Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Allen Sports Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

The Allen Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier is a great way to take your bikes on road trips. It is especially designed to fit most of the externally mounted spare tires up to 12 inches. The long carry arms make it possible to easily carry up to three bikes on this rack. The spare tire bike rack features a single configuration design that helps with quick installation. You can individually secure your bikes in place with the help of a patented tie-down system with foldable carry arms. The ball mount bike rack can be stored easily when not in use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.935 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(62 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
22
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Recommendation84%52 out of 62reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
23 Questions | 22 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
25
4 stars
22
3 stars
7
2 stars
2
1 star
6
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Worth the price, easy to install

12/23/2012
By ,
Orange, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this carrier to use on my '99 CR-V, and it is better than I expected. I read reviews were other customers could not use it for more than 2 bikes, but I'm not sure what they did wrong. I have a 29", my son has a 26" and my daughter a 24' - all mountain bikes and all with odd frames due to the shock suspension for the rear and front tires. I am able to fit all 3 bikes on this carries with no problem. It is very easy to install and it does what it is supposed to.
Very happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Fits great on my Jeep, but not my bike.

08/09/2011
By ,
Maryville, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was excited this bike mount fit perfect on my Liberty. Unfortunately, when I tried to mount my women's mountain bike on it, it didn't fit at all. I would suggest double checking the dimensions on the mount and the bike before purchasing. Another downside was that it eventually did move out of position and the window hatch would hit it when it would open & close.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Excellent for 2 bikes on a 2005 Honda CR-V

02/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used "ship to store" at Walmart and it came in more quickly than I expected. Packaging and directions were adequate. It is more sturdy than I expected for the price. I use it on a 2005 Honda CR-V. The top hooks snugly over the rear tire and straps hook under the door at the bottom. If you have a different vehicle, the top will fit if there's at least two inches of clearance between the tire and door. It makes no contact with the door, window, or window wiper. I've bounced over bad roads for miles with no problems. I do not remove the vinyl tire cover and it has not been damaged. Once I got used to it, I could put it on and take it off in few minutes - literally - so I take it off while riding so it's not stolen. Our bicycles strap on securely, although I do use a couple tie-downs to keep the tires and handles from bouncing around. It's a tight fit for two adult bicycles and I don't know if three would fit. Maybe they would if one or more are children's bicycles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+15points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

High Quality - Sturdy - Simple to Use

09/15/2013
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike rack is very sturdy, was simple to install and use. I felt that the bike was very secure even while driving on the highway and when I went over bumps. I used it on my 2006 Honda CRV. I only put one bike on it and put the front wheel on the passenger side turning the handlebars so the front tire was perpendicular to the door. This was necessary since the spare tire is not in the center of the vehicle. I did not remove the cover from my spare tire, but I did put pipe insulation on the bar the touches the tire and another on a bar that touches the bike. The insulation is very cheap and worth the little extra for the protection it provides. I also used the Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar since I have a women's bike. The combo worked perfectly for my needs. My only comment is that, though it is set up to hold 3 bikes, I think that would be a tight fit and would be concerned that one bike would scratch another if you didn't use padding between them. Two bikes would fit easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Awesome Product

05/14/2010
By ,
18360
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike rack fit my 2004 Suzuki XL7. Very easy to install and held 3 adult bikes for a long road trip. I was leary that this lightweight sparetire rack would hold 3 bikes securely but was more than pleasantly surprised!! A Great Value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

works great

08/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a jeep wrangler with an over-sized spare tire .... it fits and works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+46points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Not for my truck

02/09/2014
By ,
Portland, OR
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I ordered the carrier because it was supposed to work with my '95 Nissan Pathfinder. After it arrived, I had to read on the box that it would work on my truck "w/o spare." I couldn't have been told that online? I understand from other reviews that it is a good product/value so that is what I'm basing my scoring on.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

A Good Fit for RAV4

08/04/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked high and low for something to fit my 2009 RAV4, then finally came across the Allen 303DB. What they dont tell you is you have to take your plastic wheel cover off. But in the end, it will salvage all the scrapes that would have come with it. Glad i bought this and worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+30points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rav 4 installed
Posted 06/19/2013
Thank you for this review! Were you able to open the back with the rack installed? or did you have to unhook it somewhere?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Good Product for a Good Price

04/05/2010
By ,
Middle Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I really like the bike rack. I was having problems finding a reasonably priced rack that would hold 3 bikes while I tow a camper with my Toyota FJ Cruiser. The Allen Rack works great for this!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread

07/28/2010
By ,
Cleveland, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is easy to install, easy to use and carries three bikes. It's perfect for what I need.
You have to learn to modify it to how you are going to use it. I use a bungee or tie-off to keep the front wheel of my bike from twisting around on long trips. No big deal at all.
You can't lock a bike into either, so don't expect to run into Wal-Mart for an hour with your $700 Trek on the back of it.
It's also very durable. I've beat the heck out of mine and it's still sturdy.
Overall, works perfect. I drive a 99 Honda CRV.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Very easy to put on vehicle.

10/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike carrier is exactly as pictured. We have a Honda CRV 2003 which is not listed for the carrier but it fits fine. We do put a cotton towel next to the car to cushion the bar which is over the spare tire. We are very satisfied with this purchase. The only concern I would have is if someone had to transport 3 bicycles. We have 2 and the carrier is great. Three bicycles would seem to be a VERY tight fit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

I would recommend this for a 2010 Rav4

01/13/2014
By ,
Wisconsin
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a 2010 Rav4 and once I took the tire cover off, the bike carrier fit and is working great. I am still able to use my rear windshield wiper and open the back door with the bike carrier attached. I usually carry 2 mountain bikes and they each weigh about 35lbs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Easy to put on and take off. Holds tight.

07/30/2011
By ,
Rogers, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy about this bike rack. Easy to take off and put on, so I don't have to leave it on all the time. That was the first plus. It holds super tight and is easy to adjust. Second plus. The arms have tie-downs built in so you don't have to add your own straps or bungees, unlike some bike racks that have just velcro. Third plus. And fits my oversized tire, and seems to be automatically fit just about any spare on the back, from the way it's designed. Fourth. Plus. It's a win.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Too small

02/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This will only support small tires, will not fit jeep tires
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Great value

06/06/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This bike carrier is worth the money. The only major complaint I have is that the rack will rub your rim and cause damage. I have tried using a tire cover, but it will rub a hole through that as well. This is a good product for the money, but the design could be improved. It will work well for you if you can fix the rubbing issue. If you plan on transporting your bike often, then I recommend looking elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Good bike rack for price

10/28/2013
By ,
The Woodlands, TX
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I could fit this bike rack on my Toyota RAV4 model 2010 while based on its manual it doesn't. It was easy to set up and performed as it was expected.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

easy to install

02/08/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This rack is easy to install and my daughter can quickly load her bike. However, I would not recommend it for a 2012 Rav4 as the rear wiper blade causes interference and she had to improvise with the bottom straps. This makes it not as secure as she hoped, but does the job for the few blocks she travels to campus with her bike. On other vehicles -it would be a cinch.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier
06/19/2011
By ,
Uniontown, Pa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good solid Bike rack. It is well worth the money. It can be put on and taken off easily. I suggest some pipe wrap insulation where the rack rests against the rim. I only rated 4 stars as I am only able to fit 2 bikes on the rack. The tie downs are too close together to fit three bikes. I have tested it out with two 26" bikes on it. I have driven it around town and short 12 mile trips the last two weeks. I have had no problems. My wife and I will be taking a 1,600+ mile round trip shortly. I'll update on how it holds up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Not for Rav4 2011

03/19/2012
By ,
Puerto Rico
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
For the price is a fair spare tire rack (carrier), if it fit your model. For me it did not work, The rack (carrier) did not fit the Toyota Rav4 Sport 2011. The carrier make contact with the rear wiper base and will not engage to the spare tire.
Also to consider is, if the bottom supporting arm of the rack (carrier) will make contact with the wheel (Rim), probably damaging (scratching) the spare wheel. That will happen probably in 16-17" wheels and up, since the bottom supporting arm is not covered with any cushion material.
Anyways I ended up getting a Thule Spare Me XRS which is far more expensive, but a real spare tire rack (carrier).
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

sturdy for the price

01/25/2014
By ,
Palm Springs
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No assembly required. You just cantilever it over the spare tire, extend the arms and clip the straps to the bumper or the bottom of the tail-gate door. It took a few minutes! Seems sturdy, although I only carry one bike. No security for the rack though - you could cut the straps and steal the rack AND the bike, so it's basically just a transporter . I'm pleased - good value for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 56 total reviews
1 2 3 Next