Ratings and Reviews

Customer Reviews for Char-Broil Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Walmart.

Char-Broil Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

 
Average Customer Rating:
4.267 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(101 Reviews) 82
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
35
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Recommendation92%93 out of 101reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating SnapshotOverall Rating Totals
5 stars
51
4 stars
35
3 stars
9
2 stars
3
1 star
3
Customer Reviews
Review 1 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Great grill for cheap!

03/06/2010
By ,
Western Kentucky
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I bought this grill to replace a two year old, rather expensive Brinkman grill, in which all steel parts had heavily rusted, some all the way through, including a cast iron burner, even though it had been covered. This grill was worth every penny I paid for it, even if it does only last a few years. It cooks very evenly, temperature is easy to control, flares are easy to control, and, it's easy to clean. Once assembled, it's very sturdy, unlike a lot of grills we looked at. Future replacement parts will be easy to find, since virtually every store that sells grills, sells Char Broil parts and accessories. I would have given it a 5 star rating, if not for two things. NOTHING on this grill is preassembled. So, if you are intimidated by assembling a grill, pay the extra to have it assembled at the store. That being said, with nothing more than a phillips screw driver, and pair of pliers, I had it together and cooking on it in about an hour. The other thing, although they are rarely accurate, a temperature guage would have been nice. But, what can you expect for under a hundred bucks. All in all, I'm very pleased with my purchase. It cooks evenly, and quickly. It cleans up easy, the little rack on the front is handy, as well as the tool hangers on the shelf. And, most importantly, the food tastes great!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+366points
Review 2 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Quick, Cheep, Works

02/05/2010
By ,
Houston, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Me and my husband are young and we are cheep, so when we ran across this grill for less than $100 and not having a grill ourselfs do to our old one rusting apart in less than 18 months, we had to try it out. Now more than two years later this grill so far has had no problems the burners still work. There are no rust spots, our food cooks evenly. The only draw back to this grill is that there are no cut outs for a rotisserie, but with the help of my husbands' power tools we made ours work.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
+88points
Review 3 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Get your grill on!

04/25/2010
By ,
Parkesburg, PA
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My fiance and I chose this grill because of it's price.
The assembly was a bit discouraging, but once we got it put together, we've been using it ever since!
Great value for the price, and the size. Perfect for a small gathering.
A side burner would be a plus, but other then that it's been wonderful! I love the tool rack!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
+16points
Review 4 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Excellent gift

05/12/2010
By ,
San Antonio, TX
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We gave this to my Mother-in-law for Mother's Day and she loved it! It's just the right size for her. We would highly recommend this product to anyone with a small space. You can't beat the price either!
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+13points
Review 5 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

good for the $$$$

06/10/2010
By
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Only needed a small grill and this works well. I wished it had a built in thermometer, though.
Much much better than the piece of garbage, "George Foreman" stand up cooker (not grill).
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 6 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Assembly so easy a grandma can do it

03/21/2010
By ,
Texas
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I wanted a small simple grill that I could put together and handle by myself. I put this grill (in the box) in the back of my PT Cruiser, brought it home and put it together myself. The instructions were clear and easy to follow. It is easy to clean after use. You don't need all the bells and whistles to cook a good steak or burger.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+9points
Review 7 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Its A Good Little Grill

06/07/2010
By ,
Oregon Coast
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
We purchased the grill with free home delivery. It arrived within about a week of when the order was placed. The method of packing and the assembly instructions were both excellent. A person should be comfortable with basic assembly procedures and basic tool useage to purchase it unassembled. It took about 2 1/2 hours to assemble. But, again, the instructions were excellent...one step logically followed another until the assembly was complete...with no need to do anything twice. The grill was quite solid once assembly was completed. You need to buy the propane tank separately.
The main grilling surface is quite adequate for the main meat dish for four to six people. Larger groups may need a larger grill. (The box says the grill will cook up to 22 burgers as I recall. But that would be tight.) There is also a smaller upper grilling surface. The grill heats up quickly, has two burner controls, and a push button burner lighter. It is easy to adjust the temperature.
We have been using it for a couple of weeks now...maybe 6 uses so far. We are quite pleased with the grill.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 8 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

time saving product

03/10/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Will use this grill to prepare quick healthy meals. It is the right size for a single person or a small group.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+7points
Review 9 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Serves It's Purpose

10/10/2010
By ,
Youngstown, OH
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this for a tailgate because the old, cheap grill was past it's last legs. Assembly instructions are not very good but anyone that has put a grill together before won't have a problem. It's sturdy enough and all parts fit together correctly.
Works well for dogs and burgers for a crowd. I certainly would not recommend it for a "main grill" though. A little underpowered on BTU's if you want to do some thick steaks with a good char and medium-rare.
Used occasionally and kept out of the weather, this thing should last for quite a few years.
It's a $100 grill. With that in mind, it certainly serves it's purpose.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 10 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Perfect for a single person or a couple

04/13/2011
By ,
terre haute, in
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice gas grill for the thrifty. If you don't need to cook 50 burgers(this one says 20 and that would be a stretch) you dont need a temp gauge side burners shinny chrome or a catch tray (this one has a grease cup)this is your grill. Cooks good and even and my fav feature it's easy to clean. Weighs about 50 lbs w/o full gas tank. Take your time and really pay close attention to the instructions. Right and left side legs are important to get correct and dont forget to put the 4 screws into sides of the bottom bowl for the heat tent when hooking up the burner. The grill serves me very well.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 11 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Big Disappointment

03/07/2010
By ,
Sun City Center, FL
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I bought this grill to replace a CharBroil of similar design that I had used a lot over a few years. I am very disapponted with it. The one review I read indicated it was top notch but a closer read idicates that the review is for an earlier model, so be careful. This unit was simply awful to assemble. I have assembled several gas grills over the past 50 years and this one is by far the worst. The instructions left a lot to be desired in that photographs are used that did not show necessary detail as drawings would. Some parts, such as the shelves were installed out of sequence, making them difficult to install with other parts in the way. However, the absolute worst is the design for holding the propane tank. With the left-hand shelf in place, you have to sit on the floor and work under the left shelf to get the tank oriented as described. But then, the regulator did not line up with the tank valve. The gas line had to be loosened from the manifold under the control panel to re-align it. You can only do this by lying down as if you were working under a car! Once the tank was properly installed and connected, you have to be a contorsionist to get at the valve to turn the gas on and off from the front of the grill. I ended up removing the left shelf and leaving it off! Even then it is necessary to go to the back of the grill to get access to the valve. What a piece of junk!!
The Char Broil grill it replaces ( $119 at Walmart a few years ago) used wood slats for shelves and was sturdier and much easier to assemble. The firebox was a metal casting rather than the cheap stamped metal used in the current model. The tank was very easy to replace using a simple metal spring bracket and the tank valve was easily accessible.
While Walmart will assemble the grill for free you still have to turn the gas on and off and replace the tank from time to time. Not a pleasant outlook. My advice: Don't buy this model!
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per week
-5points
Review 12 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Nice grill!

07/01/2010
By ,
Chicago, IL
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I chose this grill as I wanted a little smaller to fit on my not so huge deck. The size is perfect. Putting it together though was time consuming! It took about 3hrs - directions aren't so great...b&w pictures are blurry so when you're looking to see the difference in the side frames, you can't tell them apart. I had them on backwards and had to take quite a bit apart to switch them around. Whatever man put this together in 35-40 min - marry me?? I did grill BBQ ribs the other night and they were fabulous! Great heat distribution.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 13 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Cheap price for decent grill.

07/03/2010
By ,
Monmouth County, NJ
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
I saw this grill on sale for $88 on the Walmart site so I decided to pick it up. I was going to buy a Uniflame off of Ebay for around the same price but the Uniflame reviews recommended not to buy it.
The CharBroil came with all the parts needed, it took me over 2 hours to put together but that's me, it might take you less time. The cooking surface is porcelain and very easy to clean with a rag, soap and hot water. It is not recommended to use a wire brush since you will break up the porcelain coating.
The ignitor worked well. No gas leaks anywhere. But the grilling box itself is not made of cast iron and the bottom is not pitched at a good enough angle to drain all the fat, so I recommend putting aluminun foil along the bottom and when that gets dirty just remove it and put new pieces in. I kind of made a flanged pan out of the aluminum foil so the fat wouldn't drip out into the drain cup.
Otherwise this product meets expectations for the price. The two burners work well, plenty of heat, there are some cool spots though just like any grill. You will find yours by moving the meat around and seeing how fast it cooks in certain spots. This could also be a benefit.
The secondary grill area that is elevated above the other grill area still gets plenty hot while the lid is closed. It seems the propane burns clean too so the jets are doing the proper job.
I expect this to last me a few seasons, for $88 you can't go wrong, but I do suggest if you have a big enough vehicle to have the store put it together for you. They usually do it for free.
Product Attributes:
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 14 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Great Value!!

06/17/2010
By
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I purchased this online for my husband's birthday. It arrived promptly and with free shipping! It did take some time to put together but it is a solid little grill and I see why it was rated a best buy. Couldn't be happier with it. We had plenty of room to grill burgers and brats for about 25 people. It's also easy to clean.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
+1point
Review 15 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Better than I expected

06/17/2010
By ,
Altoona Pa.
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
For the price this grill was way better than I expected.
As I put it together following the precise directions I was surprised just how nice this grill was.
I am single and just wanted something inexpensive until I settled in.
This grill was way over my expectations and works just great.I highly recommend it.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
+1point
Review 16 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

BB-Q

06/22/2010
By ,
Gold Beach, Or
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to assemble. Make sure to follow instructions. Easy to use, light, cook and clean. Good buy for the product. I, BB-Qed some BEAR meat and it came out fantastic. However, I have only used it three times. But as far as I can see, all is good.
Product Attributes:
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:A few times per month
+1point
Review 17 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Great Grill for the Price

07/05/2010
By ,
Manchester, NJ
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Walmart assembled the grill, which made it so much easier for me. The grill itself cooks very well and you cannot beat the price. I had a very high priced Weber grill for years and I would recommend this Charbroil for singles or couples.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
+1point
Review 18 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

DO NOT BUY Took 3 hours to assemble

06/20/2010
By ,
Houston
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Buy only if already assembled.
I gave 3 stars since the grill does work.
I bought this since it was cheap. I had read the reviews that assembly was horrible and was like, hmm how bad can it be. WELL, it took me 3 hours. Instructions are horrible. Sad thing is I can put things together without instructions so reading them made is so much worse.
I have cooked on it twice so far. Compared to other grills I have used, it feels cheesy and flimsy. There was a sticker on the pieces that looked like store display info, that said free assembly available. For the money if it was assembled would be a great starter grill.
Knowing now, I might have spent 50.00 more and bought a beefier, already assembled grill in a real store.
:Walmart.com
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
0points
Review 19 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

Very Disatisfied

01/22/2011
By ,
Fresno, CA
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Basically you get what U pay for. After buying this grill, the top rack broke after using it about 4 times, the metal melts/bends so you have to keep adjusting it everytime B4 U cook on it again. Very fustrating cause it just falls again while cooking. The ignitor gave out too. So we will definatley be getting a much better grill. My husband is very disatisfied with this grill peroid.
Product Attributes:
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Recommends this product? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Usage:A few times per month
0points
Review 20 for Char-Broil 26,500 BTU 2-Burner Gas Grill, Black

nice grill, nice price

05/21/2011
By ,
Oregon
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
At $87 (+ $10 shipping), this was a *great* deal. Nothing fancy about the grill, but it does its job very, very well. Note that this BBQ is sold in a couple different configurations under the Char-Broil name, and it's also sold under the Thermos name. On some, the side tables are plastic rather than metal; the metal is sturdier, but will eventually rust, I suspect. Also, some have the condiment basket in front, some have none. Finally, some have the warming rack in back (above the main grill), some do not. This one -- the BBQ I received from Walmart -- has metal side tables + the basket + the warming rack.
Product Attributes:
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommends this product? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
0points
1-20 of 82 total reviews
1 2 3 4 5 Next