Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Char-Broil Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Char-Broil Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

 
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
35
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%93 out of 101reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
35
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Did not work

04/03/2011
By ,
falls church, va
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The connection to the BTU tanks wore out after using about 4 tanks rendering my product usless...
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Usage:A few times per month
-2points
Review 2 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Returned it.

06/07/2010
By ,
Los Angeles, CA
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
My old CharBroil is going on eight years, so when I saw this one, I thought I'd replace the aging grill.
After 3 hours, I was about 1/3 done with assembly. And, I'm usually pretty good with these things. The section I had completed was rickety, and clearly not the same quality as my old BBQ.
This is NOT a QuickSet grill. Don't expect anything to be pre-assembled.
I returned the partially-assembled grill, along with the remaining loose parts. Then I cleaned up the old one, and replaced the cooking grates. It'll last me another few years, I hope.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Never
-2points
Review 3 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

gas grill

07/07/2010
By
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
While the price for this grill was great, the pan that sits on top that holds the wire shelf was too short on either side so the holes did not line up to attach the pan. Obviously there was no quality control. I did get my money back & got a charcoal grill that was better quality & less money.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 4 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Not a true two burner

06/21/2010
By ,
Kentucky
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
This grill if fine for the price. Just make sure you have the legs in the correct orientation when you put it together. Took me greater part of a day to get all of the parts together. Also, I would not consider it a two burner since it is oriented left to right where most grills that are two burner have their burners front to back. This is more like one burner divided into two. Propane tank just sort of hangs on the side. Difficult to get to to turn on and off.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 5 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Not worth it to me!

06/12/2010
By
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
It's pretty cheap to me. I don't like the fact that the lid is so light and cheap. After a year, it won't close tight, so that makes the food burn. You need a heavier lid that closes tight on a charcoal grill, no matter what kind it is if you want the food to cook properly. I would not recommend buying that grill if I had a choice.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
0points
Review 6 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Very Disatisfied

01/22/2011
By ,
Fresno, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Basically you get what U pay for. After buying this grill, the top rack broke after using it about 4 times, the metal melts/bends so you have to keep adjusting it everytime B4 U cook on it again. Very fustrating cause it just falls again while cooking. The ignitor gave out too. So we will definatley be getting a much better grill. My husband is very disatisfied with this grill peroid.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 7 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Big Disappointment

03/07/2010
By ,
Sun City Center, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this grill to replace a CharBroil of similar design that I had used a lot over a few years. I am very disapponted with it. The one review I read indicated it was top notch but a closer read idicates that the review is for an earlier model, so be careful. This unit was simply awful to assemble. I have assembled several gas grills over the past 50 years and this one is by far the worst. The instructions left a lot to be desired in that photographs are used that did not show necessary detail as drawings would. Some parts, such as the shelves were installed out of sequence, making them difficult to install with other parts in the way. However, the absolute worst is the design for holding the propane tank. With the left-hand shelf in place, you have to sit on the floor and work under the left shelf to get the tank oriented as described. But then, the regulator did not line up with the tank valve. The gas line had to be loosened from the manifold under the control panel to re-align it. You can only do this by lying down as if you were working under a car! Once the tank was properly installed and connected, you have to be a contorsionist to get at the valve to turn the gas on and off from the front of the grill. I ended up removing the left shelf and leaving it off! Even then it is necessary to go to the back of the grill to get access to the valve. What a piece of junk!!
The Char Broil grill it replaces ( $119 at Walmart a few years ago) used wood slats for shelves and was sturdier and much easier to assemble. The firebox was a metal casting rather than the cheap stamped metal used in the current model. The tank was very easy to replace using a simple metal spring bracket and the tank valve was easily accessible.
While Walmart will assemble the grill for free you still have to turn the gas on and off and replace the tank from time to time. Not a pleasant outlook. My advice: Don't buy this model!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-5points
Review 8 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Tends toward the Flimsy

06/14/2010
By ,
Long Beach Island, NJ
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I have just completed assembly of my new grill to replace my former CharBroil grill. Assembly time was a full 6 hours and I am a relatively good handyman for such projects. Time would have been 1 or 2 hours less if the instructions had been clearer in a couple of respects.
I have not used the grill yet so that will be the subject of a supplemental review.
The instructions of the product guide are generally very good, with helpful illustrations, but are seriously deficient in a couple of respects as follows:
The "upper leg" pieces are not identified as being for the left or right legs. While they superficially seem identical they are not and must be put on the proper side or else, as happened with me, it may be necessary to disassemble the almost completed grill for proper reassembly at a later stage when the firebox will not fit properly on the base. There is no warning that the upper legs are not identical and must be properly oriented.
The discussion for assembling the burner and firebox is not clear enough. It takes a while to understand that the machine screws to be inserted from the sides of the firebox are not part of the burner assembly. There is no explanation that the burner is attached to the bottom of the firebox. Fooling with this confusion wasted about 20-30 minutes.
Overall, the unit is not as rigid as the old Charbroil (same basic model) that it replaces. The old firebox and lid were solid cast metal instead of the new light sheet metal. Also I am skeptical of the new heat distribution system (without lava rock briquettes). However I will withhold judgment until I have some use. Right now, I am sorry I discarded the old grill. I should have cleaned it up and replaced the burner assembly and ignition system ( both of which were failing). I think I would have ended up with a more satisfactory grill. Even the new wire cooking grate is flimsier and is a slightly different size (same width but not as deep front to back) so that the old heavy procelaingrates do not fit perfectly in the new grill.
I hesitate of recommend this new product, but performance may change my mind.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
-1point
Review 9 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

char broil 2 Burner gas grill

07/03/2010
By ,
San Antonio, Tx
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ordered online. Attempted assembly, 2 parts missing. Awaiting parts delivery.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 10 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

DO NOT BUY Took 3 hours to assemble

06/20/2010
By ,
Houston
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy only if already assembled.
I gave 3 stars since the grill does work.
I bought this since it was cheap. I had read the reviews that assembly was horrible and was like, hmm how bad can it be. WELL, it took me 3 hours. Instructions are horrible. Sad thing is I can put things together without instructions so reading them made is so much worse.
I have cooked on it twice so far. Compared to other grills I have used, it feels cheesy and flimsy. There was a sticker on the pieces that looked like store display info, that said free assembly available. For the money if it was assembled would be a great starter grill.
Knowing now, I might have spent 50.00 more and bought a beefier, already assembled grill in a real store.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 11 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Looks good when assembled

06/09/2010
By ,
Green Valley Arizona
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
putting this grill together is not for older people. Rather than pictures of grill (which are black), enter schematics so you can see what goes where. Extra wing nuts would have been nice since some are not threaded correctly, hose going to propane tank could be much longer so that the tank can be on the outside of the grill so that you can turn the gas on much easier. Other than that, it looks good and cooks fine.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 12 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Serves It's Purpose

10/10/2010
By ,
Youngstown, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for a tailgate because the old, cheap grill was past it's last legs. Assembly instructions are not very good but anyone that has put a grill together before won't have a problem. It's sturdy enough and all parts fit together correctly.
Works well for dogs and burgers for a crowd. I certainly would not recommend it for a "main grill" though. A little underpowered on BTU's if you want to do some thick steaks with a good char and medium-rare.
Used occasionally and kept out of the weather, this thing should last for quite a few years.
It's a $100 grill. With that in mind, it certainly serves it's purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 13 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Just what I expected

06/13/2010
By ,
PA
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
After reading the other reviews. I believed that the setup would be more difficult than I first thought and the quality might be lower than past models of this grill.
Well the setup was easy…but just a bit more confusing than I had hoped. As for quality…seems fine to me. My guess is this grill will last for years.
The setup. cost and value make this a good choice. I use mine 2 to 4 times a week and love it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 14 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Father's Day

06/24/2010
By ,
Oklahoma
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bought this item for a father's day gift for my husband. Assembly was simple enough. He's cooked on it twice and has said it works well. He likes it.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 15 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

good inexpensive grill

06/14/2010
By ,
Cincinnati, OH
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a good little grill for the money. I bought this for our camp so I didn't want to spend a fortune and I am not disappointed. I've seen cheap grills that never got quite hot enough or just plain fell apart but with only one slight annoying cosmetic defect, this grill is well worth the money. The holes where you attach the handle to the lid are uneven by about 1/2 inch so the handle isn't straight (grrr) but other than that cosmetic issue, it works great! I would buy it again in a minute.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 16 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Cheap price for decent grill.

07/03/2010
By ,
Monmouth County, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I saw this grill on sale for $88 on the Walmart site so I decided to pick it up. I was going to buy a Uniflame off of Ebay for around the same price but the Uniflame reviews recommended not to buy it.
The CharBroil came with all the parts needed, it took me over 2 hours to put together but that's me, it might take you less time. The cooking surface is porcelain and very easy to clean with a rag, soap and hot water. It is not recommended to use a wire brush since you will break up the porcelain coating.
The ignitor worked well. No gas leaks anywhere. But the grilling box itself is not made of cast iron and the bottom is not pitched at a good enough angle to drain all the fat, so I recommend putting aluminun foil along the bottom and when that gets dirty just remove it and put new pieces in. I kind of made a flanged pan out of the aluminum foil so the fat wouldn't drip out into the drain cup.
Otherwise this product meets expectations for the price. The two burners work well, plenty of heat, there are some cool spots though just like any grill. You will find yours by moving the meat around and seeing how fast it cooks in certain spots. This could also be a benefit.
The secondary grill area that is elevated above the other grill area still gets plenty hot while the lid is closed. It seems the propane burns clean too so the jets are doing the proper job.
I expect this to last me a few seasons, for $88 you can't go wrong, but I do suggest if you have a big enough vehicle to have the store put it together for you. They usually do it for free.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 17 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Nice Grill

05/24/2010
By ,
Muscle Shoals, AL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy Instructions, nice little setup for 88 dollars!
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
0points
Review 18 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black
07/04/2010
By ,
Upland, Ca
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
In the outset, let me say the BBQ is very good.
It works perfect. Delivery was prompt (within 3 days)
BUT-----I bought it online by viewing the picture.
It seemed to be the same size as my last one.
It is approx. 1/3 smaller. I didnt realize this until I
assembled it.
Luckily, it suits my needs.
If you buy one check the size like I didnt.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
0points
Review 19 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

nice product for price

03/10/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this same grill about 4 years ago and it is still going strong. Was easy to put together. The only complaint I have about this grill is the top rack rusted the first year I bought it. Also it is not big enough for a beer can chicken found this out the hard way. For the price it is a great grill if you can't afford the nice 300.00 dollar grill. I would highly recomend this grill to anyone.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
Review 20 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Nice grill!

10/25/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
This is a bear to put together (3 hours for me - some pictures were poor to follow). Otherwise grill works great! We'll see how long it lasts. . .
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
0points
1-20 of 82 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next