Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Evenflo Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Evenflo Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Keep children safe with this Evenflo Position and Lock Tall Gate. The pressure mounted design of the hardwood frame makes it easy to install and it can be done without damaging your walls or woodwork. It is extremely portable and helps keep your baby safe wherever it's needed, whether in the living room or in front of the stairs. The Evenflo tall gate is expandable, so you can fit it to meet your home's needs. It can also accommodate uneven openings, baseboards or odd spaces. The quality construction ensures that it is dependable enough to withstand use year after year. With opening sizes marked right on the gate, placement is simple no matter where you choose to set it up. No assembly is required, and it includes a pressure mount to keep it in place. The tall baby gate is a smart choice and it can also be used to keep pets protected. The sturdy vinyl-coated mesh panel will keep your little ones safe.
Average Customer Rating:
4.182 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(340 Reviews) 289
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
200
4 stars
77
3 stars
17
2 stars
17
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation88%298 out of 340reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
10 Questions | 94 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
200
4 stars
77
3 stars
17
2 stars
17
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

worth buying

01/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my kitchen to keep my dogs in there while I'm gone. Works great and my dogs cannot jump over it. Seems sturdy enough so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Simple & Inexpensive Though a Bit Rickety

09/11/2013
By ,
South Eastern United States
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This gate is decent depending on the application. It was the simplest gate I could find that would still fit my 48 inch doorway. However, when secured in place the locking bar is under quite a bit of force which it isn't handling well. The frame is being twisted (and is splintering slightly) where the bar is attached with a pin. I plan on adding supports to the ends of the bar so it presses against the wall which should relieve the stress in the frame. Despite that, it is working and my 25 lb 10 month old has not succeeded in taking it down (yet) though she has tried. :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Great Value!!

04/24/2011
By ,
virginia beach,va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a gate for my 9 month old baby & my new puppy! I looked everywhere for a gate this size & this one is the lowest price I found! It held up against my 9 month old pulling up on it & my puppy jumping on it. It is worth the money & I would recommend it for sure! =)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

OVERALL A GREAT DEAL

04/10/2014
By ,
Poughkeepsie, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love it!!! Easy to install, light weight and sturdy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Great for Pets!

11/07/2010
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate over five years ago and love it! It is tall enough so that our rabbits cannot jump over it, and they cannot eat through it like they can the kind with the plastic mesh. They do chew the vinyl coating off of the wire; so we have had to be watchful of that. It's easy to open and close and to reposition in another door if needed. What I really like about it is that the side rails extend above and below the top and bottom rails. This stops the gate from getting off track. I have a cheaper baby gate that isn't designed this way, and I'm constantly fighting with it to get it put back together! It's very sturdy in the doorway and doesn't shift unless A LOT of weight is pushed up against it. I feel comfortable using it with my 16 month old son. The one thing that I don't like about it is that because it is so tall, and I am so short, that I cannot just step over it. I have to move it every time I want to enter that room. Overall, a very good gate, and I would highly recommend it to others!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Best Child and Pet Gate

05/11/2011
By ,
Bloomsburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this same gate years ago for my son when he was a baby. I was surprised to see that "nothing" has been changed but the color of the metal grid part, which is now beige instead of white. I have always loved this gate and it was used for many different functions around our house as the years went by. This gate is among the best for durability and function. I recently bought another gate for my pets and I am happy that nothing has been changed as it is and will always be the "BEST". Thank you, Walmart for stocking the same gate for years, you know a good product when you have it!
*wendy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Better than expected

10/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We are using these gates to cordon off our home from areas we don't want our little dogs to get into. Since getting them I have been consistently surprised by how sturdy and easy they are to use! They aren't the most attractive looking things in the world but they are convenient, and fit almost every opening in our home. For 18$ this is an excellent gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Not very sturdy

10/12/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
The locking arm on this gate is very flimsy. When I have it tight enough in the hallway to keep it from falling over, the two pieces that keep it taut are bowed out. Also it doesn't really "lock" into place like the other ones I have with a plastic clamp to keep it closed. If you just barely touch the bottom of the locking arms it pops up and the gate can be pushed over. It might work ok for a dog but a child can easily stick their fingers through the gate and make the arms unlock. I definitely would not use this at the top of stairs or somewhere that a child could get hurt if they were able to knock it down.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

If I could give this zero stars I would..

10/19/2014
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You get what you pay for with this item. It is the cheapest gate I've ever owned. I set it up and the wood snapped while I was latching it shut. I was not forcing it or anything. I felt the minimum amount of pressure and then the wood snapped. Now it is useless. I've never seen a wood so weak. It's more like paper. Spend a few dollars more and get a gate that doesn't fall apart before you even get to use it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Not too bad

10/24/2014
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered two of these, for a new dog that I got. One was cracked at bottom and had a tiny staple that was almost out. Not as sturdy as they use too make
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Great product for the price!

06/19/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a decent gate at a low price that fit my 45 inch doorway. Most gates that large are expensive and you have to buy extentions for them. I am using this gate to keep my two large dogs in my kitchen while I'm at work. It seems kind of flimsy when you first see it, but it is pretty sturdy and fits tightly between the walls. It is tall enough that the dogs wouldn't try to jump over it, and tight enough that they won't force their way through. Although my dogs are large, one is 12 years old and the other is 4 years old. They are both well mannered dogs, so I'm not sure I would use this gate for a large, feisty or untrained dog because I'm sure with enough force, the gate would come down. But it works great for my needs and was at a great price. It is simple to use and overall a great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Useful

05/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the gate to keep my 50lb 1yr old boxer from running through the house. It stayed up and is quite strong even with the puppy pawing at it. I would recommend it for similar uses.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Great product

10/14/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate to us with a doberman puppy more than 5 years ago. The gate has held up very well after 5 years of containing large dogs, I finally have to replace it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Great gates

06/23/2011
By ,
Jackson, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These gates are perfect for my pets I use them to put in front of my windows so my cats can't
get out the screens. Works good for large dogs in doorways since than are tall. I bought 4 of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
It was broken
Posted 09/22/2011
We bought this in hope that it would fit our 50" stairway. It did fit but it came out of the box broken and the wood was very sharp. There was no way we could use it broken like it was so we had to return it and now im stuck looking for another gate.
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

good value

10/10/2014
By ,
Chandler, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works well. Tall enough to discourage my small dog and wide enough for my oversized hallway. Easy to use, but not really convenient if you use the hallway often. Get one we ith a gate.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Great value for the price

10/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have a need to block pets from entering certain rooms without a door. These work perfectly.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Great purchase!!

10/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate because I was adopting 2 kittens from the rescue and did not want them to go downstairs to the basement yet. It is taller than normal gates and has worked out perfect!!! Good quality and price! =)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Can't even be installed

10/07/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wish the nob on the sides can be twisted or screw tightly to secure the gate, but it can't. It cant hold up on its own. Going to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Affordable perfection

09/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed 4 gates to keep my dogs from getting into trouble. I spent $40 a piece for pet gates which ended up being a pain in the neck to install & operate. Returned them and bought 4 of these for the price of one of those. These gates are simple & very effective. Strong enough to withstand my hounds trying to push through & tall enough to stop them from going over. Perfect!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

We use these for our lab puppy

09/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We use these to keep our very sweet but very energetic lab puppy out of rooms that she doesn't need to be in. They are extra wide and tall -- which helps because she's a big girl! Very good price and value on this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 289 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  15 Next