Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Summer Infant Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

Summer Infant Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

The Summer Infant Step-by-Step potty trainer provides little ones with all the necessary tools to properly potty train while encouraging good hygiene and toilet habits.
Average Customer Rating:
4.047 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(43 Reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Recommendation81%35 out of 43reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 26 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
24
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
4
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

Not for boys!!

07/25/2012
By ,
Apex, NC
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I never write reviews, and usually take other people's complaints with a grain of salt. That being said, I just had to put my thoughts out there on this potty, as it truly made potty training way more difficult than it already was!
I agree with the sentiments of all the other poor reviews. I was enticed by all the bells and whistles......however, the wipes holder is way too small for any wipes I've ever bought, and if you're shoving this potty in between your toilet and bathroom cabinet like I was, you won't have room to use the toilet paper holder. But the worst part about this potty is that urine gets EVERYWHERE. I only have boys, so I can't speak for whether this wouldn't be an issue for training girls.....but my son's urine gets underneath the cushion, and into the crack between the top and bottom part of the potty. It's not too easy to detach the top part from the base, so whenever I've tried to take them apart to clean out the urine from inside, I end up fighting a battle that ends in urine all over my floor! Also. because the urine guard is detachable (since girls probably don't need it), my son would often end up knocking it down into the bowl with his behind, as he tried to sit down on the potty. Not a huge deal....unless there was any urine still in there from a prior sitting, or if you're trying to let your child run off to the bathroom himself, without your constant assistance in the bathroom.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

Too many holes makes it a BIG clean up!!

02/02/2011
By ,
Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
We bought this potty before it had the fancy seat. My son just started going potty in there. When he stands and urinates, he obviously doesn't know how to aim, so his urine usually hits the wipe holder in the back. It leaks inside of there and goes straight down the little hole and to the bottom. When he sits and urinates, he aims directly into the cup, but of course some gets on the seat. When I go to clean it, I find that the little that went on the seat leaked in the holes that are on the side of the cup under the seat and straight to the bottom.
So, beyond the fact that I have to wipe clean every part of the potty, everytime he goes, the very bottom piece is divided into little squares. So when I clean it, I have to tear the whole thing apart just to get the bottom clean because I have to clean every corner of every square!
I would not recommend this potty to anyone with a boy. I don't know how it would work with a girl, but I can imagine that it wouldn't be much different. This is one thing that with my next child we are getting rid of!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:Every day
+42points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

Great Potty Seat!!!

03/04/2011
By ,
Puyallup
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I loved this seat from the moment I saw it online! We needed a portable potty seat to use in the nursery for nap/bed time for my 2 and 3 year old(both boys), as well as occasionally for travel(like to the park). They are already potty trained and are used to the "big" toilet. This one looks just like a real toilet - the flusher so of course they were really excited to have their own toilet! We use a small trash can liner and a folded up, well absorbing paper towel in the removable bowl(works just like those expensive liners you can buy for other seats!!) to minimize yucky clean up and to assist in portability. The ONLY reason I gave it 4 stars is because the wipe holder is very small. I can only fit about 4or5 wipes in it at a time, but this is not even that big of a problem because it keeps them from getting all crazy and using 10 wipes at a time! We have a 13 month old and I will be using this when it is time to potty train him as well. As for the issues that some people have with the splash guard, we just don't use it. It is not really necessary with this seat. Overall a great product, I would definitely buy it again and recommend to other mom's!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

Needs better design

02/18/2010
By ,
Hood Canal, WA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I got this potty because it most closely matched a big potty, right down to the toilet paper roll and even provided a spot for storing wet wipes. Here are the disadvanteages I've found.
Urine gets into base underneath which is not easy to clean.
Standard wipes are too big to fit into the wipee storage.
The seat is difficult to detatch from the base (adding to difficulty of cleaning base which urine leaks into).
Potty is not very compact for small bathrooms, especially with toilet paper roll sticking out.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
+93points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Irasburg, VT
Really Disgusting!
Posted 07/18/2012
I do not like this potty chair at all. I have a boy, and obviously they are not as clean as girls are when they urinate. There are holes every where which causes urine to in underneath the bowl and you have to clean it every time. The seat itself sucks in urine and now mine smells, and I clean it all the time with Clorox wipes.. it doesn't matter. Now I can't find just a cushioned seat to go with it instead of buying the entire set. I would not advise anyone to buy this potty seat. I am throwing it away!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

Great portable potty!

09/14/2010
By ,
Scottsdale, AZ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this potty exclusively to store in my car and use on the road with my 3 year old son. It works out great because it is easy to clean, especially if you put a plastic grocery sack in the pot part, then there's no mess - you just dispose of the bag. It has a lid to, which I wanted, for hygiene both to keep the potty clean and to prevent it from possibly leaking in my car. Works out great - and I don't have to deal with nasty public restrooms!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every few days
+27points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Latonia, KY
The bag sounds like a GREAT idea
Posted 11/21/2011
I came across your review & the grocery bag is an awesome tip THANKS FOR SHARING!!
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer
06/23/2010
By ,
Baltimore,Md
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
My grandson loves the potty.I had purchase 2 potties and the front part was too low but this one is higher and perfect for a boy.I love it too.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

It's all in the guard!

02/04/2011
By ,
Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My daughter got this potty for my grandson at another store (big red dot) and I had a potty someone gave me. Well after my grandson went all over the floor I got online and ordered this potty from Walmart (it was cheaper) and got it within a week. This potty is perfect for a boy. The guard is tall enough to prevent accidents. That was a huge plus for me. Besides the fact it is really cute.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

great for boys

08/26/2011
By ,
IL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a perfect little potty to train with. The sheild is high enough. My boy loves the toilet paper holder. We save rolls that are almost empty for him and he love pulling wipes out of the top. It has helped with this toilet training process.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

Finally Potty Trained in 1 week!!!

03/21/2011
By ,
Roseville CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this online (several $ cheaper than a local retailer). My 3 yr old was so excited to get his "big boy potty". After trying for a few months to potty train him, it took just 1 week for him to get used to going in it. It's easy to keep clean and can fit nicely in a corner of the bathroom.
We can even put it in the van for long trips (using disposable plastic bag) which takes the anxiety out of travel.
Wish I'd seen this a few months ago - I could've saved lots of $ on diapers!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

Just what I expected!!!

08/13/2012
By ,
Miami, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A few things made me go with this potty, one being that my daughter's infant tub was the same brand and colors, & I like things to be uniformed. Also I was interested in the fact that it has a wipes dispenser to the top and even as an adult I still use wipes (it's just more cleaner) so raising a girl, that's a plus! Last but not least, I love the fact that it's unisex, it has a removable deflector shield for boys, and it's a 3 in 1 potty trainer & step stool. So if a boy comes next I won't have to get another potty! ; )
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

very handy!

02/01/2010
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set up and it is quite good for little boys, because the cup on it sets higher than a lot of the other potty seats! It has been quite helpful for my son and he has loved having his own big boy potty!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Durability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Set Up
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

A great potty for training! Great for travel!

01/27/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this potty before starting potty training and are still using part of it 2+ years later.
I liked it at first because it was small enough for my son not to be afraid to sit on it but large enough to not have a mess everywhere! My son loved that he had his own toilet paper and I liked having a place to keep wipes in the back. We used it as a standalone potty on the floor during the initial training, and once he was more confident, we transitioned the top part to insert on the toilet and the bottom part as a stool. Now, we still use the stool, but he no longer needs the top insert part.
All of the pieces come apart easily, so it is easy to clean. Most times I would just soak it in the tub or spray it down.
By far the best thing about this potty is its ability to travel! We only went on one road trip while potty training, but it was a life saver. I placed a plastic shopping bag around the bowl and my son was able to use it whenever we stopped. Then, I just threw away the bag and replaced it with a new one. I highly recommend this if you drive a lot with a potty training child!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

Love it!

04/04/2011
By ,
Portland, OR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not only is this toilet very reasonably priced, but I love that there is a place to put the toilet paper and wipes so my daughter can easily reach them and learn how to wipe herself. The seat is comfortable for her and it is easy to clean. I am very happy with my purchase!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

The best starter potty on the market!

06/07/2012
By ,
New York, New York
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this Potty for my soon to be two year old and he really enjoys it. The toilet paper holder is a lot of fun. I haven't quite found a wipes container to fit the wipes holder but it is a great concept. At the front of the potty, there is a little cap to cover the private area and block any unwanted spillage. The ability to turn the bottom half into a stool is awesome as well. I'd recommend this potty to anyone looking for a simple yet cool trainer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

Great Potty!

06/15/2012
By ,
Twin Lakes, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This potty is awesome! My little girl didn't like the other potties because it hurt her butt. But this one has a nice soft seat. She is willing and happy to sit on it to go potty. No fighting! In two days she has done better with the potty than all the fighting we did with the other one for weeks! Love it!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

Great product

03/08/2011
By ,
Montgomery, AL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great potty. Perfect design. I have had it for over a month now, but my son is not quite ready for potty training, he is 20months old, but when he is, this potty is perfect for him. The protective cup is high enough to protect little boys.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

good for boys!

01/09/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is the 3rd seat iv bought all the others have terrible splash gaurds this one is great its a high enough for boys and you dont worry about getting urine on the floor. works great for sitting it on the toilet as thats what my 21month old prefers. Great seat.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

Poor design means lots of cleaning

02/18/2013
By ,
Dallas, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This portable potty has a number of design issues, so you'll get to spend quite a lot of time cleaning up afterwards. Maybe these are not serious enough issues for some to replace them outright, but you'll have to find time to service them frequently.
1. Green urine guard/deflector - slides free a little too easily and drops into the removable bucket and whatever is in there. Our attempts to glue them permanently into place have not lasted.
2. The padded seats somehow absorb urine or water and the foam padding begins to rot and begin to release a noxious ammonia-like smell within several weeks of use. Washing them is a long and time-consuming process. We put them in a tub or sink and try to soak, rinse and dry.
3. As others have noted, urine or the leakage from the seat ends up in the bottom of the unit, which must be removed to be washed.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer
04/06/2013
By ,
Saginaw, Mi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am very happy with this cute potty. It captured my grandsons interest from the first time he saw it. He has put it through the 2 year olds destruction test and it held up very well. One thing I would suggest is save your rolls of TP when they get down to the end and use them instead of full rolls or you will be buying a lot of TP.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Summer Infant - 3-Stage Potty Trainer

Basic and perfect

02/19/2011
By ,
Newark DE
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A sturdy potty chair without all the nonsense that distracts little ones. Our 2.5 year old can use this one whenever she wants but must ask for help on the big potty. She loves being able to go without asking for help and I like that its not half potty chair and half toy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1 2 Next