Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for C2G Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

C2G Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

The Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE or Serial ATA Drive Adapter turns your IDE or SATA drive into a convenient external drive. You can connect your IDE/ATAPI or SATA-based mass storage device to a USB port to quickly and easily transfer files from your laptop or desktop computer. This USB to Serial ATA Adapter allows you to back up files or store large file archives on an external hard drive so they're safe and protected, and you don't have to use up storage space on your main computer's hard drive. This USB to IDE drive adapter supports all existing IDE/ATAPI devices, including the Iomega Zip drive; CD-ROM, CD-RW and DVD-ROM optical drives; and IDE hard drives. Plus, it works with any SATA hard drive ranging from 80GB to 500GB. With a speedy data transfer rate of up to 480Mbps, the USB to Serial ATA adapter can be used to move files quickly and smoothly.
Average Customer Rating:
4.654 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(26 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%24 out of 26reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
12 Questions | 39 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

This product works GREAT!

07/19/2010
By ,
Eighty Four, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this cable to transfer pictures and music from a hard drive that came out of a computer with a fried motherboard. It works perfectly and now I have an extra hard drive to store files onto. =)
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

Overjoyed!!

04/12/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I spilled soda on my laptop. I was advised by tech support to see if I can get my files off before I send it to them. He told me what I need and that it shouldn't cost no more than $25.00. Well, I went to Best Buy and explained to them what I was looking for. They offered to do it for me for a price more than $25.00. The sales rep showed me what I needed and it was $65.00. I bought it...took it home so that I could check the reviews on it. It had good ratings..but I wanted to find something that did the same thing at a lower price. I found the Cables To Go on Walmart website. WooHoo!! The price was what I was looking for and the ratings were good as well. Went to the store to see if they had it..and they didn't. So I decided to order it online.
Meanwhile, I took the one from Best Buy back and just waited for this to arrive. Tech Support for my laptop called wondering why I didn't send the computer back to them yet. I explained my ordeal and he understood.
When my Cables To Go arrived, I was nervous because I had purchased another Drive from Staples..but it had to be formatted before I can use it so I definitely took that one back to the store. I thought that was going to happen with this one. Not so. I took my time attaching the parts, attached my drive (so happy to hear the spinning of my drive) and it was the easiest thing ever. Transferred my files to my desktop within minutes. I was nervous for nothing!! LOL
I would recommend this to anyone who isn't tech savy like me. This is truly a Plug and Play device.
I am typing from my laptop now :)
Great Product and Worth The Money!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

completely met expectation

10/08/2010
By ,
Middlesex County, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am an Apple person (MacBook) and had one of my network drives (Maxtor USB formatted MacOS connected to Airport Extreme) fail. Believed it to be a power supply issue (connected it to an old Dell and saw the drive in the CMOS) when the drive would not spool up. Ordered this, connected my drive to the USB interface and to the power supply and the drive was immediately recognized and was able to transfer the data to a new WD 2TB USB drive. Only caveat is any user should note that the power supply has an on/off switch that i initially missed.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

"Exactly what I was looking for"

01/09/2013
By ,
Colorado Springs, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I've had an old computer in the garage that I haven't used for years but didn't want to get rid of it because of the files I had on it. I didn't know how to get them off because the computer had crashed. I was worring it would cost too much to take it someplace to have them retrieve the files for me. When I found out that there was a cable I could get to hook up to the hard drive I was undet the impression it would cost maybe $50.00-$60.00. I took the hard drive to Best Buy to see I needed but they didn't carry it. They did however tell me exactly what I needed. I didn't expect to find it at Walmart at all. When I Googled it, Walmart was one of the top websites that came up. It was only $19.00 I ordered it and paid the shipping rather than "Ship to Site" because the estimated delivery date was significantly sooned. This was the only reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating. It was expected to arrive on 1/3/13 but I didn't get it until 1/7/13. Other than my dissappointment in the delivdery time, and the fact that I only may use it one time, I was extremely surprised at the ease to retrieve my old files and 4 years worth of pictures I had given up as a loss.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

A real time saver

07/23/2010
By ,
Hemet, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product worked just as I had hoped. Had several old drives and did not know what was on them. Was able to check each one out and transfer the old data to my computer. My friend had a laptop with a possible bad drive was able to attach it to my computer and run some dianostics to check it out. Saved a lot of time. Have tried out 8 old drives and all worked fine. No need to open up computer to check out spare drives. Also great for backup of data to external drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

Just what I needed

02/01/2013
By ,
Emerson, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutley perfect.....I had a desktop with 2 internal drives, unfortunately the processor fried. Instead of repairing a big clunky computer I decided to just use my laptop. I had files and tons of music I wanted to move over to it and decided that these cables would do the job. Files transfered easily and I was able to retire the desktop and recover everything I needed.
Comes with everything you need regardless of drive. Nice to be able to power the drive externally. Power cable even has an on/off switch. Initially when I connected the power the drive was unresponsive. Realized that i had to change the jumper on the back of the drive, if memory serves, from slave to master or vise versa, unsure but a bit of fiddling and you'll get it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0

05/17/2011
By ,
South Bendm Indiana
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent product.
Since most newer computers use SATA hard drives instead of IDE, recovering data from an old drive or transferring the contents from an old computer is near impossible.
The Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 fixes this problem perfectly. Using this adapter I recovered files from several old hard drives. Some that I had even forgot about.
I'm even using a couple of older Drives to store backup files on now.
I definitely consider this money well spent.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

You can do it yourself !

09/12/2010
By ,
Overland Park, KS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I recently purchased a new PC. I removed the hard drive from my old PC and wanted to transfer some of pictures and data files to the new one. The new PC has Windows 7 and the old one had XP. Instead
of taking the old hard drive and new PC to a computer store to transfer the files, I purchased the Cables to Go Drive Adapter. I was surprised at easy it was to copy and paste the files I wanted from the old hard drive to the new PC.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

Works perfectly

01/21/2013
By ,
SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this to recover data from a sata drive and it works great. I haven't tried it for ide but I expect that it would work as well. Nothing fancy, no driver to load, just a bare bones connecting cable and power supply for your hard drive but it's not expensive and works as advertised.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter
02/04/2013
By ,
Mt. vernon,WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
this product works great, you can use old HDD for storage; just like a thumb drive.
It also works great for getting data off and on to a new drive great. I am so glad I
found it, and the price was was low too which was nice. I would highly recommend
this to any one.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

Works Great!

05/31/2011
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This worked just as advertised! I used it to retrieve a huge amount of data from a laptop that wouldn't start but had a functioning hard drive. The only reason I gave it 4 stars is that the instructions for hooking everything up was not as clear as it could have been. Other than that, a wonderful product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

Low Cost - Handy To Have

10/10/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used this to transfer the contents of a laptop hard drive that had become infected with a virus. The contents were saved in another location, allowing me to save inportant documentation that was on the old drive.
This device works with regular hard drives as well.
A must have!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

A Worth While Product

04/08/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this when my laptop screen died and couldn't get anything off the hard drive. This product made it very fast and easy to get everything off the old laptop and onto the new one. Its as easy as drag and drop, with no software to install.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

Needs better quality control, defective.

01/18/2013
By ,
Philadelphia
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Power adapter cord had a 4 socket plug with only 3 sockets with metal contacts in it. The fourth socket was just a hole, the metal was missing.
Returned for money back.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter
01/17/2013
By ,
anywhere
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The power connection could fit better, but all in all it worked flawlessly. Saved me from buying an IDE card to get the files off an old parallel drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

Overall, excellent

01/13/2013
By ,
CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Besides one connector a bit flimsy (the small flat one), still worked & got the job done in a quick manner. The design is very intuitive :)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

Very easy to use and recognized by Windows

12/09/2012
By ,
LA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Truly plug and play device. I used it for SATA drives at home and planning to use with IDE.
It is very fast and intuitive. Great purchase. Recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

Great Value. Product works as advertised.

07/26/2012
By ,
Colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Within hours of receipt, I had salvaged data from two drives, confirmed that two other drives were beyond hope and started a project to salvage an extra computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter

works

09/10/2012
By ,
south carolina
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Was expecting more interfacing with this unit. The unit works well and was able to use to remove data from a defective IDE disk drive.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cables To Go 30504 USB 2.0 to IDE/Serial ATA Drive Adapter
07/22/2012
By ,
home
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It worked, but I couldn't connect to the hard drive because it did not have a adapter to slip over the switches.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per year
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1 2 Next