Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Wenzel Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

Wenzel Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

The Wenzel Klondike 16' x 11 Tent brings the comforts of home to the campgrounds. The large screened-in porch on the family cabin dome tent doubles as an extra sleeping room when the windows are zipped up. The Wenzel 8-person tent is also a tent with porch.
Average Customer Rating:
4.357 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(143 Reviews) 125
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
43
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation94%134 out of 143reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
46 Questions | 286 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
83
4 stars
43
3 stars
9
2 stars
1
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

A GREAT TENT!!!!

11/14/2010
By ,
North Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband and I purchased this tent online, we liked the way it looked, and sounded by the online description. The first time putting up the tent was a little confusing, they say "easy enough for one person", but you actually do need two people. Now that we have been camping and had set up the tent for the second time, it is easy, but like I said, you need two people. As for the inside, it was just my husband and I, it was roomy and plenty big enough for our elevated queen size air mattress. We had intended to utilize the front room as a "dining" area, but could not find a camping table in the store. Instead it was used to put our clothes and equipment in. It is a wonderful tent and I would recommend it to anyone camping. Also, when we first put up our tent in the back yard to see how it goes, we ended up breaking one of the flexible rods. My husband called the company, Wenzel, and they were kind enough to send us another rod free of charge and overnight. A+ for the tent and Wenzel!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+172points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'
04/09/2012
By ,
OTR trucker US/CAN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tent and a fair price, I'am in it as I write this review. Has two rooms. Screen front room has floor and panels zip closed for privacy. Very stable. Well ventilated for warm weather camping. Plenty of head room when standing, I'm 5-10.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

A Great Tent

04/27/2011
By ,
Walls, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is the best tent I've ever had!!! So easy to set up and everything fits back into the bag. I loved that it is so open, you can fall asleep looking out at the stars. Lots of head room in the back room. Screened porch is not as high, but still really nice. It is just like another room, but lots of screened windows. Anyone who loves nature and being out in it will love this tent!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

Great tent

09/07/2012
By ,
Idaho
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We paid extra to have the tent shipped using the rush service - ordered it on a Friday and it arrived Monday, so really quick shipping from walmart.com.
When it arrived, I set the tent up in the backyard with my 11 year old son - it was very simple and straightforward. We then took it down and went camping the following day.
The tent was fine for our family of 5. I don't think it would be too practical for many more than that, however. We put two queen air mattresses in the back room and one twin mattress in the front room. We could have fit another twin in the front room if needed, but that would be it.
I liked the idea of the front porch area, but we didn't end up using it as such. We only used it as a sleeping area at night. I am 5'2" and the ceiling was barely tall enough for me to walk around. I was a little disappointed that it wasn't higher but it really wasn't too big of a deal.
The back room was more spacious and the ceiling was plenty high. We were able to fit two queen mattresses and our bags, etc. but there was very little room leftover.
We left the top uncovered because the weather was warm and dry. It was nice to have the mesh on top and we could see the sky, etc.
I can't comment on rainy weather because we didn't have any.
Overall the tent seems well constructed. I was s bit "saggy" in places but nothing too concerning. I like that it comes with a 10 year warranty.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

Good size,Just what we were looking for.

04/14/2011
By ,
Grafton, WI
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We tent camp many times every summer. Already have a nice 6 person tent. Have not used the Wenzel yet but have camping trip planned. Set up Wenzel in backyard and this is exactly what we were looking for. But is definately not one person set up, Takes two but very easy set up.
Complete set up time with two people was twenty minutes, That is all staked and Rope ties in place.
The front entry with floor is what got our attention upon purchase, but after set-up, nothing can compare to the roominess and being able to stand up thru out the tent.. Will enjoy this tent for years to come.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-71points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Indianapolis, IN
?
Posted 01/29/2012
You say positive things about the product but you gave it one star? I'm guessing that was an error.
+8points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

AWESOME!!!!!

06/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just used this tent for 2 weeks. 2 adults 4 children. Lotsssss of extra room. It rained the wind was crazy and this tent held up. No leaks. It rocked....
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+41points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

Roomy

12/04/2012
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this tent for a two day beach camping trip. We read the directions, but didn't do a dry run at home. It took less than half an hour to put the tent up, in fairly strong ocean winds. I used to camp in a dome tent in my younger days, but decided we needed something roomier, that we could stand up in, since becoming a 'certain age'. My husband is 6'1 and could stand easily. The screened in porch was perfect for eating without being divebombed by seagulls and for just sitting and watching the sunrise over the ocean. We had the nicest tent there!
The tent was even easier to pack up and actually fit back into its carrying case.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

I LOVE THIS TENT!

07/29/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The first time we put it up it took us 20 minutes.......now it only takes about 15 minutes. LOVE the screen porch!!!!!! It is large enough for two chairs and a small table. The sleeping area is large and VERY comfortable! We have taken the 'fly' off for a few warm nights and it was great to sleep under the stars. I would recommend this tent to anyone who is looking for a tent with a screen porch that has a floor.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

Lots of room

08/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Went camping this weekend with our new tent. The setup was easy. Lots of room. The screened porch area was great. We were able to fit a queen size air mattress.
GREAT BUY!!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

Great size for the money...Easy set-up...

07/20/2011
By ,
Angier, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The tent was easy to set-up...great value for the money, exactly as expected....Lots of air flow.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

Fantastic No Leak Tent

08/11/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First time camper...I read all the reviews & took a chance on this tent. I used 2 cans of water-proofing spray on the fly and sides of tent (I did not seal the seams). Best part...used it during a horrific Florida thunderstorm/down pour, not only did it survive the high winds but it did Not leak. I used a canvas on the floor, does not have foot print. Used it several times in summer and winter, we fit 2 adults & 3 kids in the MAIN room and LOTS of luggage in the "porch" and still had plenty of space left over. We could have fit 3 more people in the tent comfortably, but any more than 8 people would have been a tight squeeze. Definitely recommend this tent. Main room you can comfortably have a king-size air matress & have lots of room for luggage. Second room can fit one twin matress & still have room to walk by the door comfortably. The temp dropped to about 65 degrees at night (I know that's not really that cold) and we were freezing! Not cold temp tent. Easy set up for 2 people.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

Love this tent!

06/20/2010
By ,
Haverhill, MA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just finished setting this tent up in the back yard to seam seal it. After about 1 and 1/2 hours of carefully sealing the seams I have a good idea of how well this tent is made! It's lightweight, has strong poles and great no-see-um screens! Lots of room to stand up in the main area. The tent area is great with lots of screens and roll up material to make it more private to sleep at night! The top cover is already tape sealed and looks very water resistant! I love this tent so far! I'll be using it for the week of the 4th of july and I'll know for sure if can hold up for a week during whatever the weather brings us! I had it set up for 3 days in the backyard after sealing the seams and it stayed up nice and strong! All of the corners are well made of molded plastic and strong steel poles. 2 fiberglass poles make up the structure of the main tent. Lots of detail on it with velcro closures and ties to make sure nothing falls off!...I'm psyched with this purchase!!!
Thanks!!
Dave
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

Amazing weekend in this tent for the whole family.

11/03/2012
By ,
Jacksonville, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, setup-- There weren't instructions included, but it was easy enough to figure out (and for someone like myself who usually can't figure out such things that is saying something!). I set this up with a little help from my 7 year old daughter who held up the opposite poles. My husband can set this up on his own. It was extremely spacious--absolutely perfect for our family of 5 and all our gear, plus plenty of room to change in the front room. The tent divider between the front and back rooms plus the screen coverings turn the fron t room into a private room to change in. The ventalation through this tent is ideal for warmer weather. When camping in the mountains, the temperature dropped into the low 30s, and we were freezing! However the second night we bought a Mr. Heater portable tent heater and were comfy cozy. The fabric feels very thin, but we found out it is sturdy enough to resist raccoons! We have had absolutely no problems with this tent and are looking forward to taking it out again and again.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

The Perfect Tent

03/15/2010
By ,
Spokane WA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tent is amazing. Setup was a breeze, it is easiest with 2 people but one person can do the job just as well. I am an experienced camper so the instructions weren't really needed but they are clear enough for any beginner out there. The tent is very roomy and actually could fit 8 adults easy. The back room is 7x11 and the front is 8x11, no that doesn't add up exactly but it has some hexagonal-ish shaping to it which adds stability. The rain fly is super snug but does not touch the tent completely so I assume when it does rain that it shouldn't pool or leak to badly.
Some issues you may have with the tent, the front windows don't zip on the top, just the sides, so there will always be air flow. Also the door on the inside is sewn awkwardly, it is a circle and it unzips from top to bottom. Normally not a problem but it does cause some problems getting in and out in the middle of the night. Also, don't stake down the front middle spot, the door will not zip shut if you do.
Overall this tent is astounding, the back room retains heat well when it is shut up, but it doesn't get stuffy and the front is great for storing your gear. I highly recommend this tent. Also buy it from Wal-Mart 'cause you can't find it cheaper anywhere else...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+288points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

nice tent

10/03/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great tent for a couple or small family interested in having a fully enclosed screened porch (with an attached floor in BOTH the main room and screen room). It takes two of us about 15 minutes to set the tent up and it is 90% dome with a couple extra poles for the screen room.The circular door between the screen room and main room is a bit goofy, but there is a lot of head room and floor space in the main room (the head room in the screen room is only about 5 ft). Hard to tell from the picture or descriptions, but the screen room has zip up side panels, so you can use the screen room as an extra sleeping or gear storage room.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+98points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

Love this tent!

08/09/2010
By ,
Indiana
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
after being stuck in an 8x8' tent on a rainy day it was time for a change. this tent is better than I could have hoped. the back room (sleeping area) is large enough for a queen size airbed with enough space to easily store lots of other bags and equipment. and the high ceiling makes it so much more comfortable to walk around inside. it also has a loop to hang a light and 3 wall pockets for extra storage. the door between the two rooms may be awkward since it is circular but we left it open most of the time. The front screened in area is so useful. we had enough room for 2 chairs a small table and a cooler. it is a perfect space the sit and relax if it rains or just to get away from the bugs. the ceiling in that area is lower than the back room and and 5'11" my head would brush the ceiling. as stated in previous comments sometimes you may not want to stake it below the door or it may be difficult to zip completely. When there was only a breeze we didnt find it necessary to stake the guy ropes. but on very windy or stormy nights it may be necessary to add guy ropes in addition to the ones built in. Overall, I love this tent and enjoy the comments of other campers.
:Walmart.com
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:A few times per year
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

Good Tent

06/14/2010
By ,
North Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We used the tent for 10 days. Easy to assemble, all parts were present. It rained several days, no leaks. The wind was heavy for several days, the tent held up extremely well. We highly recommend this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+244points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

Wonderful Tent!

07/24/2012
By ,
Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this tent! It was easy to set up and to take down. I set it up by myself for a Boy Scout Jamboree and we had the most roomy tent in the pack! Couldn't get it rolled up the way it should have been, but I'm sure that will come with practice. I should have paid more attention to how it was originally packaged. The cabin was large enough for a queen size blow up mattress and extra room for suitcases, dirty laundry, and all the other essentials. The porch was wonderfully cool and could zip up for privacy (we used a bucket for our toilet that required privacy. Took the fly off during one hot night and the boys and I enjoyed the moon and stars. Woke up a little damp from the dew, but we didn't mind after the wonderful scene we enjoyed the night before. I would definately recommend this to females with young kids, as it was easy and light weight enough to pitch. I'm going to buy another one for back up. . .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'
11/26/2010
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This tent was a tremendous value for the price. It was billed as an 8 person tent, but I was a bit surprised when I realized that meant 5 in the tent, and 3 on the screened patio. Fortunately, the patio can be enclosed, so it becomes a two room tent. I was able to fit 2 twin air matresses and a oversized cot in the main tent area. At most 2 twin air mattresses might fit on the porch. Setup was very easy - I was able to do it in the dark in less than 1/2 hour with only help from a 12 yr old and a 9 yr old. Overall, a very good buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per year
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Wenzel Klondike Taupe and Light Gray 8-Person Tent, 16' x 11'

Overall GREAT tent

09/10/2011
By ,
Missouri
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Used it for the first time and was very pleased. Reviews say it takes two people to set it up. Anyone with even limited common sense can do it alone! The second night we were caught in a wicked thunderstorm! Two inches of rain in under two hours and the tent DID leak a little. The leak was along the bottom seam where the floor and the walls are sewn together. Our bedding stayed dry and the was just enough water that I soaked it up with a tank top. This little issue was the only reason gave it a good overall rating. Wenzel should have seem sealed this vital area.
The mesh roof is awesome for star gazing. With the high winds that came with the storm the tent was SOLID. If you buy this tent I reccomend seam sealing it before using other than that, THIS TENT IS AWESOME.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 126 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next