Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for StarTech StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

StarTech StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

The StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter offers improved performance and a compact design so you can take your work or play to new levels. It features high resolution applications by converting a USB 2.0 port to a VGA port. This VGA video adapter is a good for multi-monitor or dual display options and can be used in a wide variety of laptop or desktop applications. This external graphics card adapter can be used with up to four additional (five total) USB2VGAE2 USB video adapters to meet your needs. It creates multiple VGA connections that can be used to extend or mirror the desktop shown on the existing display without having to open the computer case to add extra video cards. Drivers and utility software are included with this StarTech.com adapter, making it easy to install and operate, even for novice users.
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(32 Reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Recommendation88%28 out of 32reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
16 Questions | 23 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
21
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
2
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

Great for easy 2nd monitor

09/08/2012
By ,
SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Super easy to use with a PC with no second VGA plug for a second moniotr. At first it powered off when my PC went to sleep fo some reason, but after simply unplggin/repluggin the USB it was fine!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

Worked better than I thought

06/12/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After I installed the drivers first, then plugged in the device it worked without a hitch. Never had anything like work this well. No configuration was needed. Love it love it....!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

You pay for what you get!

05/18/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
So I purchased this adapter to run a 3rd monitor off of my laptop for work.
Pros: Easy set up - Cord is long enough for positioning the monitor where you want it - price
Cons: The monitor that is hooked to this adapter does not function very well. The screen is choppy at times, there is a very noticeable lag. Wait time for tech support was about 1 1/2 hours
When I drag a window to the monitor that is run by this adapter, there is not only lag but you can see the choppiness of the page. It does not look very good at all, almost like looking at an older television from the late 70's.
When I contacted their tech support ( after the looooooong wait ) they directed me to download the "new" driver. This fixed absolutely nothing. I searched for answers to why it was this way and the truth is you get what you pay for. If you're looking to add another monitor with an adapter I recommend you spend about 20 bucks more and get a better one.
I would not purchase this product again and I would not recommend anyone purchase this, just not worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

Works great!!

04/24/2010
By ,
Corpus Christi, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just got it and it's already at work. All you need is a second monitor, put in the cd, restart your computer, and WAMMO it's right there! This is a nice cheaper alternative to the main one on the site ($10 difference makes the most of this). Considering I'm using vista, the most incompatible with anything, I'm glad I had no trouble.
Notice: Will only work if you have a USB 2.0 port, this isn't for someone with an ANCIENT computer. However I have a nice flat screen and a right out of the 90's big honkin' CRT monitor (weighs more than a TV I must say) works fine.
Happy with the purchase.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

good product/idea

03/10/2012
By ,
WPB, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pros:
- no need to open the cpu; which is a very big plus if you don't know what graphic card your motherboard can take;
- Small;
- USB.
Cons:
- installation CD needed to get it to work; so don't misplace or toss it;
- it changes the 2nd monitor number from time to time: it means that,
after the first time you drag the window* to the 2nd monitor it will remember it the next times so you don't need to drag it again when you double click on the 1st monitor the program's icon that you need to work with; but if the monitor number changes after a power down or a log-off then you will have to drag the window again because it will not open on the 2nd monitor when you double click the program or file; which is not a big deal.
* rem that in order to be able to drag the window over it should not be maximized; maximized windows will not move to the 2nd monitor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
WPB, FL
Not recommended for your boss
Posted 05/24/2013
I bought 6 of these adapters and only 3 of them have been working properly; all the computers are Dell computers and have the same OS (XP) . The adapter might be ok but it seems they conflict with the other device that is connected to the other neighbor USB port of the pair -or maybe something else-. The issue per se is that all of a sudden the 1st display gets mirrored instead of Extended and all your mouse moves on the 1st monitor get repeated on the 2nd one, making funny squares that moves with the mouse like the silly viruses we had when Windows 95.
The other issue is that every time the user turns on the computer (only one of the 6 does that) the setting of the 2nd monitor -as soon as the user logs in- changes to Off like by default and then it has to be changed every time to Extended mode.
If you are buying for yourself then give it 4.5 stars; if for your boss... not recommended at all; unless you don't mind your boss calling you daily to fix the problems.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

Be Warned: Specifications are WRONG!

06/08/2011
By ,
Seattle Wa
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The USB2VGAE2 will NOT work for a Dell Duo running Windows 7, despite both Walmart and the Manufacturer listing 7 as an appropriate OS.
I am NOT running Aero.
My video processing is reduced to the absolute minimum, and the USB2VGAE2 install-disk makes my computer UNSTARTABLE. With or Without the disk still online.
Note Dell (who also sells the USB2VGAE2) does NOT list Windows 7 in THEIR USB2VGAE2 spec-sheet (although Walmart and Startech do)
Nor does the paper booklet that accompanied the USB2VGAE2 I purchased through Walmart mention W7. It doesn't work with W7.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Seattle Wa
Startech has fixed it!
Posted 06/15/2011
with "http://startech.fileburst.com/productdrivers/usb2vgae2.zip" installed as drivers instead of the drivers provided on the disk, it works very well with W7. I cannot find a way to edit or remove my previous evaluation, before finding the W7 drivers.
+1point
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 7 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

Works

09/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job for Windows XP. I tried it on Windows 7 and could not get it to work - I'm ok with that, I'll just use on my XP box where it works great.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter
07/19/2010
By ,
Pittsburgh, PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's a good little gadget, and it does what its supposed to do. There are some drawbacks - since you're not using a dual monitor internal card, there is significant lag time when you use media-rich content such as video or flash. However for word processing or excel spreadsheet usage, there's no problem whatsoever. For the money and ease of use, it's well worth the price. Recommended.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

adding a monitor made simple

08/08/2014
By ,
Greencastle, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple way to ad extra monitor without having to do an internal install
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

Works Great

05/26/2012
By ,
Middletown, CT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great for what I needed. I just wanted something to extend my desktop so I could multitask easier, view multiple documents & websites, etc. The disc that comes with the adapter doesn’t work with Windows 7, but there are instructions in the box on how to download the latest drivers from www.startech.com. My recommendation is don’t even use the disc. Just download the newest driver from the site before you plug in the adapter. Not even sure why they include the disc in the box.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

Gets the job done.

10/17/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The product works great! It was my first time setting up dual monitors, so I called Star tech's technical support. The service provided for installing and setting up my displays was excellent. Great product. Great support. Excellent price. I'm really happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

Works Just fine!

12/25/2010
By ,
Central Iowa
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This thing worked great so I could project a power point on a screen and still se the "Presenter's View" on my laptop. The only issue I may have is upon shutdown of my laptop, I now get an error. Don't know if the "drivers" caused this or not.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

Great product & Customer Service Great !

07/20/2012
By ,
Festus MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy instructions and installation. Works great for the Dual Screen function. Called customer service to ask one question. They were friendly & helpful
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

I like it

02/11/2011
By ,
Oxford, MS.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It was easy to install. It freed up my PCI-E slot for other use. It provided ample resolution 1680 x 1050 and speed (I am not a gamer.) It provides the possibility of easily transferring a monitor from one computer to another as the need arises.
Cons. It does not allow the old 640 x 480 setting for those who have vision problems.
It works with XP. I don't know about other OS's.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

Create Multi-Monitor Displays with Ease

09/30/2011
By ,
NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After a lot of research, I was hesitant to pay the price for this USB device in order to hook up my two, VGA input flat screen monitors for dual display. Boy, am I glad I did. The USB ensures that, like having another graphics card, that new monitors can be used for EXTENDING your desktop space, not just mirroring content. This was incredibly easy to setup and is simple to use. I haven't had a single issue, other than the occasional lag time when I am running several programs. I HIGHLY recommend to anyone looking to increase efficiency and upgrade to a second (or third!) monitor.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

It's Okay But I Would not Recommend This Product

01/10/2013
By ,
Zanesville, Ohio
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I just received this today and it's all right but I wish I would have spent the extra money and got the better one. I opened it and did as the directions say (which is very simple), it does do what it is advertised to do but it is slow on the other monitor. When you are working on the other monitor it lags and sometimes is unresponsive. I don't think this thing has enough power to run a monitor through usb. If I were to do it again I would highly recommend spending the extra money for a bit more expensive one or for one that uses HDMI.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

Great for second monitor

09/22/2013
By ,
San Pedro, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
If you do not have the time, money of knowledge to replace your video card this is the next best way to go. It was easy to install and I am now using two monitors at work. Greatly increases my work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter
09/13/2013
By ,
Dayton ohio
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Product was great and meet our expectation, we are now up and running on our new computer at church and can use our power-point on screen.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

ok with Windows 8

08/25/2013
By ,
NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works fine on Windows 8 but the need for loading drivers will prevent it from working with Windows 8 RT.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for StarTech.com USB2VGAE2 USB VGA External Monitor Video Adapter

Works better than expected

06/21/2010
By ,
Florida
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I needed something to power an extended monitor for a karaoke show using an older E-Machines PC with one VGA output. I purchased this Video Adapter, installed the drivers, plugged it into the USB port, and it worked beautifully. Just need to see how long it will last now.. hopefully a long time.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1 2 Next