Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Mace Group, Inc Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

Mace Group, Inc Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

The SecurityMan Air-Alarm1 DoIt-Yourself Wireless Home System Kit is a state-of-the-art security system for homes and businesses. This user-friendly alarm system is a great way to protect homes/businesses at a minimum investment. The quick and easy installation of this Do-It-Yourself home alarm system is an added advantage for users. The system alerts you of an intruder through phone calls to a series of enlisted phone numbers. This home security burglar alarm can then be armed or disarmed by simply dialing into the host using the phones numeric keypad. This Air-Alarm1 system can even be upgraded by adding up to 60 wireless sensors, sirens, or 8 remote controllers.
Average Customer Rating:
3.524 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(42 Reviews) 42
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
9
Customer Recommendation69%29 out of 42reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
43 Questions | 136 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
17
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
9
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit
02/19/2012
By ,
los banos, calif.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very, very happy with the Security Man home alarm system. I had a few questions about installing extra door and window sensors. I Emailed Security Mam customer service and recieved a response in less then 20 minutes that they would have a customer service rep reply to my Email monday morning. It was on a Saturday that I sent my Email. First thing Monday morning I recieved the Email with instructions to call the sales rep as soon as possible so he could help me. By this time I had figured out how to install the sensors by reading the manuel again. Bravo for me. I am 70 yrs old and now feel so secure, when going to bed at night that I have the alarm system. I have not had any problems with it, in the 3 weeks since I installed it. I would so recommend this product to anyone and everyone. I would also like to Thank Walmart again for the ease in ordering products from there on line web site. Besafe. get an Alarm system. Its very inexspensive and makes you feel secure in your home.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

Not bad for the price but calling feature is flaky

03/01/2012
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this alarm and got it setup in less than an hour. The instructions could definitely use some re-writing, as they are a little confusing. You just have to pay close attention when following them. After everything was hooked up, I tested it out and found out that the alarm called my phone not just when the alarm was triggered, but also whenever the alarm was turned on or off. This was very annoying, as I don't really care when the alarm is turned on or off. I contacted technical support and after a little trouble-shooting they told me it was defective. I returned the alarm and bought another one. The second alarm did not call my phone at all -- even when the alarm was triggered. I decided to keep the alarm anyway, as my hope is just the sound of a loud alarm going off would scare an intruder. If you don't need the feature of having an alarm call your phone when it's triggered, then this is a great alarm for the price.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

Easy to Use

01/12/2011
By ,
Victoria TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Installed this product with 18 additional door/window sensors and 2 additional remote controllers in about 3 hours. No problems adding sensors to host. Everything worked fine straight out box. Located host in center of 1500 sq ft house w/siren about 15 ft from host. All sensor tripping alarm fine (even 2 in garage). Phone dialer called cell phone within 5-7 seconds. Intruder shouldn't have time to destroy host prior to it placing a call. Only issue I found so far is that the supplied siren did not stay on the entire time the alarm was sounding until host was disarmed about 3 out of 5 times during testing. Host always sounded it's internal siren. System ships with the siren, remotes, and two sensor programmed. Going to reprogram the siren before I contact support. Overall would recommend system.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+52points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
ADDITIONAL HARDWARE
Posted 08/04/2011
WHERE DID YOU GO AND GET THE EXTRA HARDWARE? WAS THE EXTRA AIR ALARM?
THANKS
NICOLE
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

Budget apartment security

04/30/2011
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this system hoping to add a bit more security to the residence. The unit operates as advertised, and in some ways, has even exceeded my expectations.
I recommend this unit to anyone, particularly those that live alone, as it at least allows you to minimize how much time a thief has to rip you off.
This is an entry level system, so don't expect to have many customizing features, but this unit is pretty inexpensive compared to some others I've seen.
I recommend to implement this product as more of a silent alarm, as the volume of the main and wireless speakers are pretty average in volume and annoyance factor. Also, an intruder may not notice the unit for an extra length of time, allowing law enforcement a better chance of catching the thief.
Setup was easy, as long as you have no problem reading and following directions. $90 well spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

Easy to install and setup

04/06/2010
By ,
Little Rock, Arkansas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
If you read and follow the directions you will have a flawless operation of the alarm system. I installed this product on a rainy day and it worked perfectly. For the price you can't beat it and it is so expandable that it will cover all of your home and outdoor sheds with no problems. There is a distance limit from sensor to central alarm unit of 300 feet. Satisfaction or return
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+91points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

bang for the buck

08/30/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this little alarm system is just what the doctor ordered for a starter alarm system. connect it up and it works. the siren is *LOUD*. the motion detector and door/window detector both work, too. this system, as is, will protect one room: for better protection, add on a few of the motion detectors, which can be had online for about $15. the best feature is that once connected to a telephone line, the alarm will call any set of numbers you want, including 911, and play a message that you record yourself, like "come to 111 mystreet because there is a burglar alarm going off!" or something.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

Excellent DIY alarm system

02/13/2012
By ,
New England
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent DIY alarm system. It is easy to install. The included inside alarm is very loud- Scares away thieves when you are away. Alerts you or wakes you up in the event of a home invasion. The auto phone dial feature works great. I don't see the need to pay monitoring fees to a security service. If my alarm is tripped, it automatically calls family/friends' cell phones and 911. For most people, this security system is all you need. Obviously the president of the US needs more security, but this is enough for 99% of us. I like the fact that you get the basic system for such little money, but can add components to it later. For most applications, I would recommend the outside siren, panic buttons, and more door/window sensors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit
07/28/2011
By ,
Colorado
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It was a little tricky to get the hang of the different features and settings, but once you do it works great! Not as much info in the owners manual as there could be to make it easier, but we did call for tech support and they were helpful! One thing to note that they dont have on any website or product description: THIS SYSTEM WILL NOT WORK WITH A DIGITAL PHONE LINE. IT MUST BE AN ANALOG PHONE LINE. Other than that snafu, we love it now!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit
02/10/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great product that does what it says it does. You can add up to 60 sensors, an outside alarm, 5 numbers dialed automatically, motion sensor, remote controls--it does it all, and no monthly fee. The inside alarm is extremely loud. The window/door sensors are also very easy to install. Also, it's very easy to arm/disarm for my wife. I travel alot and my family feels more secure with the SecurityMan alarm system. I had no problems setting the system up, although I took my time to read/interpret the instructions. Overall, I am very pleased with the system.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

Very Poor Product

02/12/2010
By ,
Lake City, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
i hooked it up and it kept going off everytime someone walked by......or everytime the phone rang.......sirene not very loud......hard setup!!
VERY DISSAPOINTED!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+49points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit
07/24/2011
By ,
Upstate NY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great starter alarm for the price. I was able to install (batteries included), arm, and test this alarm in 25 minutes. It called my cellphone in 4 seconds. It was actually very easy to set up and program, not so sure why so many of the others that left reviews had trouble? I would recommend longer phone line unless you are placing it by a landline. You can't use an answering machine with this unit if you want to arm and disarm via phone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

Get Less than What You Pay For

07/06/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The included instructions for this alarm are terrible and make little or no sense. It is clear English is not the author's first language due to the multiple spelling and grammar mistakes. Instruction manual "chapters" follow no logic.
Though I can program the main control unite to turn on and off, I cannot program it to work with my phone and other features as advertised. Remote call in feature does not work if you have home answering machine.
Nobody answers toll free customer service number or returns calls after leaving message.
This product has potential if it worked as advertised but needs to go back to the R&D department for a more polished upgrade.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

Simple but Good!

02/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a really basic, straightforward system. The wireless motion sensors make this especially easy to install and use. The telephone notification works.
I would recommend that you also buy a couple extra motion detectors to provide better coverage.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

Securityman is Great System

01/10/2012
By ,
Kansas City, Mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ordered this product after doing much research. Purchased additional window/door sensors to fill out my needs and went to work on setup. Setup is not complicated if you follow the cronology of the quick start guide. Adding additional sensors was easy but have to remember that each zone can only have 4 wireless devices. Autodialer is flawless as it calls my cell phones and I can decide to call neighbors or police. Build quality is quite good for an inexpensive passive system. Autodialer will only work if connected to analog land line.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

Good for the Price

04/22/2011
By ,
San Francisco, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
For around $100, this was exactly as advertised. Not a great system, but very inexpensive. The documentation and instructions are poor, but the system is fairly basic, so some trial and error diagnosing eventually worked for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

Good product Bad Batterires

02/26/2011
By ,
GA
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I purchased this product in December 2010 and the batteries didn't last a whole month and since I have replace all 9 sensors twice and working on the third round now. I will be getting an refund ASAP!!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

Great system...Really fit my needs

12/24/2011
By ,
Pittsburgh,Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I really like this alarm system it fits my needs perfectly and the only reason i dont give it 5 stars is the instruction manual......God god could you get it more cryptic???..LOL it took me a while but i figured it out and it works really good once i figured it out everything went together fine the sensors worked and paired perfectly...........the motion sensor says it will ignore cats....not in my case....maybe i just have bigh cats but they did set the alarm off but all in all it was a great buy and works wery well
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

Works Well

04/17/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The alarm was pretty easy to install and I had it working in just a couple of hours.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

Nice Quality

11/29/2010
By ,
Martinsville, VA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Upon opening the box and previewing the items we were impressed that the remote entry key chains were built so well! They are solid, weighty, and classy looking. Nice that the manufacture took the effort to detail something like that. Too often companies try to go the cheap route and end up making intricial parts cheesy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Security Man AIR-ALARM1 Do-It-Yourself Wireless Home Alarm System Kit

Great system

02/25/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very modular for adding components. Works as expected, only shortcoming is the instructions are not great engrish.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 42 total reviews
1 2 3 Next