Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for UPEK UPEK TCRD4CA1H6A3 Eikon Digital Privacy Manager

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

UPEK UPEK TCRD4CA1H6A3 Eikon Digital Privacy Manager

The UPEK TCRD4CA1H6A3 Eikon Digital Privacy Manager is a USB fingerprint reader that provides quick and reliable biometric authentication to desktop or network resources. This model includes a cost effective Eikon swipe reader for home or office use. UPEK's USB fingerprint readers use the same patented technology built into many of today's fingerprint-enabled notebook PC's.
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(10 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation90%9 out of 10reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for UPEK TCRD4CA1H6A3 Eikon Digital Privacy Manager

Best Choice

02/01/2011
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my 4th fingerprint reader, and it is by far the best. It has a channel for you to swipe your finger that helps ensure good, clean scans. I haven't been using it very long, but can say this is easily the most accurate and maintenance-free. I am running a 64-bit version of Windows 7 without issue. That's not something I can say about my Micro$oft fingerprint reader (the M$ reader guaranteed Windows Compatibility for life, so call for your 40.00 refund check if you are running an incompatible version of Windows).
The entire base of the reader is rubberized, keeping it in place and properly angled. You don't have to apply/remove tape to the sensor every dozen reads. The window is tiny, and you're swiping, not pressing. It also doesn't give you that weird pin-like feeling when you run your finger over the sensor; nor does it seem that pressure is an issue. If money weren't an issue for me, I'd replace all of mine with this one!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 2 for UPEK TCRD4CA1H6A3 Eikon Digital Privacy Manager

Works with my new Windows 7

01/26/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I loved my APC biometric sensor running on my XP system before the computer crashed. I had to upgrade to a computer running windows 7 and the APC was not compatible. Rats! I knew I had to find a replacement and rolled the bones with Eikon. This Eikon runs as described with Win 7 after downloading a necessary driver through the manufacturers website. If memory serves me, don't forget to register the sensor online for full software use. Fairly easy setup and the software prompts to register new websites (via a small popup box) when password fields are detected. If popups annoy you, I think all popup prompts/help can be disabled but I left most of them on. Registering sites with the Eikon takes just a few mouse clicks and a finger swipe. Fingerprint reader is pretty good with recognition but sometimes has taken up to 3 swipes to accept my fingerprint. 3 swipes is still less than 20 seconds so that is an acceptable trade off for not having to remember so many passwords. Software runs in the background and I have not noticed any negative impact on computer speed (running 8GB RAM). The sensor itself is small and unobtrusive but still has adequate weight and a rubber bottom so it doesn't slip/slide on my desk. Same unit is priced higher on other websites so I recieved just what I needed at a good price. No complaints so far. I hope it lasts as long as my APC.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 3 for UPEK TCRD4CA1H6A3 Eikon Digital Privacy Manager

Great Product

02/13/2011
By ,
Aurora, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After reading all the reviews, I went and bought one... well it works well on my Windows 7 64bit. The software has a free upgrade so you can add you passwords for wesites without having a limit like on some other revies I have read. I will by one for my laptop. One great thing about this is that is logs me in on my Outlook Exchange.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 4 for UPEK TCRD4CA1H6A3 Eikon Digital Privacy Manager

Not for Mac

01/15/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It only works half the time on my mac and is very frustrating especially with the bright blue light on the front that is always on except when you sliding your finger (feel like it should be the other way around). Basically it just never works when i need it to on my mac. I don't recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 5 for UPEK TCRD4CA1H6A3 Eikon Digital Privacy Manager

Great Product

01/29/2011
By ,
Poulsbo, WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned two or three other finger print units in the past by other companies and this one is the best I've used.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 6 for UPEK TCRD4CA1H6A3 Eikon Digital Privacy Manager

This is the one you want, forget the others...

09/04/2011
By ,
Albuquerque,NM
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Item worked with my windows 7 64 bit os right out of the box without needing the newer software update which is free by contacting Upek customer service. I did upgrade after about a week or two and am even more glad I did. Love the features, and find the way it allows the user to group passwords in folders that make sense to be most thoughtfull. was using similar software through microsoft and dell over the last few years that had no support what so ever when anything went wrong. Imagine my suprise when Upek support actually answered a question I had within 24 hours!!!. Walmart Had the Lowest price and as always shipped it to me lightning quick.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for UPEK TCRD4CA1H6A3 Eikon Digital Privacy Manager

Great in Windows 7

03/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This product works amazingly well in all applications I have tried. The only issue I seem to be experiencing has to do with when I use RDP to connect to the computer it is connected to. If you don't RDP to your desktop then this doesn't matter to you. But even with the problem in RDP, it just gives me an error about the software not being able to function (which is expected since I am not at the PC to be able to use the device) but I wouldn't expect there to be a service error everytime I start and RDP session.
Would definitly recommend to anyone and I even am considering it for work.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for UPEK TCRD4CA1H6A3 Eikon Digital Privacy Manager

This product is great!

09/06/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've owned a UPEK fingerprint reader for years. I bought this new one for my other machine. The new one comes with an updated version of the software which makes it even better than the original one I owned. The product just works and works well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 9 for UPEK TCRD4CA1H6A3 Eikon Digital Privacy Manager

great product

03/26/2011
By ,
montana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This fingerprint scanner works very well on windows 7, if you upgrade to the 2009.3 version of the software. It comes with 2009.1 which was buggy and did not work reliably on my system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for UPEK TCRD4CA1H6A3 Eikon Digital Privacy Manager
Based on 1 ratings-only review
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5