Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Black & Decker Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

The Black and Decker 18'' cordless mower provides the freedom of a gas mower with the convenience of an electric mower. This 36-volt mulching mower is simple to start and requires no gas, oil or tune-ups. It is ideal for lawn areas typical of up to a 1/3 acre homesite. It can bag the clippings or is equipped for mulching.
Average Customer Rating:
4.305 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(59 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation86%51 out of 59reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 91 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
39
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Excellent mower for small yards

09/13/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Owned this mower for 2 years now and it is still cutting my lawn on a single charge... well mostly. When the grass is long like in spring, when you cannot keep up with it, I have to divide the lawn between two days. I have had two minor issues with this unit so far; one was the flap on the bottom to stop objects for flying out near feet has cracked off but I still do not see any issues with flying objects and the other issue is a cracked shroud near the back. Not sure how the second issue happen but I repaired it with a little epoxy under the shroud so again no biggie.
Overall the unit is quiet, works every time and cuts a fine looking lawn. This mower folds up and placed out of the way during the winter and I always keep the charger on when not in use, even in Wisconsin winters.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Great for what I need

03/21/2014
By ,
Longwood, Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I am a single Mom and needed a new mower for a fairly averaged sized lawn. My gas mower died.
Trying to be eco-friendly and not have to deal with gasoline, I started reading up on electric mowers. Without wanting to spend a fortune, my research brought me to this Black & Decker. I REALLY wanted a cordless.
It arrived when they said it would, was a breeze to put together. Charged it overnight and it ALMOST made it through my front and back yard. But it was the first charge, so I'm curious to see if it makes it next time.
I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised at the EASE of mowing even without it being self-propelled. It even went around the root bases of some large trees with ease. It picked up a LOT of leaves along the way.
You have to empty the bag a little more frequently for optimum pick-up of grass and leaves, but I didn't mind at all!
I highly recommend this mower !!!! :-)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Love this mower

09/18/2010
By ,
New Port Richey, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought a new house about a year ago. The yard is pretty small, so I initially got a reel push mower (the blades turn when you push it, no gas or electric). I figured it would be environmentally friendly and it would do the job for my small lawn. However, it doesn't do anything against the weeds and if the grass gets too high I have to go over it several times.
I had been kicking around the idea of getting this mower, but wasn't sure if it would be powerful enough because it's electric. Finally, after reading the reviews I decided to go for it and I'm glad I did. It was easy to put together and charged pretty quickly. I just used it for the first time today and it works wonderfully. It did a great job on both the grass and weeds and it's still very environmentally friendly.
As long as it continues to perform like this I'll be quite happy.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

so far so good

07/20/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this mower works great for my situation. we have a steep hill with lots of trees. up until now i've had a mower with a throttle i would have to slow down to near stop to go over part of the yard due to rocks. since they don't put throttles on mowers anymore i tried one of the new gas mowers and had to take it back since it was throwing rocks. i thought same thing would happen with this mower since it doesn't have a throttle but much to my pleasant surprise it did not so this mower is a keeper. only reason not to get highest rating is i don't like to have to continuously charge the battery between mows to get the longest life out of it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower
06/10/2010
By ,
South Dakota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have RA and the only problem I have with the mower is that the lever is hard to adjust upward for greater cutting height. No problem moving it down. Great mower and it is very quiet. I could mow at 5 am and not wake up the neighbors.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+50points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Buy it..you'll love it

07/09/2010
By ,
Collinsville, MS
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is unreal...quiet...starts in at the push of a button...cuts great..no problems. I was concerned when I read instructions of how to Open the box...thinking if they have to give instructions on how to open the box how hard will putting it together be? There was no problem just take your time. Charge that hummer up & get to cutting...even cuts small brush. I don't look at it as I have to cut the grass.....I look at it as time to get my exercise in....get out there before 6a.m. & git 'er done!! No one complains as there's no noise, no gas fumes, no hassles with power cords. Excellent product.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

excellent lawn mower

07/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to use - lightweight and easy to push
Quick to charge
Power to cut thick grass
Mulch or bag grass - does great job
Easy to set up and use - great instructions
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

More than I expected

07/11/2014
By ,
Wheeling, WV
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a Black and Decker cordless weed-eater and have been surprised at its performance. When my gas mower needed service, I bought a lack and Decker cordless mower. I've only used it 3 times but I think it's great. Easy to start, it makes a clean cut, mulches tight. I don't know how long it will run without a charge, I have a normal size yard and can cut it and my neighbors without having to recharge. I like being able to adjust all 4 wheels with one lever, but the first time you raise or lower the deck it takes some effort. I'm very pleased with this mower.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Grass "catcher" clogs

08/18/2014
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I have a small yard - 600ft2 - I have to stop every 1 min to clear the grass discharge chute. My grass is not excessively tall - 3 in and dry, but green - I only mow down to about 1.5 in - and the discharge chute clogs easily. It seems I would need to mow every day to avoid the problem. I get 3 mows or so per charge. BTW - this mower is a lousy mulcher - it clogs to the point of stopping, and forget mowing if lawn is even a bit damp. So, for $350 I would say this mower is only fair. I had much better results from the corded version and mulching.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

So far so good ... no regrets

08/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I had an Black and Decker electric mower for 7 years that stop working. Although I liked that mower, I decided a while ago that my next one would be a cordless mower. I live in a townhouse, so wanted a mower that the battery would last for one cutting without having to be recharged. As many have said this mower was very easy to assemble and store. I like the fact that it is easy to start and runs quietly. I'm pleased so far and got a good deal to boot.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Nice Mower

08/21/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Since I have only had a chance to use this mower one time I really can't say how well it will perform down the road. It was easy to assemble and charged up in a couple of hours. It seems a bit louder than our previous mower, but, this mower has a higher voltage. Time will prove it's worth.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Great Lawn Mower

08/20/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
compact and no hassle lawn mower. we are very happy for this product.thanks black & decker
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Intial opinion works great

07/08/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Put together in 15 minutes, charged in 3 hours. Cut well in deep , moist grass. Just had to reduce my pace a little. Engine is more then enough. Extremely happy with product. For a 36V and a 18 inch cut it is best deal I could find on the market.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Black and Decker Cordless Mulching Mower

05/12/2011
By ,
Hartland, WI
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The Black and Decker mulching mower has exceeded my expectations. It is much lighter and quieter than my Honda gas mower and cuts as well and mulches even better. Needless to say, I don't have to get annual tune-ups, use gasoline, or constantly check the oil. I feel I am doing my part for the environment with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Nice Mower

04/20/2010
By ,
Wright City, MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is my second cordless mowers. Sure saves a lot of hassel. It is ready when you are ready. Easy to assemble. Good for triming and places you can't get with a tractor.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+39points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower
05/27/2012
By ,
Rumford,ME
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I purchased this mower in August of 2010. It was marked down to $150 at my local Wal-Mart, so I figured I would give it a try. You will need NO gas or oil or extension cords. My lawn is about fifty feet by fifty feet in the back and fifty by 25 feet in the front, so a small yard. I have used this mower several times and have never had a problem with it. In fact last year I only had to charge it a total of three times. I have found that I prefer to take the mulching kit out and take the rear bagger of ( I don't have the side discharger #. If the grass is long # over six inches) I find it is best to go slow or cut twice changing the height in between. Because I am so happy with it's performance I purchased a cordless weed wacker from Black and decker as well. Now I am green for my lawn care. Can't wait until I can find a snowblower that is cordless as well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Not a Self-Propelled Mower

09/18/2010
By ,
Nacogdoches, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I like the mower overall, except that I just assumed it was a self-propelled mower. I should have researched it better. It is too heavy to push up hills because of the weight of the battery. Otherwise, everything works great. Very easy to remove bag and empty. Just plug it back up when you are done.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+12points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Uber Kewl Mower

04/12/2011
By ,
Ca, Los Angeles outskirts
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Now this was great use of both technology and consumer based ease of use. I really like and enjoy using this little lawn mower. It's not of a huge size, as it can get into tight corners and it's big enough to handle medium to rather large lawn areas all in a single charge.
Depending on the lawn conditions, your experience may vary. I would recommend having the lawn as dry as you dare possible without causing physical harm to the grass and it's roots. Meaning, cut your lawn the day after you turn off the sprinklers (if this case applies).
I gave this product 5 stars after a two time trial run. Once with a semi-wet, longer than usual and heavier than average lawn, just to see if it could handle a difficult length and soggier situation. It did, but mostly mulched instead of bagging the blades of grass towards the end. And the mower blades got bogged down a bit as the charge ran down to near nill, I had to slow down quite a bit while mowing. But, I gave it an impressive nod on account it DID cut the entire footage of a medium sized lawn on a single charge. (30x45 foot approx.)
And second with a drier lawn as one would normally cut the lawn on a lazy Sunday morning without incident. Charge held and ended on a high pitched note to boot. As if the charge had just come off it's day charge.
As with any lithium battery, it's always best to run down the battery before giving it a full days charge. With this one it's simple. The charger instructions say, when charging the LED light will be red while charging. When the charge is complete, the LED will illuminate green.
Good Luck, & happy mowing :-]
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+8points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Great Review except...
Posted 07/11/2011
It was great that you tested in different conditions, but you make it sound like this uses a lithium ion battery, when it uses a lead-acid battery.
The manufacturer recommendation (and long term users' too) is to keep it on the charger ALL the time it's not actually in use. Only time you can store it off the charger is if it's going to be stored in a cool (below 50 degree F) environment, and even then it's only recommended if it's "long term" (for example, over the winter season).
Thank you otherwise for the valuable information in your review!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

Great mower!!

07/20/2014
By ,
Chariton, IA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just love it. Easy to use. GREAT price
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker CM1836 18'' 36V Cordless Mower

B&D Cordless Mower

06/14/2010
By ,
Whitney, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
this is a great mower...the price is too high but if it's what you want, you have to pay the price....since i am almost 65 years old, i don't have enough strength to use the pull cord on a gas mower so the cordless was a mower i could use without having to wait for a neighbor or one of my sons to come and start it for me....
the mower mows beautifully but is really heavy getting it in and out of the yard...i was hoping it would be light weight like the electric mowers walmart sells....
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 54 total reviews
1 2 3 Next