Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for L'oreal L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Brass Banisher

L'oreal L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Brass Banisher

Banish brassy, yellow or orange tones from your dream shade. Brass banisher reduces brassy tones in just 5 minutes. Hair is left looking natural and full of lustrous shine.
Average Customer Rating:
3.136 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 star
21
Customer Recommendation53%35 out of 66reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 star
21
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Brass Banisher

It worked for me. I like it!

03/25/2014
By ,
Northwestern WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have dark dark blonde hair naturally. I had used brown hair color some time ago and decided I wanted to started highlighting it again. I used Frost & Tip for brunette hair - Frost & Tip works the best for my hair. My highlights turned out great, but they were kind of yellow and there was some carmel colored tones of course (because I was making a darker colored hair lighter). I used Brass Banisher about a week after I highlighted my hair and I could tell a definite difference, even with my head still in the sink, my hair didn't look orangy anymore. It pullled all the orange tones out. Now it looks like a dark ash blonde with highlights and is definitely soft. I will definitely buy it again....because I am going to add some more highlights eventually.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Brass Banisher

Beautiful toner!

05/06/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first time using this product, OMG so love it!! it toned it perfectly. took out the yellow orange tinge i had in my blonde hair..now my hair looks and feels natural blonde again. I swear by Loreal's products never failed me once in the last 20 yrs or so of coloring my hair with them :)..excellent price and excellent product. did what it said it would.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Brass Banisher

it works

09/05/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used loreal les blondissimes on my medium brown hair and had some reddish gold i wanted to get rid of. The brass banisher did the job. It took the red out and toned down the gold. It also left a beautiful shine and softness on my hair. I'm buying a few boxes to have on hand when i color my hair again.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Brass Banisher

this is how it worked for me

03/08/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I has put color in my hair that was suppose to lighten it but it turned kinda red color and I hated it I have nothing against red hair but I don`t want mine red.i have really long hair and I stretched one box which covered it all.it helped a lot I would say it would b good to try,however we need to remember we will never look or should I say (I won`t) ever look like the girl on the box I could only wish. so the strand test they mention might be a good ideal im gonna do that next go-round.so good luck ladies......hope this helped.... :)
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Brass Banisher

Really made a difference!

10/19/2014
By ,
North Syracuse, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I admit to being a bit reluctant to spend my money on this--but my most recent highlights were too orange for my taste, so I went for it. I did leave the product on for 15-20 minutes, even though directions clearly state to rinse it out after 10 minutes. I chose to do this since I know my hair is resistant to color changes. I always have to leave products in my hair a lot longer than recommended.
My highlights now definitely have a cooler tone, and I don't see any brassiness. It really works!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Brass Banisher

So disappointed

10/17/2014
By ,
PA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have dark brown, long, thick hair which is prematurely graying and can't afford to get it colored at a salon, so I've been risking it with box color. I've been pretty successful until my last coloring session, when I changed my hair from a light ash brown to a medium ash brown, left me very brassy which was surprising since I use ash colors. And because I was so desperate to get rid of my brassy/coppery brown hair, I was hoping that all of the negative reviews were wrong somehow, haha. I followed the directions to the letter, leaving it on for a total of ten minutes because of how brassy my hair is and today in the sunlight it's just as brassy if not brassier than it was before. I shouldn't have wasted my money. Normally L'Oreal is a pretty reputable brand, but this time they definitely dropped the ball.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Brass Banisher

Big waste of money

02/14/2015
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just used this today and unless you just like spending $9.00 on a small tube of conditioner, don't bother. It did absolutely "nothing" for my brassiness. In fact, it looks worse than before I used it. Really disappointed with Loreal. Normally their products are very good; not this junk. The little tube of conditioner is the only good thing in that box.....IMO.
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Brass Banisher

Works Well

02/23/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Took the brassiness out of my hair, but had to leave on for 10minutes. Will buy again.
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Brass Banisher

Fixed my orange roots on my new platinum blonde

10/28/2013
By ,
USA by
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I didn't know if my roots didn't lift enough or was this just brass...what I read online had me confused but after a lot of reading I choose this product.
I needed the full 10 minutes but I think I messed up on the last 5 mins.....I worked it into all of my hair and when I rinsed, my real light tips looked greenish so I hopped back in the shower and used a clarifying shampoo and that greenish tint is gone now.
I definitely am pleased with the over all color, it seems more even and like the platinum color I was going for. It didn't hurt my delicate hair.....I am happy, happy, HAPPY. :-)
GAVE A 4 STAR BECAUSE I DO NOT KNOW ENOUGH ABOUT HAIR PRODUCTS TO SAY THERE IS NO ROOM FOR IMPROVEMENT ESP AFTER READING THE FAILURE REVIEWS.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Brass Banisher

well, it would be cool had it worked

10/02/2013
By ,
Sandusky, OH
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I came into this with, what I thought to be, generally realistic expectations. I did a bleach bath on my hair a few days ago and my hair took on an orangey cast (not read neon orange crazy reds). I thought this stuff would bring me to a safe-ish neutral ground because I didn't really have much to tone. Went on well, I was surprised the whole bottle covered my hair that never happens, and it didn't have a bad smell; nothing horrible happened. Not to say anything good happened though either, actually nothing happened at all. It altered the color of the towel I was working with, but not my hair at all. Save your money, just go to a beauty supply and by a toner and developer. This only seems to work (somewhat well) for one in every two hundred purchases.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Brass Banisher

disappointed

11/10/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I read so many good reviews of this product and was excited to try it. It did not change the brassiness nearly as much as I was expecting. I did leave it on longer as some reviewers had suggested, but still did not work so well. Maybe if I had used it asap after I had my hair foiled (had that done about three weeks ago) it would have worked better. Not sure if I'll try it again.
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Brass Banisher

Sorry, didn't do a thing for me.

03/14/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was not following what's on the box, I was following the bloggers and had this thing on for about 40 minutes. No result. I gave it more stars for "easy to use", but what does it matter...
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Brass Banisher

Waste of money and time

09/02/2014
By ,
Maricopa, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste money and time. Left 20 minutes and came out strawberry blond highlights. Now I have to go to a professional and have done the right way.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Brass Banisher
Based on the average of (53) ratings-only reviews
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3.3 out of 5
3.3 out of 5
Quality
3.2 out of 5
3.2 out of 5