Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Sauder Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Sauder Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Handsome, functional and refined, the Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk brings business sophistication to any room. With durable construction and a variety of organizational features, this computer desk is the perfect addition to a study, home office, or bedroom. A small, felt-lined drawer with cord access provides a convenient digital dock for parking, recharging and synching mobile electronics. It's the perfect office desk for the busy professional on the go.
Average Customer Rating:
3.754 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(61 Reviews) 56
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation79%48 out of 61reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 66 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
19
4 stars
26
3 stars
5
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Beautiful desk-Great Value!

05/11/2012
By ,
Cullman, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I waited several weeks for this desk to be back "in stock" and it was certainly worth the wait! It is a beautiful piece of furniture and no one would ever guess you paid so little. It had all the features we were looking for and I put a beautiful a black & white circle Taylor accent chair with it that is also available on walmart.com. The assembly was quite detailed and time consuming. It took both myself and my husband to put it together but we took our time to be certain we did it correctly. The desk is such a great addition to our home!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Broken top

08/16/2011
By ,
Robinson IL
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I thought this desk, as far as style was exactly what I wanted. I had read the reviews and should have paid more attention to them. The first piece out of the box, which was the top, was broken. It had a very large triangular piece broken in the middle, it was unable to be fixed even if we had wanted to try. We sat it aside and decided to put as much together as we could. The company says not to take it back to Walmart, to order any problem piece from them. The upside to that is, I was able to get online then and order, we did receive it timely, within 3 days and that piece is fine. The desk was very heavy, it weighs around 120 lbs. and in a million pieces. The screws, etc. were all thrown into one bag, I sorted and sorted and put each piece into a piece of styrofoam to help speed, putting it together, while my husband made heads or tails of the instructions. It took us 3 hours to put it together not counting attaching the top, since we still haven't done that yet. We were quite disappointed to see that the whole desk is made of particle board, I had hoped that at least parts of it were real wood. If I had to buy again, I would not purchase this one.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Solid Unit - Long Time To Assemble

03/12/2011
By ,
Watkins Glen, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This unit seems to be very sturdy. I glue all the joints as well as use the cam locks so I know it will hold together.
There is one fit up problem with a facial board and the upper desk drawer. I removed the board and everything looks ok. The instructions say to put the cover of the drawer on a certain way and it may just be a touch too tall,
It took me about 5.5 hours to put it together. I am usually adept at putting these things together so I expect the normal person to take a little longer. Make sure you have some help putting the desktop together. It is not required but is a big help working on both sides (top and bottom) at the same time.
There were a few extra parts left in the package. That is really unusual but a welcome site if you have ever put something like this together before. Sometimes you are short a few parts.
Good luck!!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Wonderful writing desk

03/24/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have other Sauder products, so I figured this desk would also be of great quality. It is! The desk is large and sturdy - as well as being a lovely piece of furniture. I was able to put it together by myself, and i'm a average sized female with a limited tool box. The directions are a little vague in places, which for me, meant having to make a couple of adjustments - but nothing too bad. I was able to put it together in one evening and am elated with the results. It was missing a couple of screws, but I contacted Sauder, which has one of the best customer service departments I have ever dealt with, and they promptly sent out the pieces i needed free of charge. I'm a calligrapher, and this desk more than met my needs. All the little nooks provided me great places to put my parchments, pens, nibs, inks, and sealing waxes. It truly is a wonderful item!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+14points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Nice Desk, Good Price!

01/29/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this desk! The big bottom drawer is a file-drawer, which is fabulous. I did need to insert my own dowels to keep the folders from slipping off the front and back of the provided glides, but I didn't check the hardware pack, so there might be something in there for that. The hutch section is nice, the cord holes and spaces are great. The action is good on all the drawers. The desk is very strong and sturdy, and it really looks nice put together. The back is unfinished, so it needs to go against a wall or other furniture. The slideout (keyboard/laptop tray) is a little weak, but holds either of those light items well. The lift-out feature of the tray is nice especially for a laptop. It took my husband and I 2 hours to put it together, and we are pretty handy people. It was not difficult at all, just time-consuming. There were a couple of steps in the construction that would have been nearly impossible with one person, so recruit a friend!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Sturdy, handsome desk.

08/01/2010
By ,
Pickerington, Ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I did the free "Site to Store" shipping on this desk. The box was in perfect condition, I know better than what I would have received delivered to my home. This desk is very sturdy and very attractive. It took my non-handy husband about 2.5-3 hours to put it together. All the pieces fit together and all the parts were included in the box. What I like a lot about the desk is the legs have "feet" -- which gives the desk more appeal. The price was perfect and free shipping, makes me very happy. Everyone who has been to our home has raved about how nice the desk is. Great value! Very happy I picked this desk!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Love the desk, but..

10/24/2010
By ,
Louisiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love the desk. It looks very nice and is true to the picture. It took me a few hours to put together, but I expected it to since there are drawers and whatnot. The problem I had was there was a HUGE crack on the desk top. I didn't notice the crack until I was ready to connect the piece and had pulled it out of the box. This was after I had half of the desk built. I ended up filling in the crack with a black marker since it was trouble for me to put together in the first place (I was working by myself). Lucily, the hutch cover the crack and after I completed everything it isn't noticable.
Although, if the hutch hadn't covered the crack I would have been forced to return it since the piece actually was bent from the crack. The hutch helped stablized the crack and kept the top flat.
Other than that, I love the desk. The pieces fit together and it looks nice. Just check the desk top first!
Oh, make sure you have someone to help you carry the package. I ended up taking some pieces out of the box in my car in order to lighten the load enough to push the package from my car into house.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Beautiful Desk...Horrible to Put Together!!

01/23/2014
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I absolutely love the way this desk looks. It is small enough that I was able to put it in the corner of my kitchen for daily use of bills, notes, envelopes, etc. Only complaint is that it took forever to put together! There were a ridiculous amount of pieces and screws. The diagrams helped but there was no way I could do it alone so my husband had to help. By the time it was finished he said he would have rather spent more just to get an intricate desk like this already put together from a furniture store...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Professional looking and affordable

12/09/2013
By ,
West Orange, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was looking for a desk for my office. This desk was visually appealing to me and had several compartments to help with organization. The cord access holes in the back are great! However, the one in the back of the top drawer did not have a cover to go around the hole.
The whole assembly was quite time consuming. All the screws were basically in one large plastic bag. This requires the time to go through and organize/mark all screws before beginning installation. Overall the instructions were fairly clear and I did not need to go online to view any of the video references to put the desk together. HOWEVER, towards the end of the installation, there were things marked wrong in the instructions. Certain steps noted screw parts needed that didn't exist. So basically I had to skip the step and continue on until I figured out which screws were needed for the wrongly marked step. For some, they may have a difficult time figuring this out. A little frustrating. Would I buy a Sauder product again?? Only if I can't find something else compatible for an affordable price. Otherwise, it's not worth the frustration and extra time to figure things out. [at the same time I purchased a desk chair from Staples and the instructions were VERY EASY. I appreciated that the Staples brand had the screws for each step in a separate plastic baggie. No need to keep track of screw parts. Just open the next bag for the next step. Too bad Sauder doesn't provide a similar convenience!]
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Terrific desk, especially for the price!

09/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This a a great addition to our living room. We used to have piles of papers on the kitchen table which drove us crazy. We invested in this nicely sized desk as a place to store paper's and a laptop computer. My husband has made it his workspace! Assembly was not simple and took my husband about 3 hours, but it was well worth it and we are very pleased. We had looked at secretary desks for $600-$1000 so this fit the bill for value and appearance (for those who have comments that they were surprised it is particle board: it's a $200 desk - you can't expect oak!).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Very pleased with the overall appearance.

01/03/2014
By ,
Oklahoma City, OK
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great item. Difficult to know screw sizes, as I have not had much experience with such in my life. Next time I will know to size-line up the screws then and label each separate pile first and then continue onward instead of simply randomly separating the piles and then floundering in confusion as the piles dwindled. Now I considered myself more "experienced." We each double checked the instructions for the assembly of the upper drawer and could not see why our actual product did not match the end result as expected and was shown in the example. My husband thought about it for a bit and came up with a solution and now all is well. Overall we are happy with our daughters desk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Very Nice Desk

07/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This desk came packaged extremely well. All corners were protected with heavy cardboard. The shipping service delivered right to my house with a scheduled delivery date so I was home. Product was easy to put together, must read the directions,not just look at the pictures. It took me about 1 1/2 hours to complete. Very satisfied and my son really likes it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Looks Good

02/14/2010
By ,
Forest City, IA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It comes in a million pieces and not all of them fit together correctly. I actually had to use my table saw on one of the pieces to make it fit. It looks great once it is all together. Some of the connecting, locking mechanisms are not what I would have used had the holes not been pre-drilled. It took 3 college educated, tool savvy women 3 hours to put this together.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

disappointed

11/18/2010
By ,
Dudley, Ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I spent alot of time looking for a desk that would serve as a small reception desk for my home salon. I was so dissappointed. It took over two weeks to come in and when it did the top of the desk had a huge crack running from one side to the other. I read all the reviews on this desk and most were positive. I felt pretty good about my purchase. What a let down as well as a big aggrivation to return it to the store. NOT going to order another one!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

great desk for a small space

12/27/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
When drawers are closed they do not line up evenly.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Happy Purchase

03/04/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered the desk after reviewing SEVERAL similar desks. For the price and for quality, this is top notch. Assembly is required and of course, like anything you have to put together, it takes time. The amount of time was one evening - mainly my husband and I helped some. We are very pleased with the quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Disappointment

06/14/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Beautiful desk, but we waited for weeks for it to arrive - and when it did, the tabletop of the desk was broken. (perhaps too many stops and truck changes?) Returned to store and will purchase elsewhere - can't afford to wait any longer.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

desk top has huge crack

11/09/2013
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
have not even begun to put together and already one piece, the desktop has huge crack in it.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Not Worth The Money

07/13/2011
By ,
Texas
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
If you are looking for a desk just to look cute in a room, this is the one. It is poorly made and the laminate finishing was chipped in many places before I even begun to put the unit together. The boards are thin and there is not much of any support in the unit. I will be surprised if this desk last more than a year. It really pays to spend more money and get quality furniture if you plan on using it on a daily basis. I wish now I would have waited for something to come up on CraigsList. A few minor dings and scratches on a quality desk would have been a better investment. I would discourage a friend from purchasing this desk or any desk Sauder Edge Water makes.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Sauder Edge Water Computer Desk, Estate Black

Great desk for $200, LOTS of assembly required.

07/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Desk arrived with a gash on the keyboard tray, but that piece was reversible so it doesn't affect the overall appearance. I'm using this as a computer desk in a medium sized bedroom and it's working out great. It's sleek and sturdy, and if you are familiar with this kind of build-it-yourself furniture, you will not find this terribly difficult to put together. More than a few of the pieces are unlabeled but a little common sense will lead you to the answers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1 2 3 Next