Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Evenflo Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Evenflo Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Having toddlers or infants in a multi-storied environment increases their vulnerability due to the staircases. Parents can now heave a sigh of relief thanks to the Evenflo Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate. Install it at either ends of a staircase to prevent your little ones from using the tricky stairs. Sturdily built, the tall wooden baby gate opens on both sides and completely barricades the stairs from your kids. Your young ones can neither climb over the gate nor open it providing you with a foolproof solution that will work for years to come. Also, the baby swing gate stairs can be installed effortlessly thanks to the four-point hardware mounting. Although the gate measures 32 inches in height, it is ideal to install the gate three inches above the floor for added safety. For complete protection, use the gates on both ends of a staircase. Overall, the Evenflo extra-tall gate is a must in every multi-storied home that nurtures a baby.
Average Customer Rating:
4.699 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(153 Reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
31
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation97%148 out of 153reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
27 Questions | 132 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
116
4 stars
31
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Great gate

07/05/2011
By ,
Des Moines, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I like this gate cuz then you can put it away when you are done with it. It latches great too!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Good for even stair cases.

09/12/2012
By ,
Philadephia, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This gate is good for stair cases that are even but if you have any kind of differences with the top and bottom of your wall or the top and bottom of your banister this is probably not going to work without adding some wood to it. We bought this gate for the bottom of our steps to prevent our 11 month old from getting up the stairs and it works like a charm after a little fanigling. I had to add a peice of wood to both sides in order to get the gate to line up properly. My banister was a little pushed out on the top because of pressure gates that I tried to use before with my son and on the bottom of my steps by the wall there is some carpet that comes up so this was pretty tricky but we did get it installed and it works like a charm. It is much better than climbing over those pressure gates all the time. The latch works well, just make sure when your installing this gate that its installed evenly otherwise its not going to close correctly.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Perfect

11/30/2011
By ,
Washington State
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
As soon as I saw this gate at my children's daycare center I knew it was exactly what I needed. My house is the upper level of a duplex and the staircase is open to the interior of the house. I bought another gate elsewhere, but it had a bottom rail that was very dangerous at the top of a staircase. This swings completely open & doesn't make the opening narrower, which comes in handy while carrying an infant carseat and a diaper bag while helping a three year old up & down the stairs. I like that this is wood with NO plastic parts. My staircase is over 48" wide & this gate works perfectly.
The only thing about this gate I would change is to figure out a way to lock it in place. There are brackets that slide into holders you screw to the wall & I accidentally knocked it out on the way up once. But if you're careful I don't see it being a problem.
This is a great gate & I plan on getting more for other areas of my house to keep my little ones contained in the main family room area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Great gate!

04/14/2013
By ,
Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I ordered this gate to replace a pressure mounted gate that had gotten damaged and subsequently, did not retain the 16 month old grandson. Eeek! This gate screws into the wall, and has what I call a 3 step process to open. I like that the gate slides into upper and lower brackets, requires releasing a latch, sliding the gate back and swinging it open. Plus it looks nice. My only complaint is that due to the half-wall adjacent to our stairs, the gate was too tall and had to be returned. I measured but the 32" refers to the height of the gate itself, but not the installation. The brackets extend about 1" each above and below the actual gate height, and this extension isn't mentioned in the features. This gate had to be returned, and I ordered an identical but shorter version of the same gate. It is working well. The return to the store was easy and simple. I didn't want to pay a big price for a gate that is only used when the grandchildren visit; this gate was ideal except for the fit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Very good baby gates for stairs

06/14/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just moved into a 2 story house and have two VERY active little boys (2 1/2 and 13 months). We installed these gates at the top and bottom of the stairs first thing and have been very pleased with them. My oldest has fallen down stairs before (not hurt, but Mommy was very scared!) and these gates are very secure, thus allowing me to sleep at night! They shake them and try to climb on them but so far my (extremely tall and gifted climber) boys haven't scaled them or caused any damage to them. They are pretty easy for my husband and I to use, also. I did alot of research before going with these, and have been very pleased with them -- I was willing to pay more to keep my kiddos safe, but was also VERY pleased with the price on these!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+35points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Great gate!

07/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2nd one I purchased for another set of stairs. Some can be bulky and only have small opening. Love this one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Great for stairs

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was exactly what we needed for the stairs in our home. Tall enough that the kids can't climb over it, the wall mounts make it sturdy and durable and the two-way swinging is very convenient. Great product for a great price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Great product!

07/07/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is great for the top or bottom of the stairs. It was easy to install. It's also easy for parents to use, but not kids!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

wonderful gate for the price

06/30/2014
By ,
Ft. Wright, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend buying this gate. It was easy to install. It swings open all the way. It's easy to open with one hand. I have another gate that takes two hands to open. It's good quality and sturdy. It's solid wood so you could stain or paint it if you wanted.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

A nice gate, works well

07/21/2010
By ,
Portland, OR
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I'm not sure I realized I was purchasing the extra tall gate when I got it, but the height is actually pretty nice. I have to have a hand free to open it, but I don't have to bend down to get to it if I'm holding the baby, or a bunch of other things, as it's right about at my hip level. My cats are trapped on one side of the gate or the other when it's closed, but I see that more as a defect of my cats than the gate.
The installation was easy, although I did have to remove a piece of my baseboard trip to do it. That doesn't bother me since I didn't like the trim anyway, so it would eventually have been removed (new house, lots to do). I bought 2 and haven't installed the 2nd one, because we need to fashion something on my iron banister to be able to connect it. I've seen kits for this on the internet, but my husband decided just to get the parts and do it himself, which should be fine. That one is at the top of stairs. The other gate we just have to the doorway in our living room and it works very well there. The latch takes a few times to get used to, but now it's no big deal either.
I haven't used it yet, but I very much like the feature where you can slide the gate out of the hinges if you want to put it away for a while, instead of having it in your way, or needing to remove it entirely.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Great Gate

06/12/2014
By ,
Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is tall and very sturdy. The only problem is that it wouldn't fit under the railing at the top of our stairs. However, it works great at the bottom. The hardware is metal, and the gate is solid wood, so it's very sturdy. Before you buy it, just make sure you measure the space in which you want to use it taking into account the baseboards and handrails.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Great product, easy to install and use

06/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Gate used to block access to the dog, children (4, 7 and 9) can use it easily
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Buying 2 more!

05/28/2014
By ,
Seattle, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a ton of research, we bought this gate for the top of our stairs several years ago. We loved it so much, we installed a second one at the top of our outdoor stairs. Even though it was not technically an outdoor gate, it has worked beautifully. While it was weathering the 'slide' was a bit sticky when wet, but then the wood has adjusted and it has worked beautifully, just like the inside one. We are on baby number three now, and this is by far one of our favorite baby products. The installation just makes you feel secure. The height is such that I never have a worry that my little monkeys will be able to climb over the top. My now almost 4 year old has spent the last two years dedicated to figuring out how to get this gate open, and because of the push-then-pull open and close, she still hasn't totally figured it out, which is great. We are now buying two more to replace the outdoor one - which doesn't seem like it needs replacing, but I just want to make sure the wood hasn't weakened in the outdoor elements, and to have an extra one handy (they are so affordable) just in case they ever stop making this product!
PROS: Sturdy, durable, nice looking, solid, tall, unable for kids to figure out how to open/close.
CONS: You do need to make sure everything lines up properly when installing. This would be true of course of any gate you purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Strong top of stair door

11/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product was relatively simple to install and very easy to use. Since I don't have a child in the home full time, it is removed often and replaced easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Good but not very strong.

12/19/2013
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I love this gate mainly because of the wall mounts. It will break easily. I have had 2 break and now am buying a 3rd. My husband fell over it the first time, second time my daughter broke a bar out of it, and could walk through it. Mountings are good and its easy to open. Just wish it was metal because the wood isn't very strong. I have had this for 3 years now. I have a 12 year old, 3 years old, and a 1 year old.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

2nd one bought

06/13/2014
By ,
Pittsburgh PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I needed to replace my old gate from years ago. This version is taller which I didn't really need since I use it for a short dog. Basically the same gate which has a great functional design & looks nice too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Works when all others have failed

03/03/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a very spirited 2 yr old that has figured out how to yank pressure gates free, or climb over them, no matter how tight we thought we had it secured. We went through 3 or 4 brands of that type before we installed this one. It's too tall for him to figure out the handle, he cannot climb it, and no matter how much he shakes it, it does not come free. He was frustrated immediately and I like not having to chase him up the stairs every 5 seconds! It's affordable enough to have more than 1, too. Highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

excellent gate

06/30/2012
By ,
northridge,caiif
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
after reviewing ALL gates available and observing my neighbors expensive gates, i decided on this one. It swings in both directions and easily slides fully open. No bar at bottom to step over. No small opening to fit thru. Slides up for easily removal if company is over. when open it sits flush against wall out of the way. Easy VERY secure latch for opening and closing. I use these to keep dogs confined to kitchen and laundry room when at work. It is extra tall and escape proof! LOVE these gates. Most inexpensive as well. Sturdy and secure. easy installation.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

Best baby gate out there

03/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This gate is great. Aside from the fact it's a bit fiddley to install and to open and close/ it is great for these three reasons: 1- it can be taken completely off so when you're not using it the doorway doesn't have to be blocked by a gate and this literally takes seconds to do and one handed- you do however need to use two hands to put it back in the wall latches as the bits that fit in move about freely. 2- it is a full swing gate meaning not just part of the gate swings open but the WHOLE gate does- this is perfect as other gates more it so you need to be pretty skinny to get through the gate easily otherwise you need to go in sideways- not with this one. 3- other swing gates that partially swing open still have a floor barrier- so when it's open you need to step over it which is awkward and uncomfortable if you forget and step on. All in all this gate is soooo worth the cheap price- I also have one of those retractable gates I paid 160 for because of the fact the disappear when you don't need it- wish I would have just got these from the start as they also kind of disappear when you take em off- granted you need to them put it somewhere and it doesn't actually disappear into thin air lol- but them you're not paying 160 for it! Because they're so cheap i got 3 which I cousin do with the retractable as just couldn't afford to!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Evenflo - Top of the Stairs Extra-Tall Gate

essential safety

06/04/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Came in very handy keeping our toddler from going up and down the stairs by himself.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Free sample received:No
Free sample received:No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 136 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next