Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

The Allen Deluxe 5-Bike Hitch Mount Rack has an innovative design that enables a secure fit in 2" receiver hitch. This 2-receiver hitch bike rack has a patented tie-down system that individually protects and secures bicycles. The 25" long carry arm of the hitch-mounted bike carrier can accommodate up to five bikes. The unique, folding design of the carry arm allows the racks arms to drop out of the way when not in use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.379 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(161 Reviews) 142
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
46
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation92%148 out of 161reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
17 Questions | 121 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
97
4 stars
46
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Great 5 Bike Carrier

06/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished a 300 miles road trip. Easy to assemble and install. Very sturdy. You'll need two bungee cords to thread through the wheels to keep the bikes from swinging and some padding for the center bar in case the bikes rub against it. Buy the "adaptor bar" if you have a girls bike.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Great rack for a great price!

07/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been researching bike racks for about 2 years now and didn't want to spend more than $150 to $200. We have an Explorer and and Expediton, both with large hatches and I was debating on a 4 or 5 bike rack. Well, since our youngest is 5, we decided on a 5 bike. however, his frame is too small for the rack, so for now it will go in the hatch.
I payed for 2 day shipping and it arrived when it said it would. I put it together in about 10 minutes. Dh mounted it on the expedition and then we placed my bike on it to see if I was able to do it, since I will be the one using it most of the time. Wasn't too bad and I think I will be able to get mine and the older two's bikes on without a problem. I just have to remember to put anything in the hatch before loading the bikes because it is quite heavy. i also plan on buying a locking hitch pin just to be safe.
The cheapest I found this rack anywhere was $150 (most included free shipping). However, I got it shipped 2 day for $120. Great rack for not a lot of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Sturdy & Good Value

09/17/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking and many racks and reading reviews, this 5 bike rack from walmart was clearly the best deal. The neighbor got a cheaper rack at half the price and he got what he paid for (junk). He wishes he spent a little more and got the Allen 5 bike deluxe so he could drive without worry. The Allen is not as fancy as the ones at the bike shop, but is more sturdy and functional. The straps have saddles that rotate. Bikes are easy to tie down. Rotating arms is easy. The no wobble bolt is great (no wobbles). Allen sells a no wobble locking bolt (501L) which walmart needs to start selling. I got it at another website and it is nice to be able to leave the rack connected no wobble all weekend without worry of it getting stolen. Just need a few bungies to steady the bottom of the bikes and you are ready to go. Walmart sells the 5 bike much less than anyone else, at the 4 bike price. I usually order website to store which is free shipping; this time chose cheapest UPS Ground and had it in just a couple days. Love it!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

A good rack for the money!!

03/19/2010
By ,
Union City, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good rack for the money. I mounted the rack to a 1999 Toyota Sienna. I've used the hitch to carry two adult MTB and three kids bikes (Dynacraft 20" Triax PK7) for several local trips. The bikes loaded very easily. The couplings swivel, allowing small bikes to attach with out a crossbar.
The rack was very easy to put together and install. The rack has already paid for itself in the enjoyment my family has had biking on several great bike trails with family and friends.
Two things I did to prevent the bike rack from being stolen:
1) I use "Master Lock 262DAT Chrome Lug Nut Style Spare Tire Lock" to secure the "No-Wobble Bolt".
2) Replace a 3/8"x3" bolt with a QR CLIP. I can easily remove the rack assembly and put it in my trunk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+94points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Outstanding product and value

08/21/2011
By ,
Litchfield, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't be happier with this product. I have carried 5 adult bikes of various frame styles thousands of miles this summer with the family. It's strong and although some thinking is involved in manuevering 5 bikes into place, as it would with any rack of this nature, it hasn't dissappointed me even once. At $99 I can't imagine a better purchase. Saved $100's over Thule and Yakima. For about $15 more total I purchsed a 6 foot plastic coated security cable and pair of matched pad locks which allows me to secure the upper rack to my trailer chain slot which is more than enough secuity. Also allows enough cable to secure the bikes when they are on the rack. I prefer the strap down mechanism over the rubber bands I have seen used on other racks. Takes just a moment longer but even my 13 year old son finds it a snap to do. This was the deal of the summer for me! Have never felt compelled to write a product review until now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Went Back to the 4 Bike Carrier

07/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I first ordered the Allen 4 Bike carrier and was very impressed with it. Thinking the five bike carrier would be better I ordered it thinking it would be better to put four bikes on as it is hard getting the maximum on any carrier. Well the five bike carrier arrived and I was very disappointed. The first bike has to be put on in the lowered position and unless you get an extension for your hitch the pedal will scrape the back of your vehicle. The four bike carrier is designed so all mount on back side of carrier. Needless to say we sent this one back and ordered the four bike carrier again and are very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Really nice rack!

11/16/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy assembly in 10 minutes or less. Very sturdy. I put 3full size bikes on this and went over 1300 miles with no problems. Grest quality for the price.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Good Value but needs better quick release pins

08/06/2010
By ,
Greater Boston area, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've only used it a few times and don't know how the more expensive racks compare, but this seems to be a great value at half the cost of other racks. There is a little play between the hitch and the rack and between the lower and upper uprights, so the rack will shift while driving around corners or braking, but everything feels solid with 4 bikes on it. I wish the quick release pins had a more secure locking system (such as locking through the pin instead of around it). Overall, a great value, but probably could be made with parts that fit more snugly together and better quick release pins.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+22points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Great deal/customer service

11/22/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched and searched for a good price on a 5 bike rack. I found the best price at Walmart to I promptly purchased one. After getting it home and out of the box, I noticed one of the plastic clips was broken. I found the email address for the Allen company and emailed them to ask what I needed to do to find a replacement. They promptly responded to my email and within 3 days, I had an entire new clip system. The bike rack is sturdy and is easy to slip all our bikes on the rack. I am thoroughly impressed with the Allen company and this bike rack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+37points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Buy this Bike Rack!!

06/08/2011
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband was very skeptical that this bike rack would be any good, before we got it. Plus, he didn't think it would work for our new vehicle, a 2011 Hyundai Santa Fe, but it worked perfectly. We drove over 100 miles each way over Memorial Day Weekend, and never had a single problem with it. We did, however need to buy an adapter so it would fit on our receiver, as ours is a pretty small one. We picked one up in a Walmart store for about $10 I think. I do think the lock idea someone else suggested makes sense to avoid theft. But over all, we love the bike rack, exactly what we were looking for, for WAY less money than anywhere we'd looked online!! And believe me, we looked!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Good buy

10/31/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product for the price!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Very sturdy rack

06/03/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
The rack is stable and does not have any free play in it. We recently carried four bikes, with one behind the arm. The spacing for the bikes is a bit tight, and we had to remove the seats to accomodate three bikes on the exterior side. There could be adjustments for spacing, which there is not.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+20points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Can't beat the price

02/15/2011
By ,
Burbank
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I found this same product selling for $50-$70 more at other places, so this was a great buy. Fitting 4 bikes was ok, but I did have trouble fitting 5 bikes (2 adult & 3 kids) on it, but it can be done. Some of the kids bikes are tough to fit on it as the cross bar on the kid’s bikes was not long enough to fit easily, but found a way to do it. The strapping system takes a little longer to implement than some of the more expensive bike carriers, but for the occasional riders that we are, this was fine. The piece was sturdy and held onto the bikes fine. I do recommend getting a hitch lock, so you can leave it on while biking and not worry about someone taking it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Not a good hitch overall

07/17/2011
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I was traveling 1500 miles round trip from ny to fla. I was planning to take 4 bikes to sc and drop off 1 and then pick up 2 smaller bikes( belonging to grand kids) total 5 but when i reached sc even though the bikes were well below the weight limit and all were rotated facing opposite directions ,1 rail bent down. I left my bike and my wifes so we could safely bring the grand kids and then 1 plastic clip on the rear (closest to car) broke so i had to put the bikes together . because of the close space between them both bikes were scratched during the ride. All in all the fact that the weight could not be supported as claimed. It caused problems with everything else.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Good Rack for the Price

04/28/2014
By ,
Bradenton, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
No problem assembling. My hitch receiver is about 2 inches behind the bumper, rather than flush, which makes the rack a little closer to the vehicle. As a result, the bike closest to the car would not quite fit. I purchased a hitch extender for about $20, and that solved the issue. Also, bought a locking pin, and used the no wobble bolt to attach the rack to the extender since that is the only thing I need the extender for. I use multiple things on the hitch so it didn't make sense to permanently attach the no wobble bolt anyway. 3 Adult bikes, one 24" bike and an 18" bike fit well on the rack. So far so good.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

GREAT product at a GREAT price!

07/21/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I was hesitant about purchasing the Allen brand carrier vs. some of the more expensive carriers as a gift for my husband but he was not disappointed at all. It was very quick & easy to assemble and works great. I would highly recommend this carrier to anyone who wants a really nice, sturdy one and doesn't want to over pay just for a more well known name!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

horrible product.

06/19/2010
By ,
Castaic Ca
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I bought this product just prior to leaving on a 2 week camping trip. I mounted 5 bicycles on it. Only 2 were full sized. I put those closest to the upright post. The other three bikes were for my children ranging from 8 to 3 year old. I put the smallest bike furthest from the upright post. Several of the plastic spacers broke during the trip causing the bikes to shift and contact each other, damaging the paint on the bikes. Later, one of the horizontal mounts bent at least 4 inches lower than the other one. I had to tie up the rack with rope because I feared it would brake and drop all the bikes on the highway. I am planning on returning it and making a rack of my own. I can't believe a rack rated for 5 bikes could not hold 2 adult and 3 kids bikes!
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Great rack

07/23/2014
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as promised, works great & fits 5 bikes. Amazing Value.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Great for families!

07/07/2013
By ,
Jordan, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We bought this bike rack this spring so our family could spend more active time together. We regularly carry four adult bike (2 mountain bikes and 2 cruiser/mountain combo bikes) and a boys bmx and have had no problems whatsoever. It did take some time the first time or two that we loaded the bikes to figure out how they best fit, but now even my kids can load the bikes up in less than 10 minutes. We do use an adapter to make our 11/4" receiver into a 2" receiver, and this probably gives us just a little extra room for the inner bike. We do secure the tires together with bungees as well as an extra in the middle just to make sure they are good to go. We did purchase locking pins so our rack/bikes cannot be stolen. It is very easy to use bike locks to secure the bikes to the carrier. We have gone on several trips and never had concerns about losing our bikes. For the money, this seems to be a great choice for limited budgets.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

convenient for hauling bikes

06/27/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I just completed a trip to southern Utah and took a few bikes on this carrier (400 miles round trip). It worked well. The vertical bar rocks out of the way so I could still get into the back of my van with the bicycles attached. The bikes traveled well without any problems. One was my buddy's high-end road bike (value: $2000) and when we arrived the bike was unscratched. So I was happy about that.
The no-wobble attachment bolt made attaching the bike carrier to the van a bit more cumbersome than I wanted. So I drilled out the mounting hole and made it just a little bigger so that the carrier could be attached using a standard mounting bar. I was a little worried that the carrier might be too floppy, but it worked just fine on our long trip.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 143 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next