Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Allen Sports Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

The Allen Deluxe 5-Bike Hitch Mount Rack has an innovative design that enables a secure fit in 2" receiver hitch. This 2-receiver hitch bike rack has a patented tie-down system that individually protects and secures bicycles. The 25" long carry arm of the hitch-mounted bike carrier can accommodate up to five bikes. The unique, folding design of the carry arm allows the racks arms to drop out of the way when not in use.
Average Customer Rating:
4.405 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(178 Reviews) 159
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
110
4 stars
49
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation93%165 out of 178reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
18 Questions | 127 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
110
4 stars
49
3 stars
7
2 stars
5
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Great 5 Bike Carrier

06/28/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just finished a 300 miles road trip. Easy to assemble and install. Very sturdy. You'll need two bungee cords to thread through the wheels to keep the bikes from swinging and some padding for the center bar in case the bikes rub against it. Buy the "adaptor bar" if you have a girls bike.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
 
My Product Recommendations
 
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Great rack for a great price!

07/05/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been researching bike racks for about 2 years now and didn't want to spend more than $150 to $200. We have an Explorer and and Expediton, both with large hatches and I was debating on a 4 or 5 bike rack. Well, since our youngest is 5, we decided on a 5 bike. however, his frame is too small for the rack, so for now it will go in the hatch.
I payed for 2 day shipping and it arrived when it said it would. I put it together in about 10 minutes. Dh mounted it on the expedition and then we placed my bike on it to see if I was able to do it, since I will be the one using it most of the time. Wasn't too bad and I think I will be able to get mine and the older two's bikes on without a problem. I just have to remember to put anything in the hatch before loading the bikes because it is quite heavy. i also plan on buying a locking hitch pin just to be safe.
The cheapest I found this rack anywhere was $150 (most included free shipping). However, I got it shipped 2 day for $120. Great rack for not a lot of money!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Sturdy & Good Value

09/17/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
After looking and many racks and reading reviews, this 5 bike rack from walmart was clearly the best deal. The neighbor got a cheaper rack at half the price and he got what he paid for (junk). He wishes he spent a little more and got the Allen 5 bike deluxe so he could drive without worry. The Allen is not as fancy as the ones at the bike shop, but is more sturdy and functional. The straps have saddles that rotate. Bikes are easy to tie down. Rotating arms is easy. The no wobble bolt is great (no wobbles). Allen sells a no wobble locking bolt (501L) which walmart needs to start selling. I got it at another website and it is nice to be able to leave the rack connected no wobble all weekend without worry of it getting stolen. Just need a few bungies to steady the bottom of the bikes and you are ready to go. Walmart sells the 5 bike much less than anyone else, at the 4 bike price. I usually order website to store which is free shipping; this time chose cheapest UPS Ground and had it in just a couple days. Love it!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+5points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Outstanding for the Price

05/28/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Overall I really like this bike carrier. When using the locking bolt that comes with it, the carrier does not wobble with the 4 bikes I load onto it. I have used it on both my van and RV. It is very solid. Some things to note if you are considering purchasing.
1. This is more fore bigger bikes. Little kid bikes do not span the distance between the two bars. The 24'' wheel bikes for my boys just fit. You could put smaller bikes on, but not in the traditional manner.
2. It would be nice if it came with a locking pin option. I personally take the carrier off when we go on the trail and put in in the back of the van/rv. Seems to easy to have someone just walk off with it.
3. It would be difficult to get 5 bikes on it, but I'm sure doable. I usually get three on the first three slots closest to the vehicle and then put the 4th bike on the last slot because it is easier than trying to squeeze it on next to the other bikes.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

A good rack for the money!!

03/19/2010
By ,
Union City, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A good rack for the money. I mounted the rack to a 1999 Toyota Sienna. I've used the hitch to carry two adult MTB and three kids bikes (Dynacraft 20" Triax PK7) for several local trips. The bikes loaded very easily. The couplings swivel, allowing small bikes to attach with out a crossbar.
The rack was very easy to put together and install. The rack has already paid for itself in the enjoyment my family has had biking on several great bike trails with family and friends.
Two things I did to prevent the bike rack from being stolen:
1) I use "Master Lock 262DAT Chrome Lug Nut Style Spare Tire Lock" to secure the "No-Wobble Bolt".
2) Replace a 3/8"x3" bolt with a QR CLIP. I can easily remove the rack assembly and put it in my trunk.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+101points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Outstanding product and value

08/21/2011
By ,
Litchfield, NH
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I couldn't be happier with this product. I have carried 5 adult bikes of various frame styles thousands of miles this summer with the family. It's strong and although some thinking is involved in manuevering 5 bikes into place, as it would with any rack of this nature, it hasn't dissappointed me even once. At $99 I can't imagine a better purchase. Saved $100's over Thule and Yakima. For about $15 more total I purchsed a 6 foot plastic coated security cable and pair of matched pad locks which allows me to secure the upper rack to my trailer chain slot which is more than enough secuity. Also allows enough cable to secure the bikes when they are on the rack. I prefer the strap down mechanism over the rubber bands I have seen used on other racks. Takes just a moment longer but even my 13 year old son finds it a snap to do. This was the deal of the summer for me! Have never felt compelled to write a product review until now.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Usage:Once per week
+4points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Great deal/customer service

11/22/2010
By ,
Florida
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I searched and searched for a good price on a 5 bike rack. I found the best price at Walmart to I promptly purchased one. After getting it home and out of the box, I noticed one of the plastic clips was broken. I found the email address for the Allen company and emailed them to ask what I needed to do to find a replacement. They promptly responded to my email and within 3 days, I had an entire new clip system. The bike rack is sturdy and is easy to slip all our bikes on the rack. I am thoroughly impressed with the Allen company and this bike rack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per month
+40points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Great Bike Carrier

06/22/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've used this bike carrier 8 times so far and usually carry 5 bikes at a time. It's getting easier to load the bikes now that I know where they fit best. I use a locking hitch pin instead of the factory bolt and nut. Straps hold bikes tight. No problems so far. Great quality carrier.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Buy this Bike Rack!!

06/08/2011
By ,
Minnesota
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My husband was very skeptical that this bike rack would be any good, before we got it. Plus, he didn't think it would work for our new vehicle, a 2011 Hyundai Santa Fe, but it worked perfectly. We drove over 100 miles each way over Memorial Day Weekend, and never had a single problem with it. We did, however need to buy an adapter so it would fit on our receiver, as ours is a pretty small one. We picked one up in a Walmart store for about $10 I think. I do think the lock idea someone else suggested makes sense to avoid theft. But over all, we love the bike rack, exactly what we were looking for, for WAY less money than anywhere we'd looked online!! And believe me, we looked!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+13points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

amazing price for excellent bike carrier

06/18/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It carried all 5 of our bikes with no problems, and I really like that it has a lifetime warranty. Had no problems setting it up or using it on our recent vacation. And the rollback price of $99 was fantastic.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Tight fit but can put 5 bikes on

06/10/2015
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recently purchased this bike rack and got to use it this weekend. Assembles in a few minutes. Drove about 100 miles with it carrying 5 bikes on it.
Pros:
- Does fit 5 bikes. I was able to fit 3 adult bikes (including two 29" bikes), one teen bike and one child bike. Takes a bit of planning / organizing. There isn't tons of room but I suspect other 5 bike racks would be similar (although I haven't tried any other ones)
- "No-wobble" bolt actually works quite well (we had an older Allen bike rack with conventional hitch "pin" and this one is much more sturdy. However, some owners might want to use conventional hitch "pin" in order to remove the rack easier. With 5 on the rack, I'm sure they likely bump / scrape into each other.
- It was very cheap when I bought it a few weeks ago (although it seems to be much more now).
- straps work well although the brackets themselves aren't that big (I think they are noticeably bigger on the "premier" model although I'm not sure if that actually makes any difference)
- tilting and folding arms works well and are easy to use (our older rack didn't to these)
- the "arms" of the rack are padded which makes it quite a bit easier to load without having to be worried about scratching the bikes.
Cons:
- "No-wobble" bolt requires tools to remove so you can't remove easily to store rack in trunk. It would be nice to have a "No-wobble" with quick release.
- no way to lock bikes to rack (our older Allen bike rack had loops welded on the frame of bike rake so you could lock the bikes to the rack).
Overall, I'm very pleased with the rack.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Good Value but needs better quick release pins

08/06/2010
By ,
Greater Boston area, MA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
We've only used it a few times and don't know how the more expensive racks compare, but this seems to be a great value at half the cost of other racks. There is a little play between the hitch and the rack and between the lower and upper uprights, so the rack will shift while driving around corners or braking, but everything feels solid with 4 bikes on it. I wish the quick release pins had a more secure locking system (such as locking through the pin instead of around it). Overall, a great value, but probably could be made with parts that fit more snugly together and better quick release pins.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per year
+26points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Worked Great!

06/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product is sturdy. I put 4 bikes on it for a camping trip two weekends ago and drove over two hours in each direction. No problems, no rattling. I haven't tested it with 5 bikes yet, but I don't anticipate an issue. I think it is a great value.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Works great ,a good bike rack

06/13/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bikes are a little tight together but still is a good bike rack and hardly no wobble at all when all the bolts are tightened down
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

This is a 4-Bike Carrier

06/04/2015
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I say this because if you look closely which I did not the bike that is closest to the hatch/rear of your suv or van will scratch and ding up the back of it. This needs to say 4-bike carrier. I need a 5 bike carrier when my son is older, but not this summer and decided to go ahead and use it. Other than that it's worth the price and just as good as some of the other name brands out there. I gave it 2 stars because it's not a 5 bike carrier.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Sturdy

06/04/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I used with 5 bikes, 2 adult, 3 kids. Easy to assemble and use, straps are nice. Only way to improve this item is why don't they have a strap or two that would go from the rack up to top of vehicle opening similar to the smaller bike racks that attach to cars, this would prevent the bouncing that these style racks do from large bumps or sways in the road.
This rack didn't have hardly any side to side sway but did have up and down sway from bumps.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Fit on my RV

06/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This product fits great on my Rv. Mounted our 5 bikes with no issues. I shopped around for the best price and Walmart beat our everyone else. Shipping was fast and on time.
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Awesome

06/12/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Awesome for the money! Works outstanding!
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

Went Back to the 4 Bike Carrier

07/21/2014
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I first ordered the Allen 4 Bike carrier and was very impressed with it. Thinking the five bike carrier would be better I ordered it thinking it would be better to put four bikes on as it is hard getting the maximum on any carrier. Well the five bike carrier arrived and I was very disappointed. The first bike has to be put on in the lowered position and unless you get an extension for your hitch the pedal will scrape the back of your vehicle. The four bike carrier is designed so all mount on back side of carrier. Needless to say we sent this one back and ordered the four bike carrier again and are very happy with it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+7points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Allen Sports Deluxe Hitch-Mounted 5-Bike Carrier for 2'' Receiver Hitches

bike rack

06/11/2015
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy to install and use and a great price
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1-20 of 160 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  8 Next