Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Mainstays Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

The Mainstays 4-drawer dresser espresso will make a functional choice for any room of your house. It features interlocking storage drawers that ensure that only one drawer of the dresser open at a time. This feature makes the dresser especially suitable to be used by kids. The espresso finish gives this wooden storage Mainstays dresser a classy look making it easy to match it with your room's d¿¿cor. This Mainstays dresser features a patented T-slot drawer system, which makes its assembly rather quick. The drawers also feature metal runners with safety top so that you can use it easily. Made of engineered wood with a laminate finish the dimensions the drawer is sturdy and durable. The space at the top of the Mainstays 4-drawer dresser espresso can be used to put up other stuffs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.451 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(164 Reviews) 146
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
53
3 stars
23
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Recommendation67%110 out of 164reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
46
4 stars
53
3 stars
23
2 stars
13
1 star
29
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Way too difficult to assemble

01/05/2012
By ,
Western Mass
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First, I have to admit before this I've only assembled a bookshelf. So I've been struggling with the assembly (yes, I gave up until I find some help). It seems that two people have to put it together (especially the drawers). Some of the screws were really hard to screw (the holes - way smaller than the screws).
Also, the color is not what I expected - it's much darker, almost black.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 22 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

upset

03/03/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I live on a budget so I like shopping at Walmart. I bought two dressers for my twin girls room. My problem is the dresser use metal dowels on a wooden product doesn't work if they were wooden you could use glue to help with holding it together. I have tighten the cams as far as you can or give more of the plastic covering like it uses on the bookshelf. Not happy!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 23 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso
12/26/2011
By ,
Louisiana
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I ordered this dresser for my 3 year old twin boy's room. I wanted something that was inexpensive, as they tend to get destructive and furniature doesnt stay nice for too long, and I wanted something that would do the job of holding their tons of clothes. First off, I ordered this thru Site to Store. My husband picked it up and brought it home. they sent me the wrong color! It was supposed to be cinnamon cherry and they sent me espresso, which is almost black! Well I figured it was ok and just put it together anyways. Parts did not fit right together. The right side had a huge gash in the wood. When I finally got it put together the drawers stuck out on one side. I did my best to tweak it to make the drawers be more flush with the side. Maybe I just had bad luck with this purchase. I have several Mainstays dressers in my home and they all seem to work okay.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 24 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

not worth it

08/12/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this for our sons room...we also bought the bed and matching nightstand......all of it was falling apart quickly....and if u do buy this dont plan on rearranging ever...it wont live through it!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 25 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

PIECE OF JUNK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

04/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First off, its flimsy, and overall a piece of JUNK. It shouldn't even be sold in store. we had to buy wood glue to keep it held together. DEF NOT WORTH THE MONEY NOR WOULD I RECOMMENDED TO ANYONE!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Review 26 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

It worked for what I needed.

09/25/2014
By ,
Salt Lake City, UT
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I just needed a dresser that would fit in a certain space and hold so much stuff. This does exactly that and looks nice while sitting there holding my clutter and giving my frog vivarium a place to be. The only real problem we had was that the drawers are not as deep as they look from the outside. They are however at least deep enough to work. I certainly don't regret buying it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
0points
Review 27 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Does the Job

12/14/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This arrived very quickly and was well packed, except that some of the pieces has scratches on them which show because of the dark color. Color was darker than the picture, but was closer to what I was looking for to start with. I assembled this alone in about 3 hours. The directions said to assemble it on carpet so you didn't scratch the finish, but I had problems getting all the various pegs/holes to line up properly. Finally moved it to a hardwood floor with a light blanket under it and had no other problems with assembly. Materials are not great, but what you would expect for the cost. I agree with one of the other review about not moving it since I damaged a corner on the base sliding it back against the wall. The locking mechanism is a great feature and works well. Overall a pretty good deal for the price and looks good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 28 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

4 Drawer Dresser, Espresso

10/07/2014
By ,
Tucson, AZ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very nice dresser. Good size, and provides some nice storage space. Takes awhile to put together but instructions were very strightfoward.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
0points
Review 29 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

damaged

04/23/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We ordered two of these and they both came damaged. We were able to make one work even though it was cracked on the side. The other one was broken completely in two. We ordered another one to replace it and it came in broken worse than the first. Trying one more time. It is a nice piece once put together, does take a while because of LOTS of pieces. Biggest problem is the shipping method apparently they are not handled well after receiving two broken. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Review 30 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Flawed Design

03/05/2012
By ,
Bradford, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this as a Christmas gift for my fiancé after his old set of dresser drawers broke. We picked it out together because it seemed to offer the most storage for the money, and he has a lot of clothes.
The problem, though, is the locking mechanism for the drawers. Honestly, this dresser would be MUCH better off without it. It doesn't work correctly, even though I made sure to assemble it precisely as the instructions listed, and the drawers still get stuck in the closed position. Trying to pry any of them open, I ended up inadvertently breaking off the face of one of the drawers, so this is now just as much of an eyesore as the broken set my fiancé had before Christmas.
IF YOU DECIDE TO GET THIS PRODUCT, ASSEMBLE IT ***WITHOUT*** THE LOCKING MECHANISM!!! Save yourself a bunch of headache and heartache!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 31 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

no labeled pieces

01/13/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This item is a good buy...however it comes in a million pieces and only 3 of them were labeled, the rest we basically had to guess and compare to find out whats what. It made the whole process take 10 times longer. My husband is a mechanic and assembles parts for a living ...and still it took hours! all the pieces are blank ,but in the direction "BOOK" are explained by letter label. Terrible assembly! Terrible Terrible!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 32 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso
12/11/2012
By ,
Defiance, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought 4 of these for the kids rooms. Husband put 3 together by himself and the 4th had a defect on the side. He was able to go to the website and order a replacement with no hassle. I love that only one drawer opens at a time as my kids love to have clothes hanging out of their drawers and this should stop that. There is enough room for all of their clothes and they look high-quality without the high cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 33 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Decent

04/29/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I expected a little more when I ordered this dresser, so I was a little disappointed. It looked cheaper than I thought and had some little knicks in it that were very visible because of the dark color. The drawers were a little loud and difficult to open, especially for my toddler to use on his own. I would recommend this dresser if you really need one, but a lighter color would be better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 34 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

great starter piece

11/30/2013
By ,
Coatesville pa
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
received broken parts, called manufacture, responded within days with replacement parts, very efficient and helpful rep, product a great starter piece, shipped on time before due date
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 35 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Nice looking dresser

08/14/2014
By ,
Watsonville, CA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The dresser is an outstanding buy for your buck. It is quite heavy to lift, but two people can put it together in about three to four hours. All materials were included in the package and the instructions were fairly easy to follow.
We put another six drawer one together that matches this one and it was very difficult to do.
This one would have been good to try first, since you can actually watch the directions on line if you get stumped as to what to do.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 36 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Pretty Good

10/07/2013
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for the amount paid, would recommend this to anyone. I personally used stronger nails for the bottoms though, but still a great product
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 37 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Not worth the money

01/05/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The color portrayed in the picture is not accurate. I bought it to match my 2 night stands. This dresser almost looks black, not "cinnamon or cherry" It took forever to put together and it stands wobbly. Not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 38 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Sturdy and Looks great

09/01/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros
Looks Great
Sturdy
allow you to open one drawer at a time
Nice drawer depth
Cons
Took me a long time to put together (however worth it for the sturdiness)
allow you to open one drawer at a time (you can't have two drawers open at the same time)
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
-1point
Review 39 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

This dresser is Espresso

06/28/2011
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a nice dresser for the price. However, they really need to change the color description since it is misleading. The color is not Cinnamon Cherry. It is Espresso and it even says Espresso on the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 40 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

TOOK FOREVER to put together But Beautiful!

04/02/2011
By ,
Sheppard AFB
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for something stylish and very nice looking this is it. It took me forever to put it together though!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
21-40 of 147 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next