Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Evenflo Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Evenflo Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

The Evenflo Position and Lock tall gate is an ideal accessory that can help keep children safe. The pressure mounted design of the hardwood frame baby gate is easy to install, and this can be done without damaging your walls or woodwork. The tall baby gate is portable and keeps your baby safe wherever needed, whether in the living room, upstairs in the top floor or in the garden. The Evenflo Tall Gate is expandable from 31" to 50" and can accommodate uneven openings. It provides durability, portability and ease of use. No assembly is required.
Average Customer Rating:
4.187 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(294 Reviews) 243
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
170
4 stars
71
3 stars
15
2 stars
14
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation88%260 out of 294reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 86 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
170
4 stars
71
3 stars
15
2 stars
14
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

worth buying

01/16/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this for my kitchen to keep my dogs in there while I'm gone. Works great and my dogs cannot jump over it. Seems sturdy enough so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Simple & Inexpensive Though a Bit Rickety

09/11/2013
By ,
South Eastern United States
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This gate is decent depending on the application. It was the simplest gate I could find that would still fit my 48 inch doorway. However, when secured in place the locking bar is under quite a bit of force which it isn't handling well. The frame is being twisted (and is splintering slightly) where the bar is attached with a pin. I plan on adding supports to the ends of the bar so it presses against the wall which should relieve the stress in the frame. Despite that, it is working and my 25 lb 10 month old has not succeeded in taking it down (yet) though she has tried. :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

OVERALL A GREAT DEAL

04/10/2014
By ,
Poughkeepsie, NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love it!!! Easy to install, light weight and sturdy.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Great Value!!

04/24/2011
By ,
virginia beach,va
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed a gate for my 9 month old baby & my new puppy! I looked everywhere for a gate this size & this one is the lowest price I found! It held up against my 9 month old pulling up on it & my puppy jumping on it. It is worth the money & I would recommend it for sure! =)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

for the money well built

10/19/2013
By ,
Delray Beach, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased 2 of these gates and they were well built for the money. The only issue is they need a little better adjustments as they are not as sung in the doorway as I would like. I needed 2 as I had to stack them since my cats can jump even the "high version this described as. Used zip ties and it worked pretty well. Also don't go the service desk (waited over 20 minutes just to find out there is a separate desk for pick-ups) I probably should have known but it is not clearly spelled out on the website there is 2 different desks. Live and learn
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Great for Pets!

11/07/2010
By ,
Raleigh, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this gate over five years ago and love it! It is tall enough so that our rabbits cannot jump over it, and they cannot eat through it like they can the kind with the plastic mesh. They do chew the vinyl coating off of the wire; so we have had to be watchful of that. It's easy to open and close and to reposition in another door if needed. What I really like about it is that the side rails extend above and below the top and bottom rails. This stops the gate from getting off track. I have a cheaper baby gate that isn't designed this way, and I'm constantly fighting with it to get it put back together! It's very sturdy in the doorway and doesn't shift unless A LOT of weight is pushed up against it. I feel comfortable using it with my 16 month old son. The one thing that I don't like about it is that because it is so tall, and I am so short, that I cannot just step over it. I have to move it every time I want to enter that room. Overall, a very good gate, and I would highly recommend it to others!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

wide enough 50" to lock my dog in the kitchen

04/06/2014
By ,
Paramus,NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Could be stronger with better adjustable locking mechanism- I needed to reinforce it a little , but it is the only one model tall and wide enough 32"x 50" to lock my rough collie puppy Norabella 50 lb in the kitchen.Other models for this modest price are 23"x 42"max- good for narrower spaces. Good value for $18.00.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Perfect pet restrictor. Easy to position

03/12/2014
By ,
Warren, Michigan
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate to keep my two cats out of my living room. It is perfect! Stays in place and provides the easy to maneuver barrier.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Good never goes out of style

03/20/2014
By ,
Rio Rico, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the "baby gate" that's been around forever. It has longer bumpers so the gate snugs up to the walls even if there is molding at the floor/wall or the walls are not even. It is also wide enough for a hallway, not just a doorway. It install/uninstalls in about 2 seonds. It's just what I had hoped it was when I ordered it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Best Child and Pet Gate

05/11/2011
By ,
Bloomsburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this same gate years ago for my son when he was a baby. I was surprised to see that "nothing" has been changed but the color of the metal grid part, which is now beige instead of white. I have always loved this gate and it was used for many different functions around our house as the years went by. This gate is among the best for durability and function. I recently bought another gate for my pets and I am happy that nothing has been changed as it is and will always be the "BEST". Thank you, Walmart for stocking the same gate for years, you know a good product when you have it!
*wendy
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+38points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Gates are great for pets

04/10/2014
By ,
North Haven, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased the gates for my pets because the gate is higher than "standard"pet gates and it's easy to open and close the gate. Stays firmly in place and doesn't mar the walls. The price is much less than prices for "pet gates" Watch the video, it shows how easy it is to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Great product for the price!

06/19/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was looking for a decent gate at a low price that fit my 45 inch doorway. Most gates that large are expensive and you have to buy extentions for them. I am using this gate to keep my two large dogs in my kitchen while I'm at work. It seems kind of flimsy when you first see it, but it is pretty sturdy and fits tightly between the walls. It is tall enough that the dogs wouldn't try to jump over it, and tight enough that they won't force their way through. Although my dogs are large, one is 12 years old and the other is 4 years old. They are both well mannered dogs, so I'm not sure I would use this gate for a large, feisty or untrained dog because I'm sure with enough force, the gate would come down. But it works great for my needs and was at a great price. It is simple to use and overall a great product for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

great gate! Exactly what i wanted

04/04/2014
By ,
las cruces, nm
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great gate at a great price. Works for larger openings and has firm hold. Pressure mounted so no hardware or installation which makes it portable as well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Useful

05/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought the gate to keep my 50lb 1yr old boxer from running through the house. It stayed up and is quite strong even with the puppy pawing at it. I would recommend it for similar uses.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

evenflo tall gate

04/01/2014
By ,
puyallup,wa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for my cocker. He can now go outside, it keeps him from running away, and safe. I am glad I brought it. The price as very reasonably. Thanks evenflo.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Keeps our dog out from where he cant be

12/04/2013
By ,
Las Vegas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a few simple tries and it is highly to read the directions (all you men) they are very simple to place and take down. We are very happy with these gates and our dog is no small dog. 90 lbs. of boxer. Great gates - great value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Great gates

06/23/2011
By ,
Jackson, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
These gates are perfect for my pets I use them to put in front of my windows so my cats can't
get out the screens. Works good for large dogs in doorways since than are tall. I bought 4 of them.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+25points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
It was broken
Posted 09/22/2011
We bought this in hope that it would fit our 50" stairway. It did fit but it came out of the box broken and the wood was very sharp. There was no way we could use it broken like it was so we had to return it and now im stuck looking for another gate.
-2points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 18 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Works awesome even for pets!!

12/15/2013
By ,
Marana, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband & I bought this as a trial & error purchase to see if this gate would work for keeping our 3 pit bulls out of certain rooms when needed. This gate has worked out so well that we're in the market to buy another one, maybe even 2 more!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Love it!!

03/23/2014
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have tried different gates but only this one seemed to work with our doors. It blocks our puppy to our open kitchen, which was a huge relief. Highly recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Evenflo - Position & Lock Tall Gate

Works pefectly for the reason I bought it.

03/05/2014
By ,
Vancouver, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Using this in conjunction with a magnetic screen door to keep cats out of a room. Does the trick so far.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 244 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  13 Next