Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Vizio VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Vizio VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

This VIZIO 42" LCD HDTV offers full-HD 1080p resolution with a 120Hz screen refresh rate, which is twice as high as standard HDTVs. This high refresh rate works with VIZIO's Smooth Motion video technology to reduce blurring and provide a smooth, natural picture. Additional highlights include a digital tuner, 20,000:1 dynamic contrast ratio, four HDMI inputs, and a removable base for wall mounting (mount not included). The VIZIO 42" LCD HDTV also exceeds Energy Star guidelines by at least 15 percent to conserve resources and reduce your energy bill. Note: You must have a source of HD programming in order to take full advantage of the VIZIO 42" LCD HDTV. Contact your local cable or satellite TV provider for details on how to upgrade.
Average Customer Rating:
4.75 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(36 Reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Recommendation94%34 out of 36reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
30
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

Great picture & features, needs a better remote

03/06/2010
By ,
Lodi, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this TV at my local Wal-Mart last night. This is my 4th LCD and first Vizio. I wanted to upgrade from a 32" 720, 60Hz. This one met and more of my expectations.
The picture is very sharp. You can choose 4 picture modes. It has Piture-in Picture, or you can have 2 screens side-by-side (very cool). I still have to figure out how to get the 2nd pcture to come up.
It has plenty power for sound with a 40 watt amp. At level 2-4 is plenty to hear across my living room. You can adjust the bass and treble or used a preset Eq setting.
I'm currently using an upconverting Sony DVD recorder and the picture is still crystal clear with HDMI.
The remote isn't universal or backlit. My cable remote will only operate the power, volume, channel. So you will need to use 2 remotes when changing the inputs/funtions or get a programable one.
One more thing, you can view photos or play mp3's through the side mounted USB input.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+59points
Review 2 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

an honest opinion

03/31/2010
By ,
Az
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First and foremost I am a gamer. I bought this tv about a month ago. It is my first step into the world of high def. I waited so long to write a review so the newness has worn off and I can be more objective.
I did some online research and travelled around trying to get the best deal. This one is it. The 120 hz over the 60 hz is a noticable difference. Television is much better at 120hz.
However, if you play games like I do, a greater hz value will be in your best interest. The larger the screen, the higher the hz. For a 42" I would go no lower than 240 hz. You WILL see the difference.
I am very pleased with my purchase. For the money I could not find a better tv. If you have more money to spend, go for a higher hz. If you do not play video games, get this tv with no hesitation!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Picture Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Review 3 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

Fabulous tv

03/12/2010
By ,
illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this tv a month ago and love it! the sound is great, we can have it on volume 5 and hear it perfect! the picture is so clear and the tv itself looks great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+7points
Review 4 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

Great performer all around

03/16/2010
By ,
St. Peter, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The picture is so lifelike it's unbelievable. If it's a picture of the ocean you could almost reach in and get your hands wet.
I agree with the "hoki" remote. Almost all Vizio remotes are lacking in quality. Functional yes...quality no. It's nice that you can hook up a computer directly to the TV without a hassle. Makes it simple to watch Netflix or Amazon's streaming movies.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+5points
Review 5 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

GREAT TV

03/12/2010
By ,
Kansas City, Missouri
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this TV in February, '10. The picture and sound are excellent. I also purchased a Vizio 32" at the same time, which is also a superior product. I would recommend the Vizio to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+9points
Review 6 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

Best bang for new the Buck!!!

04/08/2010
By ,
Frazee MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this TV in January. AWESOME is about the best I can say. We waffled between 60 and 120 HZ. Side by side with a similar sony product, this was the best picture and sound. I retired my 57 RP TV prior to purchasing this one.
The refresh rate is superior to the 60 HZ. version. NASCAR and other action sports are great fun to watch with this 120 HZ. I can't imagine what 240 looks like!!!
You won't be disappointed. Right out of the box i connected my blueray player and hit Play. All I can say here is WOW!!!
Purchasing a 37 Inch to retire the old sharp 25 In CRT soon!!! I can't wait!!!
Just be sure to take some time and read the manual and set it up right the first time!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 7 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

Outstanding TV!

05/05/2010
By ,
Medina, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This tv has such an excellent picture and sound quality that it is almost unbelievable! We knew we wanted to purchase a Vizio due to word-of-mouth reviews. We had also sited the quality picture and sound in other people's homes. The price is so reasonable as well.
This tv comes highly recommeded!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 8 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

Wonderful TV!

05/08/2010
By ,
Medina, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I researched several makes and models, and as I had seen for myself, and through the opinions of other Vizio tv owners, this tv has the best picture quality and sound that I have ever seen!
This is my first vizio purchase and I didn't realize what I was missing!
This tv comes well recommended!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+2points
Review 9 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

crossing my fingers

05/01/2010
By ,
port orchard, wa.
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Obtained the tv through site to store on 4/10/2010.
Set it up and everything worked fine. Next mourning turned on the tv after about 5 minutes
the picture froze and audio made a clicking sound,
than the screen went to white and black lines.
Contacted Vizio, after sending them pictures of the
problem a repairman changed out the main, power,
and LVDS on 4/30/2010. Tv has worked today, hence "crossing my fingers. Picture and audio is
great.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 10 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

Researched & Bought Well

05/14/2010
By ,
Tulsa, OK
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV (VT420M) was $748. It is the best I've ever seen or owned. The fast & smooth motion are incredible. The reason I bought this particular 42" was because of the 40-watt speakers. Most every HDMI has only 20-watt speakers. I'm positive I won't have to buy a sound system to work with this product to hear it easily in the living room. You won't be sorry to buy this TV, the only thing is if you want PIP to work you have to have another tuner (i.e., DVD player with tuner or Blue Ray with tuner) to get the PIP or POP to work.
I would not recommend Wal-mart's site to store as this delivery method took 11 days to deliver when the product was only 125 miles away from my home.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

love this Vizio!!!!

04/23/2010
By ,
Paintsville, Ky.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This Vizio is awesome! I love the picture quality and the sound. It makes the people look like they are in the room with me. My husband never pays any attention to TV's and he said "that TV has a good picture" I knew then that it must be special for him to notice the details. I am going to get a 55 inch Vizio for my family room. I have 4 different brands of TV'S in my home, but this Vizio surpasses them all. I can see why it is highly rated. If I could afford to, I would replace the rest of the televisions immediately with a Vizio. My children are jealous. The price of the TV was a bargain too.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

Went With Samsung

05/10/2010
By ,
Columbus, OH
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
So I got the Vizio home and the picture looked really good, but started noticing white specs in the pic. I didn't think the sound was that good eiither and sometimes the sounds would get louder without me touching the volume buttons. I also didn't like all the picture options, I don't to have to change the picture everytime I switch from a movie to sports. I took it back and got the 40" Vizio. Maybe I just had a bad tv and Vizio is great like everyone on here says it is, but it wasn't for me.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Picture Quality
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sound Quality
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 13 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

Great TV

04/08/2010
By ,
Baltimore, Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Our new 42" VIZIO LCDHD TV is much more than I had expected. The color sharpness, especially in HD mode, alone is worth our investment. I was concerned that a 42" set would be to big for our townhouse living room, but because the screen is only a few inches from the wall, we have more space than before.
The Source To Store delivery was actually 10 days ahead of the predicted date.
The overall experience was smooth and professional. We are very happy with the product and the service.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 14 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

so far so good

05/10/2010
By ,
colorado
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
When you read a review on a product always check to see how long the product has been in use by the individual writting the review. Unless the product is a complete piece of junk you should read nothing but rave reviews up to about 6 months. That being said It's a great unit so far, I can't speak about the sound quality because I'm hooked into a seperate sound system. So wether your purchasing a $700.00 unit or spending $3000.00. DO YOUR HOMEWORK! Good Luck !!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 15 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

great value

04/17/2010
By ,
Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second 42" Vizio LCD. I loved the first one so much, when it came time to upgrade a tv in another room, this was an easy choice. The store inventory was the 2-speaker model so I ordered this model, the 4-speaker model, online and had it shipped to the store. The 4-speaker setup is not quite as good as the soundbar I have hooked up to the 2-speaker model, but it's much better than the speakers in the 2-speaker model.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

Awesome Picture

04/14/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This TV has the best picture I've ever seen. The 120hz refresh rate is well worth the extra $100. Plus you also get all kinds of perks like the Picture in Picture, Picture out of Picture, and Pause Live TV (must have at least 1gb flashdrive for USB port). The sound from the factory speakers does pretty good as well. All and all I would recommend this TV to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 17 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

vizio 42in 120 hz is awsome

03/12/2010
By ,
easton md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I shopped around for a tv for months. Im deffinately glad I went with the vizio 42 inch tv with 120 hz . It was worth the extra few dollars. The picture is like no other... Bluray movies look sooooooo awsome! this was deffinately worth the purchase if your going to spend the money to buy a nice tv use the few extra dollars and upgrade to 120 hz it's well worth it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

Great TV

05/29/2010
By ,
Osage Beach, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Set up of this Vizio TV was a snap. I love the sharpness & clarity of the picture and everyone who views it say their next TV will be similar in choice. I watched Avatar DVD and the color is spectacular.
I would highly reccommend this TV for anyone looking to buy a new TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

Love my TV!!

04/12/2010
By ,
Lanham, Md
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this tv it's has all the great features that I wanted. The Java brown frame is beautiful. I love Vizio products, I also purchased a Vizio 32", which is also a superior product. The picture and sound are excellent. I would recommend the Vizio to anyone!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 20 for VIZIO 42" Class 1080p / 120Hz LCD HDTV, VT420M

Great value overall

06/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
May not have all the bells and whistles as some other more expensive TVs, but the picture is great and the hookups/HDMI is set up well. I have the audio output to a home theater system, so I'm unable to comment on the spund qaulity of the TV itself.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1 2 Next