Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canopy Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Canopy Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

The Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk is a beautiful and elegant piece of furniture that can be a part of your study or your bedroom. This solid wood writing desk is a classic example of two great uses in one smart design. It has a pull out keyboard tray that doubles as a handy drawer. This smooth gliding pull-out tray allows you to quickly switch between computer work and writing by hand to suit your mood and the task at hand. This hardwood desk features an easy-access hinged compartment to help you keep the unsightly cords out from view, keeping everything nice and tidy. The desk has a solid hardwood and birch veneer construction that makes it durable. The desk also boasts of a durable HardCoat top coat to resist marring. This sturdy and durable high-quality writing desk is easy to assemble too.
Average Customer Rating:
4.477 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(128 Reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation91%116 out of 128reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 70 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
91
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Love this desk!

12/09/2012
By ,
White Oak PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had this desk shipped to my local Wal Mart. Make sure you have help taking it out of the store and loading it into your vehicle (will need a truck or a car where the rear seat can be released for more trunk space). Very heavy! Great color (I got the brown finish) and good looking. Very easy to put together....just attach the four legs. I'm very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Easy to assemble, sturdy and attractive

11/22/2013
By ,
The Woodlands, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent piece of furniture -- very surprised at the quality and the ease of assembly at this price point.
First off, it comes mostly assembled; all you have to do is screw on the legs. I did it alone, but someone who is not quite so stubborn may need a partner for the back legs.
Second, it feels strong as a tank. The caveat is that it's just a week old and all I have on it is one iMac. I do use the keyboard tray multiple times a day, and so far the sturdy latches seem to be hanging in there. The drawer also seems to be assembled more strongly than in my prior desk, whose keyboard drawer fell off early in its life & then repeatedly thereafter, once the drawer rails were weakened. I have no kids climbing on it, or pets likely to try to jump up & see if they can tip it over. But it feels like a stout, sturdy piece of furniture.
Finally, it's pretty. The pieces fit together well -- no big gaps anywhere. The most amazing part is the cold-holder space at the back of the desk -- really minimizes the usual computer-desk clutter! (I use a lot of USB connections...) I don't recall whether it is supposed to be solid wood or laminate, but it smells & feels like real wood anyway.
I'm beyond pleased -- this piece totally exceeded my expectations. I will definitely look at Canopy furniture again in the future.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Great for the Kids

06/07/2013
By ,
Peninsula, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This desk was easy to assemble and is well made. The writing surface is big enough for the kids to do crafts, jigsaw puzzles, or spread out their homework. There is space to store unsightly cables and a drawer that flips open for keyboard use. Another review was the reason I chose this particular writing desk and it more than met my expectations!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Love Love Love this Desk !!!

01/09/2011
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is super easy to put together. I did it myself in about 20 minutes or less. It has a wheel-out drawer that needs no installation and comes with an option of knobs. The desktop has plenty of room to do homework with my laptop and/ or makeup kits. It has an ample compartment on the back where you can hide all your wires and electric connections. I keep a power strip in there to connect any additional electronics or even hair tools. I love love love this desk. :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Top Quality Desk, plus more!

05/16/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This writing desk is outstanding quality, seconds to setup and the hidden compartment just adds to the overall amazing value of this desk. There is no reason to pass up this desk. Hard wood, easy assembly, additional features like hidden wiring compartment, drawer that doubles as a keyboard/mouse tray…. I LOVE this desk!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Pretty, sturdy, and functional!

07/23/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The assembly was quite easy, though having another person to help like it recommended in the book would have made it much easier. It's a great place to work on my laptop or write, and it makes a a pretty addition to my living room!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Love it!

02/27/2011
By ,
Aibonito, Puerto Rico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought it today (Feb.27.2011) at my local walmart store in Puerto Rico for about $185.00 Looks lovely in my small living/dining apt.
Very easy setup (Only have to put the 4legs and knob). It fits my needs and for the price it was fairly right. Goes well with my dark chocolate brown furniture. I think it is 100% Solid Wood....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Great writing table

04/11/2012
By ,
medina, oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful writing desk for the price. Has a working drawer, compartment in back on hinges, and was extremely easy to put together. love it
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Worth a second try

02/10/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pretty happy with this product when I got it. There were features that weren't really highlighted and were a nice touch; like the hidden cord compartment in the back and the hinges on the drawer can lock closed so it doesn't have to fold down for keyboard use. I had read some other reviews and saw that the veneer had some issues so I went in knowing this was a risk. We ordered online for home delivery and it was packaged great. (as someone had noted) But we did have issues with the edge veneer peeling and was bubbled so simply gluing it back would not have worked. It was nice looking and a great price so we returned it to the store w/o any hassles and tried one more time. This time it was fine. We are happy with the desk. It seems to be holding up just fine, and I have a 3 and 1.5 yr old that like to "do work" on mommies desk. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice looking desk on a budget but remind them there is a bit of a risk with the veneer issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Second Go Around :-/

03/28/2014
By ,
Alabama
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
We first bought this desk 2 or 3 years ago: It was an amazingly good buy--great looks and well made. Over time the top has scratched and one edge has some chipping but this desk gets heavy use. We decided to order another; was surprised to see it on clearance and to read some negative reviews. We received the desk, promptly. It was packaged very well BUT some of the more recent reviews are sadly accurate. One washer was missing. The drawer is binding (screech and drag on opening), finish had minor blemishes, wood panel underneath the back compartment was attached with cheap staples that were failing on arrival and one side of drawer's bottom panel was coming apart. Today I noticed the veneer along front [vertical] edge is releasing. We are DIYers so have an abundance of "fix-it". We've already repaired bottom panel of the drawer and addressed blemishes, but are aggravated that desk still needs (a lot) more effort to be right. We're keeping it because I do not want to deal with return and possibility of getting another dud. Btw, I compared this desk to a very similar desk at another retailer and this desk (even with issues) is still the better product and much better buy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

BUY IT!!!

04/10/2014
By ,
Indianapolis
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Most excellent. BEautiful in appearance, looks more expensive than it is. Extremely easy to put together, just attach the legs....no tools necessary. Comes with two knobs for the drawer, so you have a choice. STurdy and lovely. VERY VERY well packaged for transit. I've never seen an item so contained. Wonderful.
I would recommend!!! In fact, I have just ordered another one and will use the two to make an L-shaped computer work area.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Beautiful desk with one flaw

04/14/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easiest desk I ever put together. It literally took me only 15 minutes. The one issue I had was that one of the legs seemed shorter than the other. I fixed it by adding a slider to it. Overall, a beautiful desk
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

The room is nicer with this furniture

04/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Very nice desk, great value

04/08/2014
By ,
Raleigh, nc
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The desk is all wood and very nice, only thing i did expect it to be a little dark, but other wise very nice
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

With many chips and broken corners

03/31/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Overall the table is very sturdy and it is made of real wood. And we got it for clearance so very good price. However, it looks like it was refurbished piece. Some of the corners of the table are obviously worn out and was painted over with a different color paint. There is also one chip in front of the table that was not even painted over. Over all, feels like I paid for a used table out of Goodwill.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Excellent second desk

04/02/2010
By ,
Hoboken, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this desk because I was buying the canopy office set and thought it would be nice to have a side desk that matches. It's a simple construction that doesn't have any drawers aside form the shallow keyboard drawer. Assembly was amazingly simple... All I had to do was screw in the legs. The desktop and keyboard drawer were already assembled in the box. If you want a computer desk and don't need extra drawers or mind having your tower on the floor, this would be an excellent desk for you. If you want to use it as a writing desk, a place to write bills or sift through papers, this would also be an excellent choice. The only complaint I can think of is the website didn't completely describe the desk and the pictures were a tad misleading. It's basically a table with four legs, a keyboard drawer. The top, back of the desk has a 4" panel that lifts up so you hide your monitor cables. Overall, it's a worthwhile purchase. I love this set of furniture. It's so hard to find office furniture that is not made of spit and sawdust. Finally, real wood at a reasonable price! (o, for those people who err on the side of clean, the dark stain is unforgiving when it comes to dust and pet hair. Plan to dust daily if you are a clean freak.)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Finish damages very easily

08/24/2010
By ,
Washington, DC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
At first, this product seems great. The assembly is a breeze, and the hinged compartment in the back for cords is great. The size is also ideal- enough space for paying bills, writing a letter, or working on a laptop, but still small enough to fit into a corner or small space.
Unfortunately, things go downhill quickly because the finish has no durability and damages very, very easily. After only two weeks of occasional light use (paying a few bills and using a laptop computer) by one adult, our desk already has three dings in the finish on the top. At this rate it will probably be so nicked up that we will have to trash it in 3-6 months.
Bottom line: great design but very poor finish that won't last.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Good Value

03/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Made of wood (not particle board) so it doesn't look cheap. Has a nice finish. We got the mahogany color to match the Canopy bookcase we bought a couple years ago.Makes a good table for our laptops. Has a center drawer and hidden compartment to hide electric cords. Easy to assemble.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Words of Warning

01/19/2014
By ,
Idaho
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I purchased two of these to serve as computer/homework desks for my kids. The good news - packaging is excellent, the frame is sturdy, and assembly is easy. The bad news - quality control appears to be non-existent. I am not sure how so many othesr ended up with good units, but both of mine had serious issues. The first one had improperly glued laminate on the edge, a binding drawer (top right corner), and a bent and loose hinge on door the covers the area to hide the cords. The second one had several scuffs, a large scratch on the top, and a binding drawer (closed position), that also dragged the rest of the way out. If you are brave enough to take a chance on these I wish you luck, but my limit was two bad ones in a row.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Durability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes

Perfect-ish

03/05/2014
By ,
FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought 2 and they both showed up less then perfect. They had sticky stuff on some of the pieces and minor tiny dings. I believe the great low price is reflective of the quality. If you buy them in the store you can probably pick a perfect one. I researched and could of bought a similar desk at other stores but they would cost at least twice the price. I'm overall very pleased with the price and can live with the minor imperfections (you really have to look to see them) I am pleased because I replaced two old desk for my children with these and I know it won't sting as much when they cause their own damage to these. The cord compartment is a very nice feature. It keeps the cords hidden and provides storage space.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 124 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next