with a flexible neck but gave off a great deal of light which was perfect for late night writing on my computer. For some reason, the lamp stop working. After trying to fix it to no avail and finding out that particular model lamp was no longer manufactured, I stumbled across this lamp on the Walmart site.I thought it might be a bit too large for the space I wanted to fit in, but took a chance and purchased it. I got the lamp and took it out to find that it fit perfectly into the space. And was pleasantly surprised at the weight of the lamp and the feel. It seems to be well constructed and not at all cheap in appearance or design. Additionally, it has a higher wattage halogen light bulb than my old lamp which gives a larger cone of light across my desk. The only drawback so far is that the switch to turn the light on is located in the power cord rather than on the base of the lamp as it was on my old lamp. So I have to fumble a bit behind the desk to grab the cord to turn the light on and off. A small price to pay for very decent lamp at an excellent price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

DESK LAMPS (2) - FROM GLOOM TO GLAD !!!

07/29/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These desk lamps have a thumb screw to turn them on and off, something I have not previously seen on a desk lamp. When I turned it on, it gave out a very low and unacceptable light. I sadly shook my head and reached to turn it off - BUT - instead of going off, it went to a much brighter light! The description did not mention this wonderful feature, two levels of brightness.
Now, to some, like college students sharing a room, the lower light might be beneficial if one is sleeping and another is studying.
Another thing I like is the flat base. I can put To Do notes on this base under a magnet. They are replacing lamps with a rounded base and this flat base will help to keep my desk tidy, To Do's in one place.
I would recommend these desk lamps highly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+85points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Torrington, CT
Desk Lamp
Posted 02/08/2012
The description DOES say 2 light levels at the very beginning. Guess you missed it.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Great Lamp

02/13/2014
By ,
Arlington, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good lamp but be careful because it gives off a lot of heat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Great value!

08/28/2012
By ,
Sayreville NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This lamp suits my needs just fine. The brightness level is just right and the inline switch is not far from the base so its really not a big deal for this price! Please note
there are two models of this lamp. Mine is identical to the one in the photo but does not have two brightness levels. Just on and off. The model number of the one i purchased is
MS10-020-002-20 and the one described here is MS10-020-002-25. If the brightness feature is important to you, make sure you are getting the right model if purchasing at the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Newstead
Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black
Posted 12/16/2013
So which lamp is the brightness? MS10-020-002-20 and the one described here is MS10-020-002-25. I need it for a focus lamp will this do?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Just What I Needed

02/20/2014
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My new halogen desk lamp is just what I needed. Now I can work at my computer without
having to turn on the overhead lights in my room. I am using much less electricity than
before I purchased this desk lamp. It came fully assembled. All I had to do is decide where I
wanted to set it up and plug it in. The quality of the lamp is apparent in its construction. The
black color matches all of my computer hardware, too. I am a very satisfied customer.
Jim Paris
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

small desk lamp is very useful.

11/08/2010
By ,
Arizona
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When I was shopping around, I could not believe the price on some types of desk lamps. I went on line and found this at a very reasonable price. I thought it might not work very well or look very well. I was wrong. It is I believe a very well made article, especially for the price. It is small enough right next to my computer, for which I, in particular, need light. Also, the light part is movable, making the light useful wherever I need it. I am happy with this purchase. And NO assembly.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
West Medford
35 watt Bulbs
Posted 03/10/2014
I just ordered a set of bulbs for the lamp; but am having trouble fitting the bulb.
I ordered JCD 120V G8
35 W Halogen Bulbs.
Am I supposed to Order another Type ?
It says it is a Type T Lamp; and that it takes
35 Watt MAX.
Do you know where to order the Particular
Bulbs for this Particular Lamp?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 8 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

POOR QUALITY

07/08/2014
By ,
Asheboro, N.C.
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
BOUGHT A GOOD ON FROM LOWES HOME IMPROVEMENT CHEAPER/BETTER QUALITY
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

just as shown

04/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
works great, looks good, does exactly what its supposed to and didn't cost much.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Works well, does the job for small desk.

07/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Can't beat the price, works fine, looks good.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

halogen light bulb will not last!

02/26/2012
By ,
El Paso, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
halogen light bulb goes out in 2-3 months & there's no way to replace it!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
Morgantown, WV
To Replace Bulb
Posted 05/12/2013
I get my Halogen light bulbs from a local "Electrical Store". They are about $3/each.
+2points
Customer Avatar
Parlin, NJ
Lamp replacement
Posted 11/26/2012
Yes, the stock bulb burns out fast but you can replace it.
Loosen the screws that hold in the lens. Remove the lens and you will see the bulb.
Pull it out and replace with a the new bulb. Put lens back on and your back in business.
+7points
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 12 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Great gift for a graduate...

06/10/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gift for up & coming high school graduate!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Exactly as described

09/27/2010
By ,
Bakersfield, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a small desk lamp for upclose work. The two I had previously emited so much heat from the bulb that I had to run a small fan, wasting more energy. But this little beauty emits LOTS of light on the high setting (another nice feature ~ two light levels!) without heating up my office. I like the flat base, too. The on-off switch on the cord doesn't bother me, as the cord is easily accessible with my desk configuration. Overall, an excellent value!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

good for my desk

06/07/2014
By ,
lodi, ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
much as I expected. It is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Mainstays Black Halogen Desk Lamp

05/27/2014
By ,
San Diego, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality for the $12.60 price. I wish the on/off switch were on the lamp base instead of 12 inches down the cord.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Does everything I wanted of a lamp.

07/14/2012
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I wanted a classic design desk lamp, for an inexpensive price, with a very stable base. This is all that and more. Looks far more expensive than it is, classic design, great, heavy, sturdy base, on/off switch at perfect location and the two degrees of brightness is an extra treat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Worked well and then

02/04/2011
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I love Walmart stuff-- it is usually cheap and durable, but within 1 week of buying it the lightbulb was broken, and after pulling it out and buying a replacement lightbulb, for whatever reason the lightbulb slot was misshaped and I couldn't slide the replacement lightbulb in.
A disappointment essentially, when it worked it was great-- I agree with the others, the two light settings are nice. But just a piece of junk reliability wise.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

What's wrong with this description?

10/15/2012
By ,
Redlands, Calif.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Desk lamp. In-line switch. Think about that: Where do you put a desk lamp? At the back of the desk, of course. Where, then does the cord hang? Behind the desk of course. If your desk is against the wall, the cord is INACCESSIBLE, along with the switch. Even if your desk does not have a wall behind it, the switch will nevertheless be unreachable from where you sit. That's a brilliant design--putting the switch where it cannot be reached. (You hear the sarcasm, right?) Other than that, it's a nice lamp: looks good, does the job. I solved the problem with the switch by looping the cord and fastening it to the base of the neck with the twist-tie that came with the cord. This puts the switch at the base of the lamp, where it's accessible. Not elegant, but it solves the problem. For the price, I'll live with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

Good desk lamp

05/12/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought for my son's desk and he's pleased with it. Liked the price and the excellent service in shipping.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Mainstays Halogen Desk Lamp, Black

I love this lamp

05/03/2011
By ,
Studio City, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The higher level of light is perfect when I'm ready or writing paper copy while the lower level is perfect when I'm not. The gooseneck from base to shade lets me set the light precisely where I want it. I gave it 5 stars for appearance because--why not--there's no accounting for taste.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 109 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 6 Next