Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Coleman Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

Coleman Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

Get the extra warmth you crave whenever you need it with the Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Propane Heater. This handy Coleman propane heater provides 3,000 BTUs in 7 hours using one 16.4 oz. propane cylinder. It has convenient features for travel including an easy-grip handle for convenient carrying and legs that fold into the collar for easy storage. You can adjust the heat output so it works great in a variety of settings. It provides comfortable, flameless heat whether indoors, outdoors or in a tent. Always use with proper ventilation as described in product manual.
Average Customer Rating:
4.342 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(76 Reviews) 64
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation89%68 out of 76reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
21 Questions | 132 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
47
4 stars
17
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

Makes the difference

07/13/2011
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this in the Ozark Trail 20' x 11' (3-Room XL Camping Tent, Sleeps 10). Temps were in the upper 30's and we didn't section off the three rooms so we put it in the middle and I believe it gave us another 5 degrees of heat...not sure at all about that but I do believe it made the difference.
For this size tent I should have purchased one or two more and sectioned off the rooms to optimize the heat...but oh well. I recommend one of these heaters per every 3 to 4 person sleeping capacity tent...as I noted above, we were in a 10 person tent and we are all scrawny folks with no meat on our bones (from Phoenix) so we needed it.
It used a can of gas each of 3 nights; I started it up early evening and let it run.
Just be careful in the morning...this thing will be blazing hot.....and make sure its not touching anything while you sleep. (I ran it in my garage for 20min. to get smell out before camping due to other reviews I read)...(we noticed no smell).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

Nice heater; incorrect description.

11/01/2012
By ,
Louisville, KY
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The item name and image is correct (BlackCat PerfectTemp), but it does not have the InstaStart ignition as stated in the item description. You have to use a match or lighter to start it. Otherwise, it works well in a confined space, is almost silent, and has the advantage of two temperature settings. The lower setting roughly halves the heat output while almost doubling the run time on a canister of propane. I have used this one and the similar SportCat style (which only has the lower setting) in our tiny teardrop camper with excellent results. It heats the camper effectively even in below freezing outdoor temperatures, although as a by-product of propane combustion it also adds a significant amount of humidity to the air. We increase our usual amount of cross-ventilation to reduce the humidity in the camper when running the heater. Our Carbon Monoxide detector has never registered above zero when running this catalytic heater, but we sleep better knowing it's there.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

A HUNTERS REVIEW

10/12/2011
By ,
Kansas
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hi
I bought this about 2 years ago for my deer hunting blind, my blind is 4ft x 4ft x 6ft tall so a total of 96 cuft and is built like a house, as far as the walls and ceiling have r-19. The windows are all 36" x 20" low e sliders. A good rule of thumb is 30-50 btu per 1 cuft depending on where you live, so i figure this 3000 btu heater will do 100 cuft (3000/30=100) where i live and will work great for my deer blind but it did not perform like i thought it would, i mean dont get me wrong no matter what the outside temp was it would usually raise the inside temp by 15-20 degs, i have a therm in my blind and it was 5 degs in my blind and after a hour i got the temp to almost 20 deg which helped but was still freezing in there. so all in all if you are in a area where the temp dont go much below freezing this will take the chill off in 100 cuft or less but this year im gonna buy the bigger version
did have a Oder for the first couple of bottles then stopped Thanks and hope it helps
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater
01/06/2010
By ,
Stockton, California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First thing I did is start it warming my shop outside. Took out to my trailer and fired it up again. No problem, fired up nicely and began to heat my trailer, very efficiently and quickly. Great heater and much larger than I imagined. This is the perfect heater for low prices, I did not want to spend $85 to $100 for a heater. This is perfect for camping also, that is why I bought one, because we used one while camping with some friends. Quality and price = Coleman
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+70points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

Creature Comfort

03/01/2010
By ,
So Cal
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this heater to take the chill out of the tent. We used it only for short periods of time (up to 30 minutes). It was easy to light using a fire stick and it very quickly took the chill out of our 6 person family tent with an outside temperature of about 35°.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+44points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

Great!

03/03/2010
By ,
southwestern U.S.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We have an off-grid cabin and we love to go off-grid rv-ing; this little heater is perfect for both of those applications. We have used it when the outside temp. was hovering in the teens and it really took the chill off and kept us toasty. If you want a bit better heat circulation, buy the next model up as it comes with a battery operated fan. Of course the downside of that is the need for batteries. All in all, this is a great heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

A good heater

12/16/2013
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a fairly easy to use model. The cylinder screws in easily and becomes the third leg of the tripod. The face is pretty simple to light, especially if you have a long lighter as opposed to a cigarette lighter.
It lasted eight hours on the lower setting, about six on the higher setting from a fresh cylinder.
If you plan to use this inside a tent, you will want to tote along a flat piece of wood or heat resistant plastic to create a flat surface on an uneven tent floor, or put it up on a side table, which is what I do. The face will get hot, and the cylinder will get cold & develop condensation on the outside.
The manufacturer will never recommend using it while you are sleeping, but as long as there is good airflow in the tent, it is no more dangerous than any other type of heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

Coleman Blackcat Heater

10/30/2010
By ,
Pasadena, Md 21122
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I used this heater camping last week (mid October in Md.) in my Coleman Elite Evanston 8 12x12 tent. The first night the temperature dropped down to 37 degrees F. I had the heater on high all night with one propane bottle change at 4:00am. I wouldn't say it was hot in my tent but it definitely knocked the chill off. The second night it wasn't as cold so I ran it on low and 1 bottle lasted all night. I was told that the smaller version of this heater doesn't work very well but I am very happy with this Blackcat Heater.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Washington
Easy Tip To Hold Heat In Your Tent
Posted 10/22/2012
You didn't say if you had a rain fly on the roof of your tent. Here's a tip: If your tent is tall enough to stand in, drape a wool blanket over the top of your tent (outside of course), then cover it with the rain fly. Works like a charm. Could probably do the same with an old comforter. Tarps under the rain fly don't work as well for obvious reasons and condense. My dome tent is about the same size as yours. Even though the heater is catalytic and can be used inside, I'm a safety nut and believe in adequate ventilation without letting out too much heat. I hope my suggestion has been helpful :) Posted by LadyFisherman2012 (who also loves to camp) *
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

11/24/12 SEPA 24 degree weather - Life Saver

11/25/2012
By ,
Pa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had to come on here and write a review. My finance and my two boxers camped out at French Creek Park last night in 23 degree weather. This thing was a life saver in a 12x8- 6 person tent it kept us warm. It was even snowing a little, we had to use 2 canisters from 5pm until 8am on high. The Propane canisters werent Colemans but the other generic brand Walmart is selling. I will try Colemans next time to see if I will get any more additional heating time.
Some pointers
1. Light outside.
2. If you use in your tent have a 6" opening somewhere to allow proper air flow.
3. Use a Carbon Minoxide Detector for extra precaution if you plan to run all night, we did this and we are alive.
4. Keep distance of 2ft on sides and top, so you wont burn any holes. The bottom part has like no heat.
5. I will be posting a review of this online soon at http://www.youtube.com/extremekicksdotcom
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

This heater is great and lights easily

12/08/2010
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this heater in an elevated deer stand with side enclosures and it was nice to have some heat coming up from the floor of the stand. The heater lights easily with a kitchen match or lighter, takes up very little space, and has two heat settings, Low and High on dial.
It also worked great in my Ground Max Ecilpse hub blind during deer hunting. More than enough to warm your hands or take the bitter chill out of the blind in the morning. Best heater I've used. Quiet operation, No Smell, Lotsa Heat!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

A nice heater I can recommend

06/01/2011
By ,
Michigan
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My wife and I used this heater for a week in a 9x12 tent. I did what other reviewers had suggested and let it run on high for 20 minutes to remove any odor. We found this unit works better than expected. Some people say it doesn't work but the trick is it works great if it's not windy. We found it heated our tent on windless nights very well and lasted all night on high, more than the 3-4 hours I read about. When I covered the tent in tarps due to the threat of rain, the tent got so hot we had to turn it down, and this is on a Michigan night in May when the temp drops to 40 at night
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

heat

12/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I go to a lot of soccer games in the freezing cold and it is so nice to have this heater, it is so easy to carry & set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

perfect little heater

11/16/2010
By ,
McMinnville, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spend a lot of time sleeping in the back of my SUV. with this thing on low and my back glass cracked. it ran all night and kept me plenty warm.
It was in the low 40s all night.
I would recommend this for tenting also.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

Disagree with the other reviews

03/11/2011
By ,
Southern California
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I unfortunately have to disagree with the the other reviews for this heater. I purchased this a few weeks ago, so I'd be more comfortable camping the next weekend.
The night was about 35-40 degrees. I initially turned it off when I went to bed (didn't notice a difference at this time from the temperature outside the tent)... (Also, my tent is about 8ftx9ft dome. Not huge, but not small either.) So about an hour after bed, I was getting way to cold, so I started up the heater. (At this point the temp dropped from about 45/50 degrees, down to the 35/40 degrees). At that point I kept it on the whole night, hoping that it would help raise the temperature a little bit.
What I basically ended up doing was just warming my hands and feet with it, then getting bundled into the sleeping bag again. This heater just doesn't put off that much heat. There was about a ball that you could feel around it, about 6 inches in all directions, and about 1 foot above it. If you were outside of this ball of heat, then you wouldn't feel ANYTHING. At most, my tent may have increased in temperature a degree or two, but nothing noticeable.
I would not recommend this heater for general camping use. I could see it being okay if you were to take it to a child's baseball/soccer game, and were physically sitting with it between your legs to warm your hands. Anything beyond that, and it really doesn't do much.
I'll probably end up getting something with a little (read: 'lot') more power. This little guy just wasn't up to the task. I guess I may have been asking to much out of such an inexpensive heater, but the previous reviews had raise my hopes. I remember one here that said (paraphrasing) "it raise our tent 20 degrees" - that was the comment that convinced me it would work. Unfortunately it did not.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Washington
Easy Tip To Hold Heat In Your Tent
Posted 10/22/2012
You didn't say if you had a rain fly on the roof of your tent. Here's a tip: If your tent is tall enough to stand in, drape a wool blanket over the top of your tent (outside of course), then cover it with the rain fly. Works like a charm. Could probably do the same with an old comforter. Tarps under the rain fly don't work as well for obvious reasons and condense. My dome tent is about the same size as yours. Even though the heater is catalytic and can be used inside, I'm a safety nut and believe in adequate ventilation without letting out too much heat. I hope my suggestion has been helpful :) Posted by LadyFisherman2012 (who also loves to camp) *
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 15 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

3K BTU

01/04/2013
By ,
San Jose, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This unit produces 3000 BTU. Will that heat your tent or garage or palace? It depends on the rate of energy loss in your system. If your enclosure is bleeding more than 3000 BTU into the surrounding environment, you will not stay warm. If the heat loss is less than 3000 BTU, your enclosure will heat up over time.
3000 BTU is not a lot of heat. However, this unit produces the advertised amount simply and reliably, is durable, compact, and easy to use. It stands nicely on it's fold-away legs, and really does run all night on a bottle.
There is only just so much energy in a bottle of propane. If it comes out faster, it won't last as long. This is a nice compromise for me and I use it regularly on my boat and while camping. It won't make a large tent stay toasty warm in a breeze, though. You need insulation to retain the heat and it is a good idea to get it pumping heat out early as it won't warm a space quickly.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

Lifesaver!

12/07/2010
By ,
Corona, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love my lil heater!!! My son plays travel ball and in the colder months I freeze!! So now I take this lil heater and am instantly the most popular mom in the stands! lol....even outdoors it gives off enough heat to keep a few of us warm and one canister last all day long!!!! BIG RECOMMENDATION TO ALL SPORTS PARENTS!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

Love this heater!

05/29/2012
By ,
California
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this heater! I've had this heater for about a year now and have used it on several camping trips and I absolutely love it! I've used it when it was pretty cold (almost freezing), when it was raining outside, etc. This heater warms up the tent (and tent cabin) quickly and one propane tank lasts 2-3 nights, when using the heater on low, and running the heater for about an hour, 3-4 times in a night. It's easy to use and lights easily! Plus the heater is pretty lightweight and easy to store. I went and bought a second one for my spouse tonight! Great buy!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per year
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

good little heater

11/26/2010
By ,
cabin in birdsall ny
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bought this heater for a small cabin i just got built if it was up to me i wouldnt have bought but my girlfriend insisted.thank god she did because it was in tne low 20s and i was so thankful i had it.fast delivery and it really heated the little cabin well.some people said it had a funny smell burning it for the first time so i ran it for 20min before taking it inside.onle negative was that when i got it the on/off button was very loose but i could not return because i got it on thursday was we where leaving on friday night but the switch still worked.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

OK for 40+degree

10/31/2011
By ,
Wisconsin
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I motorcycle camp and bought this to take the chill out the air inside my 6X8' tent. Other reviews said that it warmed their larger tentrs w/ no problem. I needed it on high just to keep the tent somewhat warm when the temp droped into the mid 30s. Considered returning the heater. but I can use somthing to warm my hands in the garage while tinkering this winter.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Coleman BlackCat PerfecTemp Catalytic Heater

an essential for my northern state

12/11/2010
By ,
Maine
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this...it is easy to use, feels very safe to me and I am absolutely scared anything that feels like it might be hazardous. We get power outs sometimes for several days when a nor'easter blows in. Also my husband found it heated the woodworking shop space in our garage quickly and comfortably when it was in the high 30's outside with no additional heat source.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 65 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next