Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Allen Sports Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

The Allen Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier is a must-have for today's modern riding family. It is an ideal way to take your equipment on road trips or the best trails in town. This Allen bike carrier is especially designed to fit most externally mounted spare tires up to 12" deep. The long carry arms make it possible to easily carry up to three bikes on this rack. The spare tire bike rack features a single configuration design that helps with quick installation. You can secure your bikes in place with the help of a patented tie-down system on the foldable carry arms. This allows the bikes to be loaded and unloaded more easily as well, while the padded lower frame keeps them from falling into the back of your vehicle. The patented strap system tethers the lower part of the frame to your SUV's bumper for even more stability while driving. The bike carrier, hitch not required, can be folded up and stored easily when not in use.
Average Customer Rating:
3.903 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(72 Reviews) 65
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
25
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation83%60 out of 72reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
29 Questions | 25 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
28
4 stars
25
3 stars
10
2 stars
2
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Worth the price, easy to install

12/23/2012
By ,
Orange, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I bought this carrier to use on my '99 CR-V, and it is better than I expected. I read reviews were other customers could not use it for more than 2 bikes, but I'm not sure what they did wrong. I have a 29", my son has a 26" and my daughter a 24' - all mountain bikes and all with odd frames due to the shock suspension for the rear and front tires. I am able to fit all 3 bikes on this carries with no problem. It is very easy to install and it does what it is supposed to.
Very happy with this product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Fits great on my Jeep, but not my bike.

08/09/2011
By ,
Maryville, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I was excited this bike mount fit perfect on my Liberty. Unfortunately, when I tried to mount my women's mountain bike on it, it didn't fit at all. I would suggest double checking the dimensions on the mount and the bike before purchasing. Another downside was that it eventually did move out of position and the window hatch would hit it when it would open & close.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Excellent for 2 bikes on a 2005 Honda CR-V

02/09/2012
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used "ship to store" at Walmart and it came in more quickly than I expected. Packaging and directions were adequate. It is more sturdy than I expected for the price. I use it on a 2005 Honda CR-V. The top hooks snugly over the rear tire and straps hook under the door at the bottom. If you have a different vehicle, the top will fit if there's at least two inches of clearance between the tire and door. It makes no contact with the door, window, or window wiper. I've bounced over bad roads for miles with no problems. I do not remove the vinyl tire cover and it has not been damaged. Once I got used to it, I could put it on and take it off in few minutes - literally - so I take it off while riding so it's not stolen. Our bicycles strap on securely, although I do use a couple tie-downs to keep the tires and handles from bouncing around. It's a tight fit for two adult bicycles and I don't know if three would fit. Maybe they would if one or more are children's bicycles.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

above average, slightly.

07/11/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Purchased for 2014 Jeep Wrangler.
Good Design with support brackets to prevent "tilting" of bike rack while using spare tire as base.
My only complaint is the strap hooks that have to be placed between the back gate and the bumper. It is difficult to get them secured. Once you get them secured, the rack is very stable.
It is very fast and easy to take the rack off. So that is a positive. Not enough to offset the time it takes to secure the hooks on tailgate. Bumper on my Jeep is too thick to receive the hooks on bike rack.
My rating is just above average, but it is hard to find a quality bike rack that will fit on spare tire on Wrangler.
I would recommend this bike rack. My assumption is I will find a quick and easy way to attach the bike rack to my jeep. I have used three times, and I am figuring out the best way to attach the bike rack.
Would I suggest, yes, but have a larger strap hook to give more options to attach.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

High Quality - Sturdy - Simple to Use

09/15/2013
By ,
Harrisburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike rack is very sturdy, was simple to install and use. I felt that the bike was very secure even while driving on the highway and when I went over bumps. I used it on my 2006 Honda CRV. I only put one bike on it and put the front wheel on the passenger side turning the handlebars so the front tire was perpendicular to the door. This was necessary since the spare tire is not in the center of the vehicle. I did not remove the cover from my spare tire, but I did put pipe insulation on the bar the touches the tire and another on a bar that touches the bike. The insulation is very cheap and worth the little extra for the protection it provides. I also used the Allen Sports Bicycle Adaptor Bar since I have a women's bike. The combo worked perfectly for my needs. My only comment is that, though it is set up to hold 3 bikes, I think that would be a tight fit and would be concerned that one bike would scratch another if you didn't use padding between them. Two bikes would fit easily.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Awesome Product

05/14/2010
By ,
18360
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This bike rack fit my 2004 Suzuki XL7. Very easy to install and held 3 adult bikes for a long road trip. I was leary that this lightweight sparetire rack would hold 3 bikes securely but was more than pleasantly surprised!! A Great Value
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+23points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Just Ok Rack

06/27/2014
By ,
Virginia
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Received this rack as a gift. Pros.....great price. Light weight rack. Bikes are secure. Cons.....I have a full size spare on my Jeep Wrangler in which the rack is on. The way the rack's straps attach through the bumper won't work properly for me because of the two bar on the bumper. Directions other option says to attach straps at bottom of rear gate. With the rubber seal there, the hooks won't attach. I was able to make the straps fit on a portion of the tow bar. Was worried a bit about the stability of the rack but slow driving over bumps everything wS fine. Another con is fitting the 3 bikes. As long as the bike frames are "normal" the 3 bikes fit snug. 1 of our bikes is a walmart brand "next" with a weird frame. Because of this bike being a kids bike I was able to still make the bike fit the rack. We had to take the seats off the bikes and shift the peddles around, but we managed to make them fit. I also used my own bike lock to lock down the rack when we were riding the bikes. Probably would be easy for someone to steal. Overall good rack for the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

works great

08/02/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have a jeep wrangler with an over-sized spare tire .... it fits and works great
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+51points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Good Buy

06/03/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bought this bike rack for our Honda CRV so we wouldn't have to keep trying to fit our two adult bikes in the back of the car and take one bike apart to make it fit. Arrived quickly, no assembly required and easy to install. Arms are a little short to hold three bikes but we only need it for two bikes anyway. Woman's bike a little tight to get the front strap to pull down but we make it work. We even take the bike rack off when we get to our destination and fold it up and put it in the car so it doesn't get stolen because it is that easy to install once we are done. Price is a little higher than I would have liked for such a simply made product, but was well worth the elimination of the hassle it takes to load bikes into trunk of car. Overall, it was a good buy and we are very happy with it and wish we had bought it sooner.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

A Good Fit for RAV4

08/04/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I looked high and low for something to fit my 2009 RAV4, then finally came across the Allen 303DB. What they dont tell you is you have to take your plastic wheel cover off. But in the end, it will salvage all the scrapes that would have come with it. Glad i bought this and worth the price.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+32points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Rav 4 installed
Posted 06/19/2013
Thank you for this review! Were you able to open the back with the rack installed? or did you have to unhook it somewhere?
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 11 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Alan 3 bike mount

09/24/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This is a garbage product. I returned it
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Good Product for a Good Price

04/05/2010
By ,
Middle Georgia
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Overall I really like the bike rack. I was having problems finding a reasonably priced rack that would hold 3 bikes while I tow a camper with my Toyota FJ Cruiser. The Allen Rack works great for this!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+19points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

The Best Thing Since Sliced Bread

07/28/2010
By ,
Cleveland, TN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is easy to install, easy to use and carries three bikes. It's perfect for what I need.
You have to learn to modify it to how you are going to use it. I use a bungee or tie-off to keep the front wheel of my bike from twisting around on long trips. No big deal at all.
You can't lock a bike into either, so don't expect to run into Wal-Mart for an hour with your $700 Trek on the back of it.
It's also very durable. I've beat the heck out of mine and it's still sturdy.
Overall, works perfect. I drive a 99 Honda CRV.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Very easy to put on vehicle.

10/09/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bike carrier is exactly as pictured. We have a Honda CRV 2003 which is not listed for the carrier but it fits fine. We do put a cotton towel next to the car to cushion the bar which is over the spare tire. We are very satisfied with this purchase. The only concern I would have is if someone had to transport 3 bicycles. We have 2 and the carrier is great. Three bicycles would seem to be a VERY tight fit.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Excellent bike rack for spare tires.

09/11/2014
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It is light weight and really easy to set up. It took a trial of putting the bikes on the rack and re-adjusting the straps to get it exactly right, but I expected that. For the money, this is a good rack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Sturdy but sloppy

09/02/2014
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It holds two bikes easily, third one is a pain. The instructions and descriptions are inadequate. The straps that are to be strapped on to the car keep hanging down. There should have been a Velcro or something to hold them together and keep from hanging down. The cradles that hold the bike are not held down properly on the rack and they keep moving around.
It is a decent product that did the job for me with some inconvenience.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier
06/19/2011
By ,
Uniontown, Pa.
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good solid Bike rack. It is well worth the money. It can be put on and taken off easily. I suggest some pipe wrap insulation where the rack rests against the rim. I only rated 4 stars as I am only able to fit 2 bikes on the rack. The tie downs are too close together to fit three bikes. I have tested it out with two 26" bikes on it. I have driven it around town and short 12 mile trips the last two weeks. I have had no problems. My wife and I will be taking a 1,600+ mile round trip shortly. I'll update on how it holds up.
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Easy to put on and take off. Holds tight.

07/30/2011
By ,
Rogers, AR
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very happy about this bike rack. Easy to take off and put on, so I don't have to leave it on all the time. That was the first plus. It holds super tight and is easy to adjust. Second plus. The arms have tie-downs built in so you don't have to add your own straps or bungees, unlike some bike racks that have just velcro. Third plus. And fits my oversized tire, and seems to be automatically fit just about any spare on the back, from the way it's designed. Fourth. Plus. It's a win.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Great value

06/06/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
This bike carrier is worth the money. The only major complaint I have is that the rack will rub your rim and cause damage. I have tried using a tire cover, but it will rub a hole through that as well. This is a good product for the money, but the design could be improved. It will work well for you if you can fix the rubbing issue. If you plan on transporting your bike often, then I recommend looking elsewhere.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Model 303DB Deluxe Spare Tire Mounted 3-Bike Carrier

Excellent inexpensive bike rack

06/07/2011
By ,
Berkshire, Ma
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bike rack, first one that I've owned and I'm very pleased with it. Fits my 2004 Jeep Liberty. Very good inexpensive bike rack, would recommend to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1 2 3 4 Next