Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Evenflo Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Evenflo Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Having toddlers or infants in a multi-storied environment increases their vulnerability due to the staircases. Parents can now heave a sigh of relief thanks to the Evenflo Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate. Install it at either ends of a staircase to prevent your little ones from using the tricky stairs. Sturdily built, the tall wooden baby gate opens on both sides and completely barricades the stairs from your kids. Your young ones can neither climb over the gate nor open it providing you with a foolproof solution that will work for years to come. Also, the baby swing gate stairs can be installed effortlessly thanks to the four-point hardware mounting. Although the gate measures 32 inches in height, it is ideal to install the gate three inches above the floor for added safety. For complete protection, use the gates on both ends of a staircase. Overall, the Evenflo extra-tall gate is a must in every multi-storied home that nurtures a baby.
Average Customer Rating:
4.697 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(165 Reviews) 149
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
127
4 stars
31
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation96%159 out of 165reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 134 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
127
4 stars
31
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Great gate

07/05/2011
By ,
Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this gate cuz then you can put it away when you are done with it. It latches great too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Good for even stair cases.

09/12/2012
By ,
Philadephia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate is good for stair cases that are even but if you have any kind of differences with the top and bottom of your wall or the top and bottom of your banister this is probably not going to work without adding some wood to it. We bought this gate for the bottom of our steps to prevent our 11 month old from getting up the stairs and it works like a charm after a little fanigling. I had to add a peice of wood to both sides in order to get the gate to line up properly. My banister was a little pushed out on the top because of pressure gates that I tried to use before with my son and on the bottom of my steps by the wall there is some carpet that comes up so this was pretty tricky but we did get it installed and it works like a charm. It is much better than climbing over those pressure gates all the time. The latch works well, just make sure when your installing this gate that its installed evenly otherwise its not going to close correctly.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Perfect

11/30/2011
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As soon as I saw this gate at my children's daycare center I knew it was exactly what I needed. My house is the upper level of a duplex and the staircase is open to the interior of the house. I bought another gate elsewhere, but it had a bottom rail that was very dangerous at the top of a staircase. This swings completely open & doesn't make the opening narrower, which comes in handy while carrying an infant carseat and a diaper bag while helping a three year old up & down the stairs. I like that this is wood with NO plastic parts. My staircase is over 48" wide & this gate works perfectly.
The only thing about this gate I would change is to figure out a way to lock it in place. There are brackets that slide into holders you screw to the wall & I accidentally knocked it out on the way up once. But if you're careful I don't see it being a problem.
This is a great gate & I plan on getting more for other areas of my house to keep my little ones contained in the main family room area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Great gate!

04/14/2013
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this gate to replace a pressure mounted gate that had gotten damaged and subsequently, did not retain the 16 month old grandson. Eeek! This gate screws into the wall, and has what I call a 3 step process to open. I like that the gate slides into upper and lower brackets, requires releasing a latch, sliding the gate back and swinging it open. Plus it looks nice. My only complaint is that due to the half-wall adjacent to our stairs, the gate was too tall and had to be returned. I measured but the 32" refers to the height of the gate itself, but not the installation. The brackets extend about 1" each above and below the actual gate height, and this extension isn't mentioned in the features. This gate had to be returned, and I ordered an identical but shorter version of the same gate. It is working well. The return to the store was easy and simple. I didn't want to pay a big price for a gate that is only used when the grandchildren visit; this gate was ideal except for the fit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Best gate for children!

12/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've went through several baby gates and all of them either broke or were difficult to open and handle but these gates are perfect. They're sturdy but easy to open and lock. They're tall enough that my kids can't climb over them but short enough to be accessible for adults. So far I love these gates.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Very good baby gates for stairs

06/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just moved into a 2 story house and have two VERY active little boys (2 1/2 and 13 months). We installed these gates at the top and bottom of the stairs first thing and have been very pleased with them. My oldest has fallen down stairs before (not hurt, but Mommy was very scared!) and these gates are very secure, thus allowing me to sleep at night! They shake them and try to climb on them but so far my (extremely tall and gifted climber) boys haven't scaled them or caused any damage to them. They are pretty easy for my husband and I to use, also. I did alot of research before going with these, and have been very pleased with them -- I was willing to pay more to keep my kiddos safe, but was also VERY pleased with the price on these!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Doesn't make a sound

12/01/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great gate !
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

not happy

10/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This item did not come with hardware so I had to return it the web site should tell you what comes in box
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Best safety gate I have used

10/28/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is one of the best safety gates I have used. I have 3 kids ranging from ages 5 to under 1 and this gate has prevented them from using the stairs. I own 3 of these gates and have never had a problem with using them or installing them either. Just a drill with drill bits and screw heads and I had the gate installed in about 10 minutes. I previously owned other gates that just stuck up against the wall and my kids just over ran those gates. With this gate since it's screwed to the wall they have not been able to get past the gate. I would highly recommend this gate to anyone with kids and even pets. This gate is perfect for keeping little ones out of dangerous areas such as the stairs and kitchen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

excellent gate

06/30/2012
By ,
northridge,caiif
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
after reviewing ALL gates available and observing my neighbors expensive gates, i decided on this one. It swings in both directions and easily slides fully open. No bar at bottom to step over. No small opening to fit thru. Slides up for easily removal if company is over. when open it sits flush against wall out of the way. Easy VERY secure latch for opening and closing. I use these to keep dogs confined to kitchen and laundry room when at work. It is extra tall and escape proof! LOVE these gates. Most inexpensive as well. Sturdy and secure. easy installation.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Excellent baby gate for a great price

10/17/2014
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this gate because it was affordable, mounted directly to the wall, and has vertical slats so my crazy kid can't climb it. It's easy to install and use, and it looks great.
One tip: The gate does like to pop off its hinges when it's unlocked and you lift it up. We fixed this by using the extra screw that came with it to screw in directly above the top hinge. This kept it firmly in place. (I don't know if we missed a step or something; this might not happen to everyone. We could've done something wrong.)
Anyway, awesome product. If we ever need another gate, well be purchasing this one again! Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Works when all others have failed

03/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a very spirited 2 yr old that has figured out how to yank pressure gates free, or climb over them, no matter how tight we thought we had it secured. We went through 3 or 4 brands of that type before we installed this one. It's too tall for him to figure out the handle, he cannot climb it, and no matter how much he shakes it, it does not come free. He was frustrated immediately and I like not having to chase him up the stairs every 5 seconds! It's affordable enough to have more than 1, too. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

A nice gate, works well

07/21/2010
By ,
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm not sure I realized I was purchasing the extra tall gate when I got it, but the height is actually pretty nice. I have to have a hand free to open it, but I don't have to bend down to get to it if I'm holding the baby, or a bunch of other things, as it's right about at my hip level. My cats are trapped on one side of the gate or the other when it's closed, but I see that more as a defect of my cats than the gate.
The installation was easy, although I did have to remove a piece of my baseboard trip to do it. That doesn't bother me since I didn't like the trim anyway, so it would eventually have been removed (new house, lots to do). I bought 2 and haven't installed the 2nd one, because we need to fashion something on my iron banister to be able to connect it. I've seen kits for this on the internet, but my husband decided just to get the parts and do it himself, which should be fine. That one is at the top of stairs. The other gate we just have to the doorway in our living room and it works very well there. The latch takes a few times to get used to, but now it's no big deal either.
I haven't used it yet, but I very much like the feature where you can slide the gate out of the hinges if you want to put it away for a while, instead of having it in your way, or needing to remove it entirely.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Great buy

11/02/2014
By ,
OHIO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great item. Fits really well in door way. Plus I love that it moves both ways.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

excellent gate

09/24/2010
By ,
virginia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate installs very easily and is a simple straight forward design. It is sturdy and attractive. We bought a Summer extra tall/wide metal gate and it was absolutely horrible trying to install it and it was almost twice as much as this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Strong top of stair door

11/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was relatively simple to install and very easy to use. Since I don't have a child in the home full time, it is removed often and replaced easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Good but not very strong.

12/19/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love this gate mainly because of the wall mounts. It will break easily. I have had 2 break and now am buying a 3rd. My husband fell over it the first time, second time my daughter broke a bar out of it, and could walk through it. Mountings are good and its easy to open. Just wish it was metal because the wood isn't very strong. I have had this for 3 years now. I have a 12 year old, 3 years old, and a 1 year old.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Wish this gate wasn't so hard to find in stores!

03/04/2011
By ,
Madison, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this gate, and I needed it on short notice (baby suddenly discovered and mastered the art of crawling overnight). Unfortunately, I could only find it online so I had to wait awhile for shipping. It's easy to install; easy to operate--even one handed, yet still sturdy and secure. I have a 4-year old who can operate it sometimes, while at other times he can't muster the hand strength to squeeze the mechanism open. The only bad thing I have to say is that I was shocked to take the gate out of the package without any finish on the wood--no stain or varnish! I am a hobbyist woodworker, so this turns out to be good for me--I can make it an exact match to our home's woodwork. However, I was still shocked and disappointed to find the unfinished product. (While my description says I've only owned this for 2-7 weeks, I used to own one just like it for 2 years and also loved it.)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Illinois
Staining
Posted 07/20/2011
Did this stain well?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

GREAT GATE!

10/19/2010
By ,
GA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is awesome! yes, it is hard to open with one hand, but isnt that the point? that just means its IMPOSSIBLE for your kids to open!!! and it is! i have had a few adults say "are you sure its not adult proof?" ....overall i love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

A good gate!

08/28/2010
By ,
Land O Lakes, FL.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate is perfect for our house. As indicated, it is for the top of stairs. It was easy to install with only minor issues. It definitely keeps my 10 months old safe. He shakes the gate and it is sturdy enough to handle his roughness. It is easy for me to open with one had and that is important. However, it is tricky enough where my infant cannot open by himself. Overall, it is a good gate, nothing fancy, and it does what it was designed to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 147 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next