Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for L'oreal L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

L'oreal L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

Remove artificial hair color from your hair easily with the L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover. It leaves your hair ready and waiting for an application of a new shade. The artificial hair color remover is ideal for hair that has been treated with permanent at-home or salon hair color.
Average Customer Rating:
3.043 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
22
Customer Recommendation54%37 out of 69reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
13 Questions | 30 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
22
4 stars
11
3 stars
6
2 stars
8
1 star
22
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

Went from black and red to full on red!

10/20/2013
By ,
Longview, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had black hair for about a year. Then I decided I want red hair. I tried previously to dye it red via-salon and resulted in black and red. Through the summer I continued dying my hair red with no successful result. So, I turned to this certain product and it did me wonders! It gives you a complete list on what your result will be. Just be careful not to leave patches, leave it on for too long, or to get it on your natural hair. The best thing about this product is that you can immediately dye your hair the color you want. This product is great. Just be very careful.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

Great color remover

03/06/2013
By ,
NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product worked great for me , I had dark red hair I didn't like it so I removed it now I'm trying to do ombre hair style this worked perfect and removed all the dark red, remember this product won't turn dark hair to blonde it's just remixing an unwanted color. It turned my hair orange but that's what any color remover or bleach will do to dark hair, over all very satisfied and it worked as if using bleach but less chemical.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

Works Like A Charm!

03/28/2014
By ,
Newark, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had several layers of dark brown hair color on my hair. I wanted to go lighter to a blonde. So, I applied to my entire head and left it on for an hour. It itched a little but that was too be expected. I rinsed, shampooed and dried my hair. It was an orangy/reddish color. I then applied L'oreal Preferance 8.5, (champagne blonde) and left it on 35 minutes. It's now a pretty, light strawberry blonde color that I am very pleased with!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

LOVE THE COLOR!!!!

05/06/2011
By ,
92630
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this thinking that it wasn't going to work at all and that my dyed hair would stay black while my roots turned blonde. It didn't my hair turned orangeish red and yes my roots were blonde but it didn't matter i was so happy that it worked. You are supposed to dye it the color you want after but i loved the wacky color it turned out later so i kept it and i love it.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT
07/06/2012
By ,
Tulsa,Ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had dyed my hair originally with Revlon medium brown mixed with Revlon burgundy along with a few blonde highlights…after about a month I didn’t want the hair color anymore and yesterday found a nice strawberry blonde I wanted to try, but the problem was my hair was still a little too dark, so, I picked up L’Oreal Colorist Secrets Artificial Haircolor Remover for $8.50.
I brushed my hair thoroughly with a soft bristle brush then went over it gently with a fine tooth comb to get rid of any tangles and kind of flatten my hair out to make applying the remover a lot easier.
I mixed the remover, there was very little smell to it and the bottle was considerably smaller than most hair dye bottles, so, if your hair is longer than your shoulders or very thick you may need up to three bottles to cover your hair completely.
The product was very runny upon applying it which is one aspect I did not like whatsoever. It was almost the consistently of water which made it hard to apply and very messy. Be prepared to have to work fast while applying for that reason.
After applying I noticed it had already started working on the burgundy in my roots turning it almost pink after just 4 minutes and the browner strands of my hair had already started to turn a mousey brown color which was a big difference from the medium brown.
I only let it sit on my hair for 15 minutes because I wanted to keep some of the brown to give my new color I will be using some dimension, but upon rinsing I found my hair to be very, very dry which was to be expected because after all this product is a STRIPPING AGENT and will be very harsh. The dryness was easily fixed though my gently shampooing the remainder of the remover out of my hair and letting conditioner sit for 5 minutes (Shampoo & conditioner used was Clear.) then rinsed again and put it up into a towel to drip dry.
After blow drying my hair was considerably lighter and there was not nearly as much damage done to my hair with the remover as there would have been using a bleaching kit (which I used to use to lighten.).
Overall I am very satisfied with the end results.
Also below is a list of things to expect and not to expect.
Expect some damage such as drying or frizz (esp. if you color often).
Expect hair to take on red and yellow tones after lightening.
Do not expect to gain your natural color back…the box clearly states to have another box of hair dye to color with ready because of the red and yellows that will be left.
Expect to use more than one bottle on longer/thicker hair.
Expect the product to be runny.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

So many good things to say about this product!

06/20/2011
By ,
New Jersey
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have never before removed color from my hair until this product. This is what happened:
Using Clairol's Balsam Color in Black, a little over 3 months ago, I colored my hair with it. I kept it for 3 months until my roots came in very noticably blond. Then, I picked up Revlon Colorsilk dye in Deep Burgundy. All it did was make my faded black an intense black with bright purple roots. Then, I found this product. I thought, it's only $8.50. Let's give it a try. With the help of my sister, we applied the product evenly all over my hair. (My hair is like 3 and 1/2 inches past my shoulders, thickish, and there was some product left over after I applied it all over my head.
After 1 hour, I washed it out. My purple roots were now a light orange, as were most of the underneaths of my hair. The top layer was a brown shade. I applied a Garnier dye over it.
Remember, this can be very damaging, so use a good deep conditioner like Aussie 3 Minute Miracle (I used it) to keep your hair conditioned.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
 
My Product Recommendations
Garnier Nutrisse Haircolor, 56 Medium Reddish Brown Sangria
4 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

Somewhat Misleading.

01/11/2014
By ,
Las Vegas, NV
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this thinking it would be the L'Oreal version of Color Oops, however it's not exactly that. Technically it does remove hair color, but that's because it's bleach. Smells exactly like it, looks like it, I even compared the ingredients to that of my powdered bleach and my developer and they're exactly the same. So does it remove color? Yes. Is it the same as Color Oops? No. I was planning on bleaching my hair after removing the color anyways so I didn't care too much that this was bleach, just figured I'd let a few people know before they use it in case they don't want to bleach their hair. Otherwise it works pretty well as a bleach.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

This product is horrible!

03/31/2014
By ,
mo
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this hair color remover before reading any reviews about it. Now I wish I would have taken a moment to do some research!
This is nothing else but harsh bleach! I wanted to remove red from my hair and I had about an inch of virgin light brown hair. Well. my red faded a little bit, but my virgin hair got bleached and I wound up with a yellow crown. Yuck! Recoloring my hair gave super bright roots and dark ends.
Besides, the product's consistency is grainy and not creamy, which makes it hard to apply and it burned my scalp so bad that I couldn't keep it for more than about 20 minutes(and my roots still got fried).
Worst product ever!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

If You Have Black Or Dark Brown Hair...STAY AWAY!!

03/02/2014
By ,
Prescott Valley, AZ
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I had used this once, last year, when I had black hair & it was horrible!
I think if your hair is already a medium or lighter shade of brown (you want to go blonde), then it might be okay. But I just didn't like it.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

Need to research before you buy or else...

07/16/2010
By ,
California
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I would reccomend this product, but there are things a potential buyer should know first.
1.) If you are trying to get rid of BLACK hair dye whether it be multiple layers or just a one time oops black hair dye thing, this product can be useful, but be VERY careful.
2. Have a buddy with you to make sure you don't get it on your new hair growth. IT WILL LIGHTEN VIRGIN HAIR.
My hair was dyed over a few times in jet black and I decided to lighten it for summer and this product was the easiest to find, but i didn't put it on my roots, which is good, because it kept my hair an even color during the processing. It turned a brilliant auburn color after about 50 minutes, it would have been train wreck orange if i had waited a full hour.
3. If you have natrally blonde or light brown hair and you have only dyed your hair once over the natural color, OR if you have a semi/demi permanent non-natural color (i.e. pink, green, blue, purple, etc), I would recommend Color Oops instead, as this product is not gentle or meant for semi permanent or demi permanent hair color.
4. If you know you do not want to go anywhere near a bleach product do NOT use this product. It is very similar to bleach and if you push it too far and try to wait for your hair to turn yellow it WILL damage your hair.
5. This product is made for haircolor to be stripped and then dyed over, so you have to buy a dye that is fairly close to the color you want, but going a few shades lighter is better as the color will be darker over stripped hair (it soakes up color like a sponge if it's not yellow), and if you go too light you can always make the hair darker, but if you make it too dark your going to do this twice.
as long as you research these things and you keep an eye on your hair, this is a great product especially for people who have black black black hair like I did. After using this you can use a Colorsilk Ultra Light ASH blonde (abut $4) and it will lighten it a little further and will cancel out a lot of the brassy reddish orange tones and you can use colorsilk over again pretty quickly (5-7 days between) if you want to gradually go blonde from the auburny color this will give you.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per year
+184points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

Pretty good

12/08/2010
By ,
wagoner, ok
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ok, it does work. my daughter's hair was black and she wanted to go back to blond. we have colored her hair several times black so the color on the ends didn't come out well even when we waited a month and tried again. the newer hair, from top to middle, came out quite well (i guess because it had only been dyed once or twice black.) it's a very good product and it probably would have worked better if her hair hadn't been dyed black several times. i would definitely recommend this is to anyone with lighter colored hair or to someone that has only dyed their hair a darker color once or twice.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

Worked on my dyed red hair...

12/04/2013
By ,
Guston, Ky.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Had to keep it on long however and since one box wasn't enough once I got it all on my hair I was able to "slide" the stuff off my hair and reapply it to the parts I didn't have enough to cover. In other words I was able to recycle one bottle to all around my hair. Make sense? Hope so. Just get two boxes! :) good stuff. Good price. Shipping could have been cheaper though. They sent it in a big box and put a lot of air balloons in the box to take up the rest of the space. Big waste. Unless you need the box for Christmas presents :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

No good

06/14/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I have been dying my hair black for the last 5 years and finally wanted to get rid of it. I only bought one box and tried a small section. The formula was very runny. I left the product on 1 hr and 40 mins, even though it says only 60 mins. The color barely lifted, it was a dark dark brownish red and then the root area was a bright orange, very uneven and I did the roots about 40 mins into the process so that it wouldn't lift so fast. I was very disappointed so I called Loreal and told them what happened and they are sending me a refund. The associate was very polite and said most of the products shouldn't be used when people have hair longer than shoulders...well that was never on the box. It should work with people that don't have over processed hair like mine, but I never bleach it and take great care of my hair. Good luck!
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

Excellent dye AND natural color remover

02/24/2014
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My hair is naturally medium brown, I've been dying it black for a couple years, and wanted to go to a dark brown. I tried Oops which I've used and loved in the past, but it just wasn't strong enough to get the black out. It removed only very little black. So I decided to try this L'Oreal product which advertises as if it's a dye remover but is actually a mild bleaching product. Well, this worked. This removed the black. Just as with Oops it came out a little odd and uneven but that's what you expect. Also just as with the Oops it didn't ruin my hair. I have long, strong, healthy hair which felt a little bit gummy and stripped for a couple days but restored nicely after I colored it and deep conditioned a few times. However, unlike the Oops, this L'Oreal product removed the color in my new growth. I did not purposefully put it on my roots, you're not supposed to put it on roots, but some leeched there and wound up laying on the top of my head. I went from black hair with brown roots to uneven brown hair with bright electric yellow roots, the way you would if you bleached on purpose. Oops, which is not bleach, does not do that. It worked out fine, I dyed my hair dark brown and it's fine. But like the one other review says, just so you know, this is a bleaching product, not an Oops-type color remover product. My recommendation is try the Oops first and if that doesn't work then use this, which will strip your hair more but will definitely work.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

Don't do it!

02/20/2013
By ,
Portland, OR
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My hair is almost all gray and I've been dyeing it for 20 years. I was hoping to lighten my hair enough to go from medium brown to light brown. It was also pretty healthy and soft before this. I did the strand test and watched the clock carefully. This stuff is bleach and not a simple color remover. I got various splotchy shades of orange, yellow, pinkish, red and even some brown. I went to the salon to have it fixed. They dyed it medium brown and still couldn't get it to cover the red orange color. My hair now feels like straw and it has been deep conditioned with a heat set conditioner twice. I am going back to the salon today to have a second round of toner put on it to see if that will help. I am now into this well over $100 for the fix. NOT worth it at all.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

Hate it

04/22/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Color oops works a lot better than this. I have a light pink in my hair at the moment I left this product on for 40 minutes and then washed it off, my color has not changed a bit! When I used color oops I had black hair and it turned my hair to my almost natural brown hair color. My hair feels like straw and it was totally not worth it
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Millwood
Don't buy it!
Posted 08/22/2012
This stuff does not work. It will ruin your hair. Buy regular color remover!!!!!!!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT
06/27/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used L'oreal Hair Color Remover and absolutely loved it!! I have colored my hair dark brown for the last two years and it was almost a black color. I was amazed at how well the hair color remover took all of it out!! I was very pleased and would recommend this to everyone. Thanks L'oreal!! :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

Great stuff

02/17/2012
By ,
Pella, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My hair had turned black from all the years of coloring it dark brown....I went to my hairdresser (she charged me $100+ to do this) and tried to lighten it....didn't look any different to me. So, at wits end I thought I'd give this a try! (Funny, she never recommended this option to me - gee wonder why *sigh*). It was scary at first - I kept mine in for 40 mins. It turned my color orange and I was worried - then I colored it with a good, lighter brown mixed with a copper brown.....I am Sooooo happy with the results.....I cannot recommend this more.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Color Appeal
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

Terrible Product

01/16/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I used this hoping to get rid of the black dye in my hair. Turned my hair a frightening orange color, which I expected, but left my hair in the worst condition its ever been in. My hair was pretty healthy before using this, and just one hour of having this sit in my hair, completely melted it and gave it a stringy ramen-noodle like look. The next day I had to go and cut it all off! I had mid back length hair and it is now a bit below my shoulders. PLEASE save yourself the stress and don't buy this.
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Color Appeal
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for L'Oreal Paris Colorist Secrets Haircolor Remover, ICT

LOVE IT !

08/21/2012
By ,
Pittsburgh, pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For a little over a year I've colored my hair black once a month !
This product took it out in the 60 minutes it says to leave it in !
I did apply it to my virgin hair, cause the color I'm trying to achive is a platinum blonde and my natural color is a dark dark brown ! I'm excited it took most of it out, but I'm gonna need another application to take the underneath's dark brownish color out ! But I'm overall happy with this product :) I only gave it 4 stars in the quality rating cause it took 2 bottles of the product to do my medium length thick hair :) But I love this product, and I will be adding another 2 boxes in about 3 weeks :)
Product Attributes:
Ease of Use
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 35 total reviews
1 2 Next