Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Evenflo Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Evenflo Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Keep children safe with this Evenflo Position and Lock Tall Gate. The pressure mounted design of the hardwood frame makes it easy to install and it can be done without damaging your walls or woodwork. It is extremely portable and helps keep your baby safe wherever it's needed, whether in the living room or in front of the stairs. The Evenflo tall gate is expandable, so you can fit it to meet your home's needs. It can also accommodate uneven openings, baseboards or odd spaces. The quality construction ensures that it is dependable enough to withstand use year after year. With opening sizes marked right on the gate, placement is simple no matter where you choose to set it up. No assembly is required, and it includes a pressure mount to keep it in place. The tall baby gate is a smart choice and it can also be used to keep pets protected. The sturdy vinyl-coated mesh panel will keep your little ones safe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.192 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(329 Reviews) 278
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
193
4 stars
76
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 star
27
Customer Recommendation88%290 out of 329reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 94 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
193
4 stars
76
3 stars
17
2 stars
16
1 star
27
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Great gates

06/23/2011
By ,
Jackson, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These gates are perfect for my pets I use them to put in front of my windows so my cats can't
get out the screens. Works good for large dogs in doorways since than are tall. I bought 4 of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
It was broken
Posted 09/22/2011
We bought this in hope that it would fit our 50" stairway. It did fit but it came out of the box broken and the wood was very sharp. There was no way we could use it broken like it was so we had to return it and now im stuck looking for another gate.
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 2 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Simple & Inexpensive Though a Bit Rickety

09/11/2013
By ,
South Eastern United States
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This gate is decent depending on the application. It was the simplest gate I could find that would still fit my 48 inch doorway. However, when secured in place the locking bar is under quite a bit of force which it isn't handling well. The frame is being twisted (and is splintering slightly) where the bar is attached with a pin. I plan on adding supports to the ends of the bar so it presses against the wall which should relieve the stress in the frame. Despite that, it is working and my 25 lb 10 month old has not succeeded in taking it down (yet) though she has tried. :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

for the money well built

10/19/2013
By ,
Delray Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these gates and they were well built for the money. The only issue is they need a little better adjustments as they are not as sung in the doorway as I would like. I needed 2 as I had to stack them since my cats can jump even the "high version this described as. Used zip ties and it worked pretty well. Also don't go the service desk (waited over 20 minutes just to find out there is a separate desk for pick-ups) I probably should have known but it is not clearly spelled out on the website there is 2 different desks. Live and learn
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Great Value!!

04/24/2011
By ,
virginia beach,va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a gate for my 9 month old baby & my new puppy! I looked everywhere for a gate this size & this one is the lowest price I found! It held up against my 9 month old pulling up on it & my puppy jumping on it. It is worth the money & I would recommend it for sure! =)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

OVERALL A GREAT DEAL

04/10/2014
By ,
Poughkeepsie, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love it!!! Easy to install, light weight and sturdy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Great for Pets!

11/07/2010
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate over five years ago and love it! It is tall enough so that our rabbits cannot jump over it, and they cannot eat through it like they can the kind with the plastic mesh. They do chew the vinyl coating off of the wire; so we have had to be watchful of that. It's easy to open and close and to reposition in another door if needed. What I really like about it is that the side rails extend above and below the top and bottom rails. This stops the gate from getting off track. I have a cheaper baby gate that isn't designed this way, and I'm constantly fighting with it to get it put back together! It's very sturdy in the doorway and doesn't shift unless A LOT of weight is pushed up against it. I feel comfortable using it with my 16 month old son. The one thing that I don't like about it is that because it is so tall, and I am so short, that I cannot just step over it. I have to move it every time I want to enter that room. Overall, a very good gate, and I would highly recommend it to others!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Best Child and Pet Gate

05/11/2011
By ,
Bloomsburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this same gate years ago for my son when he was a baby. I was surprised to see that "nothing" has been changed but the color of the metal grid part, which is now beige instead of white. I have always loved this gate and it was used for many different functions around our house as the years went by. This gate is among the best for durability and function. I recently bought another gate for my pets and I am happy that nothing has been changed as it is and will always be the "BEST". Thank you, Walmart for stocking the same gate for years, you know a good product when you have it!
*wendy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

cheap product

08/25/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broke the first day, the wood is very cheap, I had to return for a refund, you get what you pay for
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Excellent

08/23/2014
By ,
Idaho
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works perfectly for what I needed it for ... just be careful you don't get it too tight ... I am going to buy another one
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Great product for the price!

06/19/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a decent gate at a low price that fit my 45 inch doorway. Most gates that large are expensive and you have to buy extentions for them. I am using this gate to keep my two large dogs in my kitchen while I'm at work. It seems kind of flimsy when you first see it, but it is pretty sturdy and fits tightly between the walls. It is tall enough that the dogs wouldn't try to jump over it, and tight enough that they won't force their way through. Although my dogs are large, one is 12 years old and the other is 4 years old. They are both well mannered dogs, so I'm not sure I would use this gate for a large, feisty or untrained dog because I'm sure with enough force, the gate would come down. But it works great for my needs and was at a great price. It is simple to use and overall a great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

great product

08/21/2014
By ,
vevay in
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it does just what I need it to do I have a mini pin that loves to run when he gets out so I can put the gate up an he can jump this one an no more chasing him for hours .thank you
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Tall and sturdy

07/24/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I use this gate to keep pets from going down the stairs off my deck. It is strong, fits into place with just the right amount on tension and a good height. There are 4 rubber feet that go against the walls 2/2 to hold it securely in place. If you put felt pads on those it will not make the gate more prone to slipping out of place at all--in fact they help and will not mar your paint. a baby or small dog cannot jump it but my cat-I do have to pull a privacy screen down to meet the top of the gate or ...well you know cats. I have used the original gate for 5 years-in the 100 degree sun, rain, snow and wind all day and night 24/7 and it just gave up the ghost so I ordered 2 more. For the price and the quality you can't go wrong.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Pefect buy

08/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent and more affordable option to other long extending baby gates! I love this product!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Useful

05/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the gate to keep my 50lb 1yr old boxer from running through the house. It stayed up and is quite strong even with the puppy pawing at it. I would recommend it for similar uses.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Great gate!

08/17/2014
By ,
St. Augustine,FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is tall and has a tight and secure fit in large doorways!!!!!
Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Very Happy

08/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So I got this gate to keep my dogs from escaping and it's taller then I expected so I was happy about that.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Decent, but its obvious it was cheap.

08/10/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We are in an apartment & we needed it to block a bigger hallway, which the nicer mid sized ones to expand far enough to fit. Since we didn't want to spend a ton of money on a place we won't be in long, this works.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Great Gate!!

08/06/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ive had this gate for years & I love it! It works so good! Its a pain to climb over because its so tall but it keeps the kids where they need to be!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Works For Smaller Dogs

07/22/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We needed an affordable gate that was tall enough to prevent our little dog from jumping over it and that would cover a 49.5" wide opening and this Evenflo Position and Lock Tall Gate did the trick. Solidly built and no assembly required.
Observation: This is not an issue for us with our 12 lb dog, but when the gate is fully extended, the center of the gate feels weak. This may or may not be a problem if you are trying to keep a bigger dog penned up. The less you have to extend the gate the stronger it feels.
For the price I would buy this again and recommend it to others.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Awful, cheap product

08/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was very excited to get my gate in and when I did I went to position it onto the wall and instantly it broke. I didn't even get to let my dog in the area! It just snapped the latch in half! Terrible quality.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 278 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  14 Next