Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Black & Decker Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

Black & Decker Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

The Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer is ideal for conveniently trimming or edging grass in your garden. It has a 10-inch cutting path and a patented gear-driven design for added efficiency. This Black & Decker string trimmer comes in a lightweight design with soft grips to provide greater control and comfort. An Automatic Feed Spool (AFS) system uses centrifugal force to automatically advance the line when needed. Furthermore, the swivel head is capable of rotating 180 degrees to help you quickly switch over from trimming to edging. This 10-inch string trimmer features a Groom 'N Edge option that converts it to an edging tool at the touch of one button. It runs on a 12-volt battery that allows instant start-ups. A battery charger and a wall-mount charger bracket are included. The Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer is Energy-Star certified to help save energy.
Average Customer Rating:
3.275 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
8
Customer Recommendation58%23 out of 40reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
12
4 stars
10
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 star
8
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

Still a Solid Value After 1+ Year's Ownership

06/07/2010
By ,
Midwest
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I have owned my Black & Decker Cordless Trimmer for more than a year now and still believe it is a good value. It starts by pressing the safety switch and pulling the trigger (like most power tools.) And, it starts EVERY time and runs quiet. It's well balanced and light weight to allow you to work without fatigue and since it's cordless, you don't have to worry about wrapping and tangling a cord. The twisting shaft and metal guide make edging straight and simple. The string automatically advances when needed so you don't have to bump it on the ground for more string. Setup is easy... you just plug-in the charger adapter, mount the charger/holder on the wall and hang the trimmer up... pull it off when you're ready to go... put it back when you're done. It's designed to "trickle-charge" so you can always leave it on the charger/holder without damage to the battery and it will do a 1-hour quick-charge between jobs.
You don't buy an inexpensive battery powered trimmer like this to wack down waist-high weeds on the back 40 every weekend... you buy it to trim weeds around trees, fences, shrubs, etc. (the places your mower can't get to.) If you have tall weeds or thick grass overgrowth on sidewalk edges, the first time you use it you may question the battery life. But once you've "tamed" that to something you can maintain once a week... the battery is not an issue. Like most people I have a front and back yard so I edge and trim the front yard and mow, then edge and trim the back yard and mow.
I believe it's more than adequate for 80% of homeowners and I highly recommend it for those who want to keep things trimmed and edged without forking out a lot of money for a gas trimmer or messing with a cord or removable battery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+69points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

Decent for LIGHT work

03/29/2010
By ,
Ft Worth, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Do not buy this if you want something heavy duty. It is decent for light weed eating. I would not ever recommend using this on St Augustine. It handles Bermuda fairly well.
The battery life is a bit of a problem if you want to do your whole yard in one go. Mine tends to last about 30 min on a good day which lets me do 3/4 of my yard, plug it in to charge, mow, and come back to finish.
Otherwise, it is fairly durable and easy to use without much maintainance involved.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
+72points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

This trimmer is great!

07/23/2010
By ,
New Mexico
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have solar electric so I needed a trimmer that I could charge during sunlight, then use anytime I wanted. This trimmer is great. It's important to wear eye protection b/c it cuts through pretty thick stuff and when the stuff is dry it shoots it rather far. My garden is looking so much more lovely. I use the little metal flip thing as a guide around rock edgings... and it works perfectly. I charged it for 30 hrs before a first, short, try-it-out use. It said to charge "at least" 24 hr. I'm very pleased. If you're looking for convenient, not very heavy, and cordless... this is a great product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+36points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Wisconsin
Black & Decker cordless trimmer
Posted 08/28/2011
Useless...Battery won't last for 10 minutes. May be good as a toy for kids
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

Good enough

06/14/2010
By ,
Texas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have used this trimmer twice. I have a small yard so I didn't need much. It doesn't weigh much or make much noise, and I love not having to drag a cord around anymore. The small head let's you get into tight areas. It struggled a bit in the thick stuff after the battery weakened a bit, but it tore right through the normal stuff. Great for small yards.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

Great for small to medium-sized yard.

04/05/2014
By ,
Navasota, Tx.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very light weight easy to handle. Yes I would buy another.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

Not good for edging

07/19/2010
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this product primarily for edging. The automatic string feed does not allow you to edge. When it gets to short, it does not edge anymore. You either have to manually cut the string or angle it in a weird position to get the string to edge the grass. Painful for the back.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

Short battery life

02/02/2010
By ,
San Antonio tx
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This works for about 10-15 minutes. Then you have charge it for at least 1/2 an hour before you can get more than 5 minutes before the battery loses power again. I can't imagine using it to edge with this short active life.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+21points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Customer Avatar
NC
Ridiculous
Posted 04/03/2014
It's just ridiculous that this trimmer doesn't last more than 15 minutes. I recharge mine overnight and still get only 15 more minutes out of it. Its driving me crazy. It would be nice if black & decker made one to run at least 30 minutes or one you could actually replace the battery. Hate I ever bought the aggravating thing and wouldn't recommend it to anyone who wants to actually finish weed eatting in one day :(
0points
Customer Avatar
LA.
GREAT PRODUCT!
Posted 08/06/2012
I BOUGHT MY CORDLESS WEEDEATER OVER 6 YRS AGO AND IT JUST QUIT ON ME THIS MONTH AUGUST 2012, I GOT MY MONEYS WORTH OUT OF MINE ,AND I AM GOING TO BUY ME A NEW ONE ,THIS IS A GREAT BUY TO ME.
-1point
Read Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 8 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

My wife likes to use it.

05/14/2011
By ,
Liberty, SC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An excellent trimmer and very light weight goes
forever on a charge.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

A Shame to Own.

06/16/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I am so disappointed with this product. This maybe a good buy for someone who gets tired easily and can only do a tiny patch of lawn at a time, but if you are wanting to do a decent chunk of work in one day: forget it! This is such a sad excuse of a machine. It seriously got to the point that I was better off getting down on my hands and knees and tearing the weeds out of the ground. The battery life is absolutely embarassing. Constantly having to wait an hour between sprints was so discouraging. Take my advice: spend an extra $20 or 30 for a gas powered. It's worth it for the sanity!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

Short Battery Life

05/12/2013
By ,
Winston-Salem, NC
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It trudges through most things (I've pushed it to the limit with overgrown grasses, weeds, vines, etc). However, you only get 30 minutes no matter how much you charge it. That makes it tough if you have a big yard. I'm now wishing I'd bought a different trimmer.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

like it

06/13/2010
By ,
Dalzell, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Our yard is big, so I can't go around the yard in one charge. I have to trim the outside of the house, and after the battery dies I charge it, and then trim the backyard. I wish the battery life was longer, but it's not. I love it better than a gas one. It's so easy to turn on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

ONLY STAYS CHARGED FOR .20 MINUTES !

10/11/2013
By ,
TN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
It will take u forever to get your trimming done with this Trimmer because the battery only stays charged for .20 minutes at a time.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

You get what you pay for.

08/23/2012
By ,
Richardson, TX
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Being cordless makes this trimmer so much more convenient, but it also makes it useful for short periods of time. Not to mention that it is pretty wimpy compared to big tuff grass along the sidewalk. It would probably be okay for touch up work on small yards, but to try and use this as your main trimmer/edger for an average sized yard is a joke. Spend a little more for a gas trimmer, or deal with a cord. This sounds too good to be true because the description is not true.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

Do not buy this trimmer

05/08/2010
By ,
ny
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I purchsed this product about 6 months ago.Used it a few times and now it stopped charging.
Granted it is relatively inexpensive, but it should last for more than a ew times.
I would NOT BUY THIS TRIMMER AGAIN!
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

Good Value

04/18/2012
By ,
Northern Ky
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This was brought for my husband because the big gas one was getting to heavy, a neighbor has one which he had borrowed last fall and said he loved it, has used it several times all ready this spring and loves it.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

Exceeds expectations

08/19/2011
By ,
Robinson, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Debated about this trimmer vs one with a replaceable battery pack. Decided in favor of this one since the battery replacement for this was much less than the replacement pack. Gets through my trimming tasks on a single charge. More powerful than I would have thought. Quiet, well balanced. Reel can be reloaded; you don't have to buy a new one. Charger / hanger is a little chintzy.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

VERY short battery life

05/09/2010
By ,
Shenandoah, VA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Horrible battery life, I got half way around my house before it ran out of power, now I have to wait an hour before I can get the other half, that doesn't include the garage, sidewalk, and driveway I have yet to do, this is going to take ALL DAY! :(
DO NOT BUY THIS IF YOU DON'T WANT TO WASTE YOUR DAY TRIMMING!
Very disappointed, I expected more from Black & Decker.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

Waste of time

04/19/2012
By ,
Trinidad, CO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this trimmer because I wanted one that was cordless and because I trust the Black & Decker name. I was sooo disappointed. It wouldn't cut weeds that were growing around my fence and it would barely cut some of the thicker grass. I'm not talking about thick waste high weeds either. Just normal everyday weeds or taller grass that grows where the mower can't get to.It ran for about 30 minutes which barely allowed me to trim my backyard. I took it back the very next day. I guess I'll stick to my little corded trimmer of another brand.
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer

Does NOT work!

04/12/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This trimmer came sealed in box. Charges great but will not spin!
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Black & Decker 10" 12V Cordless Electric String Trimmer
10/05/2013
By ,
Duluth, MN
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Haven't really used it yet, waiting for it to quit raining, but there was very little to assemble and it seems to have plenty of power and it's not heavy or hard to handle.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 37 total reviews
1 2 Next