Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Mainstays Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Mainstays Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

The Mainstays 4-drawer dresser espresso will make a functional choice for any room of your house. It features interlocking storage drawers that ensure that only one drawer of the dresser open at a time. This feature makes the dresser especially suitable to be used by kids. The espresso finish gives this wooden storage Mainstays dresser a classy look making it easy to match it with your room's d¿¿cor. This Mainstays dresser features a patented T-slot drawer system, which makes its assembly rather quick. The drawers also feature metal runners with safety top so that you can use it easily. Made of engineered wood with a laminate finish the dimensions the drawer is sturdy and durable. The space at the top of the Mainstays 4-drawer dresser espresso can be used to put up other stuffs.
Average Customer Rating:
3.5 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(150 Reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
49
3 stars
22
2 stars
12
1 star
24
Customer Recommendation69%103 out of 150reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
19 Questions | 71 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
43
4 stars
49
3 stars
22
2 stars
12
1 star
24
Customer Reviews
Review 21 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

PIECE OF JUNK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

04/12/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
First off, its flimsy, and overall a piece of JUNK. It shouldn't even be sold in store. we had to buy wood glue to keep it held together. DEF NOT WORTH THE MONEY NOR WOULD I RECOMMENDED TO ANYONE!!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Nice dresser, Looks great !

01/03/2014
By ,
West Union, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The dresser took some time to put together, but if i had to put another one together it would be simplier. I plan to order another one just like this to put side by side. I glued most of the pieces together to make it more solid and it seemed to help alot. The botttoms of the drawyers are solid and not flimsey, rollers slide in and out great. I am very happy with it. The color matches my shelves in my bedroom which is a plus. Id reccomend this dresser to others, just have some patience putting it together but will be worth it in the end!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

It will fall apart!

02/04/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This dresser started falling apart a couple weeks after it was put together. It is very cheaply made. I have tried super glue, small nails, any and everything to keep it from falling apart. I finally just threw it beside the road.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Does the Job

12/14/2011
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This arrived very quickly and was well packed, except that some of the pieces has scratches on them which show because of the dark color. Color was darker than the picture, but was closer to what I was looking for to start with. I assembled this alone in about 3 hours. The directions said to assemble it on carpet so you didn't scratch the finish, but I had problems getting all the various pegs/holes to line up properly. Finally moved it to a hardwood floor with a light blanket under it and had no other problems with assembly. Materials are not great, but what you would expect for the cost. I agree with one of the other review about not moving it since I damaged a corner on the base sliding it back against the wall. The locking mechanism is a great feature and works well. Overall a pretty good deal for the price and looks good!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso
12/11/2012
By ,
Defiance, OH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought 4 of these for the kids rooms. Husband put 3 together by himself and the 4th had a defect on the side. He was able to go to the website and order a replacement with no hassle. I love that only one drawer opens at a time as my kids love to have clothes hanging out of their drawers and this should stop that. There is enough room for all of their clothes and they look high-quality without the high cost.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

damaged

04/23/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
We ordered two of these and they both came damaged. We were able to make one work even though it was cracked on the side. The other one was broken completely in two. We ordered another one to replace it and it came in broken worse than the first. Trying one more time. It is a nice piece once put together, does take a while because of LOTS of pieces. Biggest problem is the shipping method apparently they are not handled well after receiving two broken. :(
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Flawed Design

03/05/2012
By ,
Bradford, PA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I bought this as a Christmas gift for my fiancé after his old set of dresser drawers broke. We picked it out together because it seemed to offer the most storage for the money, and he has a lot of clothes.
The problem, though, is the locking mechanism for the drawers. Honestly, this dresser would be MUCH better off without it. It doesn't work correctly, even though I made sure to assemble it precisely as the instructions listed, and the drawers still get stuck in the closed position. Trying to pry any of them open, I ended up inadvertently breaking off the face of one of the drawers, so this is now just as much of an eyesore as the broken set my fiancé had before Christmas.
IF YOU DECIDE TO GET THIS PRODUCT, ASSEMBLE IT ***WITHOUT*** THE LOCKING MECHANISM!!! Save yourself a bunch of headache and heartache!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

no labeled pieces

01/13/2012
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This item is a good buy...however it comes in a million pieces and only 3 of them were labeled, the rest we basically had to guess and compare to find out whats what. It made the whole process take 10 times longer. My husband is a mechanic and assembles parts for a living ...and still it took hours! all the pieces are blank ,but in the direction "BOOK" are explained by letter label. Terrible assembly! Terrible Terrible!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Way too difficult to assemble

01/05/2012
By ,
Western Mass
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
First, I have to admit before this I've only assembled a bookshelf. So I've been struggling with the assembly (yes, I gave up until I find some help). It seems that two people have to put it together (especially the drawers). Some of the screws were really hard to screw (the holes - way smaller than the screws).
Also, the color is not what I expected - it's much darker, almost black.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Decent

04/29/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I expected a little more when I ordered this dresser, so I was a little disappointed. It looked cheaper than I thought and had some little knicks in it that were very visible because of the dark color. The drawers were a little loud and difficult to open, especially for my toddler to use on his own. I would recommend this dresser if you really need one, but a lighter color would be better.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Not worth the money

01/05/2013
By ,
Knoxville, TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The color portrayed in the picture is not accurate. I bought it to match my 2 night stands. This dresser almost looks black, not "cinnamon or cherry" It took forever to put together and it stands wobbly. Not worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

This dresser is Espresso

06/28/2011
By ,
Columbus, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is a nice dresser for the price. However, they really need to change the color description since it is misleading. The color is not Cinnamon Cherry. It is Espresso and it even says Espresso on the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Problem putting it together

05/11/2013
By ,
Bailey,NC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My daughter-in-law put this together for me, but it was difficult. There were a few missing items, but we made it work. I had problem opening the drawers when we first got it together, but after
several tries, I finally got them to open like they were suppose to. The safety does not work
as stated, because I can open more than one drawer at a time. We tried to get it to work, but
without success. I still love the chest (for my granddaughter). I'm going to try to keep working
to get the safety mechanism to work, as she is only 2 yrs.old. If it had not been assembled, I
would have sent it back, but I knew it would have to be taken apart to send back and I wasn't
up to doing that.
Overall, the chest looks great, even with the complications.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

TOOK FOREVER to put together But Beautiful!

04/02/2011
By ,
Sheppard AFB
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you are looking for something stylish and very nice looking this is it. It took me forever to put it together though!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 35 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY!!!!

12/21/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was every excited about this dresser when I saw it because I got it at a great deal. The color is not the same as it was described- it was Espresso- which actually didn't look half bad. It took me about 3 hours to put together and the instructions were just ok. After it was assembled I must say it looked very cheap! The drawer interlock system does not work and the drawers fall out when you try to pull them out. I was really unhappy with this product. I took it apart and returned it back to the store the next day. I wasted my time to put this piece of junk together and I was really dissatisfied!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 36 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Great for random storage. No heavy items please!

12/14/2012
By ,
Oxnard
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mixed feelings in rating this item.
I loved the appearance. I loved the price. Loved the size. Loved the fast and dependable delivery.
I disliked the fact that the store would not have options to put it together, which is not all that bad, but it would have made a difference for a single mother like me that has very limited tool supplies.
I disliked the idea that it was a very weak surface paneling to hold the items once in the drawers.
Also, it was sad to know that once I had the items laying on the ground ready to put it together, I found a huge crack on the side pannel. I knew it had to do with the shipping method and handling. So I returned it and made the descision to spend a little bit more and get something that is worth the money.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 37 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

GARBAGE

08/27/2011
By ,
St. Petersburg, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this from the store, brought it home and put it together quite easily. After having it for a few days I noticed that the drawers locking mechanism (to prevent more than one drawer opening at one so it will not topple over) does not work correctly. All the drawers were closed tightly and still some drawers would not allow me to open them.
I got used to having to open the bottom draw and manually slide the locking mechanism out of place so I could access the other drawers. Although it was quite anoying I dealt with it.
Soon after the bottom of the drawers started falling out. The "wood" broke and the dresser only has 3 functional drawers now. Long story short, it was the biggest waste of $100. DONT BUY unless your not going to use this daily.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 38 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Arrived damaged

04/08/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I haven't even put the entire thing together as it was taking hours and coming apart each time I went to tighen something. However, two pieces arrived damages. There is a dent in one of the corners and it's broken. The other damage is in the back. I need to use it for now and don't have time to return it, but I now will have a brand new dresser with a DAMAGED top corner.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Appearance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 39 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Not Impressed

05/21/2013
By ,
Goldsboro, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I got this because of all the great reviews, It was supposed to be for my sons nursery but it might just go in the trash. We had to move so we had to take the drawers out, Hard to do with safety lock, And the screws came out on 2 of drawer slide in things(can't remember what it's called) and being pressed wood there was no putting them back so I have 2 drawers on the floor and I'm at a loss at what to do with it. Also putting it together was very confusing and a 2 person job. I imagine if I didn't have to move it it wouldn't lasted long but longer than 3 months. It is a nice looking dresser and I wish it wouldn't have fallen apart.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 40 for Mainstays 4-Drawer Dresser, Espresso

Don't buy this dresser!

12/03/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
There are 17 steps to put this together and it definitely is a two person job. Putting this thing together was not made easy by the fact that the tracks for the drawers were bent making all the drawers uneven and hard to push in and pull out. The screws also do not stay in place making some of the drawers pretty much worthless. Do not waste your money on this dresser! You'd be better off buying plastic storage bins that work great and are already assembled.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appearance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
21-40 of 133 total reviews
Previous 1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next