Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

Black & Decker Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

The CM1936 Black & Decker 19" 36-Volt Cordless Mulching Mower helps you cut your backyard effectively in no time. It is an easy to start electric lawn mower and does not require gas. You can effortlessly maneuver this Black & Decker cordless mower, which runs on a rechargeable 36-volt battery. The mower consists of a mulch plate, discharge, and a rear bag. Adjusting the 4 wheels of this Lift In/Lift Out electric lawn mower is simple, as it has a one-touch mechanism to help you with it. Its handle can fold down for compact storage. The CM1936 Black & Decker 19" 36-Volt Cordless Mulching Mower requires no assembly and is just the thing you need to maintain a well-manicured lawn.
Average Customer Rating:
4.181 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Recommendation82%58 out of 71reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
22 Questions | 73 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
16
3 stars
4
2 stars
5
1 star
5
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

Great cordless mower

09/13/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only used this mower once so far, but was very pleased with it. Easy to set up right out of the box. I'm mowing about 1/3 acre with some significant slopes. The grass had not been cut in one month (new house purchase) but this mower took all that high grass with ease, almost bush-whacking in some places. I did have to stop mid-way for a battery recharge, but I think under normal conditions it could do the whole lawn on one charge. The mower is fine to maneuver and now to heavy to push - good exercise anyway. Only at the very end on the steepest slope did I draft hubby in to finish the job. I also like the easy height adjustment for grass length.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

less than I expected

07/27/2011
By ,
North Florida
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This mower is much much louder than expected.
The battery does not last but about 45 minutes.
Battery takes a FULL 12+ hours to recharge.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

I can't believe it's a Black & Decker!

04/21/2012
By ,
Southern CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I admit I bought this machine largely because of the brand name. I have several other B&D devices that I like, but it's hard to believe that this mower was designed by an engineer instead of an interior decorator. The grass bag slopes down toward the mower at a fifteen-degree angle. Gravity being what it is, virtually no grass made it into the bag. Instead, grass quickly clogged up the (5-inch wide) discharge opening, backed up into the mower, and filled the mower until the motor stalls. This process took about one minute, even when I raised the mower blade to its maximum height and used silicone spray lubricant. Mowing even a small amount of grass required stopping every minute to clear the grass that backed up into the blade. If a lawn mower can't cut an inch of grass, it's not a mower. I was embarrased to use it in the first place, because it looks like a child's Big Wheel, but took a chance. I returned the product and I'll go back to my push mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

I love this mower! Wowza!

05/19/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a 60 yr old female and love this mower.
The battery is a little heavy for me but no big deal.
I wanted something I could handle without the fuss of using gasoline, etc...
This mower is easy to use, store and the only thing I have to really worry about
is getting the blade sharpened now and then.
It's not half as noisy as a regular law mower.
Set up for me was extremely easy and I never mowed before.
I can't wait for the grass to grow a bit taller this weekend so I can mow it again.
It's efficient and easy to dump the clippings into a trash bag.
A little pricey but it's worh every dime.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

The battery is too heavy for a lady.

05/30/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the ease of starting, which is the reason I ordered this lawnmower. I wish I had spent the extra money and ordered the self propelled version with the larger battery capacity. This mower is harder than I had envisioned pushing and the battery is heavier than I expected. Perhaps having two rechargeable batteries instead of one would alleviate that problem.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

Very Impressed - So Far

09/03/2010
By ,
Maryland
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only used it a few times but I am very impressed so far. I have a 1/2 acre yard so this is quite a challenge for a battery mower. I mow half one day and half the other assuming that I don't have enough battery to get through the entire yard. I actually run out of steam before the mower does. That is because the mower is NOT self-propelled. I knew that going in, but it isn't all that clear from write-up. It is light weight enough that it isn't a problem on my little hills, but I glad the battery gives me an excuse to stop after doing half the yard.
I've never had a battery mower before and the ease of simply pushing a button is hard to beat. I also like that I don't have to wear ear protection. It certainly isn't silent, but nothing like the deafening gas mower I had before. The real test will be how long before the battery has to be replaced. The cost of the replacement battery is almost the price of a low-end gas mower.
It seems well constructed and sturdy. The height adjustment mechanism is very nice. The mulching blade works so well that I've never tried the bagger. I've hit tall grass with it and, although it groans a bit, it seems to handle it just fine. Overall - I'm glad a bought it and I hope it lasts.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

Great mower for small to medium sized yards

04/05/2014
By ,
Austin, Tx
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Purchased this mower over three years ago and still running fine. I use it once a week during the season, takes about an hour and the battery stays charged the whole time. Somewhat heavy due to the battery and it does make more noise than expected but it's been a great mower. No maintenance. The key is to not let the grass grow too high and don't mow if the grass is wet.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

I love this mower!!

06/23/2010
By ,
Tunnel Hill, Georgia
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First, the mower arrived very quickly and was delivered right to my front porch. I was a bit skeptical about the endurance of the battery before using this mower. I have used it 4 or 5 times now and the battery has not failed me yet. I mow a small yard, approx 1/4 acre. There is always plenty of power left when I am finished. I had worried the mower might be too heavy to push/pull up and down a sloped area of the yard which is approx a 30 degree incline. While it does take a little muscle, it is not a problem. I am in my early 50's and do not consider it too much of a challenge if you are in fairly decent shape. On level ground, this mower is fantastic! It's so quite, I can still hear the birds sing while I am mowing. It sort of reminds me of the sound of a large industrial fan. I would definately recommend this mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

Very good cordless electric mower

07/10/2013
By ,
Cypress, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The mower I purchased is the SPCM1936 which is the self-propelled version. I bought it 5 weeks ago and have mowed my lawn 4 times since. Both my front and back yard is just about 1/3 of an acre total. On a fully charge battery I am able to do both front and back, about a third of the battery capacity is left. The cutting height is very easy to adjust. The self propelled feature is great and every time I mow I use this feature. The mower does a great job whether mulching or bagging. Obviously when bagging I have to stop a few times to empty the bag. Very easy to remove the battery. It takes about 6hrs to fully charge battery from 1/3 capacity. I also like that there is a height adjustment for the handle bar to accommodate for a taller or shorter person. This is my first electric mower and it has met and in some areas exceeded my expectations. So far the performance has been great.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

A Beginning

08/11/2011
By ,
Rochester, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've only used the product a few times so far but 1. it is quiet (maybe more quiet than my vacuum cleaner); 2. after mowing, there are no hot parts on the outside of the mower to touch (or try not to touch); 3. it is green - no gas, no oil; 4. it is not self-propelled, but without the battery, it is as light as a child's toy, and even with the battery, it is still very light and easy to push and maneuver; 5. the mower stays clean on the outside (without gas and oil and clog) 6. will not do my entire lawn on a single charged battery, but I never do the lawn in one burst any way, so that's not an issue; 7. I notice no significant difference in the cut of the lawn from gas-powered mower; 8. start-up is a breeze - just push a button and pull the handle back, and it's on! If this mower can last for a few years, I see no reason to ever return to gas-powered mowers.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

Great So Far

07/29/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have only used this mower once, and it was everything it was advertised to be. It's a little heavier and a little louder than I expected, but it's still quieter and lighter than the gas-powered mower that it replaced. I only have one concern: I use my mower to mulch leaves in the fall. I'll be interested to see if this one has the power to do that. If not, I'll be raking.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

Works as promised

05/27/2010
By ,
Albany,NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am writing a review everywhere I can about this machine. It works very well for small to medium lawns. The height adjustment is great. It is very quiet and easy to operate. The cut is even. Do your research and don't let your lawn grow 10" long. I've seen some not so great reviews about difficulty cutting very high or wet lawn. Why would you let your lawn grow to 10" and why would you cut wet grass? If you maintain your property and cut regularly this is the mower for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+33points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

Great mower!

07/30/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this mower as a gift for my son, who has just bought his first home. He loves it! Says it works great, with no cords to get in the way. It was pretty much ready to go out of the box.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

This is a great mower-quiet, easy start, no fumes!

04/09/2014
By ,
Wilmington, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We had this type of mower several years ago and it was great, so when the day finally came that we couldn't get it working (after more than 6 years) we knew we wanted to get the current iteration of the great mower we had before.
I just wish all my neighbors had the good sense to have this type of mower instead of those loud, stinky things most of them use.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

Awesome!

05/08/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product rocks. we can plug the battery in in the house for when we're ready to mow since we don't have electric in our shed. It's super easy to use and lightweight. i would highly suggest it for anyone. it's also quiter, more like a vacuum than a mower sound. it does bog down if the grass is too long or wet so you just have to set it a lil higher.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+28points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

Got me off my riding mower

06/26/2014
By ,
Nashua, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have about a 1/3 acre lot and my current mower is an old riding mower, not because I dislike pushing a mower, but rather because I hate stopping to empty the bag 1-2 dozen times over the course of mowing the entire lawn. So my interest in this mower was based solely on its ability to mulch sufficiently and I don't care about its bagging ability. After mowing, I didn't see any large amount of grass sitting on the surface, so it is apparently doing an effective job of mulching.
The mower cuts much lower then my rider. I set the height to 1 stop below the highest position and it still cuts shorter than I usually do with the rider, but the result doesn't look bad, so I'll probably leave it that way. There was absolutely no problem of running out of charge before running out of lawn. Obviously my lawn isn't really 1/3 acre since there is a house sitting in the middle of it, but I suspect that when Black & Decker specified that it was good for a 1/3 acre lawn they were thinking in those terms, too. But plenty of power, and no thoughts of buying a second battery or having to mow over two days.
The mower is also heavier to push than I had expected, but it's been several years since I pushed a power mower, so it may not be any heavier than a gas one. Either way, it wasn't hard to do (my lawn is thankfully level). It's also very quiet. It's more like a vacuum cleaner than a lawn mower and I didn't bother with the hearing protection, which was rather nice.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

easy and efficient!

07/11/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This mower is simple to use and does a nice job. Cordless is the way to go!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

Woo hoo!

08/17/2010
By ,
west Tennessee
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the size of our yard, this is the best investment we've ever made in regards to lawn care. If you use a push mower, this is the way to go.
No more:
Oil changes
Sparkplugs
Maintaining a fresh supply of gasoline
Dealing with moisture in the fuel tank/carb bowl
Excessive noise and air pollution
Etc
The heavy-duty plastic housing cleans up easily. If you need multiple batteries, swapping them out is quicker than refilling a fuel tank. While it does weigh more than its gas equivalent, on level ground the additional weight isn't noticeable. The one-step, one-handed cut height adjustment is a snap to use. Just like using a car hand brake.
While I've only had an opportunity to use it 4 times so far, I'm highly impressed with its ease and convenience of use...plus it's more eco-friendly to boot.
The only disadvantage I've seen is the lower power output when compared to a gas engine. If you mow your lawn once a month, whether it needs it or not, you might want to stick with gas. This isn't meant for hay fields. However, under normal usage, this should be just the ticket.
FYI- I checked several sources prior to purchasing this online. Through WM, including tax, handling and express delivery to our door, the total cost was only marginally higher than the manufacturer's online store's list price. Who says that buying direct is cheaper...?
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

Meets all expectations

07/03/2014
By ,
Kenosha, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Long lasting battery life covered average city lot twice to leave a smooth lawn after an 11 day vacation.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 19'' 36-Volt Cordless Lift In/Lift Out Mulching Mower CM1936

Great mower

06/29/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as described. It just works!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 68 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next