Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Sony AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Sony AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

This digital to analog TV converter easily connects to your analog TV so you can receive free over-the-air digital TV broadcasts.
Average Customer Rating:
3.739 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
(69 Reviews) 48
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Recommendation77%53 out of 69reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
26
4 stars
25
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
11
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

bad choice

07/12/2010
By ,
ohio
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the converter box worked for a few days. When it stopped working, the manufacturer wanted twice what I had paid for it, to replalce it.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
0points
Review 2 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

Poor product

01/06/2010
By ,
Joplin, MO
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I ordered this product as I needed a 3rd HDTV converter box. I assumed they all were equal in performance. I assumed wrong. My previous 2 converter boxes worked fine with an inside antenna. I had to purchase a more expensive inside antenna for this product to work. I tried this product on 3 different TV's with the antennas that worked with those TV's. It was definitely the product as I also switched around my previous converter boxes to rule out other possibilities. This product is a VERY POOR product. SKIP this brand and get something else.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+31points
Review 3 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

Not Worth the Money

06/09/2010
By ,
Denver, Colorado
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This product did not work very well at all, not only is it not receive channels properly it has a terrible remote, that I have to always turn the Unit "On" and "Off" by using the button on the front of it, rather then the Remote. It didn't track into but 10% of my normal TV channels, my other Analog/Digital one's I had purchased work perfectly. Sadly this product isn't worth the $45 I paid for it at all.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 4 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

Ok, when it was working

12/25/2009
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worked great for just short of 24 hours. This thing was so hot when plugged in that you couldn't even touch it. It did its job and I got all the channels I was supposed to get, crystal clear. I just assume that it burned up because it stopped working while watching tv the following day. Luckily, I can just return it to the local store. Unfortunately, they don't even carry these things in the store so I'll be ordering the other one that is on the Walmart site.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
+5points
Review 5 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

No help line

02/14/2010
By ,
Kissimmee, Florida
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Product would not function properly...called the help line three times...no response at all. Could not get past the call menu. Returned the product to my local store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
0points
Review 6 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

Reception OK. Sound noisy (stsatic)

05/02/2010
By ,
fla
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Static noise. I tried to connect it to different electric outlets and changing places for the converter box to no avail. The noise persists. The manufacturer phone and email contacts are null. I'll be trying to return it to WalMart.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 7 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

Waste of money and time

06/14/2010
By ,
Michigan
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This box is so small that it probably doesn't have any fan at all. If it does have a fan it must be very small. It was always very hot when it was being used. Otherwise it worked fine for three weeks but then there was no more picture on any channel. Just wavy lines and straight lines, some color and some black and white. Still had sound on every channel. Manufacturer is to blame for poor quality, not Wal-Mart. I took it back to the store and got a full refund.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 8 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

disappointment

01/15/2010
By ,
Gainesville, FL
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
This converter box was a huge disappointment. The remote control was totally messed up. The buttons did not function as they should. Additionally there was a constant buzz.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
+3points
Review 9 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

poor reception

04/05/2010
By ,
Springfield, VA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I haven't tried any other companies, but the reception is spotty if bad weather and the channels available seem to be mostly foreign ones, not the local stations. I am going to send it back.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 10 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control
06/25/2010
By ,
Twin Falls ID
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The product is not working and I have tried numerous times to contact AccessHD - either by phone or email and have not received any responses from them.
Needless to say, I am not a satisfied customer.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Never
+1point
Review 11 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

Don't buy Access HD

07/08/2010
By ,
Little Canada, MN
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Installed converter box right when I got it. Converter box would only work half of the time with the remote. I also put in different batteries in the remote. I tried to rescan with a different antenna to get better reception but then could not find the menu spot to rescan. After 30 min., I gave up and packed it in the box to return to the store.
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 12 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

still not great

05/30/2010
By ,
il
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
not any better than any of the rest ,,thinking bout taking it back..
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 13 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

Digital to Analog Converter

01/10/2010
By ,
Los Angeles,CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This converter does not help our TV receive all of the basic channels (i.e. ABC, Fox and two local Los Angeles channels in the lower channel numbers such as 9 and 13.
It does add channels we have never seen before though.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

Needs more to work

06/12/2010
By ,
Danville,Ky
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This product is not bad.It is compact,easy to setup and use but the information that's not given is that you need to buy an antenna. The unit and the remote that comes with it is both simple and easy to use which makes my husband extremely happy. So I would recommend this product to those who are electronically challenged or those that don't have time for setups.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Review 15 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

Not sure if they're all like this...

06/26/2010
By ,
Saltillo, MS
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Or just the one my mother got. You definitely need to use an outdoor antenna with the longest UHF range you can afford. The converter box is slow to power on. It's extremely slow to tune from one channel to the next whether you use the remote or if you hit the buttons by hand. It's really lightweight, you have to hold it with one hand while you push the buttons to keep it from falling off your TV.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 16 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

TV in the kitchen

06/02/2010
By ,
MD
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I found this converter box to be worth the money, I live in a condo and could not get cable in my kitchen, so the small size of the product was important. It wasn't
too hard to follow the instructions.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 17 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

Just ok

06/10/2010
By ,
Lexington, KY
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have a Magnovox which I purchased with a government coupon and it does an excellent job. The AcessHD is a little harder to set up but still does a good job.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 18 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control
01/25/2010
By ,
Clio, Alabama
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to program, not too expensive. Would recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control

good product

07/14/2010
By ,
Pueblo, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this for an analog tv in my basement. I have an antenna for the tv in the window of the basement to get a better signal. Depending on the weather the I can get reception.
Only down fall. I have to move the cords to watch movies, and move them back to watch tv.
Very easy set up.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 20 for AccessHD 1080-U Digital-to-Analog TV Converter Box with Remote Control
07/15/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I really enjoyed the clear picture that I recieved when I attached by converter box to my T.V.. It more than met my expectations!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 49 total reviews
1 2 3 Next