Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

Nostalgia Electrics Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

The Nostalgia Electrics RSM702 Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker creates refreshing snow cones at home anytime! Use ice cubes to make shaved ice then add your choice of flavored syrup and enjoy a cold, tasty treat that's fun for the whole family and a great relief from the summer sun. You can even make fruit slush drinks, yogurt snow and smoothies! Originally designed for kitchen use, this snow cone maker can also be used in a number of locations such as family and dorm rooms, offices and club houses.
Average Customer Rating:
4.077 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation87%45 out of 52reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 79 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
27
4 stars
14
3 stars
5
2 stars
0
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

Well...

04/05/2011
By ,
Tampa FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ok so not a bad price, a little ugly I wish they had plain white or black but anyway...it's ok but the plastic part that is supposed to hold the snow cone is really loose so you can't set the cone down and leave it or it will spill over. I just put a cup under it and voila!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

Decent

01/02/2011
By ,
Hollister, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My nephew asked for a snow cone maker for Christmas and unfortunately I couldn't find any in the stores and had to buy online.
Pros:
*Looks very nice and retro
*Easy to assemble
*Compact enough to store easy
*Suctions to the counter so it doesn't fly away
*Worth the $30 bucks
Cons:
*Would have like the power cord to have a compartment to store instead we have to just wrap it around the machine.
*Wish the machine came with sample syrup. Should have realized that it didn't come with any. Hard to find snow cone syrup in December.
*The one true problem that we found most bothersome is that it does not produce shaved ice constantly. It takes more then the 4-5 ice cubes as instructed to get a constant amount of ice. After a few minutes the remaining ice will just bounce around in the ice compartment. The machine will fill the cup up with ice but it takes a long time to get a good amount.
I would reccomend this product but be prepared to mess with the ice for a bit in order to get your full snow cone. My nephew (14) hasn't complained just had some time figuring the quarks and loves it!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+59points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

a great buy

03/01/2011
By ,
Seguin, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i love it. it easy to use. the clean up is easy to do. the suction cups for the feet are great for the machine staying put. the bright red adds more color the my kitchen. i love it
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

Simple to use

12/28/2010
By ,
Point Pleasasnt, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this product for my 9 year old daughter. It is exactly what I expected. It made snow cones quickly and easily. It didn't come with paper cones or flavoring so you have to buy them separately. All in all a good product. We have only used it once so far (we just got it).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+57points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

Easy for kids to operate.

02/17/2014
By ,
chilton
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The kids can make snowcones anytime because it is easy to use and easy to clean up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

Happy mom

12/26/2013
By ,
Lancing, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got this as a gift for my daughter. We have used it three times already. It is It does exactly what it says. I just wish it would've come with some flavors.Overall we are very happy with it. I would definitely recommend this item.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

Great for my purposes and should be considered.

07/04/2012
By ,
Baltimore, MD
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beleive it or not, I purchased the snowcone maker for medicinal purposes and it filled the need wonderfully. I have been getting these headaches that feels like a knife in the eye ball and chomping on ice is the best way to fix the pain.
I bought the machine as a way to save my teeth and it is perfect for what I use it for. But the ice crystals are about twice as large as you would find in a snow ball, but the economical cost is a definite reason to consider this.
My one complaint was how the ice cubes hung up and caused the machine to jam up, but the fix is easy enough; simply put in less ice. Personally I like the snow cone maker, and feel families would enjoy having one.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

Decent machine for home use

07/24/2012
By ,
Salem, Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I got this after having returned a Sunbeam igloo-shaped snow cone maker from another store that was a piece of junk. This one was only $5 more than the other, was much nicer looking, and works much better. It is loud, but I expected it to be. It makes one snow cone in about 20 seconds. I've made 6 in a row and the motor did not smell like it was getting hot. (I'm pretty sure you could make at least 10 at one time without a problem.) I've used it with slightly melted ice cubes, and it worked a bit faster, but ice cubes straight from the freezer worked fine, too. One review I read said that it makes fluffy ice, similar to shaved ice. It does not; it's more snow cone like, crunchy ice. Not bad, but I know the hand crank kind with the disc to freeze the water in work much better for making shaved ice. (Just a bit more work.) This one is easier and quicker, though. I am glad I bought this one. My kids both love it, and my 8 year-old can use it himself.
I only gave it 3 stars for durability because of some minor issues. First, one of the suction cup feet came off the first time we tried to pull it off the counter. It took a lot of work to get it back in, and I damaged the foot doing it. I'm sure the feet are crucial to it's performance, as it would likely scoot loudly around the counter top without them. Also, the plastic cone holder is rather flimsy and doesn't hold full cones well. We took ours off.
If you think you would use this on a regular basis, think about how much sugar and food coloring you or your kids will be consuming. We are experimenting with healthier options for flavoring, like juice concentrate. I highly recommend Torani, DaVinci, Monin, or similar coffee syrup type flavorings from a restaurant supply store. In the end, they taste better, can be a bit cheaper per oz., they use cane syrup instead of high fructose corn syrup, and generally have less food coloring than the snow cone flavorings I've found.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

easy to use

05/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great shaved ice. I also have the larger sno cone machine and bought this one for my office because i am addicted to shaved ice. Love it. I do like the texture of the ice from the larger one better (more crunchy, less powdery) I would reccommend and I would buy again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

A great value!

01/18/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We were very excited to use our new snow cone maker. It is very attractive and works well. It produces the ice quickly and and cleans up easily. Much better than the old crank models.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

very good for the price , just the right size

12/28/2013
By ,
new philadelphia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would buy this again, it is the right size for a few people, it is fast working;
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

great for price

12/28/2013
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
my 10 year old loves this. she got it for christmas and has used it at least 20 times.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

Nice little machine

07/19/2012
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have enjoyed using this machine since I received it. It has held up well & does an excellent job with just about any size ice cube. I'm sure a larger machine would have the 1 feature I wish this had & that is to have the ice opening available as it runs so you can continually add ice until you have the desired amount. Other than that, it is a good machine & I would definitely recommend it to friends for individual cones.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

Horrible... very disappointed

02/22/2013
By ,
Wilmington, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this item as a gift that someone bought me off my wish list, and I was so excited to plug it in and get started... but I was EXTREMELY disappointed. Firstly, the ice thing keeps getting jammed after less than 2 seconds of trying to spin it to shave the ice out.
Second, it makes a mess all over the counter unless you do it over a sink... but it's such a big machine, it's hard to hold it over the sink
Was beyond extremely disappointed.... Will not be recommending this item to anyone.
Wish I could give the buyer her money back, it was THAT bad.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

Is better than we expected for the price

01/24/2014
By ,
Angleton, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this snowcone maker for our daughter for Christmas. The price was comparable to the kid's snowcone machines and their reviews left a lot to be desired. This is easy to use, easy to clean and even came with the cups and straws. Very pleased!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

Works great!

02/01/2014
By ,
Yukon Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mine was missing a piece, it was missing the cup holder, but I probably wouldn't have used it anyway, holding the cup under the machine works fine for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

works well

05/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
liked it
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

noisy, jams-up a lot, snow too fine

08/23/2012
By ,
Webster, Ma
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not anything like the other brand I had. I settled for this one because Wal-Mart does not carry the
one I had originally purchased there. My first unit was a 'Rival', the hit of the party. I had given my
product to my older sister, my younger sister went out and got herself one the very next day after
the party. I called every Wal-mart with-in reasonable a drive, nobody had it, finally an associate suggested looking on-line but still no luck. WHY???
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702

SNOW CONE MAKER

12/14/2013
By ,
AVOCA, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
WALMART, YOUR THE BEST.
THANKS FOR A WONDERFUL PRODUCT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nostalgia Electrics Retro Series Single Snow Cone Maker, RSM702
02/25/2012
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ITEM IS VINTAGE LOOKING, BUT WHEN PLUGGED AND IT IS SOOOOO LOUD THAT MY EARS WERE RINGING, SO IT WAS IMMEDIATELY RETURNED TO THE STORE FOR CREDIT. I KNOW IT HAS TO HAVE A POWERFUL MOTOR, BUT SOME SORT OF INSULATION WOULD BE HELPFUL.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Durability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 44 total reviews
1 2 3 Next