Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Western Digital Western Digital 500GB Elements USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive, WDBAAR5000ABK-NESN

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Western Digital Western Digital 500GB Elements USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive, WDBAAR5000ABK-NESN

Western Digital Elements 500GB USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive
Average Customer Rating:
4.385 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Recommendation92%12 out of 13reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
8
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Western Digital 500GB Elements USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive, WDBAAR5000ABK-NESN

Exactly what I wanted

06/04/2010
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly what I wanted: cheap, no hassle add-on storage. This was my first order from Walmart and I was actually very impressed with the whole process. My shipping was only $.97 and I had the package in my hand in 3 days, which is amazing in my book. UPS handed it off to my local post office which is a cool system, and there was no damage to the package or anything like that.
The drive itself is very simple, basically just a black box with a USB port. The cable is, of course, included. Just plug it in and go. Two features I really appreciate are the activity indicator light and the little rubber feet on the bottom of the drive. Without feet drives like this tend to move around a bit when the disk spins, which can lead to an accidental fall.
I did forget to format the drive my first time out and had to backtrack a little bit, so just remember: format it before you use it! (Your computer will likely prompt you if you don't, mine just didn't do it until I was a half hour in!) Also note that while the product is called a 500GB drive the actual formatted space is 465GB. All drives are like this, I just want to point it out for those that don't know so you aren't unpleasantly surprised. The speed is nice, build quality is good... Overall a great product, especially for how low the price is.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 2 for Western Digital 500GB Elements USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive, WDBAAR5000ABK-NESN

Great product

08/02/2010
By ,
Nolan, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to use. Works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 3 for Western Digital 500GB Elements USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive, WDBAAR5000ABK-NESN

So far so so good!

06/30/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have had the external HD for a month now and I love it. It is ultra light, simple to use and does what it claims. However!!! keep in mind that I have only had it a month. I will give a final update six months from now and tell you the "true shot".
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 4 for Western Digital 500GB Elements USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive, WDBAAR5000ABK-NESN

WD Hard Drive

06/22/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Price is GREAT. Saved a ton of money. Usually I'm a Target girl but I ordered from Walmart to save money and the service was far better than expected. The hard drive is great too and I would recommend it. So small but so much memory!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 5 for Western Digital 500GB Elements USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive, WDBAAR5000ABK-NESN

Good Drive

08/27/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice working, affordable external drive. I use a mac and a PC and wish i didn't have to format it for mac. Fortunately, most of what I am backing up is on my PC.
Highly recommend to any PC user!
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 6 for Western Digital 500GB Elements USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive, WDBAAR5000ABK-NESN

Super Great Product

09/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was purchased to go between 3 computers. It has stored all files, graphics, photo's and other work related material and is easy to transport to the computer.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for Western Digital 500GB Elements USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive, WDBAAR5000ABK-NESN

Don't buy

07/14/2010
By ,
Walnut Creek, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this from Target but it's the same model... failed after one month... lost a lot of data!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Never
0points
Review 8 for Western Digital 500GB Elements USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive, WDBAAR5000ABK-NESN

I like it but

07/27/2010
By ,
Tampa, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I ordered the 500G but somehow it's only 460G
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-2points
Review 9 for Western Digital 500GB Elements USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive, WDBAAR5000ABK-NESN

Good Product

08/02/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice storage product. Easy to use.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 10 for Western Digital 500GB Elements USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive, WDBAAR5000ABK-NESN

Very helpful

06/21/2010
By ,
Minneapolis MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product very user freindly
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Ratings-Only Reviews for Western Digital 500GB Elements USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive, WDBAAR5000ABK-NESN
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4.7 out of 5
4.7 out of 5