Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Black & Decker Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Keep your yard trimmed and maintained while saving gas with the Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower. The cordless design allows for freedom of movement all around the lawn. This 36-volt mulching mower is simple to start with the pull of a handle and requires no gas, oil or tune-ups. It is ideal for lawn areas typical of up to a 1/3 acre homesite. A rear bag is included to collect cut grass and leaves, and the discharge chute can be used for mulching and spreading it around your yard to help maintain the grass. One-point height adjustment adjusts all four wheels at once, making it quick and easy to get the deck to the right height for your yard. The Black & Decker mower also features a push-handle that folds down between uses for space-saving storage. The lift-thru bag design allows for convenient emptying and re-attaching.
Average Customer Rating:
4.328 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(64 Reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation88%56 out of 64reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
26 Questions | 95 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
42
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Very satisfied so far.

04/19/2012
By ,
Loves Park, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This mower was 50 bucks off retail at a WalMart in Rockford, IL. The date on the owners manual said 2010 so I don't know if it sat for two years or not. I'm assuming it did. Was relatively easy to put together out of the box.
I have a relatively big yard and my main concern was whether the battery was going to last long enough for me to mow the front and back in one session. The battery indeed lasted and I was pleased with that. My grass is kind of thick, so I have had to set the mower on the highest to second to highest setting, as it seems like it might be a little much for the mower if I set it lower ( I haven't tried to mow really short). My goal is to mow twice a week instead of once. Have not used the bagger yet as I will do my best to keep the grass heighth manageable. I will also say this, if you have ground that is in any way bumpy, using this mower is a good workout. It's definitely not "easy" per se, my heart rate definitely goes up while I'm using this mower. At the setting I've used, it has cut and mulched very well (I've only used twice so far). I LOVE the fact I don't have to worry about gas, oil, etc. It's a good feeling. And the mower is easy on the ears too. I called the local Farm and Fleet to ask if they service these mowers in case I needed to ever replace the battery and they do. Good to know. Overall, this mower is perfect for a small yard, but even if your yard is medium size to a little bigger, it's still great. I would consider my front yard average, but my back yard is about 70 by 90 feet approximately. It takes me about an hour or so to mow front and back, and the battery is still going good after that. At $300.00, I thought this was an excellent buy, compared to what some electric cordless mowers cost. I highly recommend.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Love this mower

09/18/2010
By ,
New Port Richey, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a new house about a year ago. The yard is pretty small, so I initially got a reel push mower (the blades turn when you push it, no gas or electric). I figured it would be environmentally friendly and it would do the job for my small lawn. However, it doesn't do anything against the weeds and if the grass gets too high I have to go over it several times.
I had been kicking around the idea of getting this mower, but wasn't sure if it would be powerful enough because it's electric. Finally, after reading the reviews I decided to go for it and I'm glad I did. It was easy to put together and charged pretty quickly. I just used it for the first time today and it works wonderfully. It did a great job on both the grass and weeds and it's still very environmentally friendly.
As long as it continues to perform like this I'll be quite happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+31points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Top Chopper!

06/10/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This battery operated lawnmower is awesome. I'm reducing my footprint, am not at risk of accidentally mowing over an electrical cord, and do not need to bother handling gasoline. And the best part? It performs beautifully. It operates at a very comfortable low decibel, which I am thrilled about as are my neighbors. It holds a charge for an unbelievable length of time - I used it once, stored it for a week, was just about to plug in the charge and just for fun checked to see if there was any juice left and it started right up. I mowed front, side and back yards, no problem. Small yards, true. But, if you like convenience, reliability, a good looking product that performs perfectly, then this mower is for you. Also, this mower is easy to push and puts together easy. My lawn looks beautiful!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Great for what I need

03/21/2014
By ,
Longwood, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a single Mom and needed a new mower for a fairly averaged sized lawn. My gas mower died.
Trying to be eco-friendly and not have to deal with gasoline, I started reading up on electric mowers. Without wanting to spend a fortune, my research brought me to this Black & Decker. I REALLY wanted a cordless.
It arrived when they said it would, was a breeze to put together. Charged it overnight and it ALMOST made it through my front and back yard. But it was the first charge, so I'm curious to see if it makes it next time.
I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised at the EASE of mowing even without it being self-propelled. It even went around the root bases of some large trees with ease. It picked up a LOT of leaves along the way.
You have to empty the bag a little more frequently for optimum pick-up of grass and leaves, but I didn't mind at all!
I highly recommend this mower !!!! :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+9points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Bsage

06/26/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At 68 I was thrilled to see how easily I could handle this mower. It was everything it advertised it would do and be. One thing I did have to do is file way the plastic body away form the right front so it would not rub the tire when I dropped the machine. Love it!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower
06/10/2010
By ,
South Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have RA and the only problem I have with the mower is that the lever is hard to adjust upward for greater cutting height. No problem moving it down. Great mower and it is very quiet. I could mow at 5 am and not wake up the neighbors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+56points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower
05/27/2012
By ,
Rumford,ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this mower in August of 2010. It was marked down to $150 at my local Wal-Mart, so I figured I would give it a try. You will need NO gas or oil or extension cords. My lawn is about fifty feet by fifty feet in the back and fifty by 25 feet in the front, so a small yard. I have used this mower several times and have never had a problem with it. In fact last year I only had to charge it a total of three times. I have found that I prefer to take the mulching kit out and take the rear bagger of ( I don't have the side discharger #. If the grass is long # over six inches) I find it is best to go slow or cut twice changing the height in between. Because I am so happy with it's performance I purchased a cordless weed wacker from Black and decker as well. Now I am green for my lawn care. Can't wait until I can find a snowblower that is cordless as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Buy it..you'll love it

07/09/2010
By ,
Collinsville, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is unreal...quiet...starts in at the push of a button...cuts great..no problems. I was concerned when I read instructions of how to Open the box...thinking if they have to give instructions on how to open the box how hard will putting it together be? There was no problem just take your time. Charge that hummer up & get to cutting...even cuts small brush. I don't look at it as I have to cut the grass.....I look at it as time to get my exercise in....get out there before 6a.m. & git 'er done!! No one complains as there's no noise, no gas fumes, no hassles with power cords. Excellent product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Black and Decker Cordless Mulching Mower

05/12/2011
By ,
Hartland, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Black and Decker mulching mower has exceeded my expectations. It is much lighter and quieter than my Honda gas mower and cuts as well and mulches even better. Needless to say, I don't have to get annual tune-ups, use gasoline, or constantly check the oil. I feel I am doing my part for the environment with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+16points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Nice Mower

04/20/2010
By ,
Wright City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second cordless mowers. Sure saves a lot of hassel. It is ready when you are ready. Easy to assemble. Good for triming and places you can't get with a tractor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+45points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Love it!

05/17/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I love this lawn mower! Previously I had a corded Black & Decker which lasted about 5 years. I am able to move faster without the cord. I am a single mother and I try to save money buy cutting my own yard. I usually break the job up into 2 day because there is a tiresome hill in my backyard. I do have to remember to charge it. I don't leave it plugged up constantly. I was able to cut the front and side of the house off of a 45 min charge. The only con is it is a little heavy especially with the hill I have.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

B&D Cordless Mower

06/14/2010
By ,
Whitney, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a great mower...the price is too high but if it's what you want, you have to pay the price....since i am almost 65 years old, i don't have enough strength to use the pull cord on a gas mower so the cordless was a mower i could use without having to wait for a neighbor or one of my sons to come and start it for me....
the mower mows beautifully but is really heavy getting it in and out of the yard...i was hoping it would be light weight like the electric mowers walmart sells....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Uber Kewl Mower

04/12/2011
By ,
Ca, Los Angeles outskirts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now this was great use of both technology and consumer based ease of use. I really like and enjoy using this little lawn mower. It's not of a huge size, as it can get into tight corners and it's big enough to handle medium to rather large lawn areas all in a single charge.
Depending on the lawn conditions, your experience may vary. I would recommend having the lawn as dry as you dare possible without causing physical harm to the grass and it's roots. Meaning, cut your lawn the day after you turn off the sprinklers (if this case applies).
I gave this product 5 stars after a two time trial run. Once with a semi-wet, longer than usual and heavier than average lawn, just to see if it could handle a difficult length and soggier situation. It did, but mostly mulched instead of bagging the blades of grass towards the end. And the mower blades got bogged down a bit as the charge ran down to near nill, I had to slow down quite a bit while mowing. But, I gave it an impressive nod on account it DID cut the entire footage of a medium sized lawn on a single charge. (30x45 foot approx.)
And second with a drier lawn as one would normally cut the lawn on a lazy Sunday morning without incident. Charge held and ended on a high pitched note to boot. As if the charge had just come off it's day charge.
As with any lithium battery, it's always best to run down the battery before giving it a full days charge. With this one it's simple. The charger instructions say, when charging the LED light will be red while charging. When the charge is complete, the LED will illuminate green.
Good Luck, & happy mowing :-]
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+11points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Great Review except...
Posted 07/11/2011
It was great that you tested in different conditions, but you make it sound like this uses a lithium ion battery, when it uses a lead-acid battery.
The manufacturer recommendation (and long term users' too) is to keep it on the charger ALL the time it's not actually in use. Only time you can store it off the charger is if it's going to be stored in a cool (below 50 degree F) environment, and even then it's only recommended if it's "long term" (for example, over the winter season).
Thank you otherwise for the valuable information in your review!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

New to Mowing.... This is Effortless

05/09/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have seldom mowed a lawn & am now 70 years old. This is fantastic! I have a medium sized lawn & I can mow it on a single charge. The ladies who live near me also used electric & have recently gone to the chargeable as they seem to cut their cords a lot.
For me .... this is an A #1 product plus a get a little exercise! Thanks!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Good Cordless Mower

06/01/2010
By ,
Sandy, UT
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Finally a descent full sized mower that doesn't require gas or oil or a pull string start. Push a button, pull back the bar and it goes. And it goes well. The only drawback is that if you don't use the right height of the wheels and your grass is really long, it just pushes it down instead of mowing, also, the mulching feature is only so so, and when I tried using the bag method to gather the grass, it only collect so well then would repeateadly get stuck in the opening to the bag. Other then that it is really great and I like it alot. Charges up pretty fast and will do quite a bit of area before dying down.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Not a Self-Propelled Mower

09/18/2010
By ,
Nacogdoches, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the mower overall, except that I just assumed it was a self-propelled mower. I should have researched it better. It is too heavy to push up hills because of the weight of the battery. Otherwise, everything works great. Very easy to remove bag and empty. Just plug it back up when you are done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Suprising

05/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good mower/mulcher. I mow the whole lawn on one charge and there is alot of juce left over. I looked at the book and they don't want you to oil it. talk about 0 emmissions. I figure if it lasts 5 tears it is worth the bucks. My last one from tis company lasted 10 so it made money. this one is eaisier to work on. one 3/4 wrench to pull the blade. easy to use and store. I like it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

excellent lawn mower

07/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use - lightweight and easy to push
Quick to charge
Power to cut thick grass
Mulch or bag grass - does great job
Easy to set up and use - great instructions
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

so far so good

07/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this mower works great for my situation. we have a steep hill with lots of trees. up until now i've had a mower with a throttle i would have to slow down to near stop to go over part of the yard due to rocks. since they don't put throttles on mowers anymore i tried one of the new gas mowers and had to take it back since it was throwing rocks. i thought same thing would happen with this mower since it doesn't have a throttle but much to my pleasant surprise it did not so this mower is a keeper. only reason not to get highest rating is i don't like to have to continuously charge the battery between mows to get the longest life out of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

More than I expected

07/11/2014
By ,
Wheeling, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Black and Decker cordless weed-eater and have been surprised at its performance. When my gas mower needed service, I bought a lack and Decker cordless mower. I've only used it 3 times but I think it's great. Easy to start, it makes a clean cut, mulches tight. I don't know how long it will run without a charge, I have a normal size yard and can cut it and my neighbors without having to recharge. I like being able to adjust all 4 wheels with one lever, but the first time you raise or lower the deck it takes some effort. I'm very pleased with this mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 59 total reviews
1 2 3 Next