Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canopy Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Canopy Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

The Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk is a beautiful and elegant piece of furniture that can be a part of your study or your bedroom. This solid wood writing desk is a classic example of two great uses in one smart design. It has a pull out keyboard tray that doubles as a handy drawer. This smooth gliding pull-out tray allows you to quickly switch between computer work and writing by hand to suit your mood and the task at hand. This wood writing desk in multiple finishes features an easy-access hinged compartment to help you keep the unsightly cords out from view, keeping everything nice and tidy. The desk has a solid hardwood and birch veneer construction that makes it durable. The desk also boasts of a durable HardCoat top coat to resist marring. This sturdy and durable high-quality Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk is easy to assemble too.
Average Customer Rating:
4.51 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(147 Reviews) 142
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation92%135 out of 147reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
105
4 stars
28
3 stars
4
2 stars
4
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Love this desk!

12/09/2012
By ,
White Oak PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I had this desk shipped to my local Wal Mart. Make sure you have help taking it out of the store and loading it into your vehicle (will need a truck or a car where the rear seat can be released for more trunk space). Very heavy! Great color (I got the brown finish) and good looking. Very easy to put together....just attach the four legs. I'm very pleased.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 2 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Easy to assemble, sturdy and attractive

11/22/2013
By ,
The Woodlands, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent piece of furniture -- very surprised at the quality and the ease of assembly at this price point.
First off, it comes mostly assembled; all you have to do is screw on the legs. I did it alone, but someone who is not quite so stubborn may need a partner for the back legs.
Second, it feels strong as a tank. The caveat is that it's just a week old and all I have on it is one iMac. I do use the keyboard tray multiple times a day, and so far the sturdy latches seem to be hanging in there. The drawer also seems to be assembled more strongly than in my prior desk, whose keyboard drawer fell off early in its life & then repeatedly thereafter, once the drawer rails were weakened. I have no kids climbing on it, or pets likely to try to jump up & see if they can tip it over. But it feels like a stout, sturdy piece of furniture.
Finally, it's pretty. The pieces fit together well -- no big gaps anywhere. The most amazing part is the cold-holder space at the back of the desk -- really minimizes the usual computer-desk clutter! (I use a lot of USB connections...) I don't recall whether it is supposed to be solid wood or laminate, but it smells & feels like real wood anyway.
I'm beyond pleased -- this piece totally exceeded my expectations. I will definitely look at Canopy furniture again in the future.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 3 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Great for the Kids

06/07/2013
By ,
Peninsula, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This desk was easy to assemble and is well made. The writing surface is big enough for the kids to do crafts, jigsaw puzzles, or spread out their homework. There is space to store unsightly cables and a drawer that flips open for keyboard use. Another review was the reason I chose this particular writing desk and it more than met my expectations!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Review 4 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Love Love Love this Desk !!!

01/09/2011
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It is super easy to put together. I did it myself in about 20 minutes or less. It has a wheel-out drawer that needs no installation and comes with an option of knobs. The desktop has plenty of room to do homework with my laptop and/ or makeup kits. It has an ample compartment on the back where you can hide all your wires and electric connections. I keep a power strip in there to connect any additional electronics or even hair tools. I love love love this desk. :)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+33points
Review 5 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Top Quality Desk, plus more!

05/16/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This writing desk is outstanding quality, seconds to setup and the hidden compartment just adds to the overall amazing value of this desk. There is no reason to pass up this desk. Hard wood, easy assembly, additional features like hidden wiring compartment, drawer that doubles as a keyboard/mouse tray…. I LOVE this desk!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+12points
Review 6 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Love it!

02/27/2011
By ,
Aibonito, Puerto Rico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought it today (Feb.27.2011) at my local walmart store in Puerto Rico for about $185.00 Looks lovely in my small living/dining apt.
Very easy setup (Only have to put the 4legs and knob). It fits my needs and for the price it was fairly right. Goes well with my dark chocolate brown furniture. I think it is 100% Solid Wood....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 7 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Pretty, sturdy, and functional!

07/23/2010
By ,
Boston, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The assembly was quite easy, though having another person to help like it recommended in the book would have made it much easier. It's a great place to work on my laptop or write, and it makes a a pretty addition to my living room!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 8 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Great writing table

04/11/2012
By ,
medina, oh
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a beautiful writing desk for the price. Has a working drawer, compartment in back on hinges, and was extremely easy to put together. love it
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 9 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

I LOVE THIS DESK

08/13/2014
By ,
Nashville, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Completely worth the low price. Sleek look, solid feel. I didn't even realize upon ordering it that it had the extra compartment at the back but its HUGE and has plenty of room for an entire computer's worth of cords. I have a monitor sitting on top, cords immediately hidden behind it, with room for keyboard AND mouse on the pullout. The fold-down feature of the pullout is perfect with no sharp edges, and attractive bushed metal hinges. When I'm done, I just flip up the pullout, push it back, and it just looks like a decorative table (that just happens to have a monitor sitting on top).
The desk also comes with a wood touch-up marker that works GREAT! I have been touching up the wood throughout my whole house with this thing! I had just bought a used ottoman on CraigsList that was pretty dinged up, but thanks to the marker it looks brand new now!
I used the standard delivery option and it was even faster than their projection--on a SATURDAY!
I could not be happier with my purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 10 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Worth a second try

02/10/2014
By ,
Jacksonville, NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I was pretty happy with this product when I got it. There were features that weren't really highlighted and were a nice touch; like the hidden cord compartment in the back and the hinges on the drawer can lock closed so it doesn't have to fold down for keyboard use. I had read some other reviews and saw that the veneer had some issues so I went in knowing this was a risk. We ordered online for home delivery and it was packaged great. (as someone had noted) But we did have issues with the edge veneer peeling and was bubbled so simply gluing it back would not have worked. It was nice looking and a great price so we returned it to the store w/o any hassles and tried one more time. This time it was fine. We are happy with the desk. It seems to be holding up just fine, and I have a 3 and 1.5 yr old that like to "do work" on mommies desk. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice looking desk on a budget but remind them there is a bit of a risk with the veneer issue.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Review 11 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Excellent second desk

04/02/2010
By ,
Hoboken, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this desk because I was buying the canopy office set and thought it would be nice to have a side desk that matches. It's a simple construction that doesn't have any drawers aside form the shallow keyboard drawer. Assembly was amazingly simple... All I had to do was screw in the legs. The desktop and keyboard drawer were already assembled in the box. If you want a computer desk and don't need extra drawers or mind having your tower on the floor, this would be an excellent desk for you. If you want to use it as a writing desk, a place to write bills or sift through papers, this would also be an excellent choice. The only complaint I can think of is the website didn't completely describe the desk and the pictures were a tad misleading. It's basically a table with four legs, a keyboard drawer. The top, back of the desk has a 4" panel that lifts up so you hide your monitor cables. Overall, it's a worthwhile purchase. I love this set of furniture. It's so hard to find office furniture that is not made of spit and sawdust. Finally, real wood at a reasonable price! (o, for those people who err on the side of clean, the dark stain is unforgiving when it comes to dust and pet hair. Plan to dust daily if you are a clean freak.)
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+22points
Review 12 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Finish damages very easily

08/24/2010
By ,
Washington, DC
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
At first, this product seems great. The assembly is a breeze, and the hinged compartment in the back for cords is great. The size is also ideal- enough space for paying bills, writing a letter, or working on a laptop, but still small enough to fit into a corner or small space.
Unfortunately, things go downhill quickly because the finish has no durability and damages very, very easily. After only two weeks of occasional light use (paying a few bills and using a laptop computer) by one adult, our desk already has three dings in the finish on the top. At this rate it will probably be so nicked up that we will have to trash it in 3-6 months.
Bottom line: great design but very poor finish that won't last.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+32points
Review 13 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Very Good Value

04/28/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The desk is a good size but there is some uneven color in the front drawer. Otherwise it is a excellent value for the price. It was extremely well packaged to prevent damage. There are a few places where very small pieces of the laminate chipped off, but I was able to find the pieces and glue them back on. They probaby came off when we were sliding the desk into the room, because it was too heavy to pick up. The pieces were approximately 3/4" X 1/8", which is small but they were on the front edge so they were noticable. You also receive a marker to help conceal any little scratches. The only thing we had trouble with was how heavy it was. That made it more difficult for us to put together. We are just two senior ladies - 64 and 84 years old. All we had to do is attach the legs, but it involved turning the desk over which we found heavy.
It looks good and I would get another one if needed.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Durability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 14 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Beautiful!

04/14/2011
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This desk is so great. Assembly only requires putting on the legs and drawer knob. That's IT! The drawer is a little tight opening and closing but I think a little WD40 will fix that problem. Comes with a touch up marker for scratches but there were non in shipping. The packing was very impressive. Fits my Sony Vaio all in one computer perfectly. Drawer has drop down front that has locks and fits the keyboard and mouse.
The back of the desk opens up the full length of the desk about 3 inches width. There is a hole on both sides under the desk to bring cords through and a half circle in the middle top of the desk to help organize them so they aren't running all over the place like a typical desk. If that makes sense.
Very nice color. Compared to the picture on the website from my computer it looks a little darker and richer. Not much but a typical chestnut color. If you want to know what the chestnut or mahogany colors look like go to your local walmart and check out the canopy picture frames. They have the same colors. I bought a frame to bring home to compare to my other brand tv stand. Easier to return a frame than a desk.
I would also like to say that this is real wood. The bottom has plywood but the rest is a real. A little bit of a wood stain smell on the wood but nothing that will gag you. I found it refreshing.
This was my first Canopy furniture buy other than the storage ottoman/file box and I will be purchasing more in the future.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+12points
Review 15 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Eye Catcher

02/23/2010
By ,
Idaho Falls, ID
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished assembling this desk for instore display. The assembly was very simple and fast (less than 10 minutes.) No tools were required for the assembly of this desk. Every other associate that walks by comments on how nice it looks. This is called a writing desk, but has features that make it usable for a computer also. It has a keyboard drawer and cord storage at the rear of the top surface.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
+41points
Review 16 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Beautiful piece of furniture!

04/06/2010
By ,
Atlanta
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sleek, beautiful, well finished and elegant!
Blends well with our furniture!
Recommend it strongly for someone looking for conventional, dark wood, easy to assemble and value for money writing desk!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 17 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Be careful - The quality is getting much worse

11/04/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought one last year. We liked it so much that we got a second one last month. The second one cost $20 more, but the quality is SO MUCH WORSE now. The surface used to be processed very well and reasonably durable. The surface on the new one is not even smooth, with a number of defects on top and on the sides. The paint is applied much thinner than before. We had disagreed with other reviewers’ complaints on the durability but now agree totally.
The quality is simply not tolerable. We will have to go through the trouble to return it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+6points
Review 18 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Excellent product

08/20/2014
By ,
Newark De
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to setup...it only took about 10 mins. It is sturdy and very elegant looking. Great price!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

Great Desk

06/15/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just what I was looking for! Easy to put together, beautiful! I just love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 20 for Canopy Cornerstone Collection Writing Desk, Multiple Finishes (MAHOGANY DISCO)

This desk is great as a 2nd desk

12/05/2010
By ,
Arnold Mo.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I already have the big desk and I really like the looks of the product and I had been looking online and seen the writing desk and checked it out at the store and thought it would work great as a computer desk so I use it for my desk top and with the top of the desk that flips up helps with hiding the wires and the drawer is used as a drawer . I can leave the keyboard on top being I dont really have to worry about space , since my bigger desk has more room availible without the monitor on top . AS FAR AS THE FINISH GOES ON MY BIG DESK I HAD A GLASS TOP MADE FOR IT , TO HELP PRESERVE ITS LOOKS AND AM PLANNING ON DOING THE SAME WITH THIS DESK . I am planning on also gettting the bookcase and file cabinet for anyone who has a home office and uses it alot this is a great looking set of furiture for the price and would make a really nice home office .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
1-20 of 143 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next