Ratings and Reviews
Shop Now At Walmart

Customer Reviews for Canon Canon EOS 7D Black 18MP Digital SLR Camera Kit w/ 28-135mm Lens, 3" LCD, 1080p HD Movie, Magnesium Body

Canon Canon EOS 7D Black 18MP Digital SLR Camera Kit w/ 28-135mm Lens, 3" LCD, 1080p HD Movie, Magnesium Body

Made to be the tool of choice for serious photographers and semi-professionals, this Canon digital SLR camera features an all-new 18-megapixel APS-C size CMOS sensor and dual DIGIC 4 Image processors. It can capture tremendous images at up to ISO 12800 and at speeds of up to 8 fps. The Canon zoom lens provides an image stabilizer and apertures from f3.5 to f5.6. The Canon EOS DSLR camera is also compatible with more than 60 EF and EF-S lenses, as well as with EOS System accessories.
Average Customer Rating:
4.597 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(419 Reviews) 417
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
325
4 stars
53
3 stars
17
2 stars
14
1 star
10
Customer Recommendation90%378 out of 419reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 18 Answers
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
325
4 stars
53
3 stars
17
2 stars
14
1 star
10
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Canon EOS 7D Black 18MP Digital SLR Camera Kit w/ 28-135mm Lens, 3" LCD, 1080p HD Movie, Magnesium Body

My new toy

04/13/2010
By ,
Burrillville, RI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I researched a great deal before purchasing this camera as it will be my primary piece of equipment going forward. It has a great deal of features and I have enjoyed everyday that I have used it so far. I love using the 8 FPS during my son's sporting events. I capture every move. The fact that it is not a full frame camera has taken some getting used to but it is fine. Overall, I am pleased with my purchase. It was a good value as I really wanted to stay within a budget.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+10points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Canon EOS 7D Black 18MP Digital SLR Camera Kit w/ 28-135mm Lens, 3" LCD, 1080p HD Movie, Magnesium Body

Incredible Camera. Get the 5D II instead.

01/03/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The new 7D is great. It has a new sensor at 18 ginormous megapixels, which gives you tons of room for cropping or enlarging--up to 20x30 easily.
The new autofocus works great with extra sensors for your wide apertures to help it focus on the right subject (I can't tell you how many times in a hurry I have focused behind the subjecty with my 50mm lens)
There are now two CPUs for processing images quickly and for collecting your HD video at normal frame rates. This is definitely one up on the T1i. The frame rate is a blazing 8 fps, which makes this passable for sports photography.
It also does individual lens microfocusing for the perfectionists out there, which also saves on the costs of sending lenses back to Canon for servicing.
My one little problem is that at this price, it is not a full frame camera! Besides which, you're only around five hundred dollars short of the 5D mk II which IS full frame. The 7D has a better autofocus though, along with double the frame rate.
This camera is great for the amateur, or a primary or backup for a sports photographer
Pros: Great camera! Sweet autofocus.
Cons: Just the one downside.
Summary: I don't think it's worth that much more than the 50D for most people, and it's not enough for those of us who covet the 5D II.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+53points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Canon EOS 7D Black 18MP Digital SLR Camera Kit w/ 28-135mm Lens, 3" LCD, 1080p HD Movie, Magnesium Body

A Real Winner!

03/06/2010
By ,
Ithaca, NY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I'm a semi-professional photographer and wanted to upgrade my equipment. After weeks of research I decided to purchase the 7D. My decision was heavily influenced by the fact that I own several Canon EF/S lenses and needed to keep my business expenses limited. Sure, a 5DMkII would be awesome, but I needed a good camera and not a completely new lens collection. My pictures don't need to be blown up to poster size, either.
The 8fps shutter speed on this camera is only 2fps slower than the top-of-the-line 1D. It is blazing fast and keeps up with sports action very well. You can increase your chances of success by learning to use the various AF zone options depending on what sport you are shooting.
Canon made a smart move by adding two Digic 4 processors to this camera and dedicating one of them to the auto-focus system. It does make tracking a moving object quite accurate.
My secondary reason for buying this camera was the built-in HD movie capability. Pair the 7D with a fast lens and you can make outstanding HD videos and not have to lug around a camcorder at the same time. The T2i is coming out soon with HD video but it doesn't offer 60fps. If you want to do slow-motion replay for dramatic effect then 60fps will let you do just that.
Pair this outstanding camera with a Canon 480EX-II or 580EX-II flash and you have a great sports or wedding setup.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+29points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Canon EOS 7D Black 18MP Digital SLR Camera Kit w/ 28-135mm Lens, 3" LCD, 1080p HD Movie, Magnesium Body

Great Camera / BAD Lens

03/11/2014
By ,
Madeira Beach, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased my 2nd 7D through Walmart because they had the best online price at the time. The product was delivered as promised and on time.
I wouldn't have bought a 2nd 7D if I was not happy with the performance of Canon cameras. It is a solid well built camera and holds up to the rigors of professional use...
I would not recommend the 28-135 lens kit however. As a loyal Canon user for over 35 years, I was absolutely floored by how cheaply the 28-135 lens is made. Even for a beginner's lens, the quality of the lens construction is extremely poor.
I was looking for a small, versatile lens that I could use for general snapshots without having to carry around my prime lenses and fast aperture zooms. The zoom on this lens is not solid and feels like a cheap plastic toy lens. Not what I expected from a Canon product...
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Battery Life
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture Quality
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ease of Use
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Canon EOS 7D Black 18MP Digital SLR Camera Kit w/ 28-135mm Lens, 3" LCD, 1080p HD Movie, Magnesium Body

Advanced Amature

04/26/2010
By ,
Lawton, Ok
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Camera exceeded my expectations. Great camera!!!
Only minus is difficult to focus movie mode in bright light using the view screen. Optional device is available to handle this however.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+6points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Canon EOS 7D Black 18MP Digital SLR Camera Kit w/ 28-135mm Lens, 3" LCD, 1080p HD Movie, Magnesium Body
03/25/2011
By ,
greensboro, NC
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been searching for an upgrade of my xsi, after all my search and question I decide to upgrade with the t3i, since it was less money but after contating my teacher he suggest if can afford the 7d will be the best for me, my search restart again for price but Wal-mart is the only one who offers the actual price without increase it and offer a $ 200 rebate, it is a great camera and i start enjoy it since I pick it up at Wal-mart, I will recommend this machine to any one in the field who can afford it and at Walmart side to store with no shipping cost
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Canon EOS 7D Black 18MP Digital SLR Camera Kit w/ 28-135mm Lens, 3" LCD, 1080p HD Movie, Magnesium Body

Great Camera

09/15/2013
By ,
Miami, FL
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is an overall excellent camera, I got this for Christmas last year from my husband and it takes beautiful pictures. The pictures come out so clear and there isn't any noise on the pictures. The camera is durable and strong. I've dropped it accidentally a few times and it has no scratches and still works brand new. If you have intentions on buying this camera, buy it. You will love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Usage:Once per week
0points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Canon EOS 7D Black 18MP Digital SLR Camera Kit w/ 28-135mm Lens, 3" LCD, 1080p HD Movie, Magnesium Body

WoW...What a camera!

09/06/2010
By ,
Indianapolis, IN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This camera not only takes top of the line photos, you can also make a commercial just the pros. After much research we are very happy with our result of the camera. You really don't even have to read the directions to use it with the automatic mode. We highly recommed this camera.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Canon EOS 7D Black 18MP Digital SLR Camera Kit w/ 28-135mm Lens, 3" LCD, 1080p HD Movie, Magnesium Body
10/31/2012
By ,
New York
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Camera But You can get for $1520.99 at Best Buy
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Gender:Male
-2points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Canon EOS 7D Black 18MP Digital SLR Camera Kit w/ 28-135mm Lens, 3" LCD, 1080p HD Movie, Magnesium Body

Love it!!

12/13/2010
By ,
AURORA MO
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this camera. Haven't learned how to do everything with it. But, I will in time.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Canon EOS 7D Black 18MP Digital SLR Camera Kit w/ 28-135mm Lens, 3" LCD, 1080p HD Movie, Magnesium Body
02/27/2011
By ,
Port St Lucie, Fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love the camera!! Takes awesome pics!! Worth every $$$$$$$$!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
-1point
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Canon EOS 7D Black 18MP Digital SLR Camera Kit w/ 28-135mm Lens, 3" LCD, 1080p HD Movie, Magnesium Body
03/07/2011
By ,
haines city fl
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great camara
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
-3points
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Ratings-Only Reviews for Canon EOS 7D Black 18MP Digital SLR Camera Kit w/ 28-135mm Lens, 3" LCD, 1080p HD Movie, Magnesium Body
Based on the average of (407) ratings-only reviews
4.6 out of 5
4.6 out of 5
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5