Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Char-Broil Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Char-Broil Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

This Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker is perfect for all your smoking, grilling and barbequing needs. It features an attractive, compact design that fits well on most patios, and the sleek black look will complement your outdoor decor. You'll enjoy 1,280 sq. in. of total cooking surface area, which makes this charbroil BBQ the right choice for outdoor parties, or any event where you need to feed a crowd. Two wheels let you easily move the charcoal smoker ever you please. Whether smoking, grilling or barbequing, the Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker ensures that your meat will be tender, succulent and juicy. Plus, the charcoal smoker features a convenient front shelf and storage rack.
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(140 Reviews) 126
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
33
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
7
Customer Recommendation89%124 out of 139reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
86
4 stars
33
3 stars
8
2 stars
6
1 star
7
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

Quite Pleased!

05/04/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased this combo bbq/grill/smoker because Target sold out of their bbq/smoker. We're glad we didn't go with the Target grill because we are super pleased with this one! The test drive of the grill yielded us VERY delicious results. It's spacious and maintained the temperature for about 3.5 hours. We added mesquite chips to the smoker and grill area and you could taste the smoky flavor in every bite. Note: it is quite heavy, so you'll need 2 people if not a 3rd to help you carry it & it helps to have an extra set of hands for assembly. Another thing to watch out for: I went through and double checked for all the correct parts and materials. We went through every step to a tee and discovered two screws missing. We managed to end up with two extra different sized screws.
Didn't have any problems with paint coming off or rust. Once we tried it out, we got the hang of using this very quickly! This was an excellent buy!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+7points
Review 2 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

Works well beyond my expectations!

06/26/2011
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I've been looking for a new BBQ since my kettle grill is falling apart (it lasted 25+ yrs). I was amazed at how well this one worked. The only complaints I have (and they're small) is the temperature gauge that comes with it is next to useless. It's works, but it's range is so great that you could have a 50+ temperature difference from one end to the other of the cooking box and not know it. However, this can be fixed by buying and installing two temperature gauges at grill level (I bought the Char Broil gauges for $7 each). Using these gauges I was able to keep the cooking temps within 10 degrees of one another on a breezy day.
Another is that the identification of the hardware doesn't match the numbering in the directions, but if you just follow the directions by the description of the part you'll get it put together correctly. Also, the hardware comes nicely packaged and everything I needed was included.
Also, for a long smoke, use hardwood charcoal not briquettes. I found that the briquettes make to much ash in the firebox and eventually start to smother the fire. I used Kingsford Competition and Stubbs.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+10points
Review 3 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

Aweful Grill

05/24/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I got this grill for my birthday. The FIRST time I fired it up the paint on the sides completly peeled off!!! I am highly displeased with the quality of this grill. I am taking it back to walmart tomorrow for a refund!!!! I just wish I could include pics in this review. Oh, wait, I can.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-25points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
tobyhanna, pa
if u read page 3 of the manual
Posted 05/27/2011
the manual on page 3 will inform you how to season the grill before use so the peeling doesnt happen..good luck..
+9points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 4 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

You can make this smoker even better!

01/18/2012
By ,
Englewood, FL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works great straight out of the box, however...
I compared the expensive smokers (over $400) to this one...two main differences, thickness of the metal (thicker holds heat better) and how well it is sealed (temperature control).
I decided to try to make it better without spending a fortune.
So I bought some flexible heat resistant seal ($20)and installed it around the edge of the lid and then I bought a foil water heater jacket ($22) and covered the lid. A little black spray paint and...
Now I get the performance of a $500 grill for a total out lay of less than half the cost of the expensive models.
Results: Less than 10 degree difference at either end of the smoke box. Charcoal and wood consumption reduced by half and way better temperature control.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Usage:A few times per month
+14points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
PA
Heat Seal??
Posted 07/12/2012
Hi great review on this product. Just wondering where u got the seal for the edges? Do u have a link or a brand name and part#? Thanks!
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 5 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

this is a good one

03/13/2011
By ,
Milwaukee,Wi
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I love this smoker with a little help it can be a great smoker go on u-tube to find out how to make it better
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+15points
Review 6 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

GREAT VALUE AND QUALITY FOR THE PRICE.

10/01/2011
By ,
PASADENA,CALIF.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
TAKE IS FROM A GRILL-MASTER LIKE MYSELF.THIS GRILL IS WELL WORTH THE MONEY.ADDS GREAT SMOKEY FLAVOR RIGHT OUT THE BOX. SOME PEOPLE LIKE TO CUSTOMIZE IT WITH EXTENSIONS ON THE SMOKE CHIMNEY AND EXTRA METAL SMOKE SEALS,BUT NONE OF THIS IS REALLY NEEDED FOR A TRUE GRILL-MASTER . IF YOU ARE THINKING ABOUT GETTING THIS GRILL DON'T HESITATE I THINK YOU WILL BE VERY HAPPY WITH IT BE YOU A ARMATURE OR A GRILL-MASTER. I HAVE ALREADY WON 4 BBQ COOK-OFFS WITH IT AND I JUST BOUGHT IT ON JULY 1st.2011. I CURED IT ON 7/2/11 AND WON MY FIRST TRI TIP AND BRISKET COOK OFF ON THE 4th OF JULY AT THE ROSE BOWL IN PASADENA ,CALIF................ENJOY THIS GRILL AND HEY COUSIN HAVE A SHOT OF GENTLEMAN JACK DANIELS FOR ME....... GOOD COOKIN' FOLKS !!!!!
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Every day
+1point
Review 7 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

Great Value

06/24/2010
By ,
Charleston, SC
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this for hubby for Father's Day. He had it assembled and cooking in 2 hours (even with our 18 month old "helping"). Overall, he is very pleased with the grill and smoker. The smoked ribs were great and so was the grilled steak.
The included temperature gague was too vague for hubby's liking, so he put a gauge that shows the actual temperature on (pulled it from our old Char Griller). Also, he prefered the cast iron grates from our old Char Griller so has modified them to fit the new Char Broil.
There is some smoke leakage that didn't make much difference in the 97 degree heat, but he will likely install some sort of gasket on the smoke box and grill for cool weather use.
Wish there was a fitted cover...
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 8 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

GOOD SMOKER FOR THE PRICE

08/19/2011
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a great grill for beginner, nice and big.....probably could cook 10 to 11 ribs on it.
Easy access to the empty out the ashes from the firebox. And the firebox paint will peal off, didn't really matter to me. What can you expect when the temp in the firebox is above 500-600 degrees.
Overall I was happy with the purchase.
Click an image to enlarge it.
User submitted photo
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 9 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

Good grill but not smoker

02/04/2011
By ,
knoxville, TN
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It was very easy to put together, looks great. As far as grillin it is very good good but not as a smoker if you want that real smoke flavor. I smoked a beer can chicken for about four hours and could barely taste the smoke in the meat, the taste was good but smoke flavor I love was not there. I think its because all the smoke escapes the grill so easy, very little smoke comes out the smoke stack. Also i had to take out the upper rack to even fit the beer can chicken in the grill so the lid would shut. And when the upper rack is in you can not put anything on it that will drip grease or juice alot. If you do you end up with a mess behind your smoker/grill. When you raise the lid it puts the upper rack over the back of lid so when you shut it the grease just runs down the back of the grill to your deck making a real mess. If your wanting an offset cooker to slow cook food this item is great but if you want a SMOKER that puts great smoke flavor in your food then this is not the one for you.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+3points
Review 10 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

Double the pleasure of cooking outdoors

04/08/2010
By ,
Arkansas
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy to assemble, I'm a woman and never put anything together by myself, but rather enjoyed it. I love the smoker/grill combination, its built well and even has a nice warming tray! I shopped around a lot, and this was a very good price. I'm very happy with it..
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+82points
Review 11 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

READ the directions...we did not!

07/26/2010
By ,
Auburn WA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is a great smoker/grill...we liked what we read and bought it. First time we used it, the paint started peeling. We contacted the company and they were wonderful, patient and kind. They asked if we seasoned the grill. The directions are on page 3 of the book that comes with it. We didn't even read that part...goes to show how important the directions are...!
Please save yourself some trouble and season the grill before you use it the first time. We will season it now, they said it isn't too late but to save yourself from having a peeling grill, follow their directions!
No other issues, it is a great grill/smoker!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
+80points
Review 12 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

good value for the money

09/21/2010
By ,
birmingham, al
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
a couple of pieces were bent but some pliers took care of that. some nuts and bolts were missing, but a trip to home depot took care of THAT. it took longer to put together than the instructions said, but i did it by myself and they suggest 2 people (definitely get a friend to help if you can). I wish the thermometer showed the actual temp instead of "cool, ideal, hot" but it does a good job smoking meat. plenty of room on the grill for several racks of ribs, 4 butts, plenty of chicken. I think the warming rack will be in the way if you want to do a whole turkey. I'm still learning, but i got the smoker to hold the temp for 4 hours before i needed to add more fuel. I think I'll get a lot of use out of this.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+45points
Review 13 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

BEST VALUE SMOKER U CAN GET!!!!!

03/10/2010
By ,
Avondale, CO
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Had this smoker for 3 years now and still works like a charm. This smoker really helped me open the doors to outdoor BBQ. It smokes evenly and can handle a lot of food. I smoked a whole goat with ease, also can smoke up to 6 spare ribs with no prob. This is an awesome grill that any TRUE BBQer will love for sure. Would recommend to anyone for sure.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per week
+210points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
High Desert, CA
Now I will purchase this smiker
Posted 02/12/2012
I am convinced that I will buy this smoker because the advice has come from a fellow Dallas fan. I have been pricing smokers and grills for the past 2 weeks and I came across this smoker and after reviewing the reviews I will buy this one. DALLAS RULES
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

great amatuer smoker

06/05/2011
By ,
springfield, mo
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
i bought this smoker like 5 years ago and have turned out great food since. i have smoked everything from several boston butts to several slabs of ribs to a whole turkey and i will give you some advice on a turkey do not call the butterball hotline for they have no advice on the subject of smoking a turkey but anyway back to the smoker i agree that they should have put a different temp gauge on there but what i did was go to an outdoor store and found a replacement temp gauge drilled a hole just big enough for it and now i know what warm ideal and hot mean so i would suggest that if you dont want to go by the included temp gauge and i will be looking to buy another one here soon since the fire box after many years of great service has rusted and the vents do not close or open so im glad that i got it set the way i want it but i would recomend this to any backyard barbeque connoisseur
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Once per month
+5points
Review 15 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

Awesome!!!

04/19/2010
By ,
Louisville, KY
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Get's the J-O-B done!!! meat gets sooo tender it falls off the bone, first I thought it was the cook (husband) behind the grill, till I realized it's the PIT (grill) it's self, that keeps the meat so tender you want even need tenderizer for this roaster, another great buy from Walmart!! (U GO WALMART!!) all I can say is AWESOME!! (Need I say more??)
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per year
+23points
Review 16 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

Great Product

10/18/2010
By ,
Minneapolis, MN
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just bought this on 10/14/2010. Used it once this past weekend. It was packaged well and all pieces were there and in good condition. Setup done by just me took about 1 hour. The screws and nuts were packaged on a sealed piece of cardboard, clearly labelled. Hint: when you break the seal for each fastener, it helps to leave the number that identifies that section or mark it with a marker so you can match it with the directions. Directions were written clearly. Only flimsy part I noticed were the wheel caps. Otherwise, I really loved cooking with this huge honkin grill/smoker. I grilled a huge pack of wings from costco and they only took up like a third of the main grill. Air flow through the main grill is good. Oh, one other minor complaint I have is that the front and side lip of the grill is not high enough...charbroil, make it like half an inch taller to help keep the food from being pushed off. I love this grill. Can't wait to smoke some ribs.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per month
+1point
Review 17 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

Disappointed

01/02/2011
By
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this as a Christmas present for my boyfriend and was very excited to give it to him. When we were putting it together we began to notice some damaged parts which made me very upset. He insisted that it isn't a big deal but it was embarassing for me to give him a gift that wasn't in good condition. The box that the grill was delivered in was a little beat up but I figured that it was from poor handling. The bottom grate was bent so we had to straighten it back out, there is a small dent on the top of the grill, another dent on another piece of the grill, and one of the grill grates wasn't welded on straight. Fortunately enough my boyfriend was able to fix some of these problems. We didn't notice the "imperfections" until we were already putting it together. If the grill would have been in better condition I wouldn't have a complaint in the world about this grill. I'm just very disappointed that the grill was made with such poor quality.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
0points
Review 18 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

Great smoker to learn on.

11/07/2011
By ,
Evansville, WI
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to read directions made set-up a breeze. Had this smoker put together and charcoal rolling within a hour and a half.
READ THE DIRECTIONS!!!! The grill needs to be seasoned prior to use to burn off factory oils, set the paint, etc. I was able to go 2 months of twice weekly use before having to redo the paint on the fire box, which should be expected with extreme heats, especially if the coals touch the sides.
There is a large heat difference between the left and right hand sides of the cooking chamber. I was able to remedy some of this with some JB Weld (red and black tubes) sealing off the seam on the right hand side, and around the smoke stack, and a couple bricks under the cooking rack. Also, a cheapo bread pan filled with water right up next to the hole where the fire box and the cooking chamber helped level out temps as well
You do need to baby sit to keep temps steady, and since the dial gauge is not accurate, I purchased a digital thermometer with a probe connected to a wire that will hold with the magnet on the sides of the grill.
I purchased a charcoal chimney and found that had the best results on final flavors; no harsh chemicals from lighter fluid, and you always have newspaper laying around the house to light it. Dont skimp on your charcoal either, cheap charcoal is cheap for a reason; low quality.
For the actual smoking, I prefer to use wood CHUNKS over chips. 1) I feel they burn more efficently and release a better flavor, 2) if the temperature starts to drop, a few large chunks will bring it right back up to temp. Rub your meat and stick it in the refridgerator while you go light the grill up. Cold meat picks up smoke much better than room temperature meat. Experiment with different woods for thier flavor. Hickory and Mesquite are great flavors, but with other woods easily available at stores, why limit yourself to one or two flavr profiles.
As a professional culinarian, I feel this is a great smoker to learn on. Within a few uses, you can get it dialed in for succulant, juicy meat.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Every few days
+15points
Review 19 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

Great smoker

03/19/2010
By ,
Woodstock, Illinois
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I upgraded from my small water smoker to this large unit and couldn't be happier. I've used it with charcoal and cherry wood. I've cooked Turkey, ribs, brisket and chicken......all to smokey perfection. I looked at quite a few smokers before picking this one. I give it two thumbs up!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+29points
Read Comment (1)
Read Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Woodstock, Illinois
Still a great smoker!
Posted 03/01/2012
Almost 2 years old and it still does a good job. It looks a little rough, but the food couldn't be better.
0points
Read Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 20 for Char Broil Offset Charcoal Smoker

Nice smoker

09/20/2010
By ,
sealy, tx
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice smoker. I am a beginner when it comes to smoking meat, but so far this unit has done a great job. I was able to purchase mine pre-assembled at my store, which was a plus. I would STRONGLY suggest anyone to follow the seasoning instructions before using the smoker the first time. The only complaint I have is the thermostat. I purchased a couple of small temp gauges and a place them on the grill grates to have a more accurate temp measurement. I smoked some ribs, sausage, and chicken one weekend for my brother and his family and he bought one for himself when he got back home. He hasn't had any issues with his either. Good Product.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:Once per week
+9points
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5  ...  7 Next